DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/20/2026, with respect to drawing and claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The drawing and claim objections of 7/2/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the abstract specification objection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The correction in the specification objection was not argued or corrected.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Yoshida teaches the amended language in paragraph 24. Yoshida teaches that “suppress(ion of the) yaw motion of the nacelle by suitably calculating and applying a resistance torque that acts against the yaw motion of the nacelle according to the rate of change of the azimuth angle of the nacelle.” This teaches the amended language.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/10/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in lines 7-8, “where the control parameters enable determining one or more yawing parameters may be described” is non-idiomatic, because in line 10, “the a” should be changed to -- a --, and because in the last line, “(Fig. 2)” should be deleted. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a pitch system” (claims 1 and 11).
“a yawing section” (claims 1-3 and 10-13).
“a yaw system” (claims 3-4 and 13-14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida 2011/0299986 in view of von Mutius 2006/0099075 and Baun et al. 2018/0180022.
Yoshida discloses a method for controlling a rotor R on a wind turbine substantially as claimed, wherein the rotor comprises one or more blades B1 or B2 or B3, and wherein the wind turbine comprises a pitch system C, the method comprising: operating the rotor; receiving one or more control parameters (the azimuth angles of the nacelle N); determining one or more yawing parameters (pitch angle setpoint values e1, e2, e3) based on the one or more control parameters, wherein the one or more yawing parameters comprise an angular yawing velocity (the rate of change of the rotor azimuth angle) of a yawing section (the interface between the nacelle and the tower T that permits yawing); and pitching, based on the one or more control parameters, a subset of the one or more blades B1 or B2 or B3 of the rotor to a larger extent than the remaining blades (the other blades of B1 or B2 or B3) of the rotor with the pitch system so as to control the one or more yawing parameters (note paragraph [0024], for example, suppress(ion of the) yaw motion of the nacelle by suitably calculating and applying a resistance torque that acts against the yaw motion of the nacelle according to the rate of change of the azimuth angle of the nacelle. (claim 1)).
Pitching the subset of the one or more blades increases or reduces an aerodynamically induced yaw moment applied by aerodynamic forces on the yawing section, depending on the pitch angles which occur during moving the pitch setting to 90 degrees (claim 2).
The wind turbine further comprises a yaw system (the component(s) between the nacelle and the tower that permit yawing) for yawing the yawing section of the wind turbine (claim 3).
Yoshida also discloses a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions which, when the program is executed by a computer C, cause the computer to perform an operation (note, for example, paragraphs [0040] and [0042] which refer to calculation, and paragraph [0045] which refers to calculation processing, which inherently includes a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions) substantially as claimed comprising: operating the rotor on the wind turbine; receiving the one or more control parameters; determining the one or more yawing parameters based on the one or more control parameters, wherein the one or more yawing parameters comprises the angular yawing velocity of the yawing section; and pitching, based on the one or more control parameters, the subset of the one or more blades of the rotor to a larger extent than the remaining blades of the rotor with a pitch system so as to control the one or more yawing parameters (note paragraph [0024], for example, suppress(ion of the) yaw motion of the nacelle by suitably calculating and applying a resistance torque that acts against the yaw motion of the nacelle according to the rate of change of the azimuth angle of the nacelle. And it is an inherent pitch change element within C) of the wind turbine (claim 11).
Pitching the subset of the one or more blades increases or reduces the aerodynamically induced yaw moment applied by aerodynamic forces on the yawing section (claim 12).
The wind turbine further comprises the yaw system for yawing the yawing section of the wind turbine (claim 13).
A set of the one or more control parameters is related to exactly one set of the one or more yawing parameters (note paragraph [0024], for example, suppress(ion of the) yaw motion of the nacelle by suitably calculating and applying a resistance torque that acts against the yaw motion of the nacelle according to the rate of change of the azimuth angle of the nacelle. (claim 20)).
However, Yoshida does not disclose that the rotor is on a multi-rotor wind turbine (claims 1 and 11), and does not disclose operating the rotor in a standstill or idling operating state (claims 1 and 11).
Von Mutius shows a wind turbine control method and a wind turbine control system whereby a wind turbine 1 having a rotor 4 with rotor blades 5 is controlled so that one rotor blade is pitched to an angle of more than 90 degrees and another rotor blade is pitched to an angle of less than 90 degrees (paragraph [0009], for example), in a parked position, which is the same as a standstill operating state, for the purpose of reducing damage at high wind speeds by setting the wind turbine in the standstill position of the rotor and setting the pitch angle at different values.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the wind turbine arrangement of Yoshida such that it includes operating the rotor in a standstill operating state, as taught by Von Mutius, for the purpose of reducing damage at high wind speeds by setting the wind turbine in the standstill position of the rotor and setting the pitch angle at different values.
Baun et al. shows a wind turbine 2 having multiple rotors 6, for the purpose of increasing the amount of electrical power generated based on the footprint of the wind turbine.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified control method and the modified computer program product of Yoshida such that these are used on a multi-rotor wind turbine, as taught by Baun et al., for the purpose of increasing the amount of electrical power generated based on the footprint of the wind turbine.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida 2011/0299986 and von Mutius 2006/0099075 and Baun et al. 2018/0180022 as applied to claims 3 and 13 respectively above, and further in view of Dharmadhikari et al. 2019/0101101.
The modified control method and the modified computer program product of Yoshida show all of the claimed subject matter except for the method further comprises detecting a failure in the yaw system (claim 4), and except for the operation further comprises detecting a failure in the yaw system (claim 14).
Dharmadhikari et al. shows a wind turbine control method and a wind turbine 10 having a yaw system 40, 44, 45, 46, whereby at step 202, the yaw system is monitored for failure, and a protective control strategy is implemented in response, for the purpose of implementing a protective control strategy for the yaw system in response to the detected failure.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the modified control method and the modified computer program product of Yoshida such that the method further comprises detecting a failure in the yaw system, and such that the operation further comprises detecting a failure in the yaw system, as taught by Dharmadhikari et al., for the purpose of implementing a protective control strategy for the yaw system in response to the detected failure.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida 2011/0299986 in view of von Baun et al. 2018/0180022
Yoshida discloses a wind turbine substantially as claimed, comprising a control system C arranged for: receiving one or more control parameters (the azimuth angles of the nacelle N); determining one or more yawing parameters (pitch angle setpoint values e1, e2, e3) based on the one or more control parameters, wherein the one or more yawing parameters comprises an angular yawing velocity (the rate of change of the rotor azimuth angle) of a yawing section (the interface between the nacelle and the tower T that permits yawing) and determining and outputting the one or more pitch angle set point values based on the control parameters for a subset of one or more blades B1 or B2 or B3 of the rotor of the wind turbine to a larger extent than the remaining blades (the other blades of B1 or B2 or B3) of the rotor so as to control the one or more yawing parameters (note paragraph [0024], for example, suppress(ion of the) yaw motion of the nacelle by suitably calculating and applying a resistance torque that acts against the yaw motion of the nacelle according to the rate of change of the azimuth angle of the nacelle (claim 10)).
However, Yoshida does not disclose that the rotor is on a multi-rotor wind turbine.
Baun et al. shows a wind turbine 2 having multiple rotors 6, for the purpose of increasing the amount of electrical power generated based on the footprint of the wind turbine.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the wind turbine control system of Yoshida such that it is used on a multi-rotor wind turbine, as taught by Baun et al., for the purpose of increasing the amount of electrical power generated based on the footprint of the wind turbine.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745