DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 28 recites the limitation:
"the spring loaded movable pin"
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination the examiner has interpreted the limitation to be a typo with the correct form “a spring loaded movable pin”.
Claim 27 recites the limitation:
a transportation module
it is unclear if the “a transportation module” of claim 27 is the same “transportation module” of Claim 16 or a different transportation module. For the purposes of examination the examiner has interpreted the limitation to be a typo with the correct form “the transportation module”.
Claim 27 recites the limitation:
ophthalmic articles
it is unclear if the “a transportation module” of claim 27 is the same “ophthalmic articles” of Claim 16 or a different transportation module. For the purposes of examination the examiner has interpreted the limitation to be a typo with the correct form “the ophthalmic articles”.
Claim 27 recites the limitation:
a cleaning station
it is unclear if the “a transportation module” of claim 27 is the same “cleaning station” of Claim 16 or a different transportation module. For the purposes of examination the examiner has interpreted the limitation to be a typo with the correct form “the cleaning station”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 17, 18, 21, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 29, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Hofmann (US 20230091347 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Hofmann discloses:
A transportation module (40C) configured to hold at least an ophthalmic article (2) to be cleaned in a cleaning machine (1), comprising:
a first plate portion (Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B) (1000) having a front end (Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B), a back end (Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B), and two side ends (Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B);
a second plate portion (Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B) (1001) having a front end (Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B), a back end (Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B), and two side ends (Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B), the second plate portion being aligned with the first plate portion (Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B) and disposed at a fixed distance from the first plate portion for defining a holding space between the back end of the first plate portion and the front end of the second plate portion (Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B);
at least one ophthalmic article holder (40N & 40M) protruding into the holding space (Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B);
complementary clipping devices (40K & 40L) carried by the front end of the first plate portion and by the back end of the second plate portion (Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B) which are configured to interconnect the transportation module to at least another transportation module either via the back end of the second plate portion or via the front end of the first plate portion to form an assembly of adjacent interconnected transportation modules movable together (Fig. 7 & Fig. 8A) [0115 & 0116 & 0118 & 0119].
Regarding Claim 17, Hofmann discloses:
the first plate portion and the second plate portion are fixed together when the transportation module comprises two bars (1002 & 1003) fixed on a respective side ends of the first and the second plate portions (Fig. 8B).
Regarding Claim 18, Hofmann discloses:
at least one bridge portion (1004) between the first plate portion and the second plate portion, the at least one bridge portion and the first and second plate portions being realized in one piece (Fig. 8B).
Regarding Claim 21, Hofmann discloses:
the at least one ophthalmic article holder protruding into the holding space comprises at least one spring loaded retractable holding fork (40M) between a gripping position and a retractable position, the at least one spring loaded retractable holding fork being carried by the back end of the first plate portion or by the front end of the second plate portion (Fig. 8A & Fig. 8B) [0124 & 0125 & 0126 & 0128 & 0129 & 0218].
Regarding Claim 23, Hofmann discloses:
a cleaning machine for cleaning ophthalmic articles comprising:
at least one cleaning station (10 & 20 & 30) configured to carry out at least one cleaning process to at least one ophthalmic article disposed in the transportation module [0061 & 0064 & 0065 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068 & 0069] according to claim 16 [see rejection of Claim 16 above],
wherein the cleaning station comprises two sides walls with sealed (5B) slots (5A) [0149 & 0250 & 0267 & 0270] for entering or exiting a transportation module with respect to the cleaning station, the length of the transportation module being longer than the distance between the sealed slots (Fig. 2B).
Regarding Claim 24, Hofmann discloses:
the sealed slots are equipped with a double lipped seal configured to be in touch with the first or second plate portion of the transportation modules to keep fluids inside the cleaning station (Fig. 2B).
Regarding Claim 25, Hofmann discloses:
guiding rails (40H & 40R) with rollers (40D & 40E) which span at least over all cleaning station for guiding the translation and transport of interconnected transportation modules (Fig. 2b & Fig. 3 & Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 26, Hofmann discloses:
at least one actuator (40Q) for pushing and/or pulling interconnected transportation modules through the cleaning stations (Fig. 7) [0132 & 0133].
