Detailed Action
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 5-8 recites “the processor selecting a color channel, based on a separation degree that is an index calculated from each of a first color channel image and a second color channel image for an original image that includes a background image and a hand image and used to determine separability between the background image and the hand image” which is indefinite. It is unclear what element the phrase “and used to determine separability between the background image and the hand image” modifies. For example, it is unclear whether the selected color channel, the separation degree, or the original image is used to determine separability. The limitation lacks a clear linking element, and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain the scope of the claimed invention. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted to mean that the separation degree is used to determine separability between the background image and the hand image.
Claims 8 and 15 contain limitations found analogous to that of claim 1. Therefore, claims 8 and 15 are rejected for the same reason.
Claim 2 recites “the computer”, which lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear whether the claim element is meant to the “processor” or the “memory” of the detection device as recited in claim 1, or to a different computer. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain the scope of the claimed invention. For examination purposes, the claim element will be interpreted as “the processor”.
Claim 2, lines 8-10 recites “wherein the separation degree includes a first separation degree calculated from the frequency distribution of the pixel value” which is indefinite. The immediately preceding limitation recites “calculating a frequency distribution of a pixel value, for each of the background candidate and the hand candidate”, i.e., calculating two frequency distributions. It is therefore unclear which frequency distribution the first separation degree is calculated from, and whether the first separation degree is calculated from one or both. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain the scope of the claimed invention. For examination purposes, the claim limitation will be interpreted to mean a first separation degree calculated from the frequency distribution of the pixel values of either or both of the background candidate and the hand candidate.
Claims 9 and 16 contain limitations found analogous to that of claim 2. Therefore, claims 9 and 16 are rejected for the same reason.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the first separation degree is a separation degree according to a pixel value difference between two frequency peaks, in the frequency distribution of the pixel value.”, which is indefinite. As discussed above, Claim 2 recites “calculating a frequency distribution of a pixel value, for each of the background candidate and the hand candidate”, i.e., calculating two frequency distributions.” It is therefore unclear which frequency distribution the “two frequency peaks” are in, and whether the two peaks are in the same frequency distribution or one peak is in each of the two frequency distributions. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain the scope of the claimed invention. For examination purposes, the claim limitation will be interpreted to mean that the first separation degree is based on a pixel value difference between a frequency distribution of the background candidate and a frequency distribution of the hand candidate.
Claims 10 and 17 contain limitations found analogous to that of claim 1. Therefore, claims 10 and 17 are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 4-7, 11-14, 18-21 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of selecting a color channel for hand image detection, without significantly more.
The claim recites: “A detection device comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor being configured to perform processing including: the processor selecting a color channel, based on a separation degree that is an index calculated from each of a first color channel image and a second color channel image for an original image that includes a background image and a hand image and used to determine separability between the background image and the hand image; and the processor detecting the hand image included in the original image, by using the color channel selected.”
The limitations, as drafted, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the human mind. A person can observe separation degrees calculated for an image and select a color channel for hand image detection based on these observations. These steps correspond to cognitive process that can be performed entirely in the human mind through observation and analysis of data.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. For example, the claim recites the additional elements, “A detection device comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor being configured to perform processing”. These additional elements are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to generic computer components to perform generic computer functions. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial expectation. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality. It is therefore a judicial exception that is not integrated into a practical application, and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a further
limitation of the same abstract idea identified in the analysis of claim 1. For example, the person can mentally divide color channel images into regions and select the color channel for each region by observing corresponding separation degrees. This claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a further
limitation of the same abstract idea identified in the analysis of claim 1. For example, the person can mentally divide color channel images into region based on observed key points of the hand. This claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a further
limitation of the same abstract idea identified in the analysis of claim 1. For example, the person can mentally determine if each region includes background using key point analysis and decide to perform selection of color channels for only those regions which include background. This claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 8 and 15 contain limitations found analogous to that of claim 1. Therefore, claims 8 and 15 are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 12, 13, and 14, contain limitations found analogous to that of claims 5, 6, and 7, respectively. Therefore, claims 12, 13, and 14 are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 19, 20, and 21, contain limitations found analogous to that of claims 5, 6, and 7, respectively. Therefore, claims 19, 20, and 21 are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al ("Comprehensive features with randomized decision forests for hand segmentation from color images in uncontrolled indoor scenarios" Multimedia Tools and Applications, 2019), (hereinafter Martin) in view of Otsu ("A threshold selection method from gray-level histograms." IEEE transactions on systems, man, and cybernetics, 1979).
