DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) presented in the Office Action mailed 4/20/2026 have been withdrawn based on the amendment filed 6/10/2026. The examiner notes that a new rejections of Claims 12-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on prior art newly discovered in further search are presented below.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 line 12 “an LED strip.” should be --an LED strip;--
Claim 14 line 1 “in claim 7,wherein” should be --in claim 7, wherein--
Appropriate correction is required.
Applications filed after March 15th 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2012/0249438) in view of Hirayama (US 2013/0062521) and Shimizu (US 2012/0327312).
With regards to Claim 1, Kim et al. discloses a display device, comprising: a housing (comprising the housing substantially formed by portions [110,350], see paragraphs 37 and 54 and Figure 1); a backlight unit (comprising at least light-emitting diodes [442] and light guide plate [310], see paragraphs 47, 48, and 53 and Figure 1; the combination of light-emitting diodes [442] with light guide plate [310] substantially provides light to illuminate the LCD panel [120], substantially acting as a backlight unit) comprising: at least one backlight light-emitting diode (LED) [442] configured to emit light in a visible wavelength spectrum, disposed within the housing [110,350] (see paragraph 53 and Figure 1), and at least one infrared (IR) LED [422,432] configured to emit light in an IR spectrum, disposed within the housing [110,350] (see paragraph 50 and Figure 1), wherein the at least one backlight LED [442] and the at least one IR LED [422,432] are disposed at a lateral side of the housing [110,350] (see Figure 1); a light diffuser [320] arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit (see paragraphs 48 and 55 and Figure 1); a liquid crystal display (LCD) structure layer [126] placed in front of the light diffuser [320] (see paragraph 38 and 40 and Figures 1 and 3); wherein the housing [110,350] is configured to house the backlight unit, the light diffuser [320], and the LCD structure layer [126] (see paragraph 37 and 54 and Figures 1 and 2).
Kim et al. does not explicitly disclose the light diffuser is positioned facing the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED, light emitted from the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED being incident on the light diffuser along a direct optical path extending between the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED and the light diffuser.
Shimizu teaches a light diffuser [18a] arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit (comprising the arrangement of light sources [28], see paragraph 29 and Figure 3) and positioned facing the at least one LED [28] (see Figure 3), light emitted from the at least one LED [28] being incident on the light diffuser [18a] along a direct optical path extending between the at least one LED [28] and the light diffuser [18a] (see paragraph 33 and Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light diffuser of Kim et al. to be positioned facing the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED, light emitted from the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED being incident on the light diffuser along a direct optical path extending between the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED and the light diffuser, as taught by Shimizu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce uneven brightness (see Shimizu paragraph 6).
Kim et al. does not explicitly disclose a cover glass placed in front of the LCD structure layer; and wherein the cover glass is configured to close the housing.
Hirayama teaches a cover glass [16] placed in front of the LCD structure layer [20] (see paragraph 33 and Figure 2B); and wherein the cover glass [16] is configured to close the housing [11,12] (see paragraph 33 and Figure 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Kim et al. to include a cover glass placed in front of the LCD structure layer; and wherein the cover glass is configured to close the housing, as taught by Hirayama. One would have been motivated to do so in order to protect the device screen, while allowing for a touch capability (see Hirayama paragraph 3).
With regards to Claim 3, Kim et al., Shimizu, and Hirayama disclose the display device with the backlight LED and the at least one IR LED disposed at a lateral side of the housing, as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kim et al. further discloses the at least one backlight LED [442] and the at least one IR LED [422,432] are disposed at an edge of the display device at the lateral side of the housing [110,350] (see Figure 1).
