Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/11/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 01/28/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mildner (US 2011/140464), and further in view of Guo (CN 109532467).
Regarding claim 1, Mildner teaches a radiator module (1, Fig. 3, [0034]) of a motor vehicle ([0034]), the radiator module comprising:
a radiator (10, Fig. 3, [0034]); and
a reinforcing assembly (2 and 14 combined, Fig. 3, [0032], [0035]) connected to the radiator (Fig. 3, [0035]) for absorbing and/or diverting forces during an accident (see MPEP 2114 (II), intended use does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus has all the structural limitations of the claim).
Mildner does not teach the radiator comprises two water tanks; and
a radiator mesh structure arranged between the two water tanks.
However, Guo teaches a radiator (radiator, Fig. 1, page 3, paragraph 5) that comprises two water tanks (1, Fig. 1, page 3, paragraph 5; 3, Fig. 1, page 3, paragraph 7);
a radiator mesh structure (6, Fig. 1, page 3, paragraph 5) arranged between the two water tanks (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radiator module of Mildner to use the radiator of Guo in order to cool the engine as Mildner does not teach the precise structure of the radiator (Mildner: [0034]) and to improve radiating efficiency (Guo: page 2, paragraph 13).
Regarding claim 2, modified Modified Mildner teaches the reinforcing assembly comprises a reinforcing brace (14, Fig. 3, [0016]), which is fastened to the water tanks (Fig. 3, [0035], 14 is shown to fasten to the water tank of the radiator).
Regarding claim 3, modified Mildner teaches the reinforcing brace is a U- profile strip (Fig. 3), and wherein legs situated substantially in parallel to each other being arranged substantially perpendicularly to the radiator mesh structure (Fig. 3, the legs of 14 are substantially perpendicular to the plane of the mesh structure of Guo).
Regarding claim 4, modified Mildner teaches the reinforcing assembly comprises multiple reinforcing braces of this type (Fig. 2, two of upper 14 is shown).
Regarding claim 5, modified Mildner teaches the reinforcing braces are connected to each other with the aid of a stabilizing brace of the reinforcing assembly (3 and 4 combined, Fig. 2, [0032]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Mildner teaches an electromotive fan ([0034]).
Claim(s) 1 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felzer (FR 2208359) and further in view of Guo (CN 109532467).
Regarding claim 1, Felzer teaches a radiator module (14, 19a, and 33 combined, Fig. 6) of a motor vehicle (page 1, paragraph 1), the radiator module comprising:
a radiator (33, Fig. 3, page 3, paragraph 6); and
a reinforcing assembly (14 and 19a combined, Fig. 6, page 4, paragraph 4) connected to the radiator (Fig. 6) for absorbing and/or diverting forces during an accident (see MPEP 2114 (II), intended use does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus has all the structural limitations of the claim).
Felzer does not teach the radiator comprises two water tanks; and
a radiator mesh structure arranged between the two water tanks.
However, Guo teaches a radiator (radiator, Fig. 1, page 3, paragraph 5) that comprises two water tanks (1, Fig. 1, page 3, paragraph 5; 3, Fig. 1, page 3, paragraph 7);
a radiator mesh structure (6, Fig. 1, page 3, paragraph 5) arranged between the two water tanks (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radiator module of Felzer to use the radiator of Guo in order to cool the engine as Felzer does not teach the structure of the radiator and to improve radiating efficiency (Guo: page 2, paragraph 13).
Regarding claim 7, Felzer teaches a region of a motor vehicle comprising:
a wheel housing (10, Fig. 5, page 3, paragraph 2), within which a wheel and the radiator module according to claim 1 are arranged (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Felzer teaches the reinforcing assembly is designed in such a way that the wheel is moved out of the wheel housing during an accident (Fig. 7, page 4, paragraph 1; page 4, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 9, modified Felzer teaches the radiator module is arranged in front of the wheel in the direction of travel (Felzer: Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, modified Felzer teaches the reinforcing assembly is arranged in front of the radiator in the direction of travel (Fig. 6).
Conclusion
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763