DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8, 17, and 21-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/14/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 11-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without the specifics of claims 9 and 18, which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976).
In regard to claims 1 and 14, these claims are broad. So broad that they read on subject matter outside the scope of its own disclosure, which requires a rejection under 112(a) per In re Mayhew. This is show in the 102 rejection below.
The art is well developed, and the Examiner believes the applicant is trying to claim a particular light distribution. However, in order to properly capture a light distribution, the essential elements of the lighting device must be captured in the independent claim. The only claims in the application that capture all the required optical elements are claims 9 and 18, and they must be included in order for the application to be allowed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roth (US 2017/0074467 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Roth discloses a lighting fixture to illuminate a surface, the lighting fixture (Figure 5) comprising:
a first light source (440) configured to generate a first selected light color output; and
a second light source (460) configured to generate a second selected light color output;
wherein the first light source and the second light source are disposed adjacent to one another; and
wherein the first light source to project the first selected light color output towards a first region of the surface and the second light source to project the second selected light color output towards a second region of the surface (the surface is not positively recited in the preamble—a surface directly in front of this array would produce the gradient claimed); and
wherein a first peak intensity of the first light source and a second peak intensity of the second light source having an angle with respect to one another to produce a selected color gradient on the surface (this is very broad, and is a consequence of any two differently colored lights sitting next to each other). (Figure 5; see at least [0050] onward)
In regard to claim 2, Roth discloses the first and second light sources disposed horizontally adjacent to one another with respect to the surface.
In regard to claim 3, Roth discloses the first and second light sources disposed front to back adjacent to one another with respect to the surface.
In regard to claim 4, Roth discloses the angle between the first and second peak intensities occurs in a plane perpendicular to the projection surface and passing through the lighting fixture.
In regard to claim 11, Roth discloses the first and second light sources each include a light emitting diode (LED) or cluster of LED light sources.
In regard to claim 12, Roth discloses the LED light sources are selected from Red, Green, Blue, White, Amber, RGB, RGBW, and RGBA type LED or clusters of LEDs light sources.
In regard to claim 13, Roth discloses the selected color gradient is characterized by S-S-shaped curves representing percentages of the first color and second color projected onto the surface. (The Examiner could draw an “S” in the resulting color gradient along the boundary as these are two circular shapes distributions crossing each other.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, 14-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth (US 2017/0074467 A1).
In regard to claim 5, Roth fails to disclose the angle between the first and second peak intensities is between 5 and 25 degrees (inclusive). However, this angle is determined by the distance between light sources, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the distance between the light sources in order to optimize the resulting light distribution. This is a result effective variable.
In regard to claim 6 and 7, Roth fails to disclose the first peak intensity is characterized by an asymmetric beam having a beam spread that is 50 degrees or greater as measured by a full width tenth max (FWTM) metric in a plane perpendicular to the projection surface and passing through the lighting fixture, and as recited in claim 7, the second light source is characterized as having a beam spread of 25 degrees or less as measured using a full-width, half max (FWHM) metric in a plane perpendicular to the projection surface and passing through the lighting fixture.
However, this is routine beam shaping, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the beam shape in order to shape the resulting light distribution. This is a result effective variable.
In regard to claim 14, Roth discloses a lighting fixture to illuminate a surface, the lighting fixture (Figure 5) comprising:
a first light source (440) configured to generate a first selected light color output; and
a second light source (460) configured to generate a second selected light color output;
wherein the first light source and the second light source are disposed adjacent to one another; and
wherein the first light source to project the first selected light color output towards a first region of the surface and the second light source to project the second selected light color output towards a second region of the surface (the surface is not positively recited in the preamble—a surface directly in front of this array would produce the gradient claimed); and
wherein a first peak intensity of the first light source and a second peak intensity of the second light source having an angle with respect to one another to produce a selected color gradient on the surface (this is very broad, and is a consequence of any two differently colored lights sitting next to each other). (Figure 5; see at least [0050] onward)
Roth fails to disclose a housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a housing to light source of Roth in order to protect its components.
In regard to claim 15, Roth discloses the first and second light sources disposed horizontally adjacent to one another with respect to the surface.
In regard to claim 16, Roth discloses the first and second light sources disposed front to back adjacent to one another with respect to the surface.
In regard to claim 20, Roth discloses the first and second light sources each include a light emitting diode (LED) or cluster of LED light sources.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 18 and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Grassi (US 2015/0345749 A1) disclose a lighting system.
Radl et al (US 2015/0345742 A1) disclose a lighting device.
Caldon et al (US 2014/0177221 A1) disclose a lighting device.
Oepts et al (US 2023/0296223 A1) disclose an LED system.
Van De Sluis et al (US 2024/0142074 A1) disclose a lighting device.
/CHRISTOPHER E DUNAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875