With regards to Claim 5, Kim et al. discloses a vehicle (the examiner notes that while the claim recites a vehicle in the preamble, the use of the phrasing “comprising” in the claim language does not require vehicular components, but Kim et al. does disclose using the display device in a navigation system for a vehicle, see Kim et al. paragraph 5), comprising: a display device, comprising: a housing (comprising the housing substantially formed by portions [110,350], see paragraphs 37 and 54 and Figure 1); a backlight unit (comprising at least light-emitting diodes [442] and light guide plate [310], see paragraphs 47, 48, and 53 and Figure 1; the combination of light-emitting diodes [442] with light guide plate [310] substantially provides light to illuminate the LCD panel [120], substantially acting as a backlight unit) comprising: at least one backlight light-emitting diode (LED) [442] configured to emit light in a visible wavelength spectrum, placed in the housing [110,350] (see paragraph 53 and Figure 1), and at least one infrared (IR) LED [422,432] configured to emit light in an IR spectrum, placed in the housing [110,350] (see paragraph 50 and Figure 1), wherein the at least one backlight LED [442] and the at least one IR LED [422,432] are placed in a lateral position to the housing [110,350] (see Figure 1); a light diffuser [320] arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit and positioned to receive light emitted directly from the backlight unit (see paragraphs 48 and 55 and Figure 1); a liquid crystal display (LCD) structure layer [126] placed in front of the light diffuser [320] (see paragraph 38 and 40 and Figures 1 and 3); wherein the housing [110,350] is configured to house the backlight unit, the light diffuser [320], and the LCD structure layer [126] (see paragraph 37 and 54 and Figures 1 and 2).
Kim et al. does not explicitly disclose a cover glass placed in front of the LCD structure layer; and wherein the cover glass is configured to close the housing.
Hirayama teaches a cover glass [16] placed in front of the LCD structure layer [20] (see paragraph 33 and Figure 2B); and wherein the cover glass [16] is configured to close the housing [11,12] (see paragraph 33 and Figure 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Kim et al. to include a cover glass placed in front of the LCD structure layer; and wherein the cover glass is configured to close the housing, as taught by Hirayama. One would have been motivated to do so in order to protect the device screen, while allowing for a touch capability (see Hirayama paragraph 3).
Claims 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2012/0249438) as modified by Hirayama (US 2013/0062521) and Shimizu (US 2012/0327312), further in view of Kanbayashi et al. (US 2012/0313912).
With regards to Claim 2, Kim et al., Shimizu, and Hirayama disclose the display device with the at least one backlight LED and at least one IR LED disposed at the lateral side of the housing, as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kim et al. does not explicitly disclose the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED are facing each other.
Kanbayashi et al. teaches the at least one backlight LED [301] and the at least one IR LED [302] (see paragraph 105 and Figure 9G) are disposed facing each other (see paragraph 108 and Figure 9G; the at least one backlight LED [301] emits light to enter through a side surface of plate [361] and the at least one IR LED [302] emits light to enter through an opposite side surface of plate [361], the at least one backlight LED [301] and the at least one IR LED [302] disposed on opposite sides of plate [361], thereby the at least one backlight LED [301] and the at least one IR LED [302] are substantially disposed facing each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED disposed at the lateral side of the housing of Kim et al. and Hirayama to be facing each other, as taught by Kanbayashi et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to dispose the at least one IR LEDs on a separate substrate opposite the at least one backlight LEDs disposed for directing light into the light guide plate from opposite sides thereof (see Kanbayashi et al. paragraph 108).
With regards to Claim 4, Kim et al., Shimizu, and Hirayama disclose the display device disposed at the edge of the display device, as discussed above with regards to Claim 3.
Kim et al. further discloses the backlight LED [442] and the at least one IR LED [422,432] are disposed at the edge of the display device (see Figure 5).
Kim et al, does not disclose the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED are disposed opposite each other at the edge of the display device.
Kanbayashi et al. teaches the at least one backlight LED [301] and the at least one IR LED [302] are disposed opposite each other at the edge of the display device (see paragraphs 105 and 108 and Figures 9F and 9G).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED of Kim et al. and Hirayama to be disposed opposite each other, as taught by Kanbayashi et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to direct light inwardly from opposite sides of a light guide plate (see Kanbayashi et al. paragraph 108).
