DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/0202020.
Regarding claim 1, WO 2020/0202020 discloses:
A resin rail garnish (20; Fig. 4; see page 3 of the translation, the first line of the third full paragraph) provided along both an A pillar (portion 20A in Fig. 4) and a roof side rail (portion 20B in Fig. 4) of a vehicle (see the Abstract, line 3) comprising;
a garnish inner member (elements 30 and 39 (two occurrences) as pointed out in annotated Fig. 4 below) disposed on a vehicle interior side of the rail garnish (20; Figs 2-4), wherein
the garnish inner member (elements 30 and 39 (two occurrences) as pointed out in annotated Fig. 4 below) is divided into at least two or more parts (three parts: 30 and 39 (two occurrences) as pointed out in annotated Fig. 4 below) in a vehicle longitudinal direction (such direction is left to right in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, WO 2020/0202020 discloses:
The rail garnish according to claim 1, as explained above,
wherein the garnish inner member is divided at least at a boundary (circled with a dotted line in annotated Fig. 4 above) between the A pillar (12; Fig. 1) and the roof side rail (15; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, WO 2020/0202020 discloses:
The rail garnish according to claim 2, as explained above,
wherein the garnish inner member (elements 30 and 39 (two occurrences) as pointed out in annotated Fig. 4 below) is further divided at a position located on a vehicle rear side (this rear side direction is indicated by the arrow near the bottom edge of annotated Fig. 4 above) of the boundary (the divided position being between the elements 39 in annotated Fig. 4 above) between the A pillar (12; Fig. 1) and the roof side rail (15; Fig. 1), and
a division gap formed at the position on the vehicle rear side of the boundary between the A pillar and the roof side rail (as pointed out near the bottom right edge in annotated Fig. 4 above) is smaller than a division gap formed at the boundary between the A pillar and the roof side rail (as pointed out at the bottom left corner of annotated Fig. 4 above).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DE 19806531 discloses a garnish (2; Fig. 2) with an inner garnish member (4; Fig. 2. However, the garnish is not a “rail garnish” as required by claim 1.
Sukegawa et al. US 6,435,602 discloses a rail garnish (3; Figs. 1 and 2) which is secured to the vehicle by a plurality of clips (17; Figs. 1 and 2). However, the reference lacks “ a garnish inner member divided into two or more parts” as required by claim 1.
WO 2005102781 discloses a rail garnish (2; Figs. 1 and 2) with a garnish inner member (8; Fig. 2). However, the reference lacks “ a garnish inner member divided into two or more parts” as required by claim 1.
Conclusion
/Joseph D. Pape/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612