This is a Non-Final office action for serial number 19/040128.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the locator (include a reference number for locator which is mentioned within the specification but does not include a reference) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Trout et al. (Trout) 2020/0141537.
Trout discloses claims:
1. An apparatus for mounting a fan, comprising; a fan mount for supporting the fan, the fan mount comprising a first part (150) movable relative to a second part (130); and a modular restrictor (220 including 200/210) connected to the second part of the fan mount above the first part for restricting the movement of the fan relative to the fan mount, the modular restrictor comprising first (200) and second (210) interconnected portions adapted for engaging the second part.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first part comprises a partially spherical ball (150) and the second part comprises a socket (130) for at least partially receiving the partially spherical ball, the modular restrictor (220/200/210) being positioned in the fan mount for engaging an upper surface of the partially spherical ball.
3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein each portion of the restrictor includes at least one passage (210c, 210b) for receiving a fastener (F).
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one portion of the restrictor includes a channel (210b, 200a).
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein each portion of the restrictor includes a locator (200b) for ensuring proper alignment when assembled.
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second part comprises at least one stanchion (126), and at least one of the portions of the modular restrictor (210) is adapted for engaging the at least one stanchion.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein each portion of the modular restrictor (210) is generally U- shaped in plan view.
8. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the modular restrictor (200) comprises a resilient material.
9. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the modular restrictor (200/210/220) is adapted for engaging a fastener (F) associated with the fan mount.
10. An apparatus for mounting a fan, comprising: a fan mount for supporting the fan, the fan mount comprising a first part (150) movable relative to a second part (130); and a modular restrictor (200/220/210) positioned above the first part for restricting the movement of the fan relative to the fan mount, the modular restrictor comprising first (200) and second interconnected portions (210) together forming a central passage for allowing a wire or cable to extend into the fan mount.
11. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first part comprises a partially spherical ball (150) and the second part comprises a socket (130) for at least partially receiving the partially spherical ball, the modular restrictor (200/220/210) being positioned in the fan mount for engaging an upper surface of the partially spherical ball.
12. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein each portion of the restrictor (200) includes at least one passage (210a, 210b) for receiving a fastener (F).
13. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein each portion of the restrictor includes a locator (200b) for ensuring proper alignment when assembled.
14. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the second part comprises at least one stanchion (126), and at least one of the portions of the modular restrictor (210) is adapted for engaging the at least one stanchion (126).
15. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein at least one portion of the modular restrictor (210) is generally U-shaped in plan view.
16. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the modular restrictor (200) comprises a resilient material (see specification).
17. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein at least one portion of the restrictor includes a channel (210a,210b).
18. A method of controlling sway of a fan relative to a fan mount comprising a first part connected to a support for supporting the fan, the first part (150) being movable relative to a second part (130), comprising: interconnecting first (200) and second portions (210) of a modular restrictor; and positioning the modular restrictor in a position to restrict movement of the first part (150) relative to the second part (130).
19. The method of claim 18, further including the step of passing wiring (cable, wiring) through a passage (200a, 210b) of the modular restrictor (200,210,220).
20. The method of claim 18, further including the step of mounting the fan (10) to a ceiling prior to the positioning step.
21. The apparatus of claim 1, further including a fastener (F) for fastening the first portion (200) of the restrictor to the second portion (210) of the restrictor.
[AltContent: textbox (Passage 200c for fastener within 1st portion 200 of restrictor 220)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Passage 210b for fastener (F) within 2nd portion 210 of restrictor 220)][AltContent: textbox (Passage for fastener (F))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art Trout does not disclose wherein each of the first and second interconnected portions includes at least one passage for receiving a fastener, and wherein each of the first and second interconnected portions includes a locator, the locator comprising an annular projection surrounding the passage on one extension and a corresponding recess surrounding the passage on another extension, the annular projection being received in the corresponding recess when assembled to ensure proper alignment and including all of the other limitations of the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to the arguments, that
The Office Action maps Trout's cushion (200) and bracket/retainer (210) together to the claimed "modular restrictor comprising first and second interconnected portions adapted for engaging the second part." Office Action at 7-9. That mapping does not disclose the claimed arrangement. The claims require first and second interconnected portions of the modular restrictor itself, not a cushion plus a separate external retainer used to hold the cushion in place.
Trout describes a different structure. Trout discloses that a restrictor (220) "comprises a cushion (200) and a retainer, such as a bracket (210)," where the bracket is "adapted for insertion within a recess in the mount," includes a cavity for receiving the cushion, and "may then pass over the cushion (200)" so that a fastener secures "the bracket (210) and cushion (200) relative to the mount assembly (100)." Trout [0042]-[0046]. Trout's own dependent claims confirm that distinction by separately reciting "a bracket for securing the restrictor to the fan mount" and that "the restrictor is adapted to fit within a cavity of the bracket." Trout claims 7-9. Thus, Trout's bracket is not a second interconnected portion of the restrictor; it is a separate retainer for securing a cushion relative to the fan mount.
the examiner traverses the arguments with the following remarks. The applicant’s representative is directed to Trout’s paragraph (0043) which states, “the restrictor (220) comprises a cushion (200) and a retainer, such as a bracket (210)” which as interpreted by the examiner within the office action as the modular restrictor comprising first (200) and second interconnected portions (210) therefore clearly meeting the applicant’s claim 1, “the modular restrictor comprising a first and second interconnected portions”.
