DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: “The server of claim 2” recites an incorrect dependency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: processing element and encoder in claim 1, decoder in claim 8, encoder in claims 15, 16.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: neural processing unit (NPU).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220343523 A1 Cho; Soonyong et al. (hereafter Cho), and further in view of US 20230070216 A1 DO; Ji-Hoon et al. (hereafter Do).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses A camera device capable of communicating with a server (Fig.1), comprising: at least one processing element (PB) configured to obtain, from a captured video, a plurality of feature maps corresponding to each of convolution layers by using multiple convolution layers of an artificial neural network model (Figs.1, 7B, [30], [49], [109], processor circuity is the PB);
Cho fails to disclose an encoder configured to select at least one feature map from the plurality of feature maps, and encode the selected feature map thereby being outputting as a bitstream; wherein the bitstream is transmitted to the server through a communication network.
However, Do teaches an encoder configured to select at least one feature map from the plurality of feature maps (Fig.9, [187], [227]-[228], feature frame configuration unit and encoding unit together is a encoder is to select multi feature frame that represents feature map for encoding), and encode the selected feature map thereby being outputting as a bitstream ([148]); wherein the bitstream is transmitted to the server through a communication network (Fig.2, [97], compressed bitstream is transmitted from clients device to server).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera device disclosed by Cho to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Do, in order to improve compression efficiency, as identified by Do.
Regarding claim 3, Do teaches The camera device of claim 1, wherein the at least one feature map is selected based on a size of an input or output feature maps of each of the convolution layers ([20]).
Regarding claims 5, 19, Do teaches The camera device of claim 1, wherein the at least one feature map is selected based on particular information ([214]).
Regarding claims 6, 20, Do teaches The camera device of claim 5 wherein the particular information is received from the server ([376]-[377]).
Regarding claim 7, Do teaches The camera device of Claim 5, wherein the particular information includes identification information of the at least feature map or identification information of a layer corresponding to the at least one feature map ([376]-[377]).
Regarding claim 15, Cho discloses An electronic device for distributed processing of an artificial neural network (Fig.1), comprising: a multiply-accumulate (MAC) operator configured to perform operations of some convolution layers among a plurality of convolution layers of the artificial neural network thereby generating a plurality of output feature maps (Figs.7A-7B, [102]-[111]).
Cho fails to disclose an encoder configured to selectively encode at least one output feature map from the plurality of output feature maps thereby being outputted as a bitstream; wherein the electronic device is configured for distributed processing of the artificial neural network and includes a first electronic device and a second electronic device, wherein the electronic device refers to the first electronic device, and wherein the bitstream is transmitted to the second electronic device.
However, Do teaches an encoder configured to selectively encode at least one output feature map from the plurality of output feature maps thereby being outputted as a bitstream (Fig.9, [187], [227]-[228],[148]); wherein the electronic device is configured for distributed processing of the artificial neural network and includes a first electronic device and a second electronic device, wherein the electronic device refers to the first electronic device, and wherein the bitstream is transmitted to the second electronic device (Fig.2, [97]) .
Regarding claim 17, Cho discloses The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the electronic device includes a camera, a neural processing unit (NPU), a processor, or a server ([36]-[39]).
Regarding claim 18, Do teaches The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the at least one output feature map is selected based on weights of the convolution layers, attributes of input feature maps, or a size of the at least one output feature map ([20]-[23]).
Claim(s) 2, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, in view of Do, and further in view of US 20250310548 A1 ROSEWARNE; Christopher James et al. (hereafter ROSEWARNE).
Regarding claims 2, 16, ROSEWARNE teaches The camera device of claim 1, wherein the encoder includes: a multi-scale feature fusion (MSFF) and a single-stream feature codec (SSFC) encoder ([103]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Cho, Do and ROSEWARNE before him/her, to modify the camera device disclosed by Cho to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Do and ROSEWARNE, in order to improve compression efficiency, as identified by Do, provide a system for encoding and decoding tensors from a convolutional neural network, as identified by ROSEWARNE.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, in view of Do, and further in view of US 20180286040 A1 SASHIDA.
