DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 03/24/25 via a preliminary amendment, which is considered by the examiner.
Claims 20-38 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-19 are canceled.
Claims 20-38 are newly added.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
6. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 03/12/25 & 09/22/25 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Priority
7. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawing
8. The drawings filed on 01/29/25 are accepted by the examiner.
Claims Objections
9. Claims 24-26 & 36-38 are objected to because of minor informalities:
10. Claim 24, in part, recites, “…the superposition coefficient …in line 1.
Since it is recited for the first time in the claim, for clarity it is suggested to change “the superposition coefficient” to “a superposition coefficient”.
11. Claim 36 is also objected for the same reason as claim 24 above.
12. Claims 25-26 & 37-38 are also objected since they are dependent upon objected independent claim set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 20-22, 27-28 & 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al. (hereinafter referred as Rahman) US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0262253 A1, in view of Pun et al. (hereinafter referred as Pun) US Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0188966 A1.
Regarding claims 20 & 32: Rahman discloses a first apparatus (See FIG. 3 & Para. 0055-0056; a User Equipment (UE)))/method comprising:
a transceiver (See FIG. 3 & Para. 0055-0056; a User Equipment (UE)) includes RF transceiver); and
at least one processor (See FIG. 3 & Para. 0055-0056; a User Equipment (UE)) includes a Processor);
at least one memory (See FIG. 3 & Para. 0055-0056; a User Equipment (UE)) includes a memory), wherein the at least one memory is coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one memory is configured to store computer program code, and the computer program code comprises computer instructions, and when the at least one processor executes the computer instructions, the first apparatus is enabled to perform:
receiving a reference signal from a second apparatus (See Para. 0074 & 0094; a base station transmitting CSI-RS for channel estimation. discloses CSI acquisition at a UE based on CSI-RS transmitted from an eNB);
determining first indication information based on the reference signal (See Para. 0094, 0189 & 0194; CSI acquisition using CSI-RS and a covariance matrix indicator (CMI). the UE identifying the CMI. Together they support determining covariance feedback from channel measurements),
wherein a first covariance matrix corresponding to a channel matrix is constructed based on the first indication information (See Para. 0186, 0190, 0194; approximating a channel covariance matrix through basis vectors and coefficients); and
sending the first indication information to the second apparatus (See FIG. 17 (step 1715) & Para. 0195; The UE transmits CSI feedback including the identified CMI to the BS over an uplink channel).
Rahman does not explicitly disclose the channel matrix indicates channel state information of a channel between the first apparatus and the second apparatus.
However, Pun from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein a first covariance matrix corresponding to a channel matrix is constructed based on the first indication information (See Para. 0048 & 0058; teaches covariance reconstruction from codebook indices and eigenvalue-related coefficients) and the channel matrix indicates channel state information of a channel between the first apparatus and the second apparatus (See Para. 0018-0019 & 0041; relate CSI, the downlink MIMO channel matrix and the corresponding channel covariance matrix).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the channel matrix indicates channel state information of a channel between the first apparatus and the second apparatus as taught by Pun in the system of Rahman to reduce feedback overhead while preserving sufficient information for covariance reconstruction at the base station (See Para. 0009; lines 1-5).
Regarding claims 21 & 33: The combination of Rahman and Pun disclose the first apparatus/method.
Furthermore, Rahman discloses the first apparatus/method, wherein the first indication information indicates a superposition coefficient and a codebook vector, and the first covariance matrix is determined based on the superposition coefficient and the codebook vector (See Para. 0115, 0120 & 0194; beam-basis vectors and combining coefficients represent the covariance matrix).
Regarding claims 22 & 34: The combination of Rahman and Pun disclose the first apparatus/method.
Furthermore, Pun discloses the first apparatus/method, wherein the first covariance matrix and an actual covariance matrix corresponding to the channel matrix satisfy a preset optimization model (See Para. 0048 & 0050-0054; optimize covariance approximation using Frobenius-norm reconstruction error).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first covariance matrix and an actual covariance matrix corresponding to the channel matrix satisfy a preset optimization model as taught by Pun in the system of Rahman to reduce feedback overhead while preserving sufficient information for covariance reconstruction at the base station (See Para. 0009; lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 27: Rahman discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a second apparatus (corresponding to eNB), first indication information from a first apparatus, wherein a first covariance matrix corresponding to a channel matrix is constructed based on the first indication information (See Para. 0074 & 0094; a base station transmitting CSI-RS for channel estimation. discloses CSI acquisition at a UE based on CSI-RS transmitted from an eNB), and
determining, by the second apparatus based on the first indication information, the first covariance matrix corresponding to the channel matrix (See Para. 0094, 0189 & 0194; CSI acquisition using CSI-RS and a covariance matrix indicator (CMI). the UE identifying the CMI. Together they support determining covariance feedback from channel measurements).
Rahman does not explicitly disclose the channel matrix indicates channel state information of a channel between the first apparatus and the second apparatus.
However, Pun from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein a first covariance matrix corresponding to a channel matrix is constructed based on the first indication information (See Para. 0048 & 0058; teaches covariance reconstruction from codebook indices and eigenvalue-related coefficients) and the channel matrix indicates channel state information of a channel between the first apparatus and the second apparatus (See Para. 0018-0019 & 0041; relate CSI, the downlink MIMO channel matrix and the corresponding channel covariance matrix).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the channel matrix indicates channel state information of a channel between the first apparatus and the second apparatus as taught by Pun in the system of Rahman to reduce feedback overhead while preserving sufficient information for covariance reconstruction at the base station (See Para. 0009; lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 28: The combination of Rahman and Pun disclose the first method.
Furthermore, Pun discloses the first method, wherein the first indication information indicates a superposition coefficient and a codebook vector, and determining, by the second apparatus based on the first indication information, the first covariance matrix corresponding to the channel matrix comprises: determining, by the second apparatus, the first covariance matrix based on the superposition coefficient and the codebook vector (See Para. 0057-0058 & 0067; covariance representation and reconstruction from reported vector/coefficient information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first indication information indicates a superposition coefficient and a codebook vector, and determining, by the second apparatus based on the first indication information, the first covariance matrix corresponding to the channel matrix comprises: determining, by the second apparatus, the first covariance matrix based on the superposition coefficient and the codebook vector as taught by Pun in the system of Rahman to reduce feedback overhead while preserving sufficient information for covariance reconstruction at the base station (See Para. 0009; lines 1-5).
Allowable Subject Matter
15. Claims 23-26, 29-31 & 35-38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
16. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Hong et al. 2026/0075482 A1 (Title: Method and apparatus for configuring mobility) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Jin et al. 2024/0334278 A1 (Title: Method and apparatus for managing reference cell configuration) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Jin et al. 2024/0340751 A1 (Title: Method and device for managing) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469