With regards to Claim 6, Kim et al., Shimizu, and Hirayama disclose the display device as discussed above with regards to Claim 2.
Kim et al. further discloses the at least one backlight LED [442] comprises a plurality of backlight LEDs arranged in a row, thereby forming a backlight LED strip; and wherein the at least one IR LED [422,432] comprises a plurality of IR LEDs arranged in another row, thereby forming an IR LED strip (see Fig. 5).
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2022/0221757) in view of Yang (US 2017/0153499) and Hirayama (US 2013/0062521).
With regards to Claim 7, Chang et al. discloses a display device for use in a vehicle (the examiner notes the limitation that the display device is for use in a vehicle is intended use and the device of Chang et al. is substantially capable of being used in a vehicle), comprising: a housing [302] (see paragraph 43 and Figure 5); a backlight unit (comprising at least light-emitting diodes [310,320] and first optical layer [330], see paragraphs 40-43 and Figure 5; the combination of light-emitting diodes [310,320] with the optical layer [330] substantially provides light to illuminate the display panel [200], substantially acting as a backlight unit) comprising: a plurality of backlight light-emitting diodes (LEDs) [310] configured to emit light in visible wavelength spectrum, disposed at a bottom the housing [302], and a plurality of infrared (IR) LEDs [320] configured to emit light in the infrared spectrum, disposed at the bottom the housing [302] (see paragraph 42 and Figure 5), wherein the backlight LEDs [310] and the IR LEDs [320] are placed in a matrix of LEDs arranged at the bottom of the housing [302] (see paragraph 40 and Figure 5); wherein a plurality of a same kind of LEDs are arranged in a row of the matrix of LEDs, thereby forming an LED strip (see paragraph 40 and Figure 6A; while Chang et al. utilizes the phrasing “column” rather than “row”, an orientation of row/columns of the array of LEDs has not been established by the claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to recognize the teachings of Chang et al. of placing IR LEDs [320] along a line such as a row or column), a light diffuser [340] arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit (see paragraph 40 and Figure 5); and a cover glass [250] (see paragraph 39 and Figure 5).
Chang et al. does not disclose the light diffuser is arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit and positioned facing the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED, light emitted from the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED being incident on the light diffuser along a direct optical path extending between the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED and the light diffuser.
Yang teaches a light diffuser [50] arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit and positioned facing the at least one LED [40] (see paragraph 44 and Figure 2), light emitted from the at least one LED [40] being incident on the light diffuser [50] along a direct optical path extending between the at least one LED [40] and the light diffuser [50] (see paragraph 67 and Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the light diffuser relative the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED of Chang et al. such that the light diffuser is arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit and positioned facing the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED, light emitted from the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED being incident on the light diffuser along a direct optical path extending between the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED and the light diffuser as taught by Yang. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce occurrence of a dark portion at the edge area of the display device when a light guide plate is used additionally (see Yang paragraph 47).
Chang et al. does not disclose a liquid crystal display (LCD) structure layer placed in front of the light diffuser; the cover glass is placed in front of the LCD structure layer, the housing is configured to house the backlight unit, the light diffuser, and the LCD structure layer, and the cover glass is configured to close the housing.
Hirayama teaches a liquid crystal display (LCD) structure layer [20] (see paragraph 34) placed in front of the light diffuser [24] (see paragraphs 4 and 34 and Figure 3); a cover glass [16] placed in front of the LCD structure layer [20] (see paragraph 33 and Figure 2B); wherein the housing [11,12] (see paragraph 33) is configured to house the backlight unit, the light diffuser [24], and the LCD structure layer [20]; and wherein the cover glass [16] is configured to close the housing [11,12] (see paragraph 33 and Figures 2B and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Chang et al. to include a liquid crystal display (LCD) structure layer placed in front of the light diffuser; the cover glass is placed in front of the LCD structure layer, the housing is configured to house the backlight unit, the light diffuser, and the LCD structure layer; and the cover glass is configured to close the housing, as taught by Hirayama. One would have been motivated to do so in order to protect the device screen, while allowing for a touch capability (see Hirayama paragraph 3).