Regarding claim 1, Martin teaches a detection device comprising:
a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor being configured to perform processing (Martin, pg. 20998, 1st full paragraph, lines 1-3, “All the implementations and tests were done using MATLAB on a workstation which had Intel Core i7-4710MQ processors with a speed of 2.50 GHz. RDF was implemented using the TreeBagger function available in MATLAB’s Statistics and Machine Learning Toolbox.”) including:
the processor selecting a color channel, based on a first color channel image and a second color channel image for an original image that includes a background image and a hand image and used to determine separability between the background image and the hand image (Martin, pg. 20989, 2nd full paragraph, “In this work, a comprehensive set of features are introduced to detect if a pixel belongs to hand region in a Red, Green & Blue (RGB) image by extracting information regarding the pixel or a group of pixels surrounding it. We introduce new image features to improve the detection quality as well as new implementations of existing features to ensure faster and improved performances. Each of these features is studied in detail to highlight its advantages and disadvantages while being used with a RDF classifier for hand segmentation. Optimum parameters for each of the features as well as for RDF are identified through rigorous experimentations. Finally a comprehensive feature combination is provided which gives state of the art segmentation performance when used for segmenting hands from images captured in unrestricted indoor scenarios. A dataset containing hand images with natural backgrounds and lighting was created for evaluation purposes and existing segmentation methods were also evaluated using this dataset.”, pg. 20993-20994, Section 3.2 Proposed image features, paragraphs 1-3, “This section describes the features which are used to extract information from images. These features are used by RDF as properties of the pixels (objects) to be classified into hand or background… The values of a pixel in different color channels are taken as features of the pixel. Each color channel adds exactly one feature to the pixel. Color channels in different color spaces contain different information depending on how it is defined. Hence they could be combined to increase the number of properties associated with the pixels and thus to increase their separability.”, pg. 20995-20996, Section Neighborhood histogram, “Histograms of pixel values in various color channels had been used for skin detection by many researchers using different classification methods [11]. As mentioned earlier, it has been demonstrated that human skin has a characteristic color which is easily identifiable to humans [32]. Histogram provides a rough estimation about the under-laying distribution of pixel values in images. Figure 5 shows two histograms estimated from two different neighborhoods in the H channel of the image given in Fig. 20a. The first histogram was calculated using 51x51 neighborhood around a hand pixel and the second was using a equally sized neighborhood around a background pixel. These histograms clearly showcase visible differences indicating their potential as a feature for segmentation.”, see Fig. 5, Images including hands and background regions are collected and tested using various features to improve Randomized decision forest hand segmentation. Values for pixels in the images across different color channels are evaluated, such as histograms for hand and background regions, to determine a separability between foreground and background); and
the processor detecting the hand image included in the original image, by using the color channel selected (Martin, pg. 21000, Section 4.3.1 RSDF with color feature, 1st and 2nd paragraphs, “In this section, performance of the RDF in hand segmentation when values of pixels in different image channels were used as pixel properties is evaluated. Tests were conducted using RGB, YCbCr, and HSV color spaces… According to these observations, the RGB color space is the most suitable for color feature as it requires no extra calculations to estimate. The quantitative evaluation results are given in Table 3.”, Each feature is evaluated against each other by computation of f-scores in order to select color channels which produce the highest segmentation output. This process selects a feature, and its corresponding color channel, to be used in conjunction with the RDF for hand detection.).
Martin does not teach the processor selecting a color channel, based on a separation degree that is an index calculated from each of a first color channel image and a second color channel image for an original image that includes a background image and a hand image and used to determine separability between the background image and the hand image.
