DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Kochi in view of Lais and Koide
Claims 1, 2, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochi et al.(USPubN 2021/0081649; hereinafter Kochi) in view of Lais et al.(USPubN 2011/0277518; hereinafter Lais) further in view of Koide et al.(USPubN 2016/0307597; hereinafter Koide).
As per claim 1, Kochi teaches a gate system comprising: a first image capturing device capable of capturing an image of a face of a person who moves in a first direction within a predetermined area of a passage; a second image capturing device capable of capturing an image of a face of a person who moves in a second direction opposite to the first direction within the predetermined area of the passage(“the face authentication apparatus 100 includes an interface 111 with a gate apparatus 143, an interface 112 with a camera unit 144, an interface 113 with a camera unit 145, a communication interface 114, an operation input unit 115, a screen display unit 116, a storage unit 120, and an arithmetic processing unit 130. The face authentication apparatus 100 of the present embodiment is configured to perform face authentication on a user 141 who passes through the gate apparatus 143, provided between an area E1 and an area E2, form the area E1 to the area F2, and a user 142 who passes through in an opposite direction from the area E2 to the area E1, and transmit the authentication results to the gate apparatus 143.” in Para.[0035], “the camera unit 144 is set at a position with an image angle where the camera unit 144 can image a face portion of the user 141 who moves from the area E1 to the area E2 via the gate apparatus 143. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the camera unit 145 is set at a position with an image angle where the camera unit 145 can image a face portion of the user 142 who moves from the area E2 to the area E1 via the gate apparatus 143” in Para.[0039], Fig. 2);
a display device having a screen which is visible of the person moving in the first direction and is visible of the person moving in the second direction(“The screen display unit 116 is a screen display device such as a liquid crystal display (LCD) or a plasma display panel (PDP). The screen display unit 116 is configured to display various types of information such as an operation menu on a screen according to an instruction from the arithmetic processing unit 130” in Para.[0042], “The output unit 134 is configured to transmit the authentication result generated by the collation unit 133 to the gate apparatus 143 via the interface 111. The output unit 134 may transmit the authentication result to an external terminal via the communication interface 114 and/or display it on the screen display unit 116.” in Para.[0060]);
wherein each of the first image capturing device and the second image capturing device captures a face image of the person moving through the passage(“the camera unit 144 is set at a position with an image angle where the camera unit 144 can image a face portion of the user 141 who moves from the area E1 to the area E2 via the gate apparatus 143. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the camera unit 145 is set at a position with an image angle where the camera unit 145 can image a face portion of the user 142 who moves from the area E2 to the area E1 via the gate apparatus 143” in Para.[0039])
Kochi is silent about a first display device having a screen which is visible to the person moving in the first direction; and a second display device having a screen which is visible to the person moving in the second direction; the first display device displays a collation result of the face image of the person moving in the first direction and does not display a collation result of the face image of the person moving in the second direction, and the second display device displays the collation result of the face image of the person moving in the second direction and does not display the collation result of the face image of the person moving in the first direction.
Lais teaches a first display device having a screen which is visible to the person moving in the first direction; and a second display device having a screen which is visible to the person moving in the second direction(“for example the face and/or the iris, of a person desiring passage, and a display for the image recorded by the recording apparatus is provided; in this case, the recording apparatus and the display are integrated in the pivoting wing of the exit door of the lock area; the recording apparatus may form a unit with the display. The person can observe and follow the recognition process on the display and, by involuntarily doing so, inevitably maintains the correct position and stance with respect to the recording apparatus (camera). After the exit door has been pivoted open, the recording apparatus and the display are outside the person's field of view and the person is not tempted to continue to look at the display but rather will quickly leave the lock area without any unnecessary delay” in Para.[0011], “FIG. 1 shows a two-line apparatus for a checkpoint, in which case "two-line" is used to mean that two identical passage locks are arranged beside and parallel to one another. Expansion to form a three-line or four-line apparatus, for example, is likewise conceivable if necessary, as is the erection of a one-line apparatus. The side walls 2 of the lock areas 3 are permanently mounted on bases 1. A person gains access to a lock area 3 through an entrance door 4 which, in the embodiment illustrated, consists of a two-winged front swing door 4 and opens only in response to a signal from an electronic unit. The person can leave the lock area 3 through an exit door 5, a one-wing swing door 5 in the embodiment illustrated, which opens in response to a signal from a further electronic unit. A device 6 for detecting the alleged identity, for example a reader 6, is fitted in front of the one side wall 2 and to a gate frame 11 of each passage lock above the base 1 and permanently connected to the latter, into which device a person has to feed an authorization, an ID card or a passport and which is used to generate a signal in an electronic unit, a computer, in response to which signal the entrance door 4 opens. A monitor 7 on which the reading process in the reader 6 can be observed and followed and which can also be used to instruct and assist a person with operation can preferably be fitted above the reader 6. A simple first biometric system, for example a fingerprint scanner, can also be installed in front of or on the entrance door 4 in order