Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-11, filed 10/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1 and 16 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Franz (DE4034610A1); Kandasamy (US20230311210A1); and Yoshikazu (JP2002254431A).
The Applicant argued that one of ordinary skill in the art would not combine the cited references to reach Applicant's claims unless using hindsight based on Applicant's disclosure. See, e.g., Millennium Pharm., Inc. v. Sandoz Inc., 862 F.3d 1356, 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2017). In other words, one of ordinary skill in the art would not combine the prior art as claimed unless first viewing Applicant's two-part rotational tool and disclosed advantage.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In this case:
The prior art of Franz discloses a system for producing an extruded material from loose chips (intended use), the system comprising:
a rotational tool (fig.1: (21)) configured to rotate around a center axis thereof, the rotational tool including an auger portion that transitions to a friction stirring along the center axis portion (see fig.1 below);
the auger portion including an auger thread with a pitch of the auger thread forming spaces which act as a reservoir portion (see fig.1 below).
a housing (fig.1: (7)) having an inlet (fig.1: (23)) configured to receive the loose chips, an outlet (fig.1: the outlet at element (6)) configured to output the extruded material, and
a tool cavity (fig.1: the cavity of the element (7)) connecting the inlet and the outlet, the tool cavity including a compression zone containing the auger portion of the rotational tool (see fig.1 below),
a plasticization zone (fig.1: (6)) containing the friction stirring portion of the rotational tool, and
a transition zone surrounding the rotational tool where the auger portion transitions to the friction stirring portion (see fig.1 below); and
a motor (fig.1: (22)) configured to rotate the rotational tool within the tool cavity to cause the loose chips to flow from the inlet, through the tool cavity, and out of the outlet as the extruded material (paragraphs 0014-0022).
Franz does not disclose the friction stirring portion including a stepped spiral without spaces between steps;
However, Franz discloses the element (21) can be designed with decreasing pitch in order to capture, reduce, compress, and convey the material (paragraph 0020);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify rotational tool of Franz by making rotational tool in order to capture, reduce, compress, and convey the material (Franz: paragraph 0020), since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Or under another interpretation:
Franz does not disclose the friction stirring portion including a stepped spiral without spaces between steps;
However, the Applicant’s specification is silent regarding “without spaces between steps”; it appears that the Applicant is relying on fig.4 of the Applicant’s drawings for supporting “without spaces between steps”;
So, the Applicant has not set forth any criticality nor set forth an unexpected benefit that “without spaces between steps”;
Further, the applicant discloses “the step pitch SP, the step depth of cut SD and the step angle SA are constant from the first end 46 to the second end 48, but the step pitch SP, step depth of cut SD and/or step angle SA can vary from the first end 46 to the second end 48 in alternative embodiments. The exact step pitch SP, step depth of cut SD and/or step angle SA can vary depending on the materials and sizes of the rotational tool 12 and the loose chips” (Applicant’s specification: paragraph 0034);
So, it appears that choosing the pitch is a design choice that depends on the general design of the tool and the size of the material to be processed;
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the size of the pitch of the friction stirring portion as desired, including the friction stirring portion including a stepped spiral without spaces between steps, in order to meet a specific requirement of tool and the process of the extrusion.
The prior art of Yoshikazu discloses a system for producing an extruded material from loose chips (paragraphs 0017 and 0038), the system comprising:
a rotational tool (fig.1: (37)) configured to rotate around a center axis thereof, the rotational tool including an auger portion (fig.1: (36A)) that transitions to a friction stirring portion (fig.1: (36B)) along the center axis;
the auger portion including an auger thread with a pitch of the auger thread forming spaces which act as a reservoir portion (fig.1: see the reservoir between the pitch of element (36A));
a housing (fig.1: (39)) having an inlet (fig.1: (31)) configured to receive the loose chips, an outlet (fig.1: (39H)) configured to output the extruded material, and
a tool cavity (fig.1: (35)) connecting the inlet and the outlet, the tool cavity including a compression zone (fig.1: the zone of the element (35) at element (35H)) containing the auger portion of the rotational tool,
a plasticization zone (fig.1: (35B)) containing the friction stirring portion of the rotational tool, and
a transition zone (fig.1: (35)) surrounding the rotational tool where the auger portion transitions to the friction stirring portion (see fig.23 below); and
a motor (fig.1: (38A) and (38B)) configured to rotate the rotational tool within the tool cavity to cause the loose chips to flow from the inlet, through the tool cavity, and out of the outlet as the extruded material (paragraphs 0017- and 0038).