With regards to Claim 8, Chang et al., Yang, and Hirayama disclose the display device as discussed above with regards to Claim 7.
Chang et al. further discloses the backlight LEDs [310] and the IR LEDs [320] are adjacent to each other (see Figures 4, 5, and 6A).
With regards to Claim 9, Chang et al., Yang, and Hirayama disclose the display device as discussed above with regards to Claim 7.
Chang et al. further discloses a first row of the matrix of LEDs is formed by the IR LEDs [320], thereby forming an IR LED strip (see paragraph 40 and Figure 6A; while Chang et al. utilizes the phrasing “column” rather than “row”, an orientation of row/columns of the array of LEDs has not been established by the claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to recognize the teachings of Chang et al. of placing IR LEDs [320] along a line such as a row or column).
With regards to Claim 10, Chang et al., Yang, and Hirayama disclose the display device as discussed above with regards to Claim 9.
Chang et al. further discloses a second row of the matrix of LEDs is formed by the backlight LEDs [310], thereby forming a backlight LED strip (see paragraph 40 and Figure 6A; while Chang et al. utilizes the phrasing “column” rather than “row”, an orientation of row/columns of the array of LEDs has not been established by the claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to recognize the teachings of Chang et al. of placing backlight LEDs [310] along a line such as a row or column).
With regards to Claim 11, Chang et al., Yang, and Hirayama disclose the display device as discussed above with regards to Claim 10.
Chang et al. further discloses the IR LED strip and the backlight LED strip are alternatively arranged within the matrix of LEDs (see paragraph 40 and Figure 6A; strips of backlight LEDs [310] and strips of IR LEDs [320] are substantially alternatively arranged).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2012/0249438), as modified by Hirayama (US 2013/0062521) and Shimizu (US 2012/0327312), further in view of Goto (JP 2020153877; please see attached translation for reference to pages).
With regards to Claim 12, Kim et al., Hirayama, and Shimizu disclose the display device as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kim et al. does not explicitly disclose the at least one IR LED is configured to illuminate a driver’s face in conjunction with an interior camera system of a vehicle configured to track the driver’s face and determine driver’s behavior.
Goto teaches the at least one IR LED [62] is configured to illuminate a driver’s face [E] in conjunction with an interior camera system of a vehicle configured to track the driver’s face and determine driver’s behavior (see middle of page 3 and middle of page 4; Goto substantially discloses a display device including at least one IR LED providing light which will illuminate a driver’s face for an interior camera system of a vehicle configured to track the driver’s face and determine driver behavior, thereby use of the display device comprising the at least one IR LED in conjunction with the interior camera system to illuminate a driver’s face as taught by Goto substantially configures the at least one IR LED to illuminate a driver’s face in conjunction with such a system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one IR LED of Kim et al. to be configured to illuminate a driver’s face in conjunction with an interior camera system of a vehicle configured to track the driver’s face and determine driver’s behavior, as taught by Goto. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide display functionality and additional driver monitoring functionality in a vehicle (see Goto top half of page 5).
With regards to Claim 13, Kim et al., Hirayama, and Shimizu disclose the vehicle as discussed above with regards to Claim 5.
Kim et al. does not explicitly disclose the at least one IR LED is configured to illuminate a driver’s face in conjunction with an interior camera system of the vehicle configured to track the driver’s face and determine driver’s behavior.