However, Otsu teaches the processor selecting a color channel, based on a separation degree that is an index calculated from each of a first color channel image and a second color channel image for an original image that includes a background image and a hand image and used to determine separability between the background image and the hand image (Otsu, pg. 63, Section II. Formulation, “Let the pixels of a given picture be represented in L gray levels [1, 2,… , L]. The number of pixels at level i is denoted by ni and the total number of pixels by N = n1 + n2 + … + nL. In order to simplify the discussion, the gray-level histogram is normalized and regarded as a probability distribution: (see eq. 1) Now suppose that we dichotomize the pixels into two classes CO and C1 (background and objects, or vice versa) by a threshold at level k… The class variances are given by (see eqs. 10 and 11) These require second-order cumulative moments (statistics). In order to evaluate the "goodness" of the threshold (at level k), we shall introduce the following discriminant criterion measures (or measures of class separability) used in the discriminant analysis [5]: (see eq. 12) where (see eqs. 13-14) (due to (9)) and (see eq 15) are the within-class variance, the between-class variance, and the total variance of levels, respectively. Then our problem is reduced to an optimization problem to search for a threshold k that maximizes one of the object functions (the criterion measures) in (12).”).
Martin teaches determining separability for hand and background images across color channels and selecting a channel to be used with RDF based on evaluating feature scores (Martin, pg. 20995-20996, Section Neighborhood histogram and pg. 21000, Section 4.3.1 RSDF with color feature, 1st and 2nd paragraphs). Martin further teaches calculating histograms for hand and background pixels across color channels (Martin, see Fig. 5). Martin does not teach this process being based on a separation degree that is an index calculated from color channel images to determine separability. Otsu teaches measuring class separability between foreground objects and backgrounds across gray levels of an image by performing histogram thresholding (see above). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the color channel selection of Martin to include measuring class separability between hand and background histograms as taught by Otsu (Otsu, pg. 63, Section II. Formulation). The motivation for doing so would have been to evaluate the separability of hand and background across various color channels, thereby improving hand detection by selecting the color channel with the greatest separability. Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Martin with Otsu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Martin teaches the detection device according to claim 1, further comprising:
the computer binarizing each of the first color channel image and the second color channel image; the computer extracting a background candidate and a hand candidate, from each of the first color channel image and the second color channel image that have been binarized; and the computer calculating a frequency distribution of a pixel value, for each of the background candidate and the hand candidate, wherein the separation degree includes a first separation degree calculated from the frequency distribution of the pixel value (Martin, pg. 20996, 1st full paragraph, “The method involves two parameters: number of bins (nBins) and width of neighborhood (hWidth). For each input image channel, nBins binary images are estimated corresponding to each bin in the histogram. A pixel in one of these binary images has a value 1 only if its value belong to the bin corresponding to that image. Hence a pixel position will have the value 1 in exactly one of the nBin binary images and 0 in the rest. The binary images for the first 2 out of 32 bins for an image are shown in Fig. 6. By using these binary images, the local histogram of any neighborhood size around any pixel can be easily estimated by using the integral image method in Viola and Jones. These integral images are estimated for each of the binary images. Then the histogram value of a particular bin can be estimated by using the summed area table calculation method of the integral image concept. The histogram feature calculated in this way for a pixel will have nBins values.”, Histograms are calculated for each channel image by first performing binary image estimation for each bin. The combination of Martin in view of Otsu would use these generated histograms to calculate class separability.).
Claim 8 corresponds to claim 1, additionally reciting a detection method implemented by a computer. Martin in view of Otsu teaches the addition of a detection method implemented by a computer (Martin, pg. 20998, 1st full paragraph, lines 1-3, “All the implementations and tests were done using MATLAB on a workstation which had Intel Core i7-4710MQ processors with a speed of 2.50 GHz. RDF was implemented using the TreeBagger function available in MATLAB’s Statistics and Machine Learning Toolbox.”). The remaining limitations are analogous to the limitations found in claim 1 and are rejected for the same reason.
Claim 9 corresponds to claim 2, additionally reciting a detection method implemented by a computer. Martin in view of Otsu teaches the addition of a detection method implemented by a computer (see analysis of claim 8) The remaining limitations are analogous to the limitations found in claim 2 and are rejected for the same reason.
