DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al., US Patent Publication 2015/0054719 in view of Inoue et al., US Patent Publication 2003/0156239.
Regarding independent claim 25, Lee et al. teaches a display device comprising a plurality of subpixels electrically connected to a plurality of data lines and a plurality of gate lines (paragraph 0013 explains the use of the display device with a plurality of subpixels that are connected to data lines DL and gate lines GL as depicted in figure 9),
wherein the plurality of data lines (data line DL of figure 9 as given in paragraph 0076) are configured to receive an image frame voltage for displaying an image frame (paragraph 0006 explains the use of an image visible as the data of the display device),
the frame comprises a plurality of frame lines (each line of data provided by data line DL of figure 9),
each of the plurality of subpixels comprise an open area configured to emit light when the subpixel generates light and a circuit part on which a circuit allowing light to exit through the open area is disposed (paragraph 0030 explains that each pixel PX includes sub-pixels SPX1 to SPX5 that each include an emission part EA of circuitry and an open transparent part TA as depicted in figure 9), and
the open area of subpixels in a first frame line is disposed between a first gate line and a second gate line among the plurality of gate lines (figure 9 shows that the open areas TA of particular subpixels is disposed between the two gate lines GL).
Lee et al. does not provide details on the image display. Inoue et al. provides details on images that are displayed using subpixels that are driven alternatingly (paragraphs 0004 and 0006 and 0014 explain how the organic EL display of paragraphs 0064-0065 is driven using pixels). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to drive the image as taught by Inoue et al. in the system of Lee et al. The rationale to combine would be to avoid flicker or image persistence (paragraph 0067 of Inoue et al.).
Regarding claim 26, Lee et al. teaches the display device according to claim 25, wherein a first subpixel in the first frame line is electrically connected to the first gate line (figure 9 shows that subpixel SPX2 is connected to the top gate line GL),
a second subpixel in the first frame line is electrically connected to the second gate line (figure 9 shows that subpixel SPX4 is connected to the bottom gate line GL), and
the open area of the first subpixel and the open area of the second subpixel are disposed between the first gate line and the second gate line (figure 9 shows that the open areas TA of both subpixels are disposed between the top and bottom gate lines GL).
Lee et al. does not provide details on the image display. Inoue et al. provides details on images that are displayed using subpixels that are driven alternatingly (paragraphs 0004 and 0006 and 0014 explain how the organic EL display of paragraphs 0064-0065 is driven using pixels). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to drive the image as taught by Inoue et al. in the system of Lee et al. The rationale to combine would be to avoid flicker or image persistence (paragraph 0067 of Inoue et al.).
Regarding claim 27, Lee et al. teaches the display device according to claim 26, wherein a third subpixel in a second frame line is electrically connected to the second gate line (figure 9 shows that subpixel SPX6 is connected to the bottom gate line GL), and
the open area of the second subpixel and the circuit part of the third subpixel are disposed between the first gate line and the second gate line (figure 9 shows that the open areas TA of both subpixels are disposed between the top and bottom gate lines GL).
Lee et al. does not provide details on the image display. Inoue et al. provides details on images that are displayed using subpixels that are driven alternatingly (paragraphs 0004 and 0006 and 0014 explain how the organic EL display of paragraphs 0064-0065 is driven using pixels). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to drive the image as taught by Inoue et al. in the system of Lee et al. The rationale to combine would be to avoid flicker or image persistence (paragraph 0067 of Inoue et al.).
Regarding claim 28, Inoue et al. teaches further the display device according to claim 26, wherein the first subpixel is configured to receive a first data voltage supplied and the second subpixel is configured to receive a second data voltage in a different period from the first data voltage (paragraphs 0014 and 0040 explains that the driving happens through different data in different subpixels at different times).
Regarding claim 29, Lee et al. teaches the display device according to claim 25, wherein the plurality of gate lines comprise first to (n+1)th gate lines (figure 9 shows multiple gate lines that are at the top and bottom), and
the open area in pixels of an nth frame line is disposed between the (n+1)th gate line and an nth gate line (figure 9 shows that the open areas TA of the different subpixels are disposed between the top and bottom gate lines GL).
Lee et al. does not provide details on the image display. Inoue et al. provides details on images that are displayed using subpixels that are driven alternatingly (paragraphs 0004 and 0006 and 0014 explain how the organic EL display of paragraphs 0064-0065 is driven using pixels). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to drive the image as taught by Inoue et al. in the system of Lee et al. The rationale to combine would be to avoid flicker or image persistence (paragraph 0067 of Inoue et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The closest prior art is made of record in the attached notice of references cited.
/PARUL H GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627