Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kandasamy (US20230311210A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kandasamy discloses a system for producing an extruded material from loose chips (abstract and paragraph 0139), the system comprising:
a rotational tool (fig.23: (1200)) configured to rotate around a center axis thereof, the rotational tool including an auger portion (fig.23: (1260), and see figs.30-38) that transitions to a friction stirring portion (fig.23: (1280)) along the center axis;
a housing (fig.23: (1400)) having an inlet (fig.23: (1142)) configured to receive the loose chips, an outlet (fig.21: (1480)) configured to output the extruded material, and
a tool cavity (fig.23: (1400)) connecting the inlet and the outlet, the tool cavity including a compression zone containing the auger portion of the rotational tool (see fig.23 below),
a plasticization zone (see fig.23 below) containing the friction stirring portion of the rotational tool, and
a transition zone surrounding the rotational tool where the auger portion transitions to the friction stirring portion (see fig.23 below); and
a motor configured to rotate the rotational tool within the tool cavity to cause the loose chips to flow from the inlet, through the tool cavity, and out of the outlet as the extruded material (paragraphs 027 and 0149-0148).
Regarding claim 4, Kandasamy discloses wherein the compression zone includes a cylindrical inner wall with a constant diameter (see fig.23 above).
Regarding claim 6, Kandasamy discloses wherein the housing includes a cooling jacket located radially outward from the tool cavity with respect to the center axis of the rotational tool (paragraphs 0129, 0146 and 0163).
Regarding claim 7, Kandasamy discloses wherein the center axis of the rotational tool is a vertical axis (figs.7 and 23).
Regarding claim 8, Kandasamy discloses wherein the inlet (figs.7 and 23: (1142)) encircles the center axis of the rotational tool and is located above the compression zone in an axial direction of the center axis.
Regarding claim 16, Kandasamy discloses a method for producing an extruded material from loose chips (abstract and paragraph 0139), the method comprising:
feeding (fig.23: (1142)) the loose chips into a tool cavity (fig.23: (1400));
compressing the loose chips with an auger portion (fig.23: (1260), and see figs.30-38) of a rotational tool (fig.23: (1200)) that is rotating around a rotational axis within the tool cavity;
passing the compressed loose chips in an axial direction of the rotational axis through a transition zone of the tool cavity (see fig.23 above);
plasticizing the compressed loose chips into a plasticized material with a friction stirring portion (fig.23: (1280)) of the rotating tool that is rotating around the rotational axis within the tool cavity; and
extruding the plasticized material from an outlet (fig.21: (1480)) of the tool cavity.
Regarding claim 19, Kandasamy discloses automatically adjusting a speed that the loose chips are fed into the inlet based on a detected torque of the rotational tool or a detected temperature within the tool cavity (paragraph 0175-0076).
Regarding claim 20, Kandasamy discloses feeding the loose chips into the tool cavity includes feeding the loose chips into a tapered extension of the tool cavity surrounding an upper part of the auger portion of the rotational tool (fig.17).
Claims 1, 5, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Franz (DE4034610A1 attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Franz discloses a system for producing an extruded material from loose chips (intended use), the system comprising:
a rotational tool (fig.1: (21)) configured to rotate around a center axis thereof, the rotational tool including an auger portion that transitions to a friction stirring portion (see fig.1 below) along the center axis;
a housing (fig.1: (7)) having an inlet (fig.1: (23)) configured to receive the loose chips, an outlet (fig.1: the outlet at element (6)) configured to output the extruded material, and
a tool cavity (fig.1: the cavity of the element (7)) connecting the inlet and the outlet, the tool cavity including a compression zone containing the auger portion of the rotational tool (see fig.1 below),
a plasticization zone (fig.1: (6)) containing the friction stirring portion of the rotational tool, and
a transition zone surrounding the rotational tool where the auger portion transitions to the friction stirring portion (see fig.1 below); and
a motor (fig.1: (22)) configured to rotate the rotational tool within the tool cavity to cause the loose chips to flow from the inlet, through the tool cavity, and out of the outlet as the extruded material (paragraphs 0014-0022).
Regarding claim 5, Franz discloses wherein the auger portion includes a shaft and an auger thread (see fig.1 above), and the friction stirring portion includes a stepped spiral having a first end and a second end, the first end closer to the auger portion than the second end, the stepped spiral decreasing in diameter from the first end to the second end (see fig.1 above).
