DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12263331. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current application and the US Patent claim a system for assisting a circulation of blood inside a body of a patient, the system comprising: a pump including: a housing having an upstream portion and a downstream portion; an inducer positioned in the upstream portion of the housing, the inducer including one or more helically-wound inducer blades to rotate around a longitudinal axis of the pump; an impeller positioned downstream of the inducer in the housing, the impeller including one or more impeller blades to rotate around the longitudinal axis of the pump; a diffuser positioned in the downstream portion of the housing, to direct blood through at least one aperture in a circumference of the housing; and a stator to rotate the inducer and the impeller relative to the housing and the diffuser.
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11793992. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current application and the US Patent claim a system for assisting a circulation of blood inside a body of a patient, the system comprising: a pump including: a housing having an upstream portion and a downstream portion; an inducer positioned in the upstream portion of the housing, the inducer including one or more helically-wound inducer blades to rotate around a longitudinal axis of the pump; an impeller positioned downstream of the inducer in the housing, the impeller including one or more impeller blades to rotate around the longitudinal axis of the pump; a diffuser positioned in the downstream portion of the housing, to direct blood through at least one aperture in a circumference of the housing; and a stator to rotate the inducer and the impeller relative to the housing and the diffuser.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-11, 15-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Benkowski et al. (US 5947892).
Regarding claim 1, Benkowski discloses a system for assisting a circulation of blood (Fig. 1, abstract), the system comprising:
a pump 10 including: a housing 12 having an upstream portion and a downstream portion (Fig. 1), an impeller 54 positioned in the upstream portion of the housing 12 (Fig. 1, Column 8 lines 37-53), the impeller 54 including one or more impeller blades 68, 70 to rotate around a longitudinal axis of the pump (Column 8 lines 37-53), and a diffuser 20 positioned in the downstream portion of the housing (Fig. 1), to direct blood through at least one aperture 36, 40, 378 in the housing (Fig. 1, 11A-D, column 15 lines 12-16, 23-26), wherein the at least one aperture 36, 40, 378 is positioned radially outward of the diffuser with reference to the longitudinal axis of the pump (Fig. 1, 11A-D); and
a stator 80 to rotate the impeller relative to the housing and the diffuser 20 (Fig. 1, column 8, lines 37-53).
Regarding claim 2, Benkowski discloses the system of claim 1, wherein
the at least one aperture 36, 40 includes at least two apertures 36, 40 defined by cylindrical portions of the housing at downstream and upstream portions of the at least two apertures and strut-like portions of the housing at sides of the at least two apertures (Fig. 1, column 3 lines 27-29).
Regarding claim 3, Benkowski discloses the system of claim 1, wherein:
the one or more impeller blades 68, 70 are configured to rotate to increase a rotational velocity of the blood, and the diffuser includes two or more curved fins to convert the rotational velocity of the blood imparted by the impeller into an axial velocity through the at least one aperture (Fig. 1, column 6 lines 33-42).
Regarding claim 10, Benkowski discloses a system for assisting a circulation of blood (Fig. 1, abstract), the system comprising:
a pump 10 including: a housing 12, an impeller 54 positioned in the housing (Fig. 1), the impeller 54 including one or more impeller blades 68, 70 to rotate around a longitudinal axis of the pump (Fig. 1, column 6 lines 33-42), and a diffuser 20 positioned in the housing, to direct blood from the impeller through at least one aperture in the housing, wherein the at least one aperture 36, 40, 378 is positioned radially outward of the diffuser with reference to the longitudinal axis of the pump (Figs. 1, 11A-D, column 15 lines 12-16, 23-26).
Regarding claim 11, Benkowski discloses the system of claim 10, wherein
the at least one aperture 36, 40 in the housing is configured to direct flow 13 to a particular vessel with an appropriate radiologic marking in order to aid in proper positioning and fixation (Fig. 1, column 5 lines 22-28).
Regarding claim 15, Benkowski discloses a system for assisting a circulation of blood (Fig. 1, abstract), the system comprising:
a pump 10 including: a housing 12 including a downstream end, an upstream end (Fig. 1), and at least one aperture 36, 40 between the downstream end and the upstream end (Fig. 1, column 3 lines 27-29), an impeller 55 positioned in the housing upstream of the at least one aperture (Fig. 1), the impeller 55 including one or more impeller blades 68, 70 to rotate around a longitudinal axis of the pump (Fig. 1, column 6 lines 33-42), and a diffuser 20 positioned in the housing radially inward of the at least one aperture, to direct blood from the impeller through the at least one aperture (Figs. 1, 11A-D, column 15 lines 12-16, 23-26).
