DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 14-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carr US 2013/0264810.
Re claim 1, Carr discloses a ski pole assembly (ski pole 10), comprising: a ski pole (elongated hollow pole 12) that defines a cavity (figure 1; paragraph 39); an extension at least partially received by the cavity, wherein the extension is configured
to traverse the cavity along a longitudinal axis of the ski pole (tool assembly 34 is received in the hollow body 24 of the grip 14 of the hollow pole 12)(figures 1-6; paragraphs 39-41, 47); and a mounting mechanism (camera mount 40) coupled to the extension (34) and configured to removably couple an attachment to the extension (figures 1-6; paragraphs 39-41, 47).
Re claim 2, Carr further discloses a grip (14) that surrounds a portion of the ski pole and that defines a cavity, wherein the extension (tool assembly 34) is configured to be at least partially located within the cavity of the grip (14) (figures 1-6; paragraphs 39-41).
Re claim 3, Carr further discloses that the extension is configured to move with
respect to the ski pole along the longitudinal axis of the ski pole such that the extension moves into and out of the ski pole (tool assembly 34 is received in the body 24 of the grip 14 of the pole 12 and can slide in and out of the hollow pole 12 along a longitudinal axis) (figures 1-6; paragraphs 39-44).
Re claim 4, Carr further discloses that the ski pole assembly (12) further includes a grip (14) that defines a cavity therein that is coaxial with the cavity of the ski pole and extends along the longitudinal axis of the ski pole (12) (grip 14 includes a cavity that accommodates tool assembly 34)(figures 1-4; paragraphs 39-46).
Re claim 5, Carr further discloses that the extension (34) is configured to be received by the cavity of the grip (14) and the cavity of the ski pole (12) (grip 14 includes a cavity that accommodates tool assembly 34)(figures 1-4; paragraphs 39-46).
Re claim 8, Carr further discloses a support arm pivotally coupled to the extension and configured to be at least partially received by the cavity of the ski pole, wherein the support arm is configured to coupled to the ski pole (tool assembly 34 includes a head 36 and camera mount 40 includes a body 80 and pivotable portion 82 mounted within the head 36 and coupled to the ski pole 12) (figures 5-9; paragraphs 47-50).
Re claim 14, Carr further discloses that the attachment is a camera (a camera is mounted on head 36) (figures 1-6; paragraphs 39-41, 47).
Re claim 15, Carr discloses a ski pole assembly (10), comprising: a ski pole (12); an extension (34) connected to the ski pole (12); and a mounting mechanism (40) connected to the extension (34) and configured for removable connection to an image capture apparatus such that the image capture apparatus is connectable to the ski pole (12) via the extension (34) (tool 34 includes a pivoting camera mount 40 including a threaded post 68 to mount a camera to the ski pole 12 via the tool 34) (figures 1-6; paragraphs 39-41, 47).
Re claim 16, Carr further discloses that the extension (34) is rotatably connected to the ski pole (12) to facilitate repositioning of the image capture apparatus (the head 36 of the tool 34 includes a pivotable camera mount 40 that can rotate a camera mounted to pole 12) (figures 1-6; paragraphs 39-41, 47).
Re claim 18, Carr discloses a ski pole assembly (10), comprising: a mounting mechanism (40) configured to engagement with an image capture apparatus (camera) such that the image capture apparatus is directly connectable to the ski pole assembly (10) (tool 34 includes a pivoting camera mount 40 including a threaded post 68 to mount a camera to the ski pole 12 via the tool 34) (figures 1-6; paragraphs 39-41, 47).
Re claim 20, Carr further discloses that the mounting mechanism (40) includes a threaded fastener (threaded post 68) configured for engagement with the image capture apparatus (tool 34 includes a pivoting camera mount 40 including a threaded post 68 to mount a camera to the ski pole 12 via the tool 34) (figures 1-6; paragraphs 39-41, 47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carr US 2013/0264810 in view of Chen US 11,696,627.
Re claim 10, the Carr reference discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 above including a camera mount (40) that includes a threaded post (68)(figures 1-6; paragraphs 39-41, 47). However, although the Carr reference discloses all of the limitations above, it fails to specifically disclose that the mounting mechanism includes a pair of fingers that are configured to interlock with another pair of fingers associated with the attachment, wherein the attachment is configured to pivot with respect to the mounting mechanism.
Chen discloses that it is well known in the art for a pole or stick with a handgrip (10) to include pairs of fingers for pivotably mounting a camera (2) to a pole or stick (figure 7; col. 2, line 35-col. 3, line 58). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have been motivated to include a camera mounting mechanism including a pair of fingers configured to interlock with one another as disclosed by the Chen reference in the ski pole assembly disclosed by the Carr reference. Doing so would provide a means for rotatably mounting a camera device to a ski pole to capture images.
Re claim 11, the Carr reference further discloses that the mounting mechanism is rotatably coupled to the extension (tool assembly 34 includes a pivotable camera mount 40) (figures 5-8; paragraph 47).
Re claim 19, the Carr reference discloses all of the limitations of claim 18 above including a camera mount (40) that includes a threaded post (68)(figures 1-6; paragraphs 39-41, 47). However, although the Carr reference discloses all of the limitations above, it fails to specifically disclose that the mounting mechanism includes first fingers configured for engagement with second fingers on the image capturing apparatus.