Regarding claim 9, Franz discloses a system for producing an extruded material from loose chips (intended use), the system comprising:
a housing (fig.1: (7)) having an inlet (fig.1: (23)) configured to receive the loose chips,
an outlet (fig.1: the outlet at element (6)) configured to output the extruded material, and a tool cavity (fig.1: the cavity of the element (7)) connecting the inlet and the outlet;
a rotational tool (fig.1: (21)) located within the tool cavity and configured to rotate around a center axis thereof, the rotational tool including an auger portion and a friction stirring portion along the center axis (see fig.1 above),
the auger portion (see fig.1 above) having an auger thread configured to compress the loose chips received at the inlet, the friction stirring portion having a tapering diameter (see fig.1 above) configured to plasticize the loose chips compressed by the auger portion to be output as the extruded material from the outlet; and
a motor (fig.1: (22))) configured to rotate the rotational tool within the tool cavity to cause the loose chips to flow from the inlet, through the tool cavity, and out of the outlet as the extruded material.
Regarding claim 13, Franz discloses wherein the auger portion (see fig.1 above) includes a first end, a second end, and a variable pitched auger thread, the second end is closer to the friction stirring portion than the first end, and the variable pitched auger thread has a smaller pitch at the second end than the first end (see fig.1 above: see the pitch of the auger portion).
Claims 1, 5, 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshikazu (JP2002254431A attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshikazu discloses a system for producing an extruded material from loose chips, the system comprising:
a rotational tool (fig.1: (37)) configured to rotate around a center axis thereof, the rotational tool including an auger portion (fig.1: (36A)) that transitions to a friction stirring portion (fig.1: (36B)) along the center axis;
a housing (fig.1: (39)) having an inlet (fig.1: (31)) configured to receive the loose chips, an outlet (fig.1: (39H)) configured to output the extruded material, and
a tool cavity (fig.1: (35)) connecting the inlet and the outlet, the tool cavity including a compression zone (fig.1: the zone of the element (35) at element (35H)) containing the auger portion of the rotational tool,
a plasticization zone (fig.1: (35B)) containing the friction stirring portion of the rotational tool, and
a transition zone (fig.1: (35)) surrounding the rotational tool where the auger portion transitions to the friction stirring portion (see fig.23 below); and
a motor (fig.1: (38A) and (38B)) configured to rotate the rotational tool within the tool cavity to cause the loose chips to flow from the inlet, through the tool cavity, and out of the outlet as the extruded material (paragraphs 0017- and 0038).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshikazu discloses wherein the auger portion includes a shaft and an auger thread (fig.1: (36A)), and the friction stirring portion (fig.1: (36B)) includes a stepped spiral having a first end and a second end, the first end closer to the auger portion than the second end, the stepped spiral decreasing in diameter from the first end to the second end (fig.1).
Regarding claim 9, Yoshikazu discloses a system for producing an extruded material from loose chips, the system comprising:
a housing (fig.1: (39)) having an inlet configured to receive the loose chips,
an outlet (fig.1: (39H)) configured to output the extruded material, and a tool cavity (fig.1: (35)) connecting the inlet and the outlet;
a rotational tool (fig.1: (37)) located within the tool cavity and configured to rotate around a center axis thereof, the rotational tool including an auger portion (fig.1: (36A)) and a friction stirring portion (fig.1: (36B)) along the center axis,
the auger portion (fig.1: (36A)) having an auger thread configured to compress the loose chips received at the inlet, the friction stirring portion (fig.1: (36B)) having a tapering diameter configured to plasticize the loose chips compressed by the auger portion to be output as the extruded material from the outlet; and
a motor (fig.1: (38A) and (38B)) configured to rotate the rotational tool within the tool cavity to cause the loose chips to flow from the inlet, through the tool cavity, and out of the outlet as the extruded material.
Regarding claim 10, Yoshikazu discloses wherein the auger thread (fig.1: (36A)) is a constant pitched auger thread.
Regarding claim 12, Yoshikazu discloses wherein the friction stirring portion (fig.1: (36B)) including a stepped spiral portion having a first end and a second end, the first end closer to the auger portion (fig.1: (36A)) than the second end, the stepped spiral portion decreasing in diameter from the first end to the second end (fig.1).
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Morrison (US-20220143914-A1).