Yoshikazu does not disclose the friction stirring portion including a stepped spiral without spaces between steps;
However, the Applicant’s specification is silent regarding “without spaces between steps”; it appears that the Applicant is relying on fig.4 of the Applicant’s drawings for supporting “without spaces between steps”;
So, the Applicant has not set forth any criticality nor set forth an unexpected benefit that “without spaces between steps”;
Further, the applicant discloses “the step pitch SP, the step depth of cut SD and the step angle SA are constant from the first end 46 to the second end 48, but the step pitch SP, step depth of cut SD and/or step angle SA can vary from the first end 46 to the second end 48 in alternative embodiments. The exact step pitch SP, step depth of cut SD and/or step angle SA can vary depending on the materials and sizes of the rotational tool 12 and the loose chips” (Applicant’s specification: paragraph 0034);
So, it appears that choosing the pitch is a design choice that depends on the general design of the tool and the size of the material to be processed;
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the size of the pitch of the friction stirring portion as desired, including the friction stirring portion including a stepped spiral without spaces between steps, in order to meet a specific requirement of tool and the process of the extrusion.
The prior art of Kandasamy discloses a system for producing an extruded material from loose chips (abstract and paragraph 0139), the system comprising:
a rotational tool (fig.23: (1200)) configured to rotate around a center axis thereof, the rotational tool including an auger portion (fig.23: (1260), and see figs.30-38) that transitions to a friction stirring portion (fig.23: (1280)) along the center axis;
a housing (fig.23: (1400)) having an inlet (fig.23: (1142)) configured to receive the loose chips, an outlet (fig.21: (1480)) configured to output the extruded material, and
a tool cavity (fig.23: (1400)) connecting the inlet and the outlet, the tool cavity including a compression zone containing the auger portion of the rotational tool (see fig.23 below),
a plasticization zone (see fig.23 below) containing the friction stirring portion of the rotational tool, and
a transition zone surrounding the rotational tool where the auger portion transitions to the friction stirring portion (see fig.23 below); and
a motor configured to rotate the rotational tool within the tool cavity to cause the loose chips to flow from the inlet, through the tool cavity, and out of the outlet as the extruded material (paragraphs 027 and 0149-0148).
Kandasamy does not explicitly disclose the auger portion including an auger thread with a pitch of the auger thread forming spaces which act as a reservoir, the friction stirring portion including a stepped spiral without spaces between steps;
However, Kandasamy discloses that the element (1200) can have and/or define geometrical and/or mechanical features, such as one or more fins, flutes, flats, slots, threads, steps, nubs, buttons, and/or protrusions on one or more exterior surfaces and/or one or more interior surfaces fig.31; paragraphs 148, 0162 and 185);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the desired configuration of the element (1200) of Kandasamy as desired including the auger portion including an auger thread with a pitch of the auger thread forming spaces which act as a reservoir, the friction stirring portion in order to meet a specific requirement of tool and the process of the extrusion.
Accordingly, this argument is not percussive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kandasamy (US20230311210A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kandasamy discloses a system for producing an extruded material from loose chips (abstract and paragraph 0139), the system comprising:
a rotational tool (fig.23: (1200)) configured to rotate around a center axis thereof, the rotational tool including an auger portion (fig.23: (1260), and see figs.30-38) that transitions to a friction stirring portion (fig.23: (1280)) along the center axis;
a housing (fig.23: (1400)) having an inlet (fig.23: (1142)) configured to receive the loose chips, an outlet (fig.21: (1480)) configured to output the extruded material, and
a tool cavity (fig.23: (1400)) connecting the inlet and the outlet, the tool cavity including a compression zone containing the auger portion of the rotational tool (see fig.23 below),
a plasticization zone (see fig.23 below) containing the friction stirring portion of the rotational tool, and
a transition zone surrounding the rotational tool where the auger portion transitions to the friction stirring portion (see fig.23 below); and
a motor configured to rotate the rotational tool within the tool cavity to cause the loose chips to flow from the inlet, through the tool cavity, and out of the outlet as the extruded material (paragraphs 027 and 0149-0148).
Kandasamy does not explicitly disclose the auger portion including an auger thread with a pitch of the auger thread forming spaces which act as a reservoir, the friction stirring portion including a stepped spiral without spaces between steps;
However, Kandasamy discloses that the element (1200) can have and/or define geometrical and/or mechanical features, such as one or more fins, flutes, flats, slots, threads, steps, nubs, buttons, and/or protrusions on one or more exterior surfaces and/or one or more interior surfaces fig.31; paragraphs 148, 0162 and 185);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the desired configuration of the element (1200) of Kandasamy as desired including the auger portion including an auger thread with a pitch of the auger thread forming spaces which act as a reservoir, the friction stirring portion in order to meet a specific requirement of tool and the process of the extrusion.