Regarding Claim 27, Hofmann discloses:
an assembly and charging station (50) disposed upstream in a transportation direction from the cleaning station(s) (Fig. 3) and configured for charging ophthalmic articles (2) to be cleaned in a transportation module and for connecting a charged transportation module to a downstream disposed further transportation module disposed in a cleaning station situated downstream (Fig. 2b & Fig. 3 & Fig. 7) [0061 & 0076 & 0077 & 0078], and/or
a separation and discharging station (60) disposed downstream from the cleaning station(s) and configured for discharging cleaned ophthalmic articles from a transportation module and for separating a transportation module from a transportation module placed in a cleaning station situated upstream [0061 & 0076 & 0112 & 0126 & 0136 & 0203 & 0204 & 0210 & 0216 & 0217 & 0218 &0219 & 0220 & 0221 & 0222 & 0223 & 0224 & 0225 & 0226 & 0227], and/or
a return station comprising a pick-up device, an extendable return conveyor, and a putting device, the pick-up device being configured to pick-up a transportation module for placing it on one end of the extendable return conveyor, the extendable return conveyor being disposed above the cleaning stations and configured to convey a transportation module upstream in direction to the assembly and charging station, the putting device being configured to place a transportation module in the assembly and charging station [0023 &0024 & 0025].
Regarding Claim 29, Hofmann discloses:
moving the transportation modules back-and-forth during a prescribed treatment cycle time by pulling and pushing on one end of assembled transportation module [0012 & 0013 & 0014 & 0015 & 0036 & 0261].
Regarding Claim 30, Hofmann discloses:
during a cleaning cycle,
a transportation module is charged with ophthalmic articles to be cleaned [0061 & 0076 & 0077 & 0078], and/or,
a transportation module is discharged from cleaned ophthalmic articles [0061 & 0076 & 0112 & 0126 & 0136 & 0203 & 0204 & 0210 & 0216 & 0217 & 0218 &0219 & 0220 & 0221 & 0222 & 0223 & 0224 & 0225 & 0226 & 0227], and/or,
a discharged transportation module is returned to the assembly and charging station (Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 20, 22 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The art of record fails to render obvious the claimed combination of: “A transportation module configured to hold at least an ophthalmic article to be cleaned in a cleaning machine, comprising: a first plate portion having a front end, a back end, and two side ends; a second plate portion having a front end, a back end, and two side ends, the second plate portion being aligned with the first plate portion and disposed at a fixed distance from the first plate portion for defining a holding space between the back end of the first plate portion and the front end of the second plate portion; at least one ophthalmic article holder protruding into the holding space; complementary clipping devices carried by the front end of the first plate portion and by the back end of the second plate portion which are configured to interconnect the transportation module to at least another transportation module either via the back end of the second plate portion or via the front end of the first plate portion to form an assembly of adjacent interconnected transportation modules movable together; wherein the clipping device of the front end of the first plate portion has at least one connection cylinder presenting on its skirt a lateral spring loaded pin movable between a deployed position and a retracted position and/or wherein the clipping device of the back end of the second plate portion has at least one cylindrical hole in which a connection cylinder can fit and a lateral bore configured to receive a lateral spring loaded movable pin of another transportation module in the deployed position in order to connect the transportation module to said another transportation module, the lateral bore being configured to receive a control pin in order to push the spring loaded movable pin in the retracted position in order to disconnect the transportation module from said another transportation module.”, as recited in Claim 19 specifically:
the structural and operative relationship between the transportation module, ophthalmic article, cleaning machine, first plate portion, second plate portion, holding space, ophthalmic article holder, clipping devices, connection cylinder, lateral spring loaded pin, cylindrical hole, lateral bore, and control pin. Especially as it relates to the relationship between the transportation module, ophthalmic article, cleaning machine, first plate portion, second plate portion, holding space, ophthalmic article holder, clipping devices, connection cylinder, lateral spring loaded pin, cylindrical hole, lateral bore, and control pin.