Regarding claim 9, Morrison discloses a system for producing an extruded material from loose chips, the system comprising:
a housing having an inlet (fig.9: (5)) configured to receive the loose chips,
an outlet (fig.9: (2B)) configured to output the extruded material, and a tool cavity (fig.1: (35)) connecting the inlet and the outlet;
a rotational tool (fig.9: (201)) located within the tool cavity and configured to rotate around a center axis thereof, the rotational tool including an auger portion and a friction stirring portion along the center axis (see fig.9 below),
the auger portion having an auger thread configured to compress the loose chips received at the inlet, the friction stirring portion having a tapering diameter (see fig.9 below) configured to plasticize the loose chips compressed by the auger portion to be output as the extruded material from the outlet; and
a motor (fig.1: (38A) and (38B)) configured to rotate the rotational tool within the tool cavity to cause the loose chips to flow from the inlet, through the tool cavity, and out of the outlet as the extruded material.
Regarding claim 11, Morrison discloses wherein the auger portion (see fig.9 above) includes a tapered shaft with a first end and a second end, the second end closer to the friction stirring portion than the first end and having a larger diameter than the first end (see fig.9 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kandasamy (US20230311210A1) in view of Denison (US20140102159A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kandasamy discloses wherein the transition zone (see fig.23 above) includes a first inner wall positioned at a first acute angle with respect to the center axis of the rotational tool,
Regarding claims 2-3, Kandasamy does not disclose the plasticization zone includes a second inner wall positioned at a second acute angle with respect to the center axis of the rotational tool, and the first acute angle is larger than the second acute angle; and wherein the compression zone includes a third inner wall positioned at a third acute angle with respect to the center axis of the rotational tool, and the third acute angle is smaller than the second acute angle.
Denison discloses an extruder, comprising: a housing having transition zone includes a first inner wall (fig.10: (27)) positioned at a first acute angle with respect to a center axis (fig.10: (45)) of a rotational tool;
a second inner wall (fig.10: (35)) positioned at a second acute angle with respect to the center axis of the rotational tool, and the first acute angle is larger than the second acute angle; and
a third inner wall (fig.10: (27)) positioned at a third acute angle with respect to the center axis of the rotational tool, and the third acute angle is smaller than the second acute angle (paragraph 0053 and 0062).
Both of the prior arts of Kandasamy and Denison are related to an extruder;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of Kandasamy to have the configuration of the housing as taught by Denison, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having the plasticization zone includes a second inner wall positioned at a second acute angle with respect to the center axis of the rotational tool, and the first acute angle is larger than the second acute angle; and wherein the compression zone includes a third inner wall positioned at a third acute angle with respect to the center axis of the rotational tool, and the third acute angle is smaller than the second acute angle.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kandasamy (US20230311210A1) in view of Yoshikazu (JP2002254431A attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 5, Kandasamy discloses wherein the auger portion includes a shaft and the friction stirring portion includes a stepped spiral (fig.31) having a first end and a second end, the first end closer to the auger portion than the second end, the stepped spiral decreasing in diameter from the first end to the second end.
Kandasamy does not disclose wherein the auger portion includes an auger thread,
Yoshikazu teaches an extruder, comprising:
a rotational tool having an auger portion includes a shaft and an auger thread (fig.1: (36A)), and a stepped spiral (fig.1: (36B)) having a first end and a second end, the first end closer to the auger portion than the second end, the stepped spiral decreasing in diameter from the first end to the second end (fig.1).
Both of the prior arts of Kandasamy and Yoshikazu are related to an extruder;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotational tool of Kandasamy to have an auger thread as taught by Yoshikazu, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having wherein the auger portion includes a shaft and an auger thread, and the friction stirring portion includes a stepped spiral having a first end and a second end, the first end closer to the auger portion than the second end, the stepped spiral decreasing in diameter from the first end to the second end.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 14, the closet prior art is Kandasamy (US20230311210A1), however in the opinion of the Examiner that the arts of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitation of “wherein the auger portion and the friction stirring portion are configured to rotate at different speed” in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 17, the closet prior art is Kandasamy (US20230311210A1), however in the opinion of the Examiner that the arts of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitation of “rotating the auger portion of the rotational tool at a different speed than the friction stirring portion of the rotating too” in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Claim 18 is depended from claim 17.
Claims 14 and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725