DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/28/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, the phrases "using a first method” and “using a second method" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear: what are these methods, how they are different or similar. Also, it appears that claim 1 is an apparatus claim but claims some enigmatic first and second methods. In conclusion, claims 1 and 11 do not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. There is nothing in the claims to tell public what to do to avoid infringement in this respect or where infringement in this respect begins; rule against indefiniteness is not only a technical one but is to protect public and keep patentee from taking an advantage to which he is not entitled.
Claims 2, 4-12 and 14-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependence.
In addition, claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "if" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. The phrase "if" sets a condition in the claim to introduce the circumstances in which an event or situation might happened, might happening, or might have happened. Hypothetical situations or outcomes are not a positive limitation. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. The phrase “if” renders the claim indefinite because the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. There is nothing in the claim to tell public what to do to avoid infringement in this respect or where infringement in this respect begins; rule against indefiniteness is not only a technical one but is to protect public and keep patentee from taking an advantage to which he is not entitled. Examiner recommends amending the phrase “if” with phrase “when” to constitute the limitation in any patentable sense.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grodzins (US PAP 2010/0150307 A1) in view of Criss et al. (“Versatile X-Ray Analysis Program Combining Fundamental Parameters and Empirical Coefficients” ANALYTICAL CHEMISTRY, vol. 50, no. 1, 1 January 1978 (1978-01-01), pages 33-37, XP093276089, ISSN: 0003-2700, DOI: 10.1021/ac50023a013. The prior art is provided by the applicant).
With respect to claims 1, 3, 11 and 13, as best understood by examiner, Grodzins teaches a system for identifying an element and a method of identifying an element comprising (see abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraphs 0002-0008, 0013, 0018, 0023, 0025, 0027, 0034, 0037, 0040 and 0041): an X-ray source (105) configured to direct x-ray energy to a sample (110); a detector (115) configured to detect fluorescent emissions from the sample (110); and a processor (135; 145) configured to: produce an X-ray fluorescent spectrum from the detected fluorescent emissions, wherein the X-ray fluorescent spectrum is representative of an elemental composition of the sample (110);
calculate a first concentration value for each element in the elemental composition employing a fundamental parameters method; select an element from the elemental composition using the first concentration value; and calculate the concentration value of the selected element employing an empirical method.
Grodzins fails to explicitly mention recalculating the concentration value of the selected element employing the empirical method.
Criss et al. discloses an X-ray fluorescent system and method for identifying an element (see pages 33-37) which explicitly teaches an X-ray source configured to direct x-ray energy to a sample; a detector configured to detect fluorescent emissions from the sample (see Table I. Experimental conditions); and a processor configured to produce an X-ray fluorescent spectrum from the detected fluorescent emissions, wherein the X-ray fluorescent spectrum is representative of an elemental composition of the sample (implicit in the computer implemented calculation, see also p.34, step 1); calculate a first concentration value for each element in the elemental composition using a first method (p.34, Step 2): select an element from the elemental composition using the first concentration value; and recalculate the concentration value of the selected element using a second method (based on the results of step 2, empirical models are used to recalculate the concentrations, see p.34, steps 3 and 4) in order to provide user with the capabilities for versatility and accuracy for multicomponent X-ray analysis for identifying the concentration of certain element employing a combination of methods.
Grodzins and Criss et al. disclose the related X-ray fluorescent methods/apparatuses for identifying the concentration of certain element employing the fundamental parameters method and the empirical method.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide teachings of recalculating the concentration value of the selected element employing the empirical method as suggested by Criss et al. in the method/apparatus of Grodzins, since such a modification would provide user with the capabilities for versatility and accuracy for multicomponent X-ray analysis for identifying the concentration of certain element employing the combination of methods.
It would have been obvious to treat Grodzins and Criss et al. as related art whereby an improvement on one of the systems/methods would readily be apparent as an improvement on either of the systems.