In regards to the arguments, that
Indeed, Trout does not describe the cushion and bracket as interconnected restrictor portions. Rather, Trout states that the restrictor (220) "comprises a cushion (200) and a retainer, such as a bracket (210)," with each element interacting with the mounting assembly to dampen movement. Trout [0042]. The expressly identified function of bracket (210) is therefore as a retainer, not as a second modular restrictor portion interconnected with the cushion.
This distinction is reinforced by Trout's own claims. Trout claim 7 recites "a bracket for securing the restrictor to the fan mount," while Trout claim 8 recites that "the bracket is U-shaped and the restrictor is adapted to fit within a cavity of the bracket." These claims treat the bracket as a separate securing structure for the restrictor, not as an interconnected portion of the restrictor itself. Trout claim 9 similarly recites that the bracket includes a passage for receiving a fastener "for connecting the bracket to the fan mount." Thus, the connection disclosed in Trout is bracket-to-mount retention, not restrictor-to-bracket interconnection.
the examiner traverses the arguments with the following remarks. The applicant’s representative interprets claim 7, which states, “The apparatus of claim 1, further including a bracket for securing the restrictor to the fan mount” and claim 8, which states “wherein the bracket is U-shaped and the restrictor is adapted to fit within a cavity of the bracket” as or can only mean that the “bracket” as claimed is not included in the “restrictor”. This is interpretation by the applicant’s representative is not the only way to interpret the claims of Trout. Trout states within paragraph (0043) that, “the restrictor (220) comprises a cushion (200) and a retainer, such as a bracket (210)” which clearly contradicts the applicant’s representative interpretation of Trout’s claims that the bracket (210) is not included as a part of the restrictor (220). Claim 7 stating “The apparatus of claim 1, further including a bracket for securing the restrictor to the fan mount” and claim 8 stating “wherein the bracket is U-shaped and the restrictor is adapted to fit within a cavity of the bracket” does not mean that the bracket is not included in the restrictor. The claims only state “the bracket for securing the restrictor to the fan mount” within claim 7 and “wherein the bracket is U-shaped and the restrictor is adapted to fit within a cavity of the bracket” within claim 8 which does not negate the fact that “bracket” 210 is a part of the restrictor. This fact is confirmed within Trout’s paragraph 0043 which states that, “the restrictor (220) comprises a cushion (200) and a retainer, such as a bracket (210)” therefore meeting the applicant’s claimed invention. The bracket part (210) of the restrictor, 220 including bracket 210 and cushion 200, is used to hold the cushion part (200) of the restrictor (220 including bracket 210 and cushion 200, see paragraph 0043) within the U-shape area of the bracket part (210) therefore meeting the applicant’s claim invention.
In regards to the arguments, that
Trout's assembly description confirms the absence of the claimed interconnection. Trout states that the cushion (200) is inserted within the mounting assembly, and "[t]he bracket (210) may then pass over the cushion (200)" so that holes in the bracket align with a passage in the cushion and with lateral openings of the socket portion. Trout [0045]. Trout further explains that a fastener may be inserted through those aligned openings "to secure the position of the bracket (210) and cushion (200) relative to the mount assembly." Id. This passage establishes, at most, that the bracket and cushion are each held in position relative to the mount by a common fastener. It does not disclose that the bracket and cushion are interconnected with each other as first and second portions of a modular restrictor.
Because Trout does not disclose first and second interconnected portions of the modular restrictor arranged as required by independent claim 1, does not disclose first and second interconnected portions together forming the central passage required by independent claim 10, and does not disclose the step of "interconnecting first and second portions of a modular restrictor" required by independent claim 18, Trout does not anticipate the independent claims. The dependent claims are patentable for at least the same reasons by virtue of their dependency, and the cited dependent-claim features do not cure the missing two-portion modular restrictor arrangement. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the § 102 rejection of claims 1-20.
the examiner traverses the arguments with the following remarks. Applicant is directed to paragraph 0045 which states,
The bracket (210) may then pass over the cushion (200) and positioned such that holes (210b) in the bracket (210) align with a corresponding passage (200c) in the cushion (200), and also with the lateral openings (128) of the socket portion (130). A fastener (F), such as a bolt, pin, or other cross member, may be inserted through the aligned openings (128) and passage/holes (200c, 210b) to secure the position of the bracket (210) and cushion (200) relative to the mount assembly (100) (and, in particular, to the mount (110)). When the bracket (210) is secured within the socket portion (130) of the mounting assembly (100), it may be substantially flush with the upper surface of the cushion (200) so that a continuous engagement is established.
Trout clearly shows within the figures and states within paragraph 0045 that the cushion 200 of the restrictor 220 is interconnected via direct physical contact or snug engagement with the bracket 210 (paragraph 0043). The bracket 210 sits on top of the cushion 200 resulting in continuous engagement of the bracket 210 and the cushion 200 (respectively second portion 210 of restrictor 210 and first portion 200 of the restrictor). In addition the cushion 200 of the restrictor 220 is also interconnected to the bracket 210 using a fastener (F) extending through the holes/passage 210b in the bracket/second portion 210 of the restrictor and the holes/passage 200c in the cushion/first portion 200 of the restrictor therefore clearly teaching the limitations of the applicant’s claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY T WOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631