DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 4/3/2026 has been entered.
The drawings were received on 4/3/2026. These drawings are accepted.
The objections over the Claims presented in the Office Action mailed 1/20/2026 have been withdrawn based on the amendment filed 4/3/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
With regards to Claim 12, lines 1-3 recite the limitation “the at least one IR LED is configured to illuminate a driver's face as part of an interior camera system configured to track the driver's face and determine driver's behavior”. Claim 12 depends from Claim 1, which recites on lines 1-2 “A display device comprising: a housing” and on lines 5-6 “at least one infrared (IR) LED configured to emit light in an IR spectrum, placed in the housing”. Therefore, it is unclear as to how the at least one IR LED of the backlight unit of the display device is related to the interior camera system (e.g., is the display device part of a camera system? does the display device comprise an interior camera system? is the display device required to be used in a vehicle with an interior camera system?, etc.) and whether the interior camera system itself is included in the scope of the claim. For the purpose of examination, the examiner understands the scope of Claim 12 to include a vehicle with an interior camera system configured to track the driver’s face and determine the driver’s behavior, the display device of Claim 1 forming part of the interior camera system such that the at least one IR LED of the display device is configured to illuminate the driver’s face. The applicant is encouraged to clarify the scope of the claim in the claim language, fully supported by the original disclosure.
With regards to Claim 13, lines 1-3 recite the limitation “the at least one IR LED is configured to illuminate a driver's face as part of an interior camera system configured to track the driver's face and determine driver's behavior”. Claim 13 depends from Claim 5, which recites on lines 1-3 “A vehicle, comprising: a display device, the display device comprising: a housing” and on lines 7-8 “at least one infrared (IR) LED configured to emit light in an IR spectrum, placed in the housing”. Therefore, it is unclear as to how the at least one IR LED of the backlight unit of the display device is related to the interior camera system (e.g., is the display device part of a camera system? does the display device comprise an interior camera system?, etc.) and whether the interior camera system itself is included in the scope of the claim. For the purpose of examination, the examiner understands the scope of Claim 13 to include a vehicle with an interior camera system configured to track the driver’s face and determine the driver’s behavior, the display device of Claim 5 forming part of the interior camera system such that the at least one IR LED of the display device is configured to illuminate the driver’s face. The applicant is encouraged to clarify the scope of the claim in the claim language, fully supported by the original disclosure.
With regards to Claim 14, lines 1-3 recite the limitation “the at least one IR LED is configured to illuminate a driver's face as part of an interior camera system configured to track the driver's face and determine driver's behavior”. Claim 14 depends from Claim 7, which recites on lines 1-2 “A display device comprising: a housing” and on lines 6-7 “a plurality of infrared (IR) LEDs configured to emit light in the infrared spectrum, placed at the bottom of the housing”. Therefore, it is unclear as to how the at least one IR LED of the backlight unit of the display device is related to the interior camera system (e.g., is the display device part of a camera system? does the display device comprise an interior camera system? is the display device required to be used in a vehicle with an interior camera system?, etc.) and whether the interior camera system itself is included in the scope of the claim. For the purpose of examination, the examiner understands the scope of Claim 14 to include a vehicle with an interior camera system configured to track the driver’s face and determine the driver’s behavior, the display device of Claim 7 forming part of the interior camera system such that the at least one IR LED of the display device is configured to illuminate the driver’s face. The applicant is encouraged to clarify the scope of the claim in the claim language, fully supported by the original disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2012/0249438) in view of Hirayama (US 2013/0062521).
With regards to Claim 1, Kim et al. discloses a display device, comprising: a housing (comprising the housing substantially formed by portions [110,350], see paragraphs 37 and 54 and Figure 1); a backlight unit (comprising at least light-emitting diodes [442] and light guide plate [310], see paragraphs 47, 48, and 53 and Figure 1; the combination of light-emitting diodes [442] with light guide plate [310] substantially provides light to illuminate the LCD panel [120], substantially acting as a backlight unit) comprising: at least one backlight light-emitting diode (LED) [442] configured to emit light in a visible wavelength spectrum, placed in the housing [110,350] (see paragraph 53 and Figure 1), and at least one infrared (IR) LED [422,432] configured to emit light in an IR spectrum, placed in the housing [110,350] (see paragraph 50 and Figure 1), wherein the at least one backlight LED [442] and the at least one IR LED [422,432] are placed in a lateral position to the housing [110,350] (see Figure 1); a light diffuser [320] arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit and positioned to receive light emitted directly from the backlight unit (see paragraphs 48 and 55 and Figure 1); a liquid crystal display (LCD) structure layer [126] placed in front of the light diffuser [320] (see paragraph 38 and 40 and Figures 1 and 3); wherein the housing [110,350] is configured to house the backlight unit, the light diffuser [320], and the LCD structure layer [126] (see paragraph 37 and 54 and Figures 1 and 2).
