DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 4 it is unclear if the mount, magnetic elements of the mount and locking jaws are meant to be claimed in combination with the device case, or if the elements are merely meant to be a part of the intended use of the device case, which is given patentable weight in that the device must be capable of performing the intended use. While the claims are drawn to a “device case”, claim 4 contains the limitation that the first set of magnetic elements applies a magnetic force to magnetic elements of the mount, which would appear to require the combination of the device case with the magnetic elements of the mount. For the purposes of examination it was assumed that the mount, magnetic elements of the mount and locking jaws were meant to be a part of the intended use of the device case, as this is what was meant to be claimed per the examiner’s best understanding of the claimed invention. If this interpretation is correct the claim should be amended to recite “the first set of magnetic elements configured to apply a magnetic force”.
Further in claim 4 it is unclear if the locking jaws are meant to reference the same element as the “set of retention features” recited in claim 1, or if they are meant to reference a separate element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khodapanah et al.(US10125921) in view of Levy(US20190198212).
[claim 1] Khodapanah teaches a device case(1120, figs 11a-11e) configured to house a mobile device, the device case comprising:, a back side(seen in fig 11d), a bore(1121) in the back side comprising a set of undercut sections(1124) arranged about the bore, each undercut section configured to transiently mate with a set of retention features(1114a,1114b) of a mobile device mount(1100). Khodapanah however may not explicitly teach that the undercut sections define an undercut bevel that forms an angle offset from the back side, or a first set of magnetic or ferromagnetic elements arranged in a first pattern in the back side of the device case proximal and offset from the bore and sized to yield a magnetic force that enables a user to locate the device case near a mount, orient the device case relative to the mount, and automatically align and mechanically latch the device case with the set of undercut sections of the bore and the first set of magnetic or ferromagnetic elements to the mount with a single hand and in a single motion. With regards to the undercut bevels, Khodapanah teaches that the undercut sections are for receiving and engaging the retention features(clasp mechanisms 11a4a,1114b), which as seen in figure 11c have beveled or angled faces. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to make the undercut sections such that they defined an undercut bevel matching the shape and angle of the retention features, as this would provide a more secure connection with more points of contact between the two elements. With regards to the set of magnetic or ferromagnetic elements, Levy teaches a similar device case which uses a first set of magnetic or ferromagnetic elements(864) arranged in a first pattern in the back side of the device case(804) proximal and offset from a bore(814) and sized to yield a magnetic force that enables a user to locate the device case near a mount and orient the device case relative to the mount(ABS). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the set of magnetic or ferromagnetic elements of Levy with the device case of Khodapanah, as this would provide another means of orienting and aligning the device case and mount. When arranged as above, the device case would then automatically align and mechanically latch the device case with the set of undercut sections of the bore and the first set of magnetic or ferromagnetic elements to the mount with a single hand and in a single motion.
[claim 2] when arranged as above, wherein the bore(1121) is rectangular(fig 11D) and the first set of magnetic elements are arranged in a pattern relative to the rectangular bore.
[claim 3] when arranged as above, wherein the rectangular bore has chamfered corners(as seen in figure 11D) and the first set of magnetic elements are proximal and offset from each chamfered corner(keeping the same pattern and location of the first set of magnetic elements(864) of Levy as seen in figure 8a would place them proximal and offset from each chamfered corner of Khodapanah).
[claim 4] when arranged as above, wherein the first set of magnetic elements applies a magnetic force to magnetic elements(Levy, 122) in a mount to align the set of undercut sections of the rectangular bore to a set of locking jaws(1114a,1114b) in the mount to drive the set of locking jaws not the rectangular bore thereby enabling the locking jaws to mechanically engage the undercut sections and maintain the device case against the mount.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to claim 1, Applicant argues that Khodapanah does not teach a device case that can be located near a mount, oriented relative to the mount, and automatically aligned and mechanically latched to the mount with a single hand and in a single motion, arguing that Khodapanah requires a user to press a button or switch to mount the device. The examiner disagrees, Khodapanah teaches that the retention features(1114a,1114b) of the mount have sloped surfaces which would act to retract the retention features when inserted into the bore on the device case. Khodapanah details this functionality with respect to another embodiment “When the cleat 250 is inserted into the recess 212 in the top portion 110, the cleat may initially force the first and second clasp mechanisms (214a, 214b) outward from the recess 212 in the top portion 110. Then, as the cleat 250 is depressed further into the recess 212, a sloped face (215a, 215b) of each clasp mechanism (214a, 214b) may snap into the undercut 254 of the cleat due to the force exerted by the respective clasp springs (222a, 222b), thereby retaining the cleat within the recess.” (See Khodapanah C7 L40-48). This arrangement would then allow a user to align and attach the device case to the mount without the need to press a button or switch.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY DUCKWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632