Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 01/06/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8, and 10 have been amended. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KAZUNORI (JP 2015075716 A) in view of KAWAI (US 20130176497 A1).
Regarding claim 10, KAZUNORI (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 7-9) discloses a display device (projection display device 100) comprising:
a first interface, which is a port capable of being connected by a wired cable and configured to acquire image data to be displayed by the display device (Figs. 1-3 and [0027]-[0028]; first cable interface to transmit a video signal from a video input device 200 to the projection display device 100);
a second interface, which is a port capable of being connected by a wired cable and configured to acquire backup image data to be displayed by the display device when the image data cannot be acquired from the first interface (Figs. 1-3 and 7-9, and [0028], [0052]-[0054], [0058], [0064], and [0088]; second cable interface to transmit a backup video signal from a video input device 300 to the projection display device 100 when the video signal is not available and the projection display device 100 is operated in backup mode); and
at least one processor (Fig. 2; control units 170 and 160), wherein the display device receives selection of an interface to be set as a preset interface among the first interface and the second interface (Figs. 7-9; in backup mode, the first cable interface transmits video signal with a priority over the second cable interface is a preset interface for signal transmission),
the first interface or the second interface receives a coupling confirmation signal from an image output device connected to the display device (Figs. 1-3 and 7-9; first image output device 200 transmits a video signal to the projection display device 100 through the first cable interface and the control unit 170 detects the received video signal that determines the status of connection between the first or second interface with the projection display device 100).
KAZUNORI does not disclose when the coupling confirmation signal is received via the preset interface, the at least one processor transmits a first response signal via the preset interface. However, KAWAI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 7-9) discloses a display device (projection display device 1) comprising:
a first interface, which is a port capable of being connected by a wired cable and configured to acquire image data to be displayed by the display device (Figs. 1-2 and [0047]; first cable interface 6 to transmit video signal from a video output device PC2 to the projection display device 1);
a second interface, which is a port capable of being connected by a wired cable and configured to acquire image data to be displayed by the display device when the image data cannot be acquired from the first interface (Figs. 1-2 and [0032]; second cable interface 8 to transmit video signal from a video output device 4 to the projection display device 1); and
at least one processor (Fig. 1; control unit 10), wherein the display device receives selection of an interface to be set as a preset interface among the first interface and the second interface (Figs. 9 and 6; e.g., the communication interface 6 is set to have a higher priority over the communication interface 8 and therefore set as a preset interface),
the first interface or the second interface receives a coupling confirmation signal from an image output device connected to the display device (Figs. 1-2 and 7-9; image output device PC2 transmits projection request signal to the projection display device 1 through the interface 6),
when the coupling confirmation signal is received via the preset interface, the at least one processor transmits a first response signal via the preset interface (Figs. 1-2 and 7-9; e.g., through the interface 6, the projection display device 1 receives a projection request signal from the image output device PC2 and transmits a response signal to the image output device PC2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAWAI to the display device of KAZUNORI so as to establish a communication between different electronic devices. it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAZUNORI to the display device of KAWAI so that the display device is capable of being operated in backup mode when the image signal from one image input device is in an abnormal state.
Regarding claim 8, KAZUNORI (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 7-9) discloses a display system comprising: a display device (Figs. 1-2; projection display device 100) including a first interface which is a port capable of being connected by a wired cable and configured to acquire image data to be displayed by the display device (Figs. 1-3 and [0027]-[0028]; first cable interface to transmit a video signal from a video input device 200 to the projection display device 100), and a second interface, which is a port capable of being connected by a wired cable and configured to acquire backup image data to be displayed by the display device when the image data cannot be acquired from the first interface (Figs. 1-3 and 7-9, and [0028], [0052]-[0054], [0058], [0064], and [0088]; second cable interface to transmit a backup video signal from a video input device 300 to the projection display device 100 when the video signal is not available and the projection display device 100 is operated in backup mode); and
a first image output device coupled to the display device and configured to transmit a coupling confirmation signal to the display device (Figs. 1-3 and 7-9; first image output device 200 transmits a video signal to the projection display device 100 and the control unit 170 of the projection display device 100 detects and determines the status of the received video signal), wherein
the display device receives selection of an interface to be set as a preset interface among the first interface and the second interface (Figs. 7-9; in backup mode, the first cable interface transmits video with a priority over the second cable interface is a preset interface for signal transmission),
the display device receives the coupling confirmation signal from the first image output device via the first interface or the second interface (Figs. 1-3 and 7-9; first image output device 200 transmits a video signal to the projection display device 100 through the first cable interface and the control unit 170 detects the received video signal that determines the status of connection between the first or second interface with the projection display device 100).
