DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements submitted are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1-8 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,230,877 in view of Han et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0194872 (hereinafter Han).
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, claims 1 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,230,877 discloses an electronic device comprising:
a housing including a first surface facing a first direction, a second surface facing a second direction opposite to the first direction, and a side surface surrounding a space formed between the first surface and the second surface, the side surface including a first conductive portion, a second conductive portion, and a non-conductive portion separating the first conducive portion and the second conductive portion;
wireless communication circuitry disposed in the housing and configured to transmit or receive a radio frequency signal using the first conductive portion; and
a camera bracket disposed to overlap at least part of the second conductive portion when viewed from a direction parallel to the second direction,
wherein the non-conductive portion disposed to be spaced apart from an edge of the camera bracket by a specified distance.
Still on the issue of claim 1 of the instant application, claims 1 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,230,877 does not teach wireless communication circuitry disposed in the housing and configured to transmit or receive a radio frequency signal using the first conductive portion. All the same, Han discloses wireless communication circuitry disposed in the housing and configured to transmit or receive a radio frequency signal using the first conductive portion (from paragraph 0055, see While the second antenna feed member 151 is shown to extend along an axis that is perpendicular to the first side wall 109 and a thickness of the second antenna feed member 151 is similar to (or even same as) that of the first side wall 109, other embodiments are contemplated where different thicknesses and angles are contemplated. As an additional option, the circuit 130 may be in electrical communication with the second antenna feed member 151 in series with the transceiver 131. In various embodiments, the circuit 130 may include any type of element such as a resistive element, a capacitive element, an inductive element, or any combination thereof; as well as a switch for selectively introducing the aforementioned element into the series coupling between the second antenna feed member 151 and the transceiver 131. In use, such element(s) of the circuit 130 may be used to selectively alter operational characteristics (e.g. frequency bands of operation, etc.) of the antenna). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify claims 1 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,230,877 with wireless communication circuitry disposed in the housing and configured to transmit or receive a radio frequency signal using the first conductive portion as taught by Han. This modification would have improved the system’s flexibility by allowing the operational characteristics to be altered as suggested by Han.
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,230,877 discloses a ground portion disposed adjacent to the non-conductive portion, and between the camera bracket and the non-conductive portion, the ground portion being configured to separate the camera bracket electrically from the first conductive portion.
Regarding claim 3, claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,230,877 discloses a feeding part extended into the space in the housing from the first conductive portion of the housing and electrically connected to a printed circuit board disposed in the housing.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,230,877 discloses the non-conductive portion prevents a current transmitted from the feeding part from being directed to the camera bracket.
Regarding claim 5, claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,230,877 discloses the non-conductive portion includes an insulative material having a dielectric constant different from that of the first conductive portion and the second conductive portion.
Regarding claim 6, claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,230,877 discloses the first surface of the housing is formed by a rear plate of the housing and the camera bracket.
Regarding claim 7, claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,230,877 discloses the rear plate includes a recess structure which is formed at an edge of the housing.
Regarding claim 8, claim 17 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,230,877 discloses the camera bracket has a shape corresponding to a shape of the recess structure and wherein the camera bracket is arranged along the recess structure and is exposed to the outside of the housing.
5. Claim 9 is rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over the combination of claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,230,877 and Han in further view of Jung et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0058814 (hereinafter Jung).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,230,877 and Han does not explicitly teach the camera bracket includes a first camera bracket which forms at least an exterior of the housing and a second camera bracket which is disposed in the housing. All the same, Jung discloses the camera bracket includes a first camera bracket which forms at least an exterior of the housing and a second camera bracket which is disposed in the housing (from paragraph 0152, see The camera assembly may include an image sensor (e.g., the image sensor 550 of FIG. 7) disposed on the printed circuit board, a plurality of lenses (e.g., the lens module 510 of FIG. 6) stacked over one another between the image sensor and the portion of the back plate, a barrel (e.g., the barrel 520 of FIG. 6) positioned between the PCB and the back plate while laterally surrounding the plurality of lenses, a camera bracket (e.g., the camera bracket 530 of FIG. 7) positioned between the PCB and the back plate while laterally surrounding at least part of the barrel, a metal case (e.g., the metal case 590 of FIG. 6) positioned between the PCB and the back plate while laterally surrounding at least part of the camera housing, and a shielding structure (e.g., the shielding structure 570 of FIG. 6) interposed between the camera bracket and the metal case while being spaced from the metal case). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the combination of claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,230,877 and Han wherein the camera bracket includes a first camera bracket which forms at least an exterior of the housing and a second camera bracket which is disposed in the housing as taught by Jung. This modification would have improved the system’s reliability by protecting the lens as suggested by Jung.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claim 10 recites the limitation "recess structure" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han.