Goto teaches the at least one IR LED [62] is configured to illuminate a driver’s face [E] in conjunction with an interior camera system of a vehicle configured to track the driver’s face and determine driver’s behavior (see middle of page 3 and middle of page 4; Goto substantially discloses a display device including at least one IR LED providing light which will illuminate a driver’s face for an interior camera system of the vehicle configured to track the driver’s face and determine driver behavior, thereby use of the display device comprising the at least one IR LED in conjunction with the interior camera system to illuminate a driver’s face as taught by Goto substantially configures the at least one IR LED to illuminate a driver’s face in conjunction with such a system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one IR LED of Kim et al. to be configured to illuminate a driver’s face in conjunction with an interior camera system of the vehicle configured to track the driver’s face and determine driver’s behavior, as taught by Goto. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide display functionality and additional driver monitoring functionality in a vehicle (see Goto top half of page 5).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2022/0221757) as modified by Yang (US 2017/0153499) and Hirayama (US 2013/0062521), further in view of Pan et al. (US 2025/0102725).
With regards to Claim 14, Chang et al., Yang, and Hirayama disclose the display device as discussed above with regards to Claim 7.
Chang et al. does not explicitly disclose the at least one IR LED is configured to illuminate a driver’s face in conjunction with an interior camera system of a vehicle configured to track the driver’s face and determine driver’s behavior.
Pan et al. teaches the at least one IR LED is configured to illuminate a driver’s face in conjunction with an interior camera system of a vehicle configured to track the driver’s face and determine driver’s behavior (see paragraph 14; Pan et al. substantially discloses a display device including at least one IR LED providing light which will illuminate a driver’s face for an interior camera system of a vehicle configured to track the driver’s face and determine driver behavior, thereby use of the display device comprising the at least one IR LED in conjunction with the interior camera system to illuminate a driver’s face as taught by Pan et al. substantially configures the at least one IR LED to illuminate a driver’s face in conjunction with such a system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one IR LED of Chang et al. to be configured to illuminate a driver’s face in conjunction with an interior camera system of a vehicle configured to track the driver’s face and determine driver’s behavior, as taught by Pan et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide display functionality and additional driver monitoring functionality in a vehicle (see Pan et al. paragraphs 3 and 14).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Particularly, the examiner notes that while the amendments to Claims 1, 5, and 7 as filed 6/10/2026 have overcome the rejections as presented in the Office Action mailed 4/20/2026, the Yang (US 2017/0153499) and Shimizu (US 2012/0327312) references have been utilized in the present Office Action teach the amended limitations pertaining to the light emitted from the LEDs of the backlight being incident on the light diffuser along a direct optical path between the respective LEDs and the light diffuser (please see the respective rejections of Claims 1, 5, and 7 above).
The examiner notes that a new rejections of Claims 12-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on prior art newly discovered in further search in consideration of the amendments to the Claims are presented above. The applicant is encouraged to review the prior art cited on the attached PTO-892 in consideration of a reply.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the prior art discussed in this action, the applicant is directed to form 892, and particularly the references Kim (KR 20120047495), which discloses at least incorporating IR LEDs into a vehicle display for illumination of a driver’s face used in conjunction with a vehicle interior camera system, Goto (JP 2022151913), which discloses at least incorporating IR LEDs into a vehicle display for illumination of a driver’s face used in conjunction with a vehicle interior camera system, the display device including backlight LEDs disposed directly behind a diffusion plate, and incorporating the IR LEDs at an edge of the display, Goto (WO2020213557), which discloses at least incorporating IR LEDs into a vehicle display for illumination of a driver’s face used in conjunction with a vehicle interior camera system, the display device including backlight LEDs disposed to emit light towards a diffusion plate and IR LEDs disposed within the distribution of backlight LEDs, and Goto (JP 2021032621), which discloses at least incorporating IR LEDs into a vehicle display for illumination of a driver’s face used in conjunction with a vehicle interior camera system, the display device including backlight LEDs disposed directly behind a diffusion plate, and incorporating the IR LEDs at an edge of the display.
/ERIN KRYUKOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875