Chen discloses that it is well known in the art for a pole or stick with a handgrip (10) to include pairs of fingers for pivotably mounting a camera (2) to a pole or stick (figure 7; col. 2, line 35-col. 3, line 58). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have been motivated to include a camera mounting mechanism including a pair of fingers configured to interlock with one another as disclosed by the Chen reference in the ski pole assembly disclosed by the Carr reference. Doing so would provide a means for rotatably mounting a camera device to a ski pole to capture images.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carr US 2013/0264810 in view of Grant et al. US 2022/0063513.
Re claim 12, the Carr reference discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 above including a camera mount (40) that includes a threaded post (68)(figures 1-6; paragraphs 39-41, 47). However, although the Carr reference discloses all of the limitations above, it fails to specifically disclose that the mounting mechanism includes a ball portion that is configured to be removably coupled to the attachment; and a socket portion that is coupled to the extension and receives the ball portion therein.
Grant discloses that it is well known in the art for a camera mount assembly (10) to include a removable ball and socket assembly (12) for rotatably mounting a camera (figures 1-3, 7; paragraphs 36-43). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have been motivated to include a camera mounting mechanism including a removable ball and socket assembly as disclosed by the Grant reference in the ski pole assembly disclosed by the Carr reference. Doing so would provide a means for rotatably mounting a camera device to a ski pole to capture images.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carr US 2013/0264810 in view of Duan et al. US 2024/0337912.
Re claim 17, the Carr reference discloses all of the limitations of claim 15 above including a tool (34) that is received in a hollow body (24) of a grip (14) of pole (12) (figures 1-6; paragraphs 39-41, 47). However, although the Carr reference discloses all of the limitations above, it fails to specifically disclose that the extension is telescopically reconfigurable between collapsed and expanded configurations.
Duan discloses that it is well known in the art for a camera mount assembly to be telescopically reconfigurable between collapsed and expanded configurations (figures 1-2; paragraphs 37-44). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have been motivated to include a telescopically reconfigurable extension as disclosed by the Duan reference in the ski pole assembly disclosed by the Carr reference. Doing so would provide a means for mounting a camera device to a ski pole and easily extending the camera depending on the requirements of the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 9 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re claims 6-7, the prior art fails to teach or suggest, a ski pole having the specific configurations disclosed in claims 6-7, wherein the ski pole comprises: a ski pole that defines a cavity; an extension at least partially received by the cavity, wherein the extension is configured to traverse the cavity along a longitudinal axis of the ski pole; and a mounting mechanism coupled to the extension and configured to removably couple an attachment to the extension, wherein the extension includes: a first segment pivotally coupled to a grip that surrounds the cavity of the ski pole and configured to move with respect to the grip along the longitudinal axis of the ski pole, wherein the first segment defines a cavity therein; and a second segment pivotally coupled to the first segment and configured to be at least partially received by the cavity of the first segment. The prior art fails to specifically disclose a ski pole assembly including an extension and a mounting mechanism having a grip and cavity and including first and second pivoting segments configured and arranged in the exact configuration disclosed in the specification and the claims.
Re claim 9, the prior art fails to teach or suggest, a ski pole having the specific configurations disclosed in claim 9, wherein the ski pole comprises: a ski pole that defines a cavity; an extension at least partially received by the cavity, wherein the extension is configured to traverse the cavity along a longitudinal axis of the ski pole; and a mounting mechanism coupled to the extension and configured to removably couple an attachment to the extension, further comprising: a support arm pivotally coupled to the extension and configured to be at least partially received by the cavity of the ski pole, wherein the support arm is configured to couple to the ski pole, wherein the extension includes: a first end, wherein the mounting mechanism is coupled to the first end; and a second end that opposes the first end, wherein the support arm is pivotably coupled to the extension between the first end and second end. The prior art fails to specifically disclose a ski pole assembly including an extension and a mounting mechanism having a grip and cavity and including pivoting segments configured and arranged in the exact configuration disclosed in the specification and the claims.
Re claim 13, the prior art fails to teach or suggest, a ski pole having the specific configurations disclosed in claim 13, wherein the ski pole comprises: a ski pole that defines a cavity; an extension at least partially received by the cavity, wherein the extension is configured to traverse the cavity along a longitudinal axis of the ski pole; and a mounting mechanism coupled to the extension and configured to removably couple an attachment to the extension, wherein the extension includes an indicator line that indicates a position of the extension with respect to the ski pole such that the attachment counterbalances the ski pole. The prior art fails to specifically disclose a ski pole assembly including an extension and a mounting mechanism wherein the extension includes an indicator line indicating position such that the attachment counterbalances the ski pole wherein the ski pole assembly is configured and arranged in the exact configuration disclosed in the specification and the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mcgee et al. US 2025/0134223 discloses a ski pole with a threadably secured camera mount.
Hanlin US 2020/0061443 discloses a ski pole with a smart grip and integrated camera.
Koch US 2016/0334057 discloses an articulating camera mounting system.
Contacts
/KELLY L JERABEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699