Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6, the term “in particular” is unclear and renders the associated claim limitations indefinite. It is not clear if the structure that follows “in particular” has a special significance or if it only provides examples and is not necessarily limiting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bohner (USPN 6,612,393).
Regarding claim 1, Bohner teaches a steer by wire system (Abstract, lines 1-2) for steering a vehicle with a steering mechanics 3/3’, 4/4’, the steer by wire system having a steering input device 22 and a first actuating arrangement 7, 10, 12, wherein the first actuating arrangement comprises a first electric motor 12 (Figure 1; col. 3, lines 31-38) , which is in connection to the steering input device 22 (connected by data transmission), and a first hydraulic unit (pump 10), which is operatively coupled to the first electric motor 12 (Figure 1), wherein the first hydraulic unit is configured to be fluidly connected to the steering mechanics 4 wherein the steer by wire system comprises a second actuating arrangement 7’, 10’, 12’ (Figure 1; col. 3, lines 46-54), wherein the second actuating arrangement comprises a second electric motor 12’, which is in connection to the steering input device 22 (via data communication), and a second hydraulic unit (pump 10’), which is operatively coupled to the second electric motor, wherein the second hydraulic unit is configured to be fluidly connected to the steering mechanics 4’.
Regarding claim 2, Bohner teaches the steer by wire system comprises at least one vehicle speed sensor and/or at least one wheel angle sensor (angle sensors 25, 25’, 26, 26’; col. 4, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Bohner teaches a at least two steering input sensors 25, 25’, 26, 26’, in data connection with the electric motors.
Regarding claim 4, Bohner teaches the steering input device comprises a feed-back module (motor 24 that provides feedback to the steering wheel 22; col. 4, lines 57-58).
Regarding claim 5, Bohner teaches the steering input device is fail-operational (Bohner teaches steering redundancy, including two actuating arrangements and a clutch 20, that allows the steering input device 22 to operate when at least one actuating arrangement fails).
Regarding claim 6, each electric motor 12, 12’, is connected to a respective controller (29, 29’ wherein the controllers are connected to at least one sensor assembly 30, 30’, in particular to at least one vehicle speed sensor, at least one wheel angle sensor and/or two steering input sensors (steering input sensors 25, 25’, 26, 26’, and steering wheel sensors 28, 28’).
Regarding claim 8, Bohner teaches the second actuating arrangement 7’, 10’, 12’, is a backup for the first actuating arrangement 7, 10, 12 (col. 6, lines 41-44).
Regarding claim 9, Bohner teaches that the first actuating arrangement is configured to work in a first condition, the second actuating arrangement is configured to work in a second condition and/or the first and the second actuating arrangements are configured to work together in a third condition (these modes are claimed in the alternative, as “and/or”, so only one of the modes needs to be taught to meet the claim; the actuating arrangements of Bohner have separately controllers 29, 29’ and, in normal mode, only the first actuator is working, col. 4, lines 25-41; also, if an error is detected, the first actuating arrangement is de-energized and the second actuating arrangement is operated, col. 5, lines 25-33).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Becker et al. (PGPub 2016/0068182).
Regarding claim 1, Becker teaches a steer by wire system (Abstract, line 1) for steering a vehicle with a steering mechanics (steering actuator 26 in the form of a hydraulic cylinder with chambers 36, 38; Figure 2; para [0022]), the steer by wire system having a steering input device 20 and a first actuating arrangement 46, wherein the first actuating arrangement comprises a first electric motor 50 (Figure 2; para [0024]) , which is in connection to the steering input device 22 (connected by data transmission), and a first hydraulic unit (first hydraulic pump 54), which is operatively coupled to the first electric motor 50 (Figure 2), wherein the first hydraulic unit is configured to be fluidly connected to the steering mechanics 26 (Figures 2 and 3) wherein the steer by wire system comprises a second actuating arrangement 48 (Figure 2; para [0025]), wherein the second actuating arrangement comprises a second electric motor 68, which is in connection to the steering input device 20 (via data communication), and a second hydraulic unit (second hydraulic pump 72), which is operatively coupled to the second electric motor, wherein the second hydraulic unit is configured to be fluidly connected to the steering mechanics 26 (Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 2, Becker teaches the steer by wire system comprises at least one vehicle speed sensor and/or at least one wheel angle sensor (angle sensor 22; para [0021], [0022]).
Regarding claims 5 and 8, the steering input device 20 is fail-operational and the second actuating arrangement (6) is a backup for the first actuating arrangement (when one actuating arrangement fails, the other can provide steering (para [0034]).
Regarding claim 9, the first actuating arrangement is configured to work in a first condition, the second actuating arrangement is configured to work in a second condition and/or the first and the second actuating arrangements are configured to work together in a third condition (these control functions are claimed in the alternative so only one needs to be taught to meet the claim; Becket teaches that either actuating arrangement can operate without the other; para [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker in view of CN109109972 to Cai.
Regarding claim 7, Becker is silent regarding a transmission unit arranged between the respective electric motor 50 or 68 and the corresponding hydraulic unit (pump 54, 72).
Cai teaches a steer by wire steering system comprising an actuating arrangement comprising a motor 32 that drives a hydraulic unit (pump 21) to control steering mechanics (hydraulic steering cylinder 12). A transmission (reduction gearing 31) is arranged between the motor and hydraulic unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a transmission between the motor and hydraulic unit of at least one of the actuating arrangements of Becker, in view of Cai, with a reasonable expectation of success, to adjust the speed and torque output from the motor before it is transmitted to the hydraulic unit.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker in view of Ognibene (PGPub 2015/0203150).
Regarding claim 10, Becker lacks a satellite navigation system unit that is in data connection with the first and the second actuating arrangements.
Ognibene teaches a hydraulic steering system with steer-by-wire and autonomous steering capability. It includes a satellite navigation system unit (GPS; para [0134])) that is in data connection with the first and the second actuating arrangements (GPS is used to detect the exact position of the vehicle and control electronic control units 34, 35, that controls motors 315, 325, to control steering of the vehicle wheels in an automatic driving mode; para [0133]-[0135]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a satellite navigation system unit that is in data connection with the first and the second actuating arrangements of Becker, in view of Ognibebe, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide automated steering of the vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Osonoi teasches two steering actuators operable alternately or at the same time.
Kelber teaches satellite input to a vehicle steering control system.
GB2339178 to Bohner teaches a steer by wire system having two actuating arrangements.
Bootz teaches a hydraulic steer by wire system responsive to vehicle speed.
/ANNE MARIE M BOEHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/ab/