DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the one or more intermediate layers of claim 4, and these layers having a staggered length from claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recites “the inner and outer curtain layers are sewn together before being connected to the roller curtain”. This is interpreted as requiring the curtains to be sewn together at a position that is below the position of the curtain roller. This is not interpreted as requiring the stitching to take place at a time before being connected to the curtain roller.
Claim 17 recites “the inner and outer curtain layers are sewn together before being connected to the bottom bar”. This is interpreted as requiring the curtains to be sewn together at a position that is above the position of the bottom bar. This is not interpreted as requiring the stitching to take place at a time before being connected to the bottom bar.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, and 11-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12697515. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending and patented claims recite the same subject matter in different terms. The pending claims recite “retracted position”, “connected”, and “second end”, while the patented claim recites “open position”, “fixed”, and “free end”.
Claim 3 and claim 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12697515 in view of claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12697515. Although claim 7 fails to disclose the second width of the outer curtain layer being outside the guide channels, this is disclosed in claim 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take these teachings in order to provide the claimed limitations.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12697515 in view of claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12697515. Although claim 7 fails to disclose one or more intermediate layers, this is disclosed in claim 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take these teachings in order to provide the claimed limitations.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12697515 in view of claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12697515. Although claim 7 fails to the disclose one or more intermediate layers being made of fire retardant materials, this is disclosed in claim 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take these teachings in order to provide the claimed limitations.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12697515. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending and patented claims recite the same subject matter in different terms. The pending claims recite “retracted position”, “connected”, and “second end”, while the patented claim recites “open position”, “fixed”, and “free end”.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12697515. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending and patented claims recite the same subject matter in different terms. The pending claims recite “retracted position”, “connected”, and “second end”, while the patented claim recites “open position”, “fixed”, and “free end”.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12697515 in view of claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12697515. Although claim 7 fails to disclose the lateral edges of the outer curtain layer not extending into the guide channels, this is disclosed in claim 11. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take these teachings in order to provide the claimed limitations.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12697515 in view of claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12697515. Although claim 7 fails to disclose a motor, this is disclosed in claim 12. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take these teachings in order to provide the claimed limitations.
Claims 1, and 11-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending and patented claims recite the same subject matter in different terms. The pending claims recite “retracted position”, “connected”, and “second end”, while the patented claim recites “open position”, “fixed”, and “free end”.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856 in view of claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856. Although claim 7 fails to disclose the curtain being flexible and the layers made of a fire resistant textile material, this is disclosed in claim 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take these teachings in order to provide the claimed limitations.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856 in view of claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856. Although claim 7 fails to disclose the second width of the outer curtain layer being outside the first and second guide channels, this is disclosed in claim 12. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take these teachings in order to provide the claimed limitations.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856 in view of claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856. Although claim 7 fails to disclose one or more intermediate layers, this is disclosed in claim 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take these teachings in order to provide the claimed limitations.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856 in view of claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856. Although claim 7 fails to disclose one or more intermediate layers being made of fire retardant materials, this is disclosed in claim 10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take these teachings in order to provide the claimed limitations.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856 in view of claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856. Although claim 7 fails to disclose the second width of the outer curtain layer being outside the guide channels, this is disclosed in claim 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take these teachings in order to provide the claimed limitations.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending and patented claims recite the same subject matter in different terms. The pending claims recite “retracted position”, “connected”, and “second end”, while the patented claim recites “open position”, “fixed”, and “free end”.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending and patented claims recite the same subject matter in different terms. The pending claims recite “retracted position”, “connected”, and “second end”, while the patented claim recites “open position”, “fixed”, and “free end”.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856 in view of claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856. Although claim 7 fails to disclose the lateral edges of the outer curtain at the second width do not extend into the guide channels, this is disclosed in claim 12. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take these teachings in order to provide the claimed limitations.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856 in view of claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12048856. Although claim 7 fails to disclose a motor, this is disclosed in claim 15. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take these teachings in order to provide the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 9-13, and 15-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashelin (US 8839842) in view of Jawor (EP 3546026) and Cahill (US 878341).
Regarding claim 1, Ashelin teaches a multi-layer rolling fire curtain assembly positionable about an opening (fig. 2), comprising:
a rotatable curtain roller (32) positionable about the opening;
first and second guide channels (the 36s) arranged along a right-side edge and a left-side edge of the opening, respectively,
a flexible multi-layer fire curtain (see fig. 3) comprising material and being configured to be wrapped about the curtain roller and to be deployable from the curtain roller between a retracted position and an extended position, the multi- layer fire curtain having a first end (top end) connected to the curtain roller, and a second end (bottom end), the multi-layer fire curtain having:
an inner curtain layer arranged in contact with the curtain roller and having a first width W1 between first and second lateral edges, and an outer curtain layer arranged opposite the inner curtain layer, wherein the outer curtain layer has a second width W2 (fig. 3 shows both the inner and the outer layer, and it is shown in fig. 2 that both layers have a width and a length); and
wherein the curtain is configured and arranged so as to be received in and guided along a respective one of the first and second guide channels.