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses an electronic device (from paragraph 0040, see In the embodiment of the housing 100 illustrated in FIG. 1, the housing 100 is a component of a mobile phone) comprising:
a housing including a first surface facing a first direction, a second surface facing a second direction opposite to the first direction, and a side surface surrounding a space formed between the first surface and the second surface (from paragraph 0039, see As shown in FIGS. 1-4, the housing 100 is equipped with a back face 102 and a periphery 104 having a top wall 106, a bottom wall 108, and a pair of side walls (including a first side wall 109 and a second side wall 110). In the present description, a wall of a housing periphery may include a frame or other applicable structures for supporting components within the housing 100. The top wall 106 may be longitudinally arranged between side walls 109, 110 in a substantially perpendicular manner. Alternatively or optionally, the side walls 109, 110 may be defined substantially parallel with each other. In one embodiment, each of the walls 106, 108, 109, 110 of the periphery 104 is integrally coupled to edges of the back face 102 and extend outwardly therefrom such that at least a portion of each of the walls 106, 108, 109, 110 generally resides in a corresponding plane that is substantially perpendicular (e.g. with about 90 degree angular relationship) to a plane in which the back face 102 resides. Further, while the walls 106, 108, 109, 110 of the periphery 104 are shown to exhibit a certain level of curvature, other embodiments are contemplated where the walls 106, 108, 109, 110 of the periphery 104 exhibit more or less (or even no) curvature), the side surface including a first conductive portion, a second conductive portion, and a non-conductive portion separating the first conducive portion and the second conductive portion (from paragraph 0048, see With continuing reference to FIG. 1, the first slot 112 is formed in the top wall 106 of the housing 100, for dividing the top portion 118 into a first top side portion 122 that operate as the second antenna 105, and a second top side portion 124 that operate as both the third antenna 107 and the fourth antenna 111. In one embodiment, a first size of the first top side portion 122 and a second size of the second top side portion 124 of the top portion 118 are the same or substantially the same. Other embodiments are contemplated, however, where the first top side portion 122 and the second top side portion 124 are asymmetrical in shape, width, and/or length);
wireless communication circuitry disposed in the housing and configured to transmit or receive a radio frequency signal using the first conductive portion (from paragraph 0055, see While the second antenna feed member 151 is shown to extend along an axis that is perpendicular to the first side wall 109 and a thickness of the second antenna feed member 151 is similar to (or even same as) that of the first side wall 109, other embodiments are contemplated where different thicknesses and angles are contemplated. As an additional option, the circuit 130 may be in electrical communication with the second antenna feed member 151 in series with the transceiver 131. In various embodiments, the circuit 130 may include any type of element such as a resistive element, a capacitive element, an inductive element, or any combination thereof; as well as a switch for selectively introducing the aforementioned element into the series coupling between the second antenna feed member 151 and the transceiver 131. In use, such element(s) of the circuit 130 may be used to selectively alter operational characteristics (e.g. frequency bands of operation, etc.) of the antenna); and
a camera bracket disposed to overlap at least part of the second conductive portion when viewed from a direction parallel to the second direction (from paragraph 0050, see FIG. 5A is a cross-sectional view of the housing 100 taken along line 5-5 of FIG. 4, in accordance with an embodiment. As shown, the housing 100 has, mounted therein, a PCB 129 with various components installed thereon. Specifically, the PCB 129 has, mounted thereon, the camera 101 positioned at the second top side portion 124 of the housing 100, a transceiver 131 (e.g. transmitter and/or receiver) positioned at the first top side portion 122 of the housing 100, as well as a GPS 132 and a modem 133 in electrical communication with the transceiver 131. It should be noted that, in the context of the present description, “electrical communication” may refer to any direct coupling and/or indirect coupling (with one or more electrical components positioned therebetween)),
