Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with C.F.R 1.84(u) because view numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG." MPEP 608.02 V.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King (US 7942287).
Regarding claim 1, King discloses, A closure (12) comprising: a first closure portion including: a top wall portion (See annotated fig. below);an annular skirt portion (See annotated fig. below) depending from the top wall portion, the annular skirt portion including an internal thread formation for mating engagement with an external thread formation of a container (Fig. 2) , the thread formation being a helical formation with a plurality of alternating bumps and valleys, , the width of the plurality of bumps and the plurality of valleys being measured in a direction perpendicular to the top wall portion; and a second closure portion including: a tamper-evident band (66) depending from and being partially detachably connected to the annular skirt portion by a frangible connection (62).
King does not appear to disclose, each of the plurality of bumps having a greater width than the plurality of valleys.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified King to have each of the plurality of bumps having a greater width than the plurality of valleys motivated by an obvious change in size, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 2, King discloses, the closure is a one-piece (Fig. 3; Col. 6; lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 3-4, King does not appear to disclose, the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 0.03 to about 0.11 inch and wherein the width of the plurality of valleys is from about 0.01 to about 0.05 inch and the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 0.05 to about 0.11 inch and wherein the width of the plurality of valleys is from about 0.02 to about 0.04 inch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified King to have width of the plurality of bumps is from about 0.03 to about 0.11 inch and wherein the width of the plurality of valleys is from about 0.01 to about 0.05 inch and the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 0.05 to about 0.11 inch and wherein the width of the plurality of valleys is from about 0.02 to about 0.04 inch, motivated by an obvious change in size, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 5-6, King does not appear to disclose the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 1.5 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys and the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 2 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified King to have width of the plurality of bumps is from about 1.5 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys and the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 2 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys, motivated by an obvious change in size, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 7-8, King does not appear to disclose the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 2 to about 3 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys or the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 3 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified King to have width of the plurality of bumps is from about 2 to about 3 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys or the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 3 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys, motivated by an obvious change in size, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Claim(s) 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sendel (US 4461394) in view of Edie (US 20130319968).
Regarding claim 9, Sendel discloses, A closure (2) comprising: a first closure portion including: a top wall portion (6);an annular skirt portion (10) depending from the top wall portion, the annular skirt portion including an internal thread (See annotated fig. below) formation for mating engagement with an external thread formation of a container (Fig. 2) , the thread formation being a helical formation, a plurality of alternating bumps (18) and valleys (16), the width of the plurality of bumps and the plurality of valleys being measured in a direction perpendicular to the top wall portion.
Sendel does not disclose, the thread formation is discontinuous and forms a plurality of individual segments, a second closure portion including: a tamper-evident band depending from and being partially detachably connected to the annular skirt portion by a frangible connection .
Edie disclose, a cap (10) the thread formation (24) being a helical formation that is discontinuous and forms a plurality of individual segments, a second closure portion including: a tamper-evident band (32) depending from and being partially detachably connected to the annular skirt portion by a frangible connection (para 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sendel to have thread formation is discontinuous and forms a plurality of individual segments, a second closure portion including: a tamper-evident band depending from and being partially detachably connected to the annular skirt portion by a frangible connection as taught by Edie for the purpose of “facilitates venting of gas” (para 25) and to prevent unauthorized access to the package.
As a result of medication, Sendel-Edie would have individual segments including a plurality of alternating bumps and valleys
Sendel does not appear to disclose, each of the plurality of bumps having a greater width than the plurality of valleys.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sendel to have each of the plurality of bumps having a greater width than the plurality of valleys motivated by an obvious change in size, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 10, Sendel as modified discloses individual segment including bumps but does not disclose, the individual segments includes at least three bumps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sendel to have the individual segments includes at least three bumps as it is considered a matter of design choice motivated by an obvious change in size , having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. By changing the size of segment, one of ordinary skill in the art can control how many bumps can be incorporated into each segment, including three bumps as claimed. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 11-12, Sendel does not appear to disclose, the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 0.03 to about 0.11 inch and wherein the width of the plurality of valleys is from about 0.01 to about 0.05 inch and the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 0.05 to about 0.11 inch and wherein the width of the plurality of valleys is from about 0.02 to about 0.04 inch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sendel to have width of the plurality of bumps is from about 0.03 to about 0.11 inch and wherein the width of the plurality of valleys is from about 0.01 to about 0.05 inch and the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 0.05 to about 0.11 inch and wherein the width of the plurality of valleys is from about 0.02 to about 0.04 inch, motivated by an obvious change in size, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 13-15, Sendel does not appear to disclose the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 1.5 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys and the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 2 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys or the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 3 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sendel to have width of the plurality of bumps is from about 1.5 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys and the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 2 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys or the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 3 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys., motivated by an obvious change in size, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 16, and 17, Sendel discloses, A package comprising: a container (4) having a neck portion (20) defining an opening (Claim 1) , the container having an external thread formation (22) on the neck portion; and a closure being configured for fitment to the neck portion of the container for closing the opening, the closure including a first closure portion, the first closure portion including a top wall portion (6) and an annular skirt portion (10), the annular skirt portion depending from the top wall portion, the annular skirt portion including an internal thread formation for mating engagement with an external thread formation of a container, the thread formation being a helical formation with a plurality of alternating bumps (18) and valleys (16), the width of the plurality of bumps and the plurality of valleys being measured in a direction perpendicular to the top wall portion,
Sendel does not disclose, a second closure portion including: a tamper-evident band depending from and being partially detachably connected to the annular skirt portion by a frangible connection and the thread formation is discontinuous and forms a plurality of individual segments, each of the individual segments including the plurality of alternating bumps and valleys.
Edie disclose, a cap (10) the thread formation (24) being a helical formation that is discontinuous and forms a plurality of individual segments, a second closure portion including: a tamper-evident band (32) depending from and being partially detachably connected to the annular skirt portion by a frangible connection (para 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sendel to have the second closure portion including a tamper-evident band depending from and being partially detachably connected to the annular skirt portion by a frangible connection and the thread formation is discontinuous and forms a plurality of individual segments as taught by Edie to prevent unauthorized access to the package for releasing gas (para 25).
Sendel does not appear to disclose, each of the plurality of bumps having a greater width than the plurality of valleys.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sendel to have each of the plurality of bumps having a greater width than the plurality of valleys motivated by an obvious change in size, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 18-20, Sendel does not appear to disclose the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 1.5 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys and the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 2 to about 3 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys or the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 3 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sendel to have width of the plurality of bumps is from about 1.5 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys and the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 2 to about 3 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys or the width of the plurality of bumps is from about 3 to about 4 times greater than the width of the plurality of valleys., motivated by an obvious change in size, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Conclusion
/SANJIDUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736