DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, drawn to figs.3-9 and 10A in the reply filed on 03/04/2026 is acknowledged.
No claims have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/04/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “whether” in line 3 of the claim appears to be a grammatical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: lock mechanism in claims 1, 4, 7, 17 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the recess" in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter since claim 15 depends on claim 14.
The term “an approximate width” in claim 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “an approximate width” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abdul-Hafiz et al. U.S. Patent No. (11,096,816 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Abdul-Hafiz et al. discloses a pivot assembly (10,12, figs.1-22) for an orthopedic device having a first longitudinal axis or central axis (A-A, fig.2) comprising:
a first strut (14, fig.2) having a first strut head (as shown in the reproduced image of fig,2), the first strut head defining a compound recess (where element 100 is located in fig.2);
a second strut (22, fig.3) having a strut head (24, fig.2), the second strut head (24) having a curved or circularly shape (as shown in fig.2) and defines a plurality of notches (28, fig.2) disposed about a circumference thereof (as shown in fig.2);
a lock mechanism (drop lock assembly 96 including drop lock button 98, figs.2-3) disposed within the compound recess (where element 100 is located in fig.2) and arranged to lock in an engaged position and a disengaged position relative to the plurality of notches (28) according to a position within the compound recess (where element 100 is located in fig.2) and ([Col.6], lines 6-16);
wherein the compound recess (where element 100 is located in fig.2) defines an entry or channel opening from a first end or peripheral surface of the first strut head and is arranged to cooperate with a peripheral surface of the second strut head (as shown in figs.2-3);
wherein the compound recess (where element 100 is located in fig.2) defines a second longitudinal axis (B-B, as shown in the reproduced image of fig.2 below) bisecting the channel.
With respect to claim 2, Abdul-Hafiz et al. discloses the compound recess further defines a first recess depending from an end of the channel opposite the first end of the first strut head and along the longitudinal axis, the first recess located on a first side of the longitudinal axis, and the compound recess having a second recess located on a second side of the longitudinal axis (as shown in the reproduced image of fig.2 below).
With respect to claim 3, Abdul-Hafiz et al. discloses the first recess has a circular or semi-circular or arcuate periphery on the first side of the second longitudinal axis, and the second recess has a circular or semi-circular or arcuate periphery on the second side of the second longitudinal axis (as shown in the reproduced image of fig.2 below).
With respect to claim 4, Abdul-Hafiz et al. discloses the lock mechanism includes a lock body (drop lock assembly 96 including drop lock button 98, figs.2-3) arranged to slide within the compound recess to and from the first end or peripheral surface along the second longitudinal axis ([Col.6], lines 6-16).
With respect to claim 5, Abdul-Hafiz et al. discloses the first strut defines a first stop surface (40) to limit rotation of the pivot assembly in a first rotational direction, and a second stop surface (42) to limit rotation of the pivot assembly in a second rotational direction ([Col.5], lines 58-67) and ([Col.6], lines 1-5) and ([Col.8], lines 54-67).
With respect to claim 6, Abdul-Hafiz et al. discloses the second strut defines a first stop surface to limit rotation of the pivot assembly in the first rotational direction and is adapted to abut the first stop surface of the first strut, and a second stop surface to limit rotation of the pivot assembly in the second rotational direction by abutting the second stop surface ([Col.8], lines 54-67).
With respect to claim 7, Abdul-Hafiz et al. discloses the lock mechanism has a lock body defining a head portion forming at least one tooth (98, fig.2) arranged to selectively engage at least one of the notches (28) of the second strut (as shown in fig.2).
With respect to claim 8, Abdul-Hafiz et al. discloses the channel (element 100, as shown in fig.2) is configured and dimensioned to receive the head portion such that a periphery of the head portion is configured and dimensioned to generally match a size or width of the channel, thereby directing only linear movement of the head portion within the channel that is parallel to the second longitudinal axis (as shown in figs.2-3)
With respect to claim 9, Abdul-Hafiz et al. discloses the lock body further defines a base portion (102, figs.9-10) extending from an end of the head portion, the base portion (102) defining a retainer protruding upwardly or relatively perpendicularly to the second longitudinal axis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art drawn to Abdul-Hafiz et al. fails to show or make obvious the claimed combinations of elements particularly the limitations as set forth in dependent claims 10-13 and 16-19 which recite features not taught or suggested by the prior art drawn to Abdul-Hafiz et al., in combination with the other elements (or steps) of the apparatus and method recited in the claims.
Conclusion
/OPHELIA A HAWTHORNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786