wherein the non-conductive portion disposed to be spaced apart from an edge of the camera bracket by a specified distance (from paragraph 0045, see As a further option, an insulative material 140 may be positioned in one or more of the slots 112, 116, 119. Such insulative material 140 may include any material that is insulative, at least in part, including, but not limited to an elastomeric material, ceramic, mica, glass, plastic, metal oxide, air, and/or any other material that is more insulative, as compared to metal. Further, in various embodiments, the insulative material 140 may be injected within the slots 112, 116, 119 such that an outer surface of the insulative material 140 and the housing 100 are continuous, thereby forming an uninterrupted surface of the housing 100. As an additional option, a color of the insulative material 140 may be the same or similar to that of the housing 100).
Regarding claim 3, Han discloses a feeding part extended into the space in the housing from the first conductive portion of the housing and electrically connected to a printed circuit board disposed in the housing (from paragraph 0052, see Specifically, the second antenna 105 has a second antenna feed member 151 and a second antenna ground 152, the third antenna 107 has a third antenna feed member 153 and a third antenna ground 154, and the fourth antenna 111 has a fourth antenna feed member 155 and a fourth antenna ground element 156, as shown. As further shown, the second antenna feed member 151, the third antenna feed member 153, and the fourth antenna feed member 155 are in electrical communication with the transceiver 131 via a wire, clip, or other conductive material. Still yet, in one embodiment, the feed members 151, 153, 155 (and the ground elements 152, 154, 156, for that matter) may be integrally coupled to an inner surface of the respective wall and extend inwardly therefrom. In another embodiment, a conductive material may be coupled (e.g. soldered, etc.) to the respective wall. In still other embodiments, the feed members 151, 153, 155 may be omitted in favor of a direct connection (of the aforementioned wire, clip, or other conductive material) to an inner wall of the respective wall).
Regarding claim 4, Han discloses that the non-conductive portion prevents a current transmitted from the feeding part from being directed to the camera bracket (from paragraph 0045, see As a further option, an insulative material 140 may be positioned in one or more of the slots 112, 116, 119. Such insulative material 140 may include any material that is insulative, at least in part, including, but not limited to an elastomeric material, ceramic, mica, glass, plastic, metal oxide, air, and/or any other material that is more insulative, as compared to metal. Further, in various embodiments, the insulative material 140 may be injected within the slots 112, 116, 119 such that an outer surface of the insulative material 140 and the housing 100 are continuous, thereby forming an uninterrupted surface of the housing 100. As an additional option, a color of the insulative material 140 may be the same or similar to that of the housing 100).
Regarding claim 5, Han discloses the non-conductive portion includes an insulative material having a dielectric constant different from that of the first conductive portion and the second conductive portion (from paragraph 0045, see As a further option, an insulative material 140 may be positioned in one or more of the slots 112, 116, 119. Such insulative material 140 may include any material that is insulative, at least in part, including, but not limited to an elastomeric material, ceramic, mica, glass, plastic, metal oxide, air, and/or any other material that is more insulative, as compared to metal. Further, in various embodiments, the insulative material 140 may be injected within the slots 112, 116, 119 such that an outer surface of the insulative material 140 and the housing 100 are continuous, thereby forming an uninterrupted surface of the housing 100. As an additional option, a color of the insulative material 140 may be the same or similar to that of the housing 100).