to verify access to the lock area 3 as reliably as possible. Integrated in the pivoting wing 5 of the exit door 5 as a biometric unit is a camera 8, preferably with a display 9, for the biometric recognition, for example face recognition, the recognition of the face as a whole and/or the iris, of a person who has entered the lock area 3. The camera 8 and display 9 are thus arranged frontally opposite the entrance of the lock area 3, with the result that a person who enters inevitably assumes the required and correct, namely frontal, position with respect to the camera 8 without any special instructions. The display 9 will cause the relevant person to follow the process of image acquisition for biometric recognition on the display 9, that is to say will cause the person to remain in the required position and not to be distracted, for example turning his head in the process, which would have to result in the process being interrupted. In order to attract the person's attention and thus to achieve the frontal orientation with respect to the camera 8, a sound generation device, for example a loudspeaker which generates short broadband noises (for example crackling, clicking) which can be located by the person and thus steer a person's attention in the desired correct direction, may be arranged in the spatial vicinity of the camera 8. The display 9 displays the reflected image of the person in the spatial vicinity of the camera 8, with the result that the person receives information relating to his positioning and can intuitively correct any possible incorrect positions. Lighting means 10 are preferably likewise integrated in the pivoting wing 5 of the exit door 5 and are arranged above and below the camera 8 and the display 9 in such a manner that the face of a person is lit in a uniform manner with little glare, little shadow and little reflection in order to thus be able to obtain photographs which conform to the imposed requirements. However, it is also possible to laterally arrange the lighting means if necessary. The lighting means 10 may be adjustable.” in Para.[0031], The gates can be installed in the first direction and the second direction which is opposite direction of the first direction.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Kochi with the above teachings of Lais in order to improve convenience and security of gate.
Koide teaches the first display device displays a collation result of the face image of the person moving in the first direction and does not display a collation result of the face image of the person moving in the second direction, and the second display device displays the collation result of the face image of the person moving in the second direction and does not display the collation result of the face image of the person moving in the first direction(“Case video processing apparatus 100 detects a face region of a person included in image data, and to-be-masked frame 121 corresponding to the face region is generated and is displayed in an image to be processed. In addition, case video processing apparatus 100 registers the detected face region as a target to be masked. To-be-masked frame 121 is a frame that allows a user to be able to easily recognize the detection of the person's face, and is displayed by adding a frame or a mark to the vicinity of the face. To-be-masked frame 121 may be displayed as a quadrangular frame, an elliptical frame, or a mark such as an arrow. Alternatively, only face portions detected from a video may be cut out, and a list of the face portions may be displayed separately in parallel with the video.” in Para.[0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Kochi and Lais with the above teachings of Koide in order to improve the efficiency of the surveillance work.
As per claim 2, Kochi, Lais and Koide teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Kochi teaches wherein the predetermined area is at least a part of an area between a virtual first line and a virtual second line in the passage, the first direction is a direction from the first line to the second line, and the second direction is a direction from the second line to the first line(“The gate apparatus 143 is a gate for both entry and exit, provided between the area E1 and the area E2. The face authentication apparatus 100 is configured to perform face authentication on the user 141 who passes through the gate apparatus 143 form the area E1 to the area F2, and the user 142 who passes through in the opposite direction from the area E2 to the area E1, and transmit the authentication results to the gate apparatus 143” in Para.[0037], “the camera unit 144 is set at a position with an image angle where the camera unit 144 can image a face portion of the user 141 who moves from the area E1 to the area E2 via the gate apparatus 143. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the camera unit 145 is set at a position with an image angle where the camera unit 145 can image a face portion of the user 142 who moves from the area E2 to the area E1 via the gate apparatus 143” in Para.[0039]).
As per claim 14, Kochi, Lais and Koide teach all of limitation of claim 2.
Kochi teaches further comprising: a first gate provided on the first line; and a second gate provided on the second line, wherein the first image capturing device is provided in the first gate, the second image capturing device is provided in the second gate, the first direction is a direction from the first gate to the second gate, and the second direction is a direction from the second gate to the first gate(“The gate apparatus 143 is a gate for both entry and exit, provided between the area E1 and the area E2. The face authentication apparatus 100 is configured to perform face authentication on the user 141 who passes through the gate apparatus 143 form the area E1 to the area F2, and the user 142 who passes through in the opposite direction from the area E2 to the area E1, and transmit the authentication results to the gate apparatus 143” in Para.[0037], “the camera unit 144 is set at a position with an image angle where the camera unit 144 can image a face portion of the user 141 who moves from the area E1 to the area E2 via the gate apparatus 143. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the camera unit 145 is set at a position with an image angle where the camera unit 145 can image a face portion of the user 142 who moves from the area E2 to the area E1 via the gate apparatus 143” in Para.[0039]).
Kochi is silent about wherein the first display device is provided in the first gate the second display device is provided in the second gate.