Ashelin does not teach the material being fire resistant, nor the second end connected to a bottom bar, nor the second width being less that the first width, with the outer curtain being longer than the inner curtain to form a baggy area therebetween.
Jawor discloses a bottom bar (Fig 7) connected to a leading edge of the free end of a multi-layer fire curtain. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ashelin so that there is a bottom bar connected to the second end, and that the curtain is made of fire resistant material. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of better sealing and fire protection for a room.
Providing an outer curtain layer that is longer than the inner curtain layer is known, as
taught by Cahill (Figs 1 and 2). Cahill teaches that the differences in length allow for air chambers to be formed to obviate buckling. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Ashelin in view of Cahill and provide a longer outer curtain layer in order to form air chambers and improve the curtain by preventing buckling. Such modification would not lead to any new or unpredictable results since the technique is known, as taught by Cahill. One would be motivated to look to improve Jawor with the teachings of Cahill in order to provide free circulation of air when the curtain is exposed to heat, thereby reducing buckling and distortion in fire curtains. This modification results in there being a baggy area formed therebetween the curtains.
Modifying the widths of the inner and outer curtain layers such that the width of the outer curtain layer is less than the width of the inner curtain layer would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. Such modification involves a mere change in size with no new or unexpected result. Further, one would be motivated to provide venting at horizontally outer ends as taught by Cahill. Cahill teaches that it is known for a fire curtain to have free outer ends to allow for venting and free circulation of air when exposed to heat. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill
in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation
of success that the outer ends of the inner and outer curtain layers provide venting, as taught by
Cahill. One would be motivated to incorporate the known technique taught by Cahill into Ashelin
to improve the fire curtain in order to form air chambers and prevent buckling. Such
modification would not lead to any new or unpredictable results since the technique is known, as
taught by Cahill. One would be motivated to incorporate the known technique taught by Cahill into Ashelin to improve the fire curtain in order to form air chambers to prevent buckling when
the fire curtain is exposed to fired and heat and such modification would not lead to any new or
unpredictable results since the technique is known, as taught by Cahill.
Regarding claim 2, modified Ashelin teaches that the multi-layer fire curtain is flexible, establishes a fire barrier across the opening in the extended position, and the inner and outer layers are each made of a fire resistant textile material (after the modification above).
Regarding claim 4, modified Ashelin teaches one or more intermediate layers arranged so as to be sandwiched between the inner and outer fire resistant textile layers (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ashelin does not teach that the one or more intermediate layers are made from a fire retardant composite material or a fire retardant metallic material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the one or more intermediate layers are made from a fire retardant composite material or a fire retardant metallic material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. This alteration protects the device from fires.
Regarding claim 9, modified Ashelin teaches that in a case in which the multi-layer fire curtain is in an extended position, the bottom bar is parallel with and in contact with the ground (rail contacts ground surface when curtain is extended and forms a barrier). Examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success that the bottom bar contact the ground in order to form a full barrier against fire.
Regarding claim 10, modified Ashelin teaches that the bottom bar is connected to the second end of the multi-layer fire curtain by clamping (after the modification to claim 1 above, see elements 72 and 73 of Jawor).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ashelin teaches that wherein the flexible multi-layer fire curtain is connected to the roller directly or indirectly.
Regarding claim 12, modified Ashelin teaches that the flexible multi-layer fire curtain is connected to the bottom bar directly or indirectly.
Regarding claim 13, modified Ashelin does not explicitly teach that the inner and outer curtain layers are sewn together before being connected to the curtain roller, but it does teach sewing components together (column 4 lines 1-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Ashelin so that the inner and outer curtain layers are sewn together before being connected to the curtain roller. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of a quick and strong connection between the components.
Regarding claim 15, modified Ashelin teaches a motor configured to drive the rotatable curtain roller to wind the multi-layer fire curtain onto the rotatable curtain roller (column 2 lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 16, modified Ashelin does not explicitly teach that the curtain roller is connected to the first end of the multi-layer fire curtain by clamping.
Jawor teaches a connection between a curtain and a component via clamping (see elements 72 and 73 of Jawor). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Ashelin so that the curtain roller is connected to the first end of the multi-layer fire curtain by clamping. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of a strong connection between the components.
Regarding claim 17, modified Ashelin does not explicitly teach that the inner and outer curtain layers are sewn together before being connected to the bottom bar, but it does teach sewing components together (column 4 lines 1-5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Ashelin so that the inner and outer curtain layers are sewn together before being connected to the bottom bar. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of a quick and strong connection between the components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6-8, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634