Regarding claim 4, SASHIDA teaches The camera device of claim 1 wherein the at least one feature map is selected based on a sum value of weights for each of the convolution layers ([89]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Cho, Do and SASHIDA before him/her, to modify the camera device disclosed by Cho to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Do and SASHIDA, in order to improve compression efficiency, as identified by Do, provide technique that identifies the morphology of individual cells and/or biological substances inside the cells, as identified by SASHIDA.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220375133 A1 WANG; Jing et al. (hereafter Wang), and further in view of Cho.
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses A server capable of communicating with a camera device via a communication network (Fig.2b), comprising: a decoder configured to decode a bitstream received from the camera device ([204]) and reconstruct at least one feature map for a video captured by the camera device ([222], [300], decoder decodes encoded data and reconstructs feature map for camera captured image data in the encoded data); and at least one processing element (PE) configured to perform operations of an artificial neural network model (Figs.2, processing unit is the PE); wherein the at least one feature map is applied as input data to a N-th layer among a plurality of layers of the artificial neural network model, thereby allowing the at least one PE to perform operations of the artificial neural network (Fig.4, [211], [229]-[230]),
Wang fails to disclose the at least one feature map is an output feature map of a M-th layer among the plurality of layers, and wherein the N-th layer follows the M-th layer, wherein the N and the M are each integers.
However, Cho teaches wherein the at least one feature map is an output feature map of a M-th layer among the plurality of layers, and wherein the N-th layer follows the M-th layer ([211], [214]), wherein the N and the M are each integers (Fig.7B, [107]-[109]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the server capable of communicating with a camera device disclosed by Wang to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Cho, in order to obtain accurate depth information at low illuminance, as identified by Cho.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Cho, and further in view of US 20250310548 A1 ROSEWARNE.
Regarding claim 9, ROSEWARNE teaches The sever of claim 8, wherein the decoder includes a multi-scale feature reconstruction (MSFR) and a single-stream feature codec (SSFC) decoder ([103]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Wang, Cho and ROSEWARNE before him/her, to modify the server capable of communicating with a camera device disclosed by Wang to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Cho and ROSEWARNE, in order to obtain accurate depth information at low illuminance, as identified by Cho, provide a system for encoding and decoding tensors from a convolutional neural network, as identified by ROSEWARNE.
Claim(s) 10, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Cho, and further in view of Do.
Regarding claim 10, Do teaches The server of claim 8, wherein the at least one feature map is selected based on a size of the output feature map for each of convolution layers ([20]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Wang, Cho and Do before him/her, to modify the server capable of communicating with a camera device disclosed by Wang to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Cho and Do, in order to obtain accurate depth information at low illuminance, as identified by Cho, improve compression efficiency, as identified by Do.
Regarding claim 12, Do teaches The server of claim 8, wherein the at least one feature map is selected based on particular information ([214]).
Regarding claim 13, Do teaches The server of claim 2, wherein the particular information is received from the server ([376]-[377]).
Regarding claim 14, Do teaches The server of claim 13, wherein the particular information includes identification information of the at least feature map or identification information of a layer corresponding to the at least one feature map ([376]-[377]).
Claim(s) 11, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Cho, and further in view of SASHIDA.
Regarding claim 11, SASHIDA teaches The server of claim 8, wherein the at least one feature map is selected based on a sum value of weights for each of convolution layers ([89]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Wang, Cho and SASHIDA before him/her, to modify the server capable of communicating with a camera device disclosed by Wang to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Cho and SASHIDA, in order to obtain accurate depth information at low illuminance, as identified by Cho, provide technique that identifies the morphology of individual cells and/or biological substances inside the cells, as identified by SASHIDA.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20210265016 A1, US 20190197420 A1, US 20230421764 A1, US 20240202590 A1.
/TRACY Y. LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487