Kim et al. does not explicitly disclose a cover glass placed in front of the LCD structure layer; and wherein the cover glass is configured to close the housing.
Hirayama teaches a cover glass [16] placed in front of the LCD structure layer [20] (see paragraph 33 and Figure 2B); and wherein the cover glass [16] is configured to close the housing [11,12] (see paragraph 33 and Figure 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Kim et al. to include a cover glass placed in front of the LCD structure layer; and wherein the cover glass is configured to close the housing, as taught by Hirayama. One would have been motivated to do so in order to protect the device screen, while allowing for a touch capability (see Hirayama paragraph 3).
With regards to Claim 3, Kim et al. and Hirayama disclose the display device with the backlight LED and the at least one IR LED are placed in the lateral position to the housing, as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kim et al. further discloses the at least one backlight LED [442] and the at least one IR LED [422,432] are placed at an edge of the display device in the lateral position to the housing [110,350] (see Figure 1).
With regards to Claim 5, Kim et al. discloses a vehicle (the examiner notes that while the claim recites a vehicle in the preamble, the use of the phrasing “comprising” in the claim language does not require vehicular components, but Kim et al. does disclose using the display device in a navigation system for a vehicle, see Kim et al. paragraph 5), comprising: a display device, comprising: a housing (comprising the housing substantially formed by portions [110,350], see paragraphs 37 and 54 and Figure 1); a backlight unit (comprising at least light-emitting diodes [442] and light guide plate [310], see paragraphs 47, 48, and 53 and Figure 1; the combination of light-emitting diodes [442] with light guide plate [310] substantially provides light to illuminate the LCD panel [120], substantially acting as a backlight unit) comprising: at least one backlight light-emitting diode (LED) [442] configured to emit light in a visible wavelength spectrum, placed in the housing [110,350] (see paragraph 53 and Figure 1), and at least one infrared (IR) LED [422,432] configured to emit light in an IR spectrum, placed in the housing [110,350] (see paragraph 50 and Figure 1), wherein the at least one backlight LED [442] and the at least one IR LED [422,432] are placed in a lateral position to the housing [110,350] (see Figure 1); a light diffuser [320] arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit and positioned to receive light emitted directly from the backlight unit (see paragraphs 48 and 55 and Figure 1); a liquid crystal display (LCD) structure layer [126] placed in front of the light diffuser [320] (see paragraph 38 and 40 and Figures 1 and 3); wherein the housing [110,350] is configured to house the backlight unit, the light diffuser [320], and the LCD structure layer [126] (see paragraph 37 and 54 and Figures 1 and 2).
Kim et al. does not explicitly disclose a cover glass placed in front of the LCD structure layer; and wherein the cover glass is configured to close the housing.
Hirayama teaches a cover glass [16] placed in front of the LCD structure layer [20] (see paragraph 33 and Figure 2B); and wherein the cover glass [16] is configured to close the housing [11,12] (see paragraph 33 and Figure 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Kim et al. to include a cover glass placed in front of the LCD structure layer; and wherein the cover glass is configured to close the housing, as taught by Hirayama. One would have been motivated to do so in order to protect the device screen, while allowing for a touch capability (see Hirayama paragraph 3).
Claims 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2012/0249438) as modified by Hirayama (US 2013/0062521), further in view of Kanbayashi et al. (US 2012/0313912).
With regards to Claim 2, Kim et al. and Hirayama disclose the display device, as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kim et al. does not explicitly disclose the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED are placed facing each other.
Kanbayashi et al. teaches the at least one backlight LED [301] and the at least one IR LED [302] (see paragraph 105 and Figure 9G) are placed facing each other (see paragraph 108 and Figure 9G; the at least one backlight LED [301] emits light to enter through a side surface of plate [361] and the at least one IR LED [302] emits light to enter through an opposite side surface of plate [361], the at least one backlight LED [301] and the at least one IR LED [302] disposed on opposite sides of plate [361], thereby the at least one backlight LED [301] and the at least one IR LED [302] are substantially placed facing each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lateral position of the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED of Kim et al. and Hirayama to be facing each other, as taught by Kanbayashi et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to dispose the at least one IR LEDs on a separate substrate opposite the at least one backlight LEDs disposed for directing light into the light guide plate from opposite sides thereof (see Kanbayashi et al. paragraph 108).
