DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 28 January 2025, 21 March 2025, 22 May 2025 and 18 February 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 10, 13, 14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication No. WO2022/132030 (Chitrakar et al.) in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 2 0150094081 (Gupta).
Regarding claim 1, Chitrakar et al. discloses: “a first access point (AP) in a wireless network ([0015]: “FIG. 3 and FIG. 4 show overlapping wireless networks each of which can include at least one access point (AP) and at least one communication apparatus), comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory (FIG. 32: 3200, 3214, 3216, 3218; [00106]: “at least one memory 3218, a central processing unit (CPU) 3214 comprising at least one processor and at least one secondary storage 3216”), the processor configured to cause: transmitting, to one or more second APs ([00127]: “transmitter, which in operation, transmits the request frame to a second AP”), a request frame indicating a request for participation ([Claim 6]: “the first AP is further configured to participate in a shared TXOP for Multi-AP Coordinated transmission”) in a time division multiple access (TDMA)-based multiple AP (MAP) coordination ([Claim 8]: “the Multi-AP Coordinated transmission is one of a Coordinated-orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA), Coordinated-time division multiple access (TDMA) transmission”); and receiving, from at least one second AP, a response frame ([0001]: Coordinated Service Periods (SPs); [Claim 2]: “receives a response frame from the second AP, the response frame indicting acceptance of the request to setup one or more Coordinated SPs)”) indicating acceptance of the request for participation in the TDMA-based MAP coordination” ([0077]: “EHT Multi-AP Capabilities field 1306 may include a C-OFDMA field, C-TDMA field, C-SR field, C-BF field and Joint Transmission field which may be used to indicate if a Multi-AP transmission scheme is supported”).
However, Chitrakar et al. does not clearly disclose the remaining limitations of the claims. To that end, Gupta discloses: “the one or more second APs are within a coordination distance of the first AP” ([0007]: “An additional AP may be iteratively identified. A first additional distance between the additional AP and a first neighbor AP having determined coordinates may be received. A second additional distance between the additional AP and a second neighbor AP having determined coordinates may be received. Coordinates for the additional AP may be calculated. The coordinates for the additional AP may be based at least in part on the received first and second additional distances and the coordinates for the first and second neighbor Aps”). It is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Chitrakar et al. with the invention of Gupta in order to provide coordinate distance between first and second APs (e.g., see Gupta @ [0007]).
With respect to claim 4, Chitrakar et al. discloses: “the response request frame includes a time duration of coordination that the first AP suggests” ([00117]: “a time duration and intervals of one or more sub-SPs that are requested by the first AP or assigned to the first AP by the second AP, the sub-SPs being a portion of the Coordinated SPs”).
Regarding claim 5, Chitrakar et al. discloses: “the processor is further configured to cause: transmitting, to the one or more second APs, an announcement frame indicating that the
first AP intends to initiate the TDMA-based MAP coordination ([0077]: “EHT Multi-AP Capabilities field 1306 may include a C-OFDMA field, C-TDMA field, C-SR field, C-BF field and Joint Transmission field which may be used to indicate if a Multi-AP transmission scheme is supported”); and receiving, from the one or more second APs, one or more preparedness frames indicating a capability to participate in the TDMA-based MAP coordination” ([0001]: Coordinated Service Periods (SPs); [Claim 2]: “receives a response frame from the second AP, the response frame indicting acceptance of the request to setup one or more Coordinated SPs”).
With respect to claim 6, Chitrakar et al. discloses: “each preparedness frame includes a mode of coordination indicating a level of coordination that a corresponding second AP supports” ([0001]: Coordinated Service Periods (SPs); [Claim 2]: “receives a response frame from the second AP, the response frame indicting acceptance of the request to setup one or more Coordinated SPs”).
Regarding claim 7, Chitrakar et al. discloses: “a first basic service set (BSS) to which the first AP belongs partially overlaps with one or more second BSSs to which the one or more second APs belong respectively” ([0056]: “overlapping BSS (OBSS) traffic, wherein a
neighboring BSS is operating in a same channel”).
With respect to claim 8, Chitrakar et al. discloses: “an access point (AP) in a wireless network ([0015]: “FIG. 3 and FIG. 4 show overlapping wireless networks each of which can include at least one access point (AP) and at least one communication apparatus), comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory (FIG. 32: 3200, 3214, 3216, 3218; [00106]: “at least one memory 3218, a central processing unit (CPU) 3214 comprising at least one processor and at least one secondary storage 3216”), the processor configured to cause: receiving, from a first AP, a request frame indicating that the first AP intends to initiate a time division multiple access (TDMA)-based multiple AP (MAP) coordination ([0077]: “EHT Multi-AP Capabilities field 1306 may include a C-OFDMA field, C-TDMA field, C-SR field, C-BF field and Joint Transmission field which may be used to indicate if a Multi-AP transmission scheme is supported”); transmitting, to the first AP, a response frame indicating an acceptance of the request to initiate the TDMA-based MAP coordination ([0001]: Coordinated Service Periods (SPs); [Claim 2]: “receives a response frame from the second AP, the response frame indicting acceptance of the request to setup one or more Coordinated SPs”); transmitting, to the one or more second APs, information frames ([0097]: “transmitting TWT Information frames”) triggering the one or more second APs to participate in the TDMA-based MAP coordination initiated by the first AP ([0077]: “EHT Multi-AP Capabilities field 1306 may include a C-OFDMA field, C-TDMA field, C-SR field, C-BF field and Joint Transmission field which may be used to indicate if a Multi-AP transmission scheme is supported”); and receiving, from at least one second AP, an acknowledgement frame indicating that the second AP has received the information frame” ([0075]: “transmitting back an acknowledgement frame (e.g. a BlockAck frame) to the associated AP”).