The Examiner’s conclusion that claims 1, 3, 11 and 13 would have been obvious is based on the fact that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, that one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and that the combination teaches nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d at 1385 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson ’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
With respect to claims 2 and 12, Grodzins (see abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraphs 0002-0008, 0013, 0018, 0023, 0025, 0027, 0034, 0037, 0040 and 0041) as modified by Criss et al. (see pages 33-37) teaches the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, further comprising: a display configured to provide a representation of the recalculated concentration value of the selected element to a user (see paragraph 0021).
With respect to claims 4 and 14, Grodzins (see abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraphs 0002-0008, 0013, 0018, 0023, 0025, 0027, 0034, 0037, 0040 and 0041) as modified by Criss et al. (see pages 33-37) teaches the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, wherein: the processor identifies a matrix composition from the X-ray fluorescence spectrum employing the fundamental parameters method (see abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraphs 0002-0008, 0013, 0018, 0023, 0025, 0027, 0034, 0037, 0040 and 0041).
With respect to claims 5 and 15, Grodzins (see abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraphs 0002-0008, 0013, 0018, 0023, 0025, 0027, 0034, 0037, 0040 and 0041) as modified by Criss et al. (see pages 33-37) teaches the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, wherein: the processor selects the element if the first concentration value is within a range of concentration values (see abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraphs 0002-0008, 0013, 0018, 0023, 0025, 0027, 0034, 0037, 0040 and 0041).
With respect to claims 6 and 16, Grodzins (see abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraphs 0002-0008, 0013, 0018, 0023, 0025, 0027, 0034, 0037, 0040 and 0041) as modified by Criss et al. (see pages 33-37) teaches the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, wherein: the range of the concentration values is specific to the element (see abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraphs 0002-0008, 0013, 0018, 0023, 0025, 0027, 0034, 0037, 0040 and 0041).
With respect to claims 7 and 17, Grodzins (see abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraphs 0002-0008, 0013, 0018, 0023, 0025, 0027, 0034, 0037, 0040 and 0041) as modified by Criss et al. (see pages 33-37) teaches the system of claim 6 and the method of claim 16, wherein: the element comprises copper (see paragraph 0040) but fails to explicitly mention that the range of the concentration values for copper is between 7.8% and 8.2%.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide measurement in the range of the concentration values for copper is between 7.8% and 8.2% in the method and apparatus of Grodzins as modified by Criss et al., since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
With respect to claims 8 and 18, Grodzins (see abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraphs 0002-0008, 0013, 0018, 0023, 0025, 0027, 0034, 0037, 0040 and 0041) as modified by Criss et al. (see pages 33-37) teaches the system of claim 6 and the method of claim 16, wherein: the clement comprises nickel (see paragraph 0040) but fails to explicitly mention that the range of the concentration values for nickel is between 0.02% and 0.2%.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide measurement in the range of the concentration values for nickel is between 0.02% and 0.2%.in the method and apparatus of Grodzins as modified by Criss et al., since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
With respect to claims 9 and 19, Grodzins (see abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraphs 0002-0008, 0013, 0018, 0023, 0025, 0027, 0034, 0037, 0040 and 0041) as modified by Criss et al. (see pages 33-37) teaches the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, wherein: the processor selects a plurality of the elements (see abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraphs 0002-0008, 0013, 0018, 0023, 0025, 0027, 0034, 0037, 0040 and 0041).
With respect to claims 10 and 20, Grodzins (see abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraphs 0002-0008, 0013, 0018, 0023, 0025, 0027, 0034, 0037, 0040 and 0041) as modified by Criss et al. (see pages 33-37) teaches the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, wherein: the recalculated concentration value is more accurate than the first concentration value for the selected element (see abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraphs 0002-0008, 0013, 0018, 0023, 0025, 0027, 0034, 0037, 0040 and 0041).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to IRAKLI KIKNADZE whose telephone number is (571)272-6494. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Irakli Kiknadze
/IRAKLI KIKNADZE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884 /I.K./ September 11, 2026