DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,227,250. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims contain all of the subject matter of the present claims with only minor phrasing differences or obvious use of a structural feature in a process step (claim 19), the independent claims of the patent having all of the limitations of the present claims (1/18) therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14-15, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Zimmerhackel-monien harald (DE 10200905673A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zimmerhackel-monien harald (hereafter “D1”) discloses a bicycle rack (title) comprising: a support member (receiving device 4) having a first portion (attachment section 18), and a second portion (main section 8), disposed at an angle relative to the first portion (figure 1), the second portion being configured to support the pedal of a bicycle (figure 5); a cover member (6) pivotably mounted on the first portion of the support member, the cover member being configured to move between an open position in which the support member is uncovered and a closed position in which the support member is covered (cover 6 is hinged at 52 to move between open and closed positions); and a locking mechanism (figure 8 describes locking mechanism wherein self-locking device 68 has part 72 on the receiving device 4 and counterpart 74 of the cover 6 which locks via locking bolt 76) configured to lock the cover member (6) in the closed position; wherein a distal end of the cover member extends over a distal end of a crank arm of the bicycle when the cover is closed and is configured to prevent access to a spindle of the pedal (as in figure 1).
Regarding claims 2 and 4-5, D1 discloses wherein the locking mechanism (68) includes a first locking feature (74) on the cover member and a second locking feature (72) on the support member (figure 8) and a latch member (locking bolt 76) slidably mounted to move between a retracted position and an extended position, and the cover member includes an aperture into which the latch member slides when the latch member is in the extended position and the cover member is in the closed position (figure 8). D1 discloses operation of the latch member (76) by a key operated lock (from translated document).
Regarding claim 3, D1 also discloses use of a wire rope (100) locking device in figure 9 which is passed through aligned apertures (26a/b, 45a/b – figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 7, D1 discloses wherein the latch member is biased toward the extended position (disclosed locking bolt 76 and that lock is self-biased).
Regarding claims 8-9, D1 discloses wherein the cover member (6) is biased toward the open position (spring to bias cover open is disclosed per translated document).
Regarding claim 10, D1 discloses wherein the first portion of the support member includes holes (28a-d) configured to receive threaded fasteners (figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, D1 discloses wherein the first portion (18) is configured so that the holes (28a-d) are inaccessible when the cover member is in the closed position (figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, D1 discloses wherein the cover member (6) is pivotably mounted by a hinge (joint element 52).
Regarding claim 14, D1 discloses wherein the second portion (at 18) of the support member includes an angled support surface (figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, D1 discloses wherein the second portion (at 18) of the support member includes a forked portion (at 24 – figure 2) configured to receive and support a spindle of a pedal of a bicycle.
Regarding claim 17, D1 discloses wherein the first portion of the support member has an angled rear surface (figure 1), configured so that a longitudinal axis of the support member is disposed at an angle relative to a surface of the wall on which the rack is mounted (as seen in figure 10).
Regarding claim 18, D1 discloses the steps of wall attachment, mounting a pedal in the device and closing and locking with the cover member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerhackel-monien harald (DE 10200905673A1).
Regarding claim 6, D1 discloses use of a key lock and Official Notice is taken that a barrel-style combination lock is a well known in the art type of lock device and that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to substitute a barrel-style combination lock in place of the key lock when desirable to not require a key.
Regarding claim 13, D1 does not disclose the type of hinge (at joint element 52) although the figures do appear as a pin type device with use of joining members (54a, b) (figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to utilize a pin through aligned openings in 54a/b as suggested by the figures for incorporation of a well known hinge type in the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (and the double patenting rejections are overcome).
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest any combination meeting the limitations of claim(s) 16 or 19. Specifically, D1 does not teach at least the claimed cup-shaped portion of the cover member and the prior art documents of record do not suggest a modification to meet these limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See notice of references cited form PTO-892. References not applied but cited are relevant as disclosing or suggesting at least one feature in the claims or disclosure of the present application.
/PATRICK D HAWN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631