Regarding claim 16, Benkowski discloses The system of claim 15, wherein
the impeller 55 is rotatable relative to the diffuser 20 and the housing (Fig. 1, column 6 lines 12-32).
Regarding claim 17, Benkowski discloses The system of claim 15, wherein
a circumference of a surface of the diffuser 20 increases in a downstream direction of the longitudinal axis of the pump (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Benkowski discloses The system of claim 15, wherein
an upstream end of the at least one aperture 36, 40 (Fig. 1) is downstream of a downstream end 44 of the impeller 55 (Fig. 1, column 6 lines 25-33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-9, 12-14, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benkowski et al. (US 5947892) in view of Corbett et al. (US 20180055979).
Regarding claim 4, Benkowski discloses The system of claim 1, however
does not disclose the at least one aperture includes three apertures.
Corbett discloses the at least one aperture 216 includes three apertures 218, 220, 230 (Fig. 2, section 0053). This allow for the pump to have reduced the risk of occlusion of the apertures, thereby allowing the heart pump assembly to provide more assistance to the heart. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the device of Benkowski by adding at least one aperture includes three apertures as taught by Corbett in order to facilitate pump to have reduced the risk of occlusion of the apertures, thereby allowing the heart pump assembly to provide more assistance to the heart.
Regarding claim 5, Benkowski in view of Corbett, specfically Corbett discloses The system of claim 4, wherein
the three apertures 218, 220, 230 (Fig. 2) are circumferentially spaced with centers of the three apertures being approximately degrees apart around the longitudinal axis of the pump (Fig. 2, 5). This allow for the pump to have reduced the risk of occlusion of the apertures, thereby allowing the heart pump assembly to provide more assistance to the heart.
Regarding claim 6, Benkowski in view of Corbett, specfically Corbett discloses The system of claim 4, wherein
the three apertures are divided by three strut-like portions 517a-c of the housing (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 7, Benkowski in view of Corbett, specfically Corbett discloses The system of claim 6, wherein
the three strut-like portions 517 are circumferentially spaced approximately 120 degrees apart around the longitudinal axis of the pump (Fig. 2, 5).
Regarding claim 8, Benkowski in view of Corbett, specfically Corbett discloses The system of claim 4, wherein
the three strut-like portions 517 are unequally spaced around the longitudinal axis of the pump (Fig. 5-8).
Regarding claim 9, Benkowski in view of Corbett, specfically Corbett discloses The system of claim 6, wherein
the three strut-like portions 517a-c are integrally molded with cylindrical portions of the housing (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, Benkowski in view of Corbett, specfically Corbett discloses The system of claim 10, wherein
the at least one aperture 218, 220, 230 (Fig. 2) includes at least two apertures 218, 220, 230 , 518A-C divided by strut-like portions 517a-c of the housing (Fig. 2, 5). This allow for the pump to have reduced the risk of occlusion of the apertures, thereby allowing the heart pump assembly to provide more assistance to the heart. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the device of Benkowski by adding at least one aperture includes three apertures as taught by Corbett in order to facilitate pump to have reduced the risk of occlusion of the apertures, thereby allowing the heart pump assembly to provide more assistance to the heart.
Regarding claim 13, Benkowski in view of Corbett, specfically Corbett discloses the system of claim 12, wherein
the strut-like portions 517a-c are circumferentially spaced approximately equally around the longitudinal axis (Figs. 2, 5). This allow for the pump to have reduced the risk of occlusion of the apertures, thereby allowing the heart pump assembly to provide more assistance to the heart.
Regarding claim 14, Benkowski in view of Corbett, specfically Corbett discloses the system of claim 10, wherein
an axial length of the at least one aperture 517a-c in the housing is approximately equal to an axial length of the diffuser (Fig. 2, 5). This allow for the pump to have reduced the risk of occlusion of the apertures, thereby allowing the heart pump assembly to provide more assistance to the heart.
Regarding claim 18, Benkowski in view of Corbett, specfically Corbett discloses The system of claim 15, wherein
the at least one aperture 218, 220, 230 (Fig. 2) includes at least two apertures divided by strut-like portions 517 a-c of the housing (Figs. 2, 5). This allow for the pump to have reduced the risk of occlusion of the apertures, thereby allowing the heart pump assembly to provide more assistance to the heart.
Regarding claim 19, Benkowski in view of Corbett, specfically Corbett discloses The system of claim 18, wherein
an arc length of each of the at least two apertures 1718a-c along a circumference of the housing is greater than an arc length of the strut-like portions along the circumference of the housing (Fig. 17, section 0078). This allow for the pump to have reduced the risk of occlusion of the apertures, thereby allowing the heart pump assembly to provide more assistance to the heart.
Conclusion
/JON ERIC C MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/J.C.M/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796