DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species Group 2-B as represented by Figure 22B in the reply filed on 02/25/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be a substantial burden on the Office to examine all of the species in view of the close relationships of the species to each other and the fact that all of the pending claims read on all of three species group. This is not found persuasive because the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different search strategies or search query and the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicant to another invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-21, 23-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Basso (US 4668109).
In reference to Claim 1
Basso discloses:
A system for a wind turbine nacelle, the system comprising:
a shaft housing (20); a blade shaft (27, 25; blade shaft as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso) that extends through the shaft housing and is rotatable relative to the shaft housing; a blade holder (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso) clamped around a distal end of the blade shaft; an outer bearing (30, 44) between the blade shaft and the shaft housing; a conical spring (48) engaging a portion of the outer bearing to exert a preload force on the outer bearing; a backstop (36) surrounding the blade shaft and secured to the blade shaft via an interference fit (“The spacer ring is held in place by a retainer ring 36 which threadedly engages the first end of the shaft,” Col. 3, ll. 1-6); and a pin (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso) extending through the blade shaft and the blade holder, the pin being positioned to prevent the blade shaft from moving relative to the backstop. (Col. 2, ll. 29-68; Col. 3, ll. 1-55; Fig. 1-3).
(Col. 3, ll. 19-23; Basso) A thick washer 50 contacts the exposed ends of these springs, holding these springs under compression so that there is a perpetual expansive force exerted between the members 46 and 50.
Figure 1: Annotated Figure 2 of Basso.
In reference to Claim 2
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the backstop (36) and the blade shaft (27, 25; blade shaft as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso) have an interference fit such that the conical spring can exert the preload force on the outer bearing. (Col. 3, ll. 19-23; Basso)
(Col. 3, ll. 32-43; Basso) This force in turn pulls the shaft down, taking its orientation from FIG. 2, relative to the stationary casing 20, which in turn pulls the spacer 32 against the race of the bearings in the upper chamber, causing a substantially equal compressive force, in both radial and axial directions, against the bearing elements in the two upper bearing rings 40. As any of the bearings wear, therefore, the coil springs 48 will expand axially slightly, taking up the slack, so there is no play between the bearings and their races. Because there is no play, the wobbling and vibration associated with bearing play is absent, and brinelling will be virtually eliminated.
In reference to Claim 4
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the blade holder and the blade shaft have an interference fit since the blade holder disposed inbetween (in the longitudinal direction) portions of the blade shaft which are larger in diameter than the diameter of the opening of the blade holder (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso).
In reference to Claim 5
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the pin extends through a region of the blade holder having a thickness greater than a thickness of the shaft housing (Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 6
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the conical spring (48) is between the outer bearing and the blade holder (Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 7
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 6, further comprising an inner bearing (28, 40) between the blade shaft (27, 25; blade shaft as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso) and the shaft housing (20), the inner bearing engaging a portion of the backstop (36). (Col. 3, ll. 19-23; 32-43; Basso; Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 8
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 7, wherein the inner bearing (28, 40) is spaced from the outer bearing (30, 44) such that the conical spring compresses to generate the preload force that is exerted on the outer bearing and the inner bearing. (Col. 3, ll. 19-23; 32-43; Basso; Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 9
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 8, wherein the preload force is exerted on the outer bearing toward the inner bearing, causing the preload force to be exerted on the inner bearing toward the outer bearing. (Col. 3, ll. 19-23; 32-43; Basso; Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 10
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 9, further comprising a compression plate (42) between the conical spring and the blade holder, wherein the conical spring exerts the preload force on the compression plate toward the blade holder.
(Col. 3, ll. 7-18; Basso) In a somewhat similar arrangement in the second bearing chamber, there is first an expansion ring 42 on the other side of the internal rib 38 from the first bearing chamber. Captured between the expansion ring and the shoulder 27 is a second pair of bearing rings 44 in the second ring chamber 30.
The expanding ring 42 could take a variety of forms, but in the preferred embodiment, it comprises an annular member 46 having spaced bores which house coiled springs 48, which are extended in the radial or longitudinal direction as shown in FIG. 2. These springs can also be seen, seated in their bores, in FIG. 3.
In reference to Claim 11
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein a seal (34) is mounted around the blade shaft between a portion of the backstop (36) and the shaft housing (20). (Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 12
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the blade shaft has a smooth outer surface (smooth outer surfaces of 27, 25; blade shaft as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso).
