DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5,8,9,11-15,20,23,24, and 26-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/22/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search or examination burden.
This is not found persuasive because a search of additional mutually exclusive features in patentably distinct inventions constitutes a burdensome search and examination. To establish burden of search, there are three criterions: The species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; The species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; The species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries). In the instant case, the mutually exclusive characteristics require different search strategies or search queries relative to the different species, such as one example being, where the controller 110 (claims 11-15 and 26-30) as shown in Figure 2, is not depicted in Figure 1 for system 5. A different search query for “controller” (computer, plc) would be required.
Further see MPEP 809 regarding linking claims and section MPEP 821.04 for rejoinder of claims. Rejoinder of claims are permissible, as long as there is no overlapping of species, not originally supported in the specification at the time of filing.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/13/2025 and 5/20/2026 were filed prior to the mailing date of the mailing of this action. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/29/2025. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,4,7,16,17, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Ghufaili et al. (US 20240117736).
Regarding claim 1, Ghufaili et al. disclose a system (see Fig. 2) for injecting corrosion inhibitor into a liquid piping system (102), comprising: a flow rate sensor (at 104, see para.0025, “flow rate”) configured to determine a flow rate of liquid entering the liquid piping system; and an injector (120) configured to inject corrosion inhibitor into the liquid piping system at an injection point in an amount which varies based on the flow rate determined by the flow rate sensor, the injector being disposed in a fluid passage (the passage of the pipe connected to tank 114 and piping 102) which is connected at a first end to a vessel (114) containing corrosion inhibitor (para. 0028) and at a second end to the injection point (the point being the end of the pipe connected to pipe 102 from the pump 120).
Regarding claim 2, Ghufaili et al. disclose a system the amount of corrosion inhibitor injected into the liquid piping system by the injector is an amount of corrosion inhibitor required to maintain a predetermined concentration of corrosion inhibitor in the liquid of the liquid piping system (para.0028. “to thereby selectively increase or decrease the inhibitor injection rate into pipe 102 as necessary to minimize corrosion in the oil and gas system component(s) and to thereby increase the piping components remaining life for instance, and to hence contribute to continuing asset integrity and to preventing loss of primary containment (LOPC) resulting from CO2 corrosion”).
Regarding claim 4, Ghufaili et al. disclose the injector injects the corrosion inhibitor into the liquid piping system at a controlled rate (para.0028. “to thereby selectively increase or decrease the inhibitor injection rate into pipe 102 as necessary to minimize corrosion in the oil and gas system component(s) and to thereby increase the piping components remaining life for instance, and to hence contribute to continuing asset integrity and to preventing loss of primary containment (LOPC) resulting from CO2 corrosion”), the controlled rate causing an even distribution of corrosion inhibitor in the liquid of the liquid piping system.
Regarding claim 7, Ghufaili et al. disclose the injector comprises a variable speed injection pump (120, para.0028, “for example a programmable circuit—operable to issue command signals to pump 120 to thereby selectively increase or decrease the inhibitor injection rate into pipe 102 as necessary to minimize corrosion in the oil and gas system component(s) and to thereby increase the piping components remaining life for instance”, therefore since there is only one pump and the injection rate is varied, the pump is considered as comprising a variable speed) disposed in the fluid passage (as shown in Fig. 2, the pump is located in this manner).
Regarding method claims 16,17, 19 and 22 the device shown by Ghufaili et al. will perform the methods as recited in claims 16,17, 19 and 22, during normal operational use of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghufaili et al. (US 20240117736).
Regarding claim 3, Ghufaili et al. disclose all of the features of the claimed invention, although is silent that the predetermined concentration of corrosion inhibitor in the liquid of the liquid piping system is between 0.1 percent and 6 percent based on a total volume of liquid in the liquid piping system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the predetermined concentration of corrosion inhibitor in the liquid of the liquid piping system is between 0.1 percent and 6 percent based on a total volume of liquid in the liquid piping system, since, by routine optimization, it has been held that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions (“between 0.1 percent and 6 percent based on a total volume of liquid in the liquid piping system”), or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions. In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929).
Regarding method claim 18 the device shown by Ghufaili et al. will perform the methods as recited in claim 18, during normal operational use of the device.
Claims 6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghufaili et al. (US 20240117736) in view of de Guevara (US 20110155255).
Regarding claim 6, Ghufaili et al. disclose all of the features of the claimed invention, although is silent that a quantity sensor configured to determine a quantity of corrosion inhibitor in the vessel; and an alarm which generates an alarm signal if the quantity of corrosion inhibitor determined by the quantity sensor is below a predetermined quantity.
de Guevara teach the use of a quantity sensor (34, see Fig. 1 below) configured to determine a quantity of corrosion inhibitor in the vessel; and an alarm which generates an alarm signal if the quantity of corrosion inhibitor determined by the quantity sensor is below a determined quantity (para.0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a quantity sensor with alarm as taught by de Guevara into the device of Ghufaili et al. to have a quantity sensor configured to determine a quantity of corrosion inhibitor in the vessel; and an alarm which generates an alarm signal if the quantity of corrosion inhibitor determined by the quantity sensor is below a predetermined quantity, in order to alert the operator of the system that the tank level is below a low reading and that the fluid in the tank needs to be replenished.
Regarding method claim 21, the device shown by Ghufaili et al. when combined with de Guevara will perform the methods as recited in claim 21, during normal operational use of the device.
Claims 10 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghufaili et al. (US 20240117736) in view of Kristola (US 9261087).
Regarding claim 10, Ghufaili et al. disclose all of the features of the claimed invention, although is silent that a second flow rate sensor configured to determine a flow rate of corrosion inhibitor in the fluid passage, wherein the amount of corrosion inhibitor injected into the liquid piping system at the injection point is based on the flow rate determined by the flow rate sensor matching the flow rate of corrosion inhibitor determined by the second flow rate sensor.
Kristola teach the use of a second flow rate sensor (68) configured to determine a flow rate of corrosion inhibitor in the fluid passage, wherein the amount of corrosion inhibitor injected into the liquid piping system at the injection point is based on the flow rate determined by the flow rate sensor matching the flow rate of corrosion inhibitor determined by the second flow rate sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a second flow rate sensor as taught by Kristola into the device of Ghufaili et al. to have a second flow rate sensor configured to determine a flow rate of corrosion inhibitor in the fluid passage, wherein the amount of corrosion inhibitor injected into the liquid piping system at the injection point is based on the flow rate determined by the flow rate sensor matching the flow rate of corrosion inhibitor determined by the second flow rate sensor, in order to ensure the flow rate from the discharge side of the pump matches the desired flow rate from the first flow rate sensor (Kristola, col.6, lns. 16-24).
Regarding method claim 25, the device shown by Ghufaili et al. when combined with Kristola will perform the methods as recited in claim 21, during normal operational use of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753