With regards to Claim 4, Kim et al. and Hirayama disclose the display device as discussed above with regards to Claim 3.
Kim et al. further discloses the backlight LED [442] and the at least one IR LED [422,432] are placed at the edge of the display (see Figure 5).
Kim et al, does not disclose the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED are placed opposite each other at the edge of the display.
Kanbayashi et al. teaches the at least one backlight LED [301] and the at least one IR LED [302] are placed opposite each other at the edge of the display (see paragraphs 105 and 108 and Figures 9F and 9G).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one backlight LED and the at least one IR LED of Kim et al. and Hirayama to be placed opposite each other, as taught by Kanbayashi et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to direct light inwardly from opposite sides of a light guide plate (see Kanbayashi et al. paragraph 108).
With regards to Claim 6, Kim et al. Hirayama discloses the display device as discussed above with regards to Claim 2.
Kim et al. further discloses the at least one backlight LED [442] comprises a plurality of backlight LEDs arranged in a row, thereby forming a backlight light strip; and wherein the at least one IR LED [422,432] comprises a plurality of IR LEDs arranged in another row, thereby forming an IR light strip (see Fig. 5).
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2022/0221757) in view of Hirayama (US 2013/0062521).
With regards to Claim 7, Chang et al. discloses a display device, comprising: a housing [302] (see paragraph 43 and Figure 5); a backlight unit (comprising at least light-emitting diodes [310,320] and first optical layer [330], see paragraphs 40-43 and Figure 5; the combination of light-emitting diodes [310,320] with the optical layer [330] substantially provides light to illuminate the display panel [200], substantially acting as a backlight unit) comprising: a plurality of backlight light-emitting diodes (LEDs) [310] configured to emit light in visible wavelength spectrum, placed at a bottom the housing [302], and a plurality of infrared (IR) LEDs [320] configured to emit light in the infrared spectrum, placed at the bottom the housing [302] (see paragraph 42 and Figure 5), wherein the backlight LEDs [310] and the IR LEDs [320] are placed in a matrix of LEDs arranged at the bottom of the housing [302] (see paragraph 40 and Figure 5); wherein a plurality of same kind of LEDs are arranged in a row of the matrix of LEDs, thereby forming an LED strip (see paragraph 40 and Figure 6A; while Chang et al. utilizes the phrasing “column” rather than “row”, an orientation of row/columns of the array of LEDs has not been established by the claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to recognize the teachings of Chang et al. of placing IR LEDs [320] along a line such as a row or column), a light diffuser [340] arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit and positioned to receive light emitted directly from the backlight unit (see paragraph 40 and Figure 5); and a cover glass [250] (see paragraph 39 and Figure 5).
Chang et al. does not disclose a liquid crystal display (LCD) structure layer placed in front of the light diffuser; the cover glass is placed in front of the LCD structure layer; wherein the housing is configured to house the backlight unit, the light diffuser, and the LCD structure layer; and wherein the cover glass is configured to close the housing.
Hirayama teaches a liquid crystal display (LCD) structure layer [20] (see paragraph 34) placed in front of the light diffuser [24] (see paragraphs 4 and 34 and Figure 3); a cover glass [16] placed in front of the LCD structure layer [20] (see paragraph 33 and Figure 2B); wherein the housing [11,12] (see paragraph 33) is configured to house the backlight unit, the light diffuser [24], and the LCD structure layer [20]; and wherein the cover glass [16] is configured to close the housing [11,12] (see paragraph 33 and Figures 2B and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Chang et al. to include a liquid crystal display (LCD) structure layer placed in front of the light diffuser; the cover glass is placed in front of the LCD structure layer, the housing is configured to house the backlight unit, the light diffuser, and the LCD structure layer; and the cover glass is configured to close the housing, as taught by Hirayama. One would have been motivated to do so in order to protect the device screen, while allowing for a touch capability (see Hirayama paragraph 3).
With regards to Claim 8, Chang et al. and Hirayama disclose the display device as discussed above with regards to Claim 7.