Regarding claim 4, Kandasamy discloses wherein the compression zone includes a cylindrical inner wall with a constant diameter (see fig.23 above).
Regarding claim 6, Kandasamy discloses wherein the housing includes a cooling jacket located radially outward from the tool cavity with respect to the center axis of the rotational tool (paragraphs 0129, 0146 and 0163).
Regarding claim 7, Kandasamy discloses wherein the center axis of the rotational tool is a vertical axis (figs.7 and 23).
Regarding claim 8, Kandasamy discloses wherein the inlet (figs.7 and 23: (1142)) encircles the center axis of the rotational tool and is located above the compression zone in an axial direction of the center axis.
Regarding claim 16, Kandasamy discloses a method for producing an extruded material from loose chips (abstract and paragraph 0139), the method comprising:
feeding (fig.23: (1142)) the loose chips into a tool cavity (fig.23: (1400));
compressing the loose chips with an auger portion (fig.23: (1260), and see figs.30-38) of a rotational tool (fig.23: (1200)) that is rotating around a rotational axis within the tool cavity;
passing the compressed loose chips in an axial direction of the rotational axis through a transition zone of the tool cavity (see fig.23 above);
plasticizing the compressed loose chips into a plasticized material with a friction stirring portion (fig.23: (1280)) of the rotating tool that is rotating around the rotational axis within the tool cavity; and
extruding the plasticized material from an outlet (fig.21: (1480)) of the tool cavity.
Kandasamy does not explicitly disclose the auger portion including an auger thread with a pitch of the auger thread forming spaces which act as a reservoir, the friction stirring portion including a stepped spiral without spaces between steps;
However, Kandasamy discloses that the element (1200) can have and/or define geometrical and/or mechanical features, such as one or more fins, flutes, flats, slots, threads, steps, nubs, buttons, and/or protrusions on one or more exterior surfaces and/or one or more interior surfaces fig.31; paragraphs 148, 0162 and 185);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the desired configuration of the element (1200) of Kandasamy as desired including the auger portion including an auger thread with a pitch of the auger thread forming spaces which act as a reservoir, the friction stirring portion in order to meet a specific requirement of tool and the process of the extrusion.
Regarding claim 19, Kandasamy discloses automatically adjusting a speed that the loose chips are fed into the inlet based on a detected torque of the rotational tool or a detected temperature within the tool cavity (paragraph 0175-0076).
Regarding claim 20, Kandasamy discloses feeding the loose chips into the tool cavity includes feeding the loose chips into a tapered extension of the tool cavity surrounding an upper part of the auger portion of the rotational tool (fig.17).
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franz (DE4034610A1 attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Franz discloses a system for producing an extruded material from loose chips (intended use), the system comprising:
a rotational tool (fig.1: (21)) configured to rotate around a center axis thereof, the rotational tool including an auger portion that transitions to a friction stirring along the center axis portion (see fig.1 below);
the auger portion including an auger thread with a pitch of the auger thread forming spaces which act as a reservoir portion (see fig.1 below).
a housing (fig.1: (7)) having an inlet (fig.1: (23)) configured to receive the loose chips, an outlet (fig.1: the outlet at element (6)) configured to output the extruded material, and
a tool cavity (fig.1: the cavity of the element (7)) connecting the inlet and the outlet, the tool cavity including a compression zone containing the auger portion of the rotational tool (see fig.1 below),
a plasticization zone (fig.1: (6)) containing the friction stirring portion of the rotational tool, and
a transition zone surrounding the rotational tool where the auger portion transitions to the friction stirring portion (see fig.1 below); and
a motor (fig.1: (22)) configured to rotate the rotational tool within the tool cavity to cause the loose chips to flow from the inlet, through the tool cavity, and out of the outlet as the extruded material (paragraphs 0014-0022).