KAZUNORI does not disclose when the coupling confirmation signal is received from the preset interface, the display device transmits a first response signal from the preset interface. However, KAWAI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 7-9) discloses a display system comprising:
a display device (Figs. 1-2; projection display device 1) including a first interface which is a port capable of being connected by a wired cable and configured to acquire image data to be displayed by the display device (Figs. 1-2 and [0047]; first cable interface 6 to transmit video signal from a video output device PC2 to the projection display device 1), and a second interface, which is a port capable of being connected by a wired cable and configured to acquire image data to be displayed by the display device when the image data cannot be acquired from the first interface (Figs. 1-2 and [0032]; second cable interface 8 to transmit video signal from a video output device 4 to the projection display device 1),
a first image output device coupled to the display device and configured to transmit a coupling confirmation signal to the display device (Figs. 1-2 and 7-9; image output device PC2 transmits projection request signal to the projection display device 1),
the display device receives selection of an interface to be set as a preset interface among the first interface and the second interface (Figs. 9 and 6; e.g., the communication interface 6 is set to have a higher priority over the communication interface 8 and therefore set as a preset interface),
the display device receives the coupling confirmation signal from the first image output device via the first interface or the second interface (Figs. 1-2 and 7-9; image output device PC2 transmits projection request signal to the projection display device 1 through the interface 6), and
when the coupling confirmation signal is received from the preset interface, the display device transmits a first response signal from the preset interface (Figs. 1-2 and 7-9; e.g., through the interface 6, the projection display device 1 receives a projection request signal from the image output device PC2 and transmits a response signal to the image output device PC2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAWAI to the display device of KAZUNORI so as to establish a communication between different electronic devices. it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAZUNORI to the display device of KAWAI so that the display device is capable of being operated in backup mode when the image signal from one image input device is in an abnormal state.
Regarding claim 9, KAZUNORI in view of KAWAI discloses the display system according to claim 8, KAWAI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 7-9) discloses the method further comprising: a second image output device (image output device 4) coupled to the display device (projection display device 1), wherein the coupling confirmation signal is transmitted by the second image output device when the first image output device does not receive the first response signal from the display device, and the first response signal is transmitted by the display device via the preset interface when the coupling confirmation signal from the second image output device is received via the preset interface Figs. 6 and 9; when the image output device 2 does not receive the response signal from the projection display device 1, the image output device 4 transmits a projection request signal to the projection display device 1, and the projection display device 1 transmits the response signal to the image output device 4).
Regarding claim 1, KAZUNORI (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 7-9) discloses a coupling state detection method comprising:
receiving selection of an interface to be set as a preset interface among a first interface and a second interface (Figs. 7-9; in backup mode, a first cable interface that transmits video from a video input device 200 to the projection display device 100 has a higher priority over a second cable interface that transmit backup video signal from a video input device 300 to the projection display device 100 and is set as a preset interface for signal transmission);
receiving a coupling confirmation signal from an image output device coupled to a display device including a first interface for acquiring image data to be displayed by the display device and a second interface for acquiring backup image data to be displayed by the display device when the image data cannot be acquired from the first interface via the first interface or the second interface (Figs. 1-3 and 7-9, and [0028], [0052]-[0054], [0058], [0064], and [0088]; a first cable interface that transmits video signal from a video input device 200 to the projection display device 100, a second cable interface to transmit backup video signal from a video input device 300 to the projection display device 100 when the video signal is not available and the projection display device 100 is operated in backup mode, a control unit 170 detects a received video signal through the first or second interface that determines the status of connection between the first or second interface with the projection display device 100).
wherein the first interface and the second interface are ports capable of being connected by wired cables (Figs. 1-3 and [0027]-[0028]; first cable interface to transmit video signal from a video input device 200 to the projection display device 100 and second cable interface to transmit video signal from a video input device 300 to the projection display device 100).