Chang et al. further discloses the backlight LEDs [310] and the IR LEDs [320] are adjacent to each other and directed to the diffuser [340] (see Figures 4, 5, and 6A).
With regards to Claim 9, Chang et al. and Hirayama disclose the display device as discussed above with regards to Claim 7.
Chang et al. further discloses a first row of the matrix of LEDs is formed by the IR LEDs [320], thereby forming an IR LED strip (see paragraph 40 and Figure 6A; while Chang et al. utilizes the phrasing “column” rather than “row”, an orientation of row/columns of the array of LEDs has not been established by the claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to recognize the teachings of Chang et al. of placing IR LEDs [320] along a line such as a row or column).
With regards to Claim 10, Chang et al. and Hirayama disclose the display device as discussed above with regards to Claim 9.
Chang et al. further discloses a second row of the matrix of LEDs is formed by the backlight LEDs [310], thereby forming a backlight LEDs strip (see paragraph 40 and Figure 6A; while Chang et al. utilizes the phrasing “column” rather than “row”, an orientation of row/columns of the array of LEDs has not been established by the claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to recognize the teachings of Chang et al. of placing backlight LEDs [310] along a line such as a row or column).
With regards to Claim 11, Chang et al. and Hirayama disclose the display device as discussed above with regards to Claim 10.
Chang et al. further discloses the IR LED strip and the backlight LEDs strip are alternatively arranged within the matrix of LEDs (see paragraph 40 and Figure 6A; strips of backlight LEDs [310] and strips of IR LEDs [320] are substantially alternatively arranged).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to Claim 12, the prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the at least one IR LED is configured to illuminate a driver’s face as part of an interior camera system configured to track the driver’s face and determine driver’s behavior, as best understood by the examiner discussed above in the rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim from which it depends.
With regards to Claim 13, the prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the at least one IR LED is configured to illuminate a driver’s face as part of an interior camera system configured to track the driver’s face and determine driver’s behavior, as best understood by the examiner discussed above in the rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim from which it depends.
With regards to Claim 14, the prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggest the at least one IR LED is configured to illuminate a driver’s face as part of an interior camera system configured to track the driver’s face and determine driver’s behavior, as best understood by the examiner discussed above in the rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim from which it depends.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to the applicant’s argument that independent Claims 1 and 5 clarify a light diffuser is arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit and is positioned to receive light emitted directly from the backlight unit, defining a direct structural relationship between the backlight unit and the diffuser in which light is delivered without prior processing by intervening optical structures, and Kim does not teach or suggest this relationship because the optical sheet [320] of Kim is not arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit and does not receive light emitted directly from the LEDs but instead after internal propagation within the light guide plate [310], with Hirayama not providing the missing relationship, the examiner notes the applicant appears to be arguing that the Kim et al. reference does not disclose the light diffuser is positioned to receive light emitted directly by at least one of the LEDs of the at least one backlight LED or at least one IR LED. However, the amended limitation of each Claim 1, Claim 5, and Claim 7 recites “a light diffuser arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit and positioned to receive light emitted directly from the backlight unit”, which does not require light emitted directly by one or more of the LEDS to be directly incident on the diffuser. Rather, the backlight unit comprises (see Claim 1 line 3, Claim 5 line 4 and Claim 5 line 3) the LEDs, which is an inclusive but not exclusive definition of the backlight unit in the claim language, and the claims are absent limitations precluding further structure included in the backlight unit. Therefore, Kim et al. substantially discloses at least a backlight unit (comprising at least light-emitting diodes [442] and light guide plate [310], see paragraphs 47, 48, and 53 and Figure 1; the combination of light-emitting diodes [442] with light guide plate [310] substantially provides light to illuminate the LCD panel [120], substantially acting as a backlight unit) comprising: at least one backlight light-emitting diode (LED) [442] configured to emit light in a visible wavelength spectrum, placed in the housing [110,350] (see paragraph 53 and Figure 1), and at least one infrared (IR) LED [422,432] configured to emit light in an IR spectrum, placed in the housing [110,350] (see paragraph 50 and Figure 1), and a light diffuser [320] arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit and positioned to receive light emitted directly from the backlight unit (see paragraphs 48 and 55 and Figure 1). The applicant is also encouraged to review the references cited on the attached PTO-892.