In reference to Claim 13
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 1, further including a plurality of pins (pin; as shown in in annotated Figure 2 of Basso) extending through the blade shaft and the blade holder, the plurality of pins being positioned to prevent the blade shaft from moving relative to the backstop (Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 14
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 1, further including a spring ring (42) positioned between the outer bearing and the conical spring, the conical spring engaging the portion of the outer bearing to exert the preload force on the outer bearing via the spring ring. (Col. 3, ll. 7-18; Basso).
In reference to Claim 15
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the outer bearing (30, 44) includes an inner race (44) adjacent the blade shaft and an outer race (outer race of bearing 30, 44; Fig. 2) adjacent the shaft housing, the conical spring (48) engaging the inner race of the outer bearing. (Col. 3, ll. 19-23; 32-43; Basso; Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 16
Basso discloses:
A system comprising:
a rotor head (12, 26, hub); a rotatable blade shaft (27, 25; blade shaft as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso) adjacent the rotor head; an outer bearing (30, 44) surrounding the rotatable blade shaft; and a conical spring (48) surrounding the blade shaft and engaging an inner race (28, 40) of the outer bearing to exert a preload force on the outer bearing. (Col. 2, ll. 29-68; Col. 3, ll. 1-55; Fig. 1-3).
(Col. 3, ll. 19-23; Basso) A thick washer 50 contacts the exposed ends of these springs, holding these springs under compression so that there is a perpetual expansive force exerted between the members 46 and 50.
In reference to Claim 17
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 16, wherein the blade shaft has a smooth outer surface (smooth outer surfaces of 27, 25; blade shaft as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso).
In reference to Claim 18
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 16, further including a blade holder (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso) clamped around a distal end of the blade shaft and a pin (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso) extending through the blade holder and the blade shaft to prevent the blade shaft from moving relative to the blade holder.(Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 19
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 18, further including a shaft housing (20) surrounding and spaced from the blade shaft, wherein the pin (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso) extends through a region of the blade holder having a thickness greater than a thickness of the shaft housing.(Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 20
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 18, further including a backstop (36) surrounding a proximal end of the blade shaft and secured to the blade shaft via an interference fit (“The spacer ring is held in place by a retainer ring 36 which threadedly engages the first end of the shaft,” Col. 3, ll. 1-6), the pin preventing the blade shaft from moving relative to the backstop. (Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 21
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 20, further comprising an inner bearing (28, 40) surrounding the rotatable blade shaft, the inner bearing engaging a portion of the backstop (36). (Col. 3, ll. 19-23; 32-43; Basso; Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 23
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 18, wherein the conical spring (48) is between the outer bearing (30, 44) and the blade holder (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso).
In reference to Claim 24
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 16, further comprising a spring ring (42) positioned between the outer bearing and the conical spring, the conical spring engaging the inner race of the outer bearing to exert the preload force on the outer bearing via the spring ring. (Col. 3, ll. 7-18; Basso).
In reference to Claim 25
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 16, further including a shaft housing (20) surrounding a proximal portion of the shaft and connected to the rotor head (12, 26).
In reference to Claim 26
Basso discloses:
A system for a wind turbine nacelle (nacelle of wind turbine assembly, 10) having a shaft housing (20), a blade shaft (27, 25; blade shaft as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso) that extends through the shaft housing and is rotatable relative to the shaft housing, a blade holder (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso) connected to the blade shaft, and an outer bearing (30, 44) between the blade shaft and the shaft housing, the system comprising: a conical spring (48) engaging a portion of the outer bearing to exert a preload force on the outer bearing; a backstop (36) surrounding the blade shaft and having an interference fit with the blade shaft (“The spacer ring is held in place by a retainer ring 36 which threadedly engages the first end of the shaft,” Col. 3, ll. 1-6); and a pin (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso) extending through the blade shaft and the blade holder, the pin being positioned to prevent the blade shaft from moving relative to the backstop.
In reference to Claim 27
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 26, further comprising a plurality of pins (pins as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso) extending through the blade shaft and the blade holder. (Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 28
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 26, wherein the conical spring (46) is between the outer bearing (30, 44) and the blade holder (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso).