Franz does not disclose the friction stirring portion including a stepped spiral without spaces between steps;
However, Franz discloses the element (21) can be designed with decreasing pitch in order to capture, reduce, compress, and convey the material (paragraph 0020);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify rotational tool of Franz by making rotational tool in order to capture, reduce, compress, and convey the material (Franz: paragraph 0020), since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Or under another interpretation:
Franz does not disclose the friction stirring portion including a stepped spiral without spaces between steps;
However, the Applicant’s specification is silent regarding “without spaces between steps”; it appears that the Applicant is relying on fig.4 of the Applicant’s drawings for supporting “without spaces between steps”;
So, the Applicant has not set forth any criticality nor set forth an unexpected benefit that “without spaces between steps”;
Further, the applicant discloses “the step pitch SP, the step depth of cut SD and the step angle SA are constant from the first end 46 to the second end 48, but the step pitch SP, step depth of cut SD and/or step angle SA can vary from the first end 46 to the second end 48 in alternative embodiments. The exact step pitch SP, step depth of cut SD and/or step angle SA can vary depending on the materials and sizes of the rotational tool 12 and the loose chips” (Applicant’s specification: paragraph 0034);
So, it appears that choosing the pitch is a design choice that depends on the general design of the tool and the size of the material to be processed;
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the size of the pitch of the friction stirring portion as desired, including the friction stirring portion including a stepped spiral without spaces between steps, in order to meet a specific requirement of tool and the process of the extrusion.
Regarding claim 5, Franz discloses wherein the auger portion includes a shaft and an auger thread (see fig.1 above), and the friction stirring portion includes a stepped spiral having a first end and a second end, the first end closer to the auger portion than the second end, the stepped spiral decreasing in diameter from the first end to the second end (see fig.1 above).
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikazu (JP2002254431A attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshikazu discloses a system for producing an extruded material from loose chips (paragraphs 0017 and 0038), the system comprising:
a rotational tool (fig.1: (37)) configured to rotate around a center axis thereof, the rotational tool including an auger portion (fig.1: (36A)) that transitions to a friction stirring portion (fig.1: (36B)) along the center axis;
the auger portion including an auger thread with a pitch of the auger thread forming spaces which act as a reservoir portion (fig.1: see the reservoir between the pitch of element (36A));
a housing (fig.1: (39)) having an inlet (fig.1: (31)) configured to receive the loose chips, an outlet (fig.1: (39H)) configured to output the extruded material, and
a tool cavity (fig.1: (35)) connecting the inlet and the outlet, the tool cavity including a compression zone (fig.1: the zone of the element (35) at element (35H)) containing the auger portion of the rotational tool,
a plasticization zone (fig.1: (35B)) containing the friction stirring portion of the rotational tool, and
a transition zone (fig.1: (35)) surrounding the rotational tool where the auger portion transitions to the friction stirring portion (see fig.23 below); and
a motor (fig.1: (38A) and (38B)) configured to rotate the rotational tool within the tool cavity to cause the loose chips to flow from the inlet, through the tool cavity, and out of the outlet as the extruded material (paragraphs 0017- and 0038).
Yoshikazu does not disclose the friction stirring portion including a stepped spiral without spaces between steps;
However, the Applicant’s specification is silent regarding “without spaces between steps”; it appears that the Applicant is relying on fig.4 of the Applicant’s drawings for supporting “without spaces between steps”;
So, the Applicant has not set forth any criticality nor set forth an unexpected benefit that “without spaces between steps”;
Further, the applicant discloses “the step pitch SP, the step depth of cut SD and the step angle SA are constant from the first end 46 to the second end 48, but the step pitch SP, step depth of cut SD and/or step angle SA can vary from the first end 46 to the second end 48 in alternative embodiments. The exact step pitch SP, step depth of cut SD and/or step angle SA can vary depending on the materials and sizes of the rotational tool 12 and the loose chips” (Applicant’s specification: paragraph 0034);
So, it appears that choosing the pitch is a design choice that depends on the general design of the tool and the size of the material to be processed;
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the size of the pitch of the friction stirring portion as desired, including the friction stirring portion including a stepped spiral without spaces between steps, in order to meet a specific requirement of tool and the process of the extrusion.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, the closet prior art is Kandasamy (US20230311210A1), however in the opinion of the Examiner that the arts of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitation of “wherein the auger portion and the friction stirring portion are configured to rotate at different speed” in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claims 10-13 and 15 are allowed because they depend from claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, the closet prior art is Kandasamy (US20230311210A1), however in the opinion of the Examiner that the arts of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitation of “wherein the auger portion and the friction stirring portion are configured to rotate at different speed” in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 17, the closet prior art is Kandasamy (US20230311210A1), however in the opinion of the Examiner that the arts of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitation of “rotating the auger portion of the rotational tool at a different speed than the friction stirring portion of the rotating too” in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claim 18 is depended from claim 17.
Claims 14 and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725