Lais teaches wherein the first display device is provided in the first gate the second display device is provided in the second gate(“for example the face and/or the iris, of a person desiring passage, and a display for the image recorded by the recording apparatus is provided; in this case, the recording apparatus and the display are integrated in the pivoting wing of the exit door of the lock area; the recording apparatus may form a unit with the display. The person can observe and follow the recognition process on the display and, by involuntarily doing so, inevitably maintains the correct position and stance with respect to the recording apparatus (camera). After the exit door has been pivoted open, the recording apparatus and the display are outside the person's field of view and the person is not tempted to continue to look at the display but rather will quickly leave the lock area without any unnecessary delay” in Para.[0011], “FIG. 1 shows a two-line apparatus for a checkpoint, in which case "two-line" is used to mean that two identical passage locks are arranged beside and parallel to one another. Expansion to form a three-line or four-line apparatus, for example, is likewise conceivable if necessary, as is the erection of a one-line apparatus. The side walls 2 of the lock areas 3 are permanently mounted on bases 1. A person gains access to a lock area 3 through an entrance door 4 which, in the embodiment illustrated, consists of a two-winged front swing door 4 and opens only in response to a signal from an electronic unit. The person can leave the lock area 3 through an exit door 5, a one-wing swing door 5 in the embodiment illustrated, which opens in response to a signal from a further electronic unit. A device 6 for detecting the alleged identity, for example a reader 6, is fitted in front of the one side wall 2 and to a gate frame 11 of each passage lock above the base 1 and permanently connected to the latter, into which device a person has to feed an authorization, an ID card or a passport and which is used to generate a signal in an electronic unit, a computer, in response to which signal the entrance door 4 opens. A monitor 7 on which the reading process in the reader 6 can be observed and followed and which can also be used to instruct and assist a person with operation can preferably be fitted above the reader 6. A simple first biometric system, for example a fingerprint scanner, can also be installed in front of or on the entrance door 4 in order to verify access to the lock area 3 as reliably as possible. Integrated in the pivoting wing 5 of the exit door 5 as a biometric unit is a camera 8, preferably with a display 9, for the biometric recognition, for example face recognition, the recognition of the face as a whole and/or the iris, of a person who has entered the lock area 3. The camera 8 and display 9 are thus arranged frontally opposite the entrance of the lock area 3, with the result that a person who enters inevitably assumes the required and correct, namely frontal, position with respect to the camera 8 without any special instructions. The display 9 will cause the relevant person to follow the process of image acquisition for biometric recognition on the display 9, that is to say will cause the person to remain in the required position and not to be distracted, for example turning his head in the process, which would have to result in the process being interrupted. In order to attract the person's attention and thus to achieve the frontal orientation with respect to the camera 8, a sound generation device, for example a loudspeaker which generates short broadband noises (for example crackling, clicking) which can be located by the person and thus steer a person's attention in the desired correct direction, may be arranged in the spatial vicinity of the camera 8. The display 9 displays the reflected image of the person in the spatial vicinity of the camera 8, with the result that the person receives information relating to his positioning and can intuitively correct any possible incorrect positions. Lighting means 10 are preferably likewise integrated in the pivoting wing 5 of the exit door 5 and are arranged above and below the camera 8 and the display 9 in such a manner that the face of a person is lit in a uniform manner with little glare, little shadow and little reflection in order to thus be able to obtain photographs which conform to the imposed requirements. However, it is also possible to laterally arrange the lighting means if necessary. The lighting means 10 may be adjustable.” in Para.[0031], The gates can be installed in the first direction and the second direction which is opposite direction of the first direction.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Kochi with the above teachings of Lais in order to improve convenience and security of gate.
As per claim 15, the limitations in the claim 15 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 16, Kochi teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a control program of a gate device causing the gate device to execute a process(“A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program comprising instructions for causing a computer to perform processes” in Claim 21) and the other limitations in the claim 16 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
Kochi in view of Lais, Koide and Sakai
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochi et al.(USPubN 2021/0081649; hereinafter Kochi) in view of Lais et al.(USPubN 2011/0277518; hereinafter Lais) further in view of Koide et al.(USPubN 2016/0307597; hereinafter Koide) further in view of Sakai et al.(USPubN 2005/0078184; hereinafter Sakai)
As per claim 3, Kochi, Lais and Koide teach all of limitation of claim 2.
Kochi, Lais and Koide are silent about wherein a width of each of the first line and the second line is a width by which a plurality of persons can pass side by side, and each of the first display device and the second display device is capable of simultaneously displaying collation results of the plurality of persons.
Sakai teaches wherein a width of each of the first line and the second line is a width by which a plurality of persons can pass side by side, and each of the first display device and the second display device is capable of simultaneously displaying collation results of the plurality of persons(Fig. 13, “it is recognized by the determining part 21 that total eight persons 8 in the regions Ra and Rb travel to the +X side (to the right side of the diagram), and four persons 8 in the region Rc travel to the -X side (to the left side of the diagram). A result of the recognition is generated as travel information of persons. Further, the determining part 21 estimates that persons crowds (or are going to crowd) in the region R1 between the regions Rb and Rc.” in Para.[0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Kochi, Lais and Koide with the above teachings of Sakai in order to improve user experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484