The art of record fails to render obvious the claimed combination of: “A transportation module configured to hold at least an ophthalmic article to be cleaned in a cleaning machine, comprising: a first plate portion having a front end, a back end, and two side ends; a second plate portion having a front end, a back end, and two side ends, the second plate portion being aligned with the first plate portion and disposed at a fixed distance from the first plate portion for defining a holding space between the back end of the first plate portion and the front end of the second plate portion; at least one ophthalmic article holder protruding into the holding space; complementary clipping devices carried by the front end of the first plate portion and by the back end of the second plate portion which are configured to interconnect the transportation module to at least another transportation module either via the back end of the second plate portion or via the front end of the first plate portion to form an assembly of adjacent interconnected transportation modules movable together; wherein the at least one ophthalmic article holder protruding into the holding space comprises at least one spring loaded retractable holding fork between a gripping position and a retractable position, the at least one spring loaded retractable holding fork being carried by the back end of the first plate portion or by the front end of the second plate portion; wherein the at least one ophthalmic article holder comprises two spring loaded retractable holding forks facing each other, one being carried by the back end of the first plate portion and the other being carried by the front end of the second plate portion, both spring loaded retractable holding forks being configured to move one towards the other in the gripping position, the at least one spring loaded retractable holding fork comprises four tines, including two inner tines having ends bent protruding outwardly with regard to the retraction direction of the spring loaded retractable holding fork to push against the ophthalmic article edges in the gripping position and two outer tines having ends which protrude more in the holding space than the ends of the two inner tines and in the opposite direction of the ends of the two inner tines to support the ophthalmic article in the gripping position.”, as recited in Claim 22 specifically:
the structural and operative relationship between the transportation module, ophthalmic article, cleaning machine, first plate portion, second plate portion, holding space, ophthalmic article holder, clipping devices, spring loaded retractable holding forks, inner tines, and outer tines. Especially as it relates to the relationship between the transportation module, ophthalmic article, cleaning machine, first plate portion, second plate portion, holding space, ophthalmic article holder, clipping devices, spring loaded retractable holding forks, inner tines, and outer tines.
The art of record fails to render obvious the claimed combination of: “A transportation module configured to hold at least an ophthalmic article to be cleaned in a cleaning machine, comprising: a first plate portion having a front end, a back end, and two side ends; a second plate portion having a front end, a back end, and two side ends, the second plate portion being aligned with the first plate portion and disposed at a fixed distance from the first plate portion for defining a holding space between the back end of the first plate portion and the front end of the second plate portion; at least one ophthalmic article holder protruding into the holding space; complementary clipping devices carried by the front end of the first plate portion and by the back end of the second plate portion which are configured to interconnect the transportation module to at least another transportation module either via the back end of the second plate portion or via the front end of the first plate portion to form an assembly of adjacent interconnected transportation modules movable together; wherein the cleaning machine for cleaning ophthalmic articles comprises: at least one cleaning station configured to carry out at least one cleaning process to at least one ophthalmic article disposed in the transportation module; wherein the cleaning station comprises two sides walls with sealed slots for entering or exiting a transportation module with respect to the cleaning station, the length of the transportation module being longer than the distance between the sealed slots; an assembly and charging station disposed upstream in a transportation direction from the cleaning station(s) and configured for charging ophthalmic articles to be cleaned in a transportation module and for connecting a charged transportation module to a downstream disposed further transportation module disposed in a cleaning station situated downstream, and/or a separation and discharging station disposed downstream from the cleaning station(s) and configured for discharging cleaned ophthalmic articles from a transportation module and for separating a transportation module from a transportation module placed in a cleaning station situated upstream, and/or a return station comprising a pick-up device, an extendable return conveyor, and a putting device, the pick-up device being configured to pick-up a transportation module for placing it on one end of the extendable return conveyor, the extendable return conveyor being disposed above the cleaning stations and configured to convey a transportation module upstream in direction to the assembly and charging station, the putting device being configured to place a transportation module in the assembly and charging station; wherein the separation and discharging station comprises at least one motorized control pin configured to push the spring loaded movable pin of the transportation module in the retracted position in order to disconnect two transportation modules from each other.”, as recited in Claim 28 specifically:
the structural and operative relationship between the transportation module, ophthalmic article, cleaning machine, first plate portion, second plate portion, holding space, ophthalmic article holder, at least one cleaning station, two sides walls, sides walls sealed slots, assembly and charging station, separation and discharging station, return station, pick-up device, extendable return conveyor, putting device, motorized control pin, and spring loaded movable pin. Especially as it relates to the relationship between the transportation module, ophthalmic article, cleaning machine, first plate portion, second plate portion, holding space, ophthalmic article holder, at least one cleaning station, two sides walls, sides walls sealed slots, assembly and charging station, separation and discharging station, return station, pick-up device, extendable return conveyor, putting device, motorized control pin, and spring loaded movable pin.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 12172195 B2 have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: an ophthalmic article cleaning system with a transportation device.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652