Claim 15 corresponds to claim 1, additionally reciting a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a detection program. Martin in view of Otsu teaches the addition of a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a detection program (Martin, pg. 20998, 1st full paragraph, lines 1-3, “All the implementations and tests were done using MATLAB on a workstation which had Intel Core i7-4710MQ processors with a speed of 2.50 GHz. RDF was implemented using the TreeBagger function available in MATLAB’s Statistics and Machine Learning Toolbox.”). The remaining limitations are analogous to the limitations found in claim 1 and are rejected for the same reason.
Claim 16 corresponds to claim 2, additionally reciting a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a detection program. Martin in view of Otsu teaches the addition of a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a detection program (see analysis of claim 15). The remaining limitations are analogous to the limitations found in claim 2 and are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al ("Comprehensive features with randomized decision forests for hand segmentation from color images in uncontrolled indoor scenarios" Multimedia Tools and Applications, 2019) in view of Otsu ("A threshold selection method from gray-level histograms." IEEE transactions on systems, man, and cybernetics, 1979) and further in view of Wang et al. (CN 103310211 A), (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 3, Martin in view of Otsu teaches the detection device according to claim 2. Martin in view of Otsu does not teach wherein the first separation degree is a separation degree according to a pixel value difference between two frequency peaks, in the frequency distribution of the pixel value.
However, Wang teaches wherein the first separation degree is a separation degree according to a pixel value difference between two frequency peaks, in the frequency distribution of the pixel value (Wang, pg. 7, lines 1-7, “A further technical solution is that the method for obtaining the background image according to the histogram is to use the Mean-Shift algorithm to locate the peaks of the histograms of the foreground image and the background image, and calculate the distance between the two peaks, if the distance is less than If the threshold is set, it is considered 5 that the difference between the foreground image and the background image is too small, and the image block is set as the background image.”).
Martin in view of Otsu teaches computing histograms for images including a hand and background across color channels (Martin, pgs. 20995-20996, Section Neighborhood histogram) and applying histogram thresholding to determine separability (Otsu, pg. 63, Section II. Formulation). Martin in view of Otsu teaches calculating between-class variance using class means but does not teach calculating differences between histogram peaks. Wang teaches determining a distance between foreground and background image histograms for separation thresholding (see above). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the histogram thresholding of Martin in view of Otsu to compute a distance between histogram peaks as taught Wang (Wang, pg. 7, lines 1-7 and pgs. 12 and 13, lines 14-32 and 1-14, respectively). The motivation for doing so would have been to apply a direct difference measurement between histogram peaks, thereby reducing computational load of the system. Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Martin in view of Otsu with Wang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Claim 10 corresponds to claim 3, additionally reciting a detection method implemented by a computer. Martin in view of Otsu and further in view of Wang teaches the addition of a detection method implemented by a computer (see analysis of claim 8) The remaining limitations are analogous to the limitations found in claim 3 and are rejected for the same reason.
Claim 17 corresponds to claim 3, additionally reciting a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a detection program. Martin in view of Otsu and further in view of Wang teaches the addition of a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a detection program (see analysis of claim 15). The remaining limitations are analogous to the limitations found in claim 3 and are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al ("Comprehensive features with randomized decision forests for hand segmentation from color images in uncontrolled indoor scenarios" Multimedia Tools and Applications, 2019) in view of Otsu ("A threshold selection method from gray-level histograms." IEEE transactions on systems, man, and cybernetics, 1979) and further in view of Yang et al. (CN 107798681 A), (hereinafter Yang)
Regarding claim 4, Martin in view of Otsu teaches The detection device according to claim 1, the processing further comprising: the processor binarizing each of the first color channel image and the second color channel image; and the processor extracting a background candidate and a hand candidate, from each of the first color channel image and second color channel image that have been binarized (Martin, pg. 20996, 1st full paragraph, “The method involves two parameters: number of bins (nBins) and width of neighborhood (hWidth). For each input image channel, nBins binary images are estimated corresponding to each bin in the histogram. A pixel in one of these binary images has a value 1 only if its value belong to the bin corresponding to that image. Hence a pixel position will have the value 1 in exactly one of the nBin binary images and 0 in the rest. The binary images for the first 2 out of 32 bins for an image are shown in Fig. 6. By using these binary images, the local histogram of any neighborhood size around any pixel can be easily estimated by using the integral image method in Viola and Jones. These integral images are estimated for each of the binary images. Then the histogram value of a particular bin can be estimated by using the summed area table calculation method of the integral image concept. The histogram feature calculated in this way for a pixel will have nBins values.”, Histograms for pixels corresponding to the hand and background are calculated for each channel image by first performing binary image estimation for each bin. The combination of Martin in view of Otsu would use these generated histograms to calculate class separability).