In reference to Claim 29
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 26, wherein a seal (34) is mounted around the blade shaft between a portion of the backstop (36) and the shaft housing (20). (Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 30
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 26, further including a spring ring (42) positioned between the outer bearing (30, 44) and the conical spring (48), the conical spring engaging the portion of the outer bearing to exert the preload force on the outer bearing via the spring ring. (Col. 3, ll. 7-18; Basso).
In reference to Claim 31
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 26, wherein the outer bearing includes an inner race (inner race of 30, 44; Fig. 2) adjacent the blade shaft (27, 25; blade shaft as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso) and an outer race (44) adjacent the shaft housing, the conical spring engaging the inner race of the outer bearing. (Col. 3, ll. 19-23; 32-43; Basso; Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 32
Basso discloses:
A system comprising:
a rotor head (12, 26); and a plurality of spaced rotatable blades (14); wherein each of the plurality of spaced rotatable blades (Fig. 1) is connected to a blade holder (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso); wherein each blade holder is connected to a rotatable blade shaft (27, 25; blade shaft as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso); wherein each blade shaft is surrounded by an outer bearing (30, 44); and wherein each blade shaft has a conical spring (46) surrounding the blade shaft that engages an inner race (inner race of 30, 44; Fig. 2) of the outer bearing to exert a preload on the outer bearing (Col. 3, ll. 19-23; 32-43; Basso; Fig. 2). (Col. 2, ll. 29-68; Col. 3, ll. 1-55; Fig. 1-3).
In reference to Claim 33
Basso discloses:
A system comprising:
a rotor head (12, 26); a plurality of blade holders (blade holder as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso for a plurality of blades shown in Fig. 1) connected to the rotor head; a plurality of spaced rotatable blades (14), each of the plurality of spaced rotatable blades being connected to one of the plurality of blade holders; a plurality of rotatable blade shafts (27, 25; blade shaft as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso for each of the blade), each of the plurality of rotatable blade shafts being connected to one of the plurality of blade holders; a plurality of outer bearings (30, 44 for each of the blade), each of the plurality of outer bearings surrounding one of the plurality of rotatable blade shafts; and a plurality of conical springs (48 for each of the blade), each of the plurality of conical springs surrounding one of the plurality of rotatable blade shafts and engaging an inner race (inner race of 30, 44; Fig. 2) of the outer bearing surrounding the rotatable blade shaft on which the conical spring is mounted to exert a preload force on the outer bearing. (Col. 3, ll. 19-23; 32-43; Basso; Fig. 2). (Col. 2, ll. 29-68; Col. 3, ll. 1-55; Fig. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basso (US 4668109) in view of Gaubis et al. (US 3159221, hereinafter: “Gaubis” ).
In reference to Claims 3 and 22
Basso discloses:
The system of claim 1 and 20, wherein the blade holder (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Basso).
Basso does not explicitly disclose the blade holder comprises two halves that are clamped together at a saw-cut via a bolt that extends through each of the two halves of the blade holder.
Gaubis teaches rotatable blade (22) comprising a blade shaft (52) disposed in a blade holder (42, 44). Gaubis teaches the blade holder (42, 44)comprises two halves (42, 44) that are clamped together at a saw-cut via a bolt (70) that extends through each of the two halves of the blade holder.
(Col. 2, ll. 9-21; Gaubis) It will be noted that while the bearings 12 acting between the outturned or outwardly extending flange 38 on the base of the propeller blade and the inturned or inwardly extending flange 40 on the split hub arm will act to prevent outward or outboard movement of the blades 20 and 22. The blade, as far as this bearing is concerned, is free to move inward or inboard toward the pitch changing sleeve 24. In order to prevent this inward movement applicants have provided the clamp rings 42 and 44 which act as removable flanges secured to the blades 20 and 22 and cooperating with the outward or outboard ends of the arms 16 and 18 to hold the blades in position and prevent inward movement thereof.
Based on the teaching of Basso and Gaubis, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blade holder of Basso by utilizing blade holder made of two-halves ring clamped together as taught by Gaubis for the purpose of providing removable flanges to secure to the blades (Col. 2, ll. 9-21; Gaubis).
Figure 2: Figures 1-3 of Gaubis for reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jacobs (US 2516576), and Carter, Jr. et al. (US 4522564), Kojima et al. (US 4653982) disclose a blade and hub connection that is relevant to the Applicant’s invention.
/AYE S HTAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745