With regards to the applicant’s argument that independent Claim 7 clarifies a light diffuser is arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit and is positioned to receive light emitted directly from the backlight unit, defining a direct structural relationship between the backlight unit and the diffuser in which light is delivered without prior processing by intervening optical structures, and Chang does not teach or suggest this relationship because the first optical layer [130] collimates light prior to the second optical layer [140] which then scatters the light and the diffuser is not positioned to receive light directly from the light emitting units and is not arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit, the examiner notes the applicant appears to be arguing that the Chang et al. reference does not disclose the light diffuser is positioned to receive light emitted directly by at least one of the LEDs of the at least one backlight LED or at least one IR LED. However, the amended limitation of each Claim 1, Claim 5, and Claim 7 recites “a light diffuser arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit and positioned to receive light emitted directly from the backlight unit”, which does not require light emitted directly by one or more of the LEDS to be directly incident on the diffuser. Rather, the backlight unit comprises (see Claim 1 line 3, Claim 5 line 4 and Claim 5 line 3) the LEDs, which is an inclusive but not exclusive definition of the backlight unit in the claim language, and the claims are absent limitations precluding further structure included in the backlight unit. Therefore, Chang et al. discloses at least a backlight unit (comprising at least light-emitting diodes [310,320] and first optical layer [330], see paragraphs 40-43 and Figure 5; the combination of light-emitting diodes [310,320] with the optical layer [330] substantially provides light to illuminate the display panel [200], substantially acting as a backlight unit) comprising: a plurality of backlight light-emitting diodes (LEDs) [310] configured to emit light in visible wavelength spectrum, placed at a bottom the housing [302], and a plurality of infrared (IR) LEDs [320] configured to emit light in the infrared spectrum, placed at the bottom the housing [302] (see paragraph 42 and Figure 5), and a light diffuser [340] arranged immediately in front of the backlight unit and positioned to receive light emitted directly from the backlight unit (see paragraph 40 and Figure 5). The applicant is also encouraged to review the references cited on the attached PTO-892.
Prior Art Referral
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the prior art discussed in this action, the applicant is directed to form 892, and particularly the references Shimizu (US 2012/0327312), which discloses at least a display device including a backlight unit with at least one backlight LED, the backlight LEDs disposed at lateral sides of the display device and emitting light directly onto a light diffuser, Kim (US 2008/0002403), which discloses at least a display device including a backlight unit with at least one backlight LED, the backlight LEDs disposed at a bottom of a housing and emitting light directly onto a light diffuser unit, Cho (US 2013/0114020), which discloses at least a display device including a backlight unit with at least one backlight LED, the backlight LEDs disposed at a lateral side of the display device, a light diffuser disposed directly over the backlight unit, Chang (US 2007/0171676), which discloses at least a display device including a backlight unit with at least one backlight LED, the backlight LEDs disposed at lateral sides of the display device, a light diffuser disposed directly over the backlight unit, Rycroft (US 5,365,411), which discloses at least a display device including a backlight unit with at least one backlight LED, the backlight LEDs disposed at lateral sides of the display device, a light diffuser disposed directly over the backlight unit, Yokota (US 2012/0099295), which discloses at least a display device including a backlight unit with at least one backlight LED, the backlight LEDs disposed at a bottom of a housing and emitting light directly onto a light diffuser unit, Lee (US 2011/0025942), which discloses at least a display device including a backlight unit with at least one backlight LED and a light guide plate, the backlight LEDs disposed at a lateral side of the display device, Lee (US 2017/0322452), which discloses at least a display device including a backlight unit including an arrangement with at least one backlight LED and a light guide plate, the backlight LEDs disposed at a lateral side of the display device, and a backlight unit including an arrangement with at least one LED and a light guide plate, the LEDs disposed at a bottom of a housing, Park (US 2019/0094617), which discloses at least a display device including a backlight unit with at least one backlight LED and a light guide plate, the backlight LEDs disposed at a lateral side of the display device, Sanghyun (KR 20190045545), which discloses at least a display device including a backlight unit with at least one backlight LED, the backlight LEDs disposed at a bottom of a housing and emitting light directly onto a light diffuser unit, Shen (CN 117348293), which discloses at least a display device including a backlight unit with at least one backlight LED, the backlight LEDs disposed at a bottom of a housing and emitting light directly onto a light diffuser unit, and Zhang (CN 100462811), which discloses at least a display device including a backlight unit with at least one backlight LED, the backlight LEDs disposed at a lateral side of the display device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN KRYUKOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875