DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (US 20170288473 A1).
For claim 1. Choi discloses A wireless communication system comprising: a first wireless communication device (figure 4, BS 410); and a second wireless communication device (figure 4, UE 420), wherein the first wireless communication device includes a transmission circuit that transmits an information signal and an energy signal, and a first processor that controls transmission of the information signal and the energy signal ([0064], [0122]-[0124]), the second wireless communication device includes a splitter that branches a received signal from the first wireless communication device and generates a first received signal and a second received signal (figures 5 and 12-14), an energy receiver that rectifies the energy signal included in the first received signal and generates a direct current ([0137]), an information receiver that decodes the information signal included in the second received signal (figures 5 and 12-13), and a second processor that generates control information that includes a request related to transmission power of the information signal and transmission power of the energy signal ([0070]-[0075]), the second wireless communication device transmits the control information to the first wireless communication device ([0070]-[0075], [0099], figure 7), and in the first wireless communication device, the first processor controls the transmission power of the information signal and the transmission power of the energy signal based on the control information ([0070]-[0075], [0110]-[0113], [0131], [0133]).
For claim 2. The wireless communication system according to claim 1, Choi discloses wherein the control information includes information that indicates a ratio between the transmission power of the information signal and the transmission power of the energy signal ([0070]-[0075]).
For claim 3. The wireless communication system according to claim 1, Choi discloses wherein the control information includes information that indicates a desired value of the transmission power of the information signal and a desired value of the transmission power of the energy signal ([0070]-[0075]).
For claim 5. The wireless communication system according to claim 1, Choi discloses wherein when decoding of the information signal fails in the information receiver, the second wireless communication device transmits control information that increases the ratio of the transmission power of the information signal with respect to the transmission power of the energy signal to the first wireless communication device ([0094], [0096], [0119], [0124], [0128], [0145]).
For claim 6. The wireless communication system according to claim 1, Choi discloses wherein when decoding of the information signal fails in the information receiver, the second wireless communication device transmits control information that increases the transmission power of the information signal and the energy signal to the first wireless communication device ([0094], [0096], [0119], [0124], [0128], [0145]).
For claim 7. The wireless communication system according to claim 1, Choi discloses wherein when detecting that the second wireless communication device is in a non-communication state, the first wireless communication device stops the transmission of the information signal and transmits only the energy signal to the second wireless communication device ([0107]).
For claim 9. The wireless communication system according to claim 1, Choi discloses wherein the transmission circuit simultaneously transmits the information signal and the energy signal to the second wireless communication device by time division multiplexing (figure 1, [0008], [0011], [0047]).
For claim 10. Choi discloses A wireless communication method for transmitting power from a first wireless communication device (figure 4, BS 410) to a second wireless communication device (figure 4, UE 420) using a wireless signal, wherein the first wireless communication device includes a transmission circuit that transmits an information signal and an energy signal ([0064], [0122]-[0124]), and the second wireless communication device includes a splitter that branches a received signal from the first wireless communication device and generates a first received signal and a second received signal (figures 5 and 12-14), an energy receiver that rectifies the energy signal included in the first received signal and generates a direct current ([0137]), an information receiver that decodes the information signal included in the second received signal (figures 5 and 12-13), and the second wireless communication device transmits control information that includes a request related to transmission power of the information signal and transmission power of the energy signal to the first wireless communication device ([0070]-[0075], [0099], figure 7), and the first wireless communication device controls the transmission power of the information signal and the transmission power of the energy signal based on the control information ([0070]-[0075], [0110]-[0113], [0131], [0133]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20170288473 A1) in view of Elkotby (US 20230057994 A1).
For claim 8. The wireless communication system according to claim 1, Choi fails to disclose wherein the transmission circuit simultaneously transmits the information signal and the energy signal to the second wireless communication device by frequency division multiplexing.
This teaching is disclosed by Elkotby ([0300], Frequency domain filtering between information and energy transfer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Elkotby into the art of Choi as to use frequency division as an alternative embodiment.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The claim is allowable over the prior art of record because none of the references, either alone or in combination, discloses or renders obvious the limitation of claim 4.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
September 12, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643