Martin in view of Otsu does not teach the processor executing morphology processing on at least one of the background candidate and the hand candidate, wherein the separation degree includes a second separation degree according to a region difference between before and after the morphology processing.
However, Yang teaches the processor executing morphology processing on at least one of the background candidate and the hand candidate, wherein the separation degree includes a second separation degree according to a region difference between before and after the morphology processing (Yang, pg. 6, lines 13-30, “Step 3, use the morphologically processed image W obtained in step 2, and calculate its grayscale histogram on this basis, which is denoted as H 1 (x); Step 4, calculating the grayscale histogram of the image before morphological processing, denoted as H 2 (X); Step 5, calculate H(x)=|H 1 (x)-H 2 (x)| on the basis of steps 3 and 4; Step 6, calculate the rate of change of the target By comparing the histograms before and after morphological processing, although there are few target pixels in the histogram function of the image after the opening or closing operation, compared with the original image, the target pixel has a large change. Then define the rate of change of the target pixel In order to identify small objects in the image. Step 7, calculate the threshold according to the rate of change d(i) of the target obtained in step 6 where L is the gray level of the image, is a constant whose role is to prevent the selection of thresholds close to 0 or L gray levels;”).
Martin in view of Otsu teaches generating histograms for different color channel images including hand and background (Martin, pgs. 20995-20996, Section Neighborhood histogram). Martin in view of Otsu further teaches calculating class separation for the histograms of hand and background images (Otsu, pg. 63, Section II. Formulation). Martin in view of Otsu does not teach calculating a separation degree for a region difference between before and after morphological processing. Yang teaches applying thresholding to a calculated difference between histograms of target pixels in an image before and after a morphological operation (see above). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the class separation of Martin in view of Otsu to include a morphological difference as taught by Yang (Yang, pg. 6, lines 13-30). The motivation for doing so would have been to strengthen the target and adapt to illumination changes, thereby improving the accuracy of hand detection (as suggested by Yang, pg. 4, lines 12-17, “The method of the present invention utilizes morphological operation processing to strengthen the target, and sets the threshold through the change of the image gray histogram function before and after the morphological processing, can adapt to the change of illumination conditions, and has self-adaptability for small target detection. The invention can quickly segment small targets from images, has the characteristics of simplicity and high efficiency, and is suitable for on-line detection of small targets.”). Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Martin in view of Otsu with Yang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Claim 11 corresponds to claim 4, additionally reciting a detection method implemented by a computer. Martin in view of Otsu and further in view of Yang teaches the addition of a detection method implemented by a computer (see analysis of claim 8) The remaining limitations are analogous to the limitations found in claim 4 and are rejected for the same reason.
Claim 18 corresponds to claim 4, additionally reciting a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a detection program. Martin in view of Otsu and further in view of Yang teaches the addition of a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a detection program (see analysis of claim 15). The remaining limitations are analogous to the limitations found in claim 4 and are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 5-6, 12-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al ("Comprehensive features with randomized decision forests for hand segmentation from color images in uncontrolled indoor scenarios" Multimedia Tools and Applications, 2019) in view of Otsu ("A threshold selection method from gray-level histograms." IEEE transactions on systems, man, and cybernetics, 1979) and further in view of Yao (US-20180039864).
Regarding claim 5, Martin in view of Otsu teaches the detection device according to claim 1, the processing further comprising:
the processor dividing each of the first color channel image and the second color channel image into a plurality of regions (Martin, pg. 20995, last paragraph, lines 7-8, “The first histogram was calculated using 51x51 neighborhood around a hand pixel and the second was using a equally sized neighborhood around a background pixel.”, see Figs. 3 and 5).