In addition, Gupta discloses: “the one or more second APs, wherein the one or more second APs are within a coordination distance of the first AP” ([0007]: “A first additional distance between the additional AP and a first neighbor AP having determined coordinates may be received. A second additional distance between the additional AP and a second neighbor AP having determined coordinates may be received. Coordinates for the additional AP may be calculated. The coordinates for the additional AP may be based at least in part on the received first and second additional distances and the coordinates for the first and second neighbor Aps”).
With respect to claim 10, Chitrakar et al. discloses: “the response request frame includes a time duration of coordination that the first AP suggests” ([00117]: “a time duration and intervals of one or more sub-SPs that are requested by the first AP or assigned to the first AP by the second AP, the sub-SPs being a portion of the Coordinated SPs”).
Regarding claim 13, Chitrakar et al. discloses: “a first basic service set (BSS) to which the first AP belongs partially overlaps with one or more second BSSs to which the one or more second APs belong respectively” ([0056]: “overlapping BSS (OBSS) traffic, wherein a
neighboring BSS is operating in a same channel”).
With respect to claim 14, Chitrakar et al. discloses: “a first access point (AP) in a wireless network ([0015]: “FIG. 3 and FIG. 4 show overlapping wireless networks each of which can include at least one access point (AP) and at least one communication apparatus), comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory (FIG. 32: 3200, 3214, 3216, 3218; [00106]: “at least one memory 3218, a central processing unit (CPU) 3214 comprising at least one processor and at least one secondary storage 3216”), the processor configured to cause: receiving, from a second AP, a request frame indicating a request for participation ([Claim 6]: “the first AP is further configured to participate in a shared TXOP for Multi-AP Coordinated transmission”) in a time division multiple access (TDMA)-based multiple AP (MAP) coordination ([Claim 8]: “the Multi-AP Coordinated transmission is one of a Coordinated-orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA), Coordinated-time division multiple access (TDMA) transmission”), wherein the first AP is within a coordination distance of the second AP; and transmitting, to the second AP, a response frame ([0001]: Coordinated Service Periods (SPs); [Claim 2]: “receives a response frame from the second AP, the response frame indicting acceptance of the request to setup one or more Coordinated SPs)”) indicating acceptance of the request for participation in the TDMA-based MAP coordination” ([0077]: “EHT Multi-AP Capabilities field 1306 may include a C-OFDMA field, C-TDMA field, C-SR field, C-BF field and Joint Transmission field which may be used to indicate if a Multi-AP transmission scheme is supported”).
In addition, Gupta discloses: “the one or more second APs are within a coordination distance of the first AP” ([0007]: “An additional AP may be iteratively identified. A first additional distance between the additional AP and a first neighbor AP having determined coordinates may be received. A second additional distance between the additional AP and a second neighbor AP having determined coordinates may be received. Coordinates for the additional AP may be calculated. The coordinates for the additional AP may be based at least in part on the received first and second additional distances and the coordinates for the first and second neighbor Aps”).
With respect to claim 16, Chitrakar et al. discloses: “each response frame includes a mode of coordination indicating a level of coordination that a corresponding first AP supports” ([0001]: Coordinated Service Periods (SPs); [Claim 2]: “receives a response frame from the second AP, the response frame indicting acceptance of the request to setup one or more Coordinated SPs”).
Regarding claim 17, Chitrakar et al. discloses: “the processor is further configured to cause: receiving, from the second AP, an announcement frame indicating that the
second AP intends to initiate the TDMA-based MAP coordination ([0077]: “EHT Multi-AP Capabilities field 1306 may include a C-OFDMA field, C-TDMA field, C-SR field, C-BF field and Joint Transmission field which may be used to indicate if a Multi-AP transmission scheme is supported”); and transmitting, to the second AP, a preparedness frame indicating a capability to participate in the TDMA-based MAP coordination” ([0001]: Coordinated Service Periods (SPs); [Claim 2]: “receives a response frame from the second AP, the response frame indicting acceptance of the request to setup one or more Coordinated SPs”).
With respect to claim 18, Chitrakar et al. discloses: “the preparedness frame includes a mode of coordination indicating a level of coordination that a first AP supports” ([0001]: Coordinated Service Periods (SPs); [Claim 2]: “receives a response frame from the second AP, the response frame indicting acceptance of the request to setup one or more Coordinated SPs”).
Regarding claim 19, discloses: “the processor is further configured to cause:
receiving, from a third AP, an information frame triggering ([0097]: “transmitting TWT Information frames”) the first AP to participate in the TDMA-based multiple AP coordination initiated by the second AP ([0077]: “EHT Multi-AP Capabilities field 1306 may include a C-OFDMA field, C-TDMA field, C-SR field, C-BF field and Joint Transmission field which may be used to indicate if a Multi-AP transmission scheme is supported”); and transmitting, to the third AP, an acknowledgement frame indicating that the first AP has received the information frame” ([0075]: “transmitting back an acknowledgement frame (e.g. a BlockAck frame) to the associated AP”)
With respect to claim 20, Chitrakar et al. discloses: “a first basic service set (BSS) to which the first AP belongs partially overlaps with one or more second BSSs to which the one or more second APs belong respectively” ([0056]: “overlapping BSS (OBSS) traffic, wherein a
neighboring BSS is operating in a same channel”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 9, 11, 12 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Myron Wyche/ 19 August 2026
Primary Examiner AU2644