KAZUNORI does not disclose transmitting a first response signal from the preset interface when the coupling confirmation signal is received via the preset interface. However, KAWAI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 7-9) discloses a coupling state detection method comprising: receiving selection of an interface to be set as a preset interface among a first interface and a second interface (Figs. 9 and 6; e.g., the communication interface 6 is set to have a higher priority over the communication interface 8 and therefore set as a preset interface); receiving a coupling confirmation signal from an image output device coupled to a display device including a first interface for acquiring image data to be displayed by the display device and a second interface for acquiring image data to be displayed by the display device when the image data cannot be acquired from the first interface via the first interface or the second interface (Figs. 1-2 and 7-9 and [0047], [0032]; first cable interface 6 to transmit a first video signal from a video output device PC2 to the projection display device 1, and second cable interface 8 to transmit a second video signal from a video output device 4 to the projection display device 1 when the first video signal is not available, e.g., through the interface 6, the projection display device 1 receives a projection request signal from the image output device PC2 and transmits a response signal to the image output device PC2); wherein the first interface and the second interface are ports capable of being connected by wired cables (Figs. 1-2 and [0047], [0032]; first cable interface 6 to transmit video signal from a video output device PC2 to the projection display device 1, and second cable interface 8 to transmit video signal from a video output device 4 to the projection display device 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAWAI to the display device of KAZUNORI so as to establish a communication between different electronic devices. it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAZUNORI to the display device of KAWAI so that the display device is capable of being operated in backup mode when the image signal from one image input device is in an abnormal state.
Regarding claim 3, KAZUNORI in view of KAWAI discloses the coupling state detection method according to claim 1, KAWAI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 7-9) discloses the coupling state detection method further comprising: transmitting a second response signal from the second interface when the coupling confirmation signal is received via the second interface (Figs. 1-2 and 7-9; e.g., communication interface 4, through which the projection display device 1 receives a projection request signal and transmits a response signal).
Regarding claim 4, KAZUNORI in view of KAWAI discloses the coupling state detection method according to claim 1, KAWAI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 7-9) discloses the coupling state detection method further comprising: executing a notification operation by the display device when the coupling confirmation signal is received from an interface other than the preset interface among the first interface and the second interface (Figs. 6 and 9; when projection request signal is received through the communication interface 4, the projection display 1 sends a projection unavailable notice to image input device PC2 or sends a projection available notice to image input device 4).
Regarding claim 6, KAZUNORI in view of KAWAI discloses the coupling state detection method according to claim 1, KAWAI (e.g., Figs. 1-2 and 7-9) discloses wherein the transmission of the first response signal by the display device is prohibited when an interface that receives the coupling confirmation signal is not the preset interface (Figs. 6 and 9; when projection request signal is received through the communication interface 7, the projection display 1 transmits the response signal through the communication interface 7, no response signal is transmitted through the communication interface 7).
5. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KAZUNORI (JP 2015075716 A) in view of KAWAI (US 20130176497 A1) and further in view of JE (US 20220059000 A1).
Regarding claim 5, KAZUNORI in view of KAWAI discloses the coupling state detection method according to claim 4, but does not disclose wherein the executing the notification operation by the display device includes displaying a preset image by the display device. However, JE (e.g., Figs. 5-9) discloses a coupling state detection method, wherein the executing the notification operation by the display device includes displaying a preset image by the display device (e.g., Fig. 6 and [0155], [0159], [0171]-[0172], and [0200]-[0201, [0239]; specific content is displayed). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from JE to the display device of KAZUNORI in view of KAWAI so as to establish a communication between electronic devices.
Response to Arguments
6. Regarding claims 1, 8, and 10, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the reference of KAZUNORI (JP 2015075716 A) has been used for new ground rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623