Martin in view of Otsu does not teach wherein the selecting of the color channel is performed for each region of the plurality of regions to select the color channel according to the separation degree of the each region.
However, Yao teaches wherein the selecting of the color channel is performed for each region of the plurality of regions to select the color channel according to the separation degree of the each region (Yao, pg. 2, paragraph 0022, “In some embodiments discussed herein , skin detection may include generating a skin model based on a skin dominant region of an image and a non - skin model based on another region of the image. For example, the image may include a face detection region, hand detection region , or other region likely to include pixels representing skin. The skin dominant region may be detected or received as is discussed further herein. The skin model and non – skin model may include any suitable model such as a color histogram model or the like. Furthermore, the skin model and non - skin model may be based on any suitable information in the skin dominant region and the other region of the image such as color feature vectors associated with the pixels of such regions. For example, the color feature vectors may include one, two, or three, or more values associated with the color channels of image data associated with the image.”, pg. 2, paragraph 0027, “As shown , skin dominant region detection module 101 may receive image data 110 and skin dominant region detection module 101 may generate skin dominant region data ( SDR ) 111 . Skin dominant region detection module 101 may generate skin dominant region data 111 using any suitable technique or techniques. Furthermore, skin dominant region data 111 may include any suitable data or parameters representing a skin dominant region such as position information representing two or more corners of a rectangle (e. g., a bounding box) , position and size information for other shapes (e. g., squares , circles, ovals, etc. ) , or the like.”, pg. 4, paragraph 0039, “As discussed , skin and non - skin modeling module 102 may generate a skin model and a non - skin model. In some examples, the skin model and the non - skin model may by unit color histograms based models. However, any suitable models may be used . For example, a unit color histogram may be generated for the skin dominant region and the other region as shown with respect to Equations (3) and (4)”).
Martin in view of Otsu teaches determining histograms for hand and background regions of different color channel images to calculate a separation degree for selecting the best color channel for hand detection of the whole image (Martin, pg. 21000, Section 4.3.1 RSDF with color feature, 1st and 2nd paragraphs). Martin in view of Otsu does not teach calculating separation degrees for each region. Yao teaches dividing images into skin and non-skin models and performing histogram analysis per region (see above). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the color channel selection of Martin in view of Otsu to be performed for skin and non-skin models as taught by Yao (see above). The motivation for doing so would have been to account for illumination and color variations across image regions, thereby improving hand detection accuracy. Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Martin in view of Otsu with Yao to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Martin in view of Otsu and further in view of Yao teaches the detection device according to claim 5, wherein the dividing includes dividing each of the first color channel image and the second color channel image into the plurality of regions, according to a key point for a part of a hand detected from the original image (Yao, pg. 3, paragraph 0030, lines 1-9, “Returning to FIG . 1 , as discussed , skin dominant region detection module 101 may generate or receive facial landmarks , hand landmarks , or the like indicative of skin region of an image . Skin dominant region detection module 101 may generate skin dominant region data 111 based on such landmarks. For example, skin dominant region detection module 101 may determine a minimum bounding box including such landmarks and expand the minimum bounding box to generate or provide a skin dominant region.”, Each color image can be divided into skin and non-skin models according to landmarks on a hand in the image.).
Claims 12-13 correspond to claims 5-6, respectively, additionally reciting a detection method implemented by a computer. Martin in view of Otsu and further in view of Yao teaches the addition of a detection method implemented by a computer (see analysis of claim 8) The remaining limitations are analogous to the limitations found in claims 5-6 and are rejected for the same reason.
Claim 19-20 corresponds to claims 5-6, additionally reciting a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a detection program. Martin in view of Otsu and further in view of Yao teaches the addition of a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a detection program (see analysis of claim 15). The remaining limitations are analogous to the limitations found in claims 5-6 and are rejected for the same reason.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7, 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) and 101. These claims would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the above rejections.
Conclusion
/CONNOR L HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2672
/SUMATI LEFKOWITZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2672