Regarding claim 6, Han discloses the first surface of the housing is formed by a rear plate of the housing and the camera bracket (from paragraph 0039, see As shown in FIGS. 1-4, the housing 100 is equipped with a back face 102 and a periphery 104 having a top wall 106, a bottom wall 108, and a pair of side walls (including a first side wall 109 and a second side wall 110). In the present description, a wall of a housing periphery may include a frame or other applicable structures for supporting components within the housing 100. The top wall 106 may be longitudinally arranged between side walls 109, 110 in a substantially perpendicular manner. Alternatively or optionally, the side walls 109, 110 may be defined substantially parallel with each other. In one embodiment, each of the walls 106, 108, 109, 110 of the periphery 104 is integrally coupled to edges of the back face 102 and extend outwardly therefrom such that at least a portion of each of the walls 106, 108, 109, 110 generally resides in a corresponding plane that is substantially perpendicular (e.g. with about 90 degree angular relationship) to a plane in which the back face 102 resides. Further, while the walls 106, 108, 109, 110 of the periphery 104 are shown to exhibit a certain level of curvature, other embodiments are contemplated where the walls 106, 108, 109, 110 of the periphery 104 exhibit more or less (or even no) curvature).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Gomes Da Motta et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0006920 (hereinafter Gomes Da Motta).
Regarding claim 7, Han does not clearly teach the rear plate includes a recess structure which is formed at an edge area of the housing. All the same, Gomes Da Motta discloses the rear plate includes a recess structure which is formed at an edge area of the housing (from paragraph 0021, see The proposed objectives are achieved using a system for a mobile device with a detachable camera embedded in a recess of the mobile device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Han wherein the rear plate includes a recess structure which is formed at an edge area of the housing as taught by Gomes Da Motta. This modification would have improved the system’s flexibility by providing a detachable camera as suggested by Gomes Da Motta.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Han and Gomes Da Motta discloses the camera bracket has a shape corresponding to a shape of the recess structure and wherein the camera bracket is arranged along the recess structure and is exposed to the outside of the housing (from paragraph 0047 of Gomes Da Motta, see In accordance with FIGS. 5a-5c, a camera 1000, in an example embodiment of the disclosure, is an integral part of the main device system 2000, including a smartphone (but could also be a tablet or other electronic devices, for example). More specifically, the camera 1000 is an integral part of the smartphone rear surface 2001, in which there is a recess 2003 for attaching said camera 1000. The recess 2003 may include a metal plate in which a magnetized polymeric body 1001 of the camera 1000 is fixed. The recess 2003 also may include electrical connectors 2005 for providing data and power/energy, which connects the camera 1000 and the smartphone 2000).
12. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Jung.
Regarding claim 9, Han does not clearly teach the camera bracket includes a first camera bracket which forms at least an exterior of the housing and a second camera bracket which is disposed in the housing. All the same, Jung discloses the camera bracket includes a first camera bracket which forms at least an exterior of the housing and a second camera bracket which is disposed in the housing (from paragraph 0152, see The camera assembly may include an image sensor (e.g., the image sensor 550 of FIG. 7) disposed on the printed circuit board, a plurality of lenses (e.g., the lens module 510 of FIG. 6) stacked over one another between the image sensor and the portion of the back plate, a barrel (e.g., the barrel 520 of FIG. 6) positioned between the PCB and the back plate while laterally surrounding the plurality of lenses, a camera bracket (e.g., the camera bracket 530 of FIG. 7) positioned between the PCB and the back plate while laterally surrounding at least part of the barrel, a metal case (e.g., the metal case 590 of FIG. 6) positioned between the PCB and the back plate while laterally surrounding at least part of the camera housing, and a shielding structure (e.g., the shielding structure 570 of FIG. 6) interposed between the camera bracket and the metal case while being spaced from the metal case). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Han wherein the camera bracket includes a first camera bracket which forms at least an exterior of the housing and a second camera bracket which is disposed in the housing as taught by Jung. This modification would have improved the system’s reliability by protecting the lens as suggested by Jung.
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2600.
Olisa Anwah
Patent Examiner
August 10, 2026
/OLISA ANWAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692