Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by SON et al. (US Patent No. US 12200876 B2 and SON hereinafter)
Regarding claim 1, SON discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig below) an electronic device comprising: a housing (110 and 120) comprising a support (3231) and a side surface area (113) connected to or extending from the support, the side surface area being configured to provide at least a portion of a side surface of the electronic device (shows in fig.1); a display module (130) disposed on the housing, wherein the display module comprises a display comprising a rear surface supported by the support (fig.5), and an extension comprising a partial area disposed between the support and the display (display 400 partly extend from the side member 323 to the second space of housing 320) and a bent area (530) bent and extending from the display to the partial area; a support piece disposed in a recess provided in the support; and a frame (frame 340 and 350) coupled with the housing, wherein the frame comprises a first portion that covers a border area of the display and is exposed to outside, and a second portion extending from the first portion to a space between the bent area of the extension and the side surface area of the housing, the second portion configured to be inserted into a space between the support piece and the side surface area in the recess.
Regarding claim 3, SON discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig above) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a protrusion extending from the side surface area toward the support piece in a view from above a display area of the display, and wherein the protrusion is disposed in the recess and supports the support piece.
Regarding claim 4, SON discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig above) the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the second portion of the frame comprises a notch corresponding to the protrusion.
Regarding claim 5, SON discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig above) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the bent area of the extension is disposed between the first portion of the frame and the support piece.
Regarding claim 6, SON discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig above) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the bent area of the extension overlaps the support piece in a view from above a display area of the display, and wherein the support piece is spaced apart from the display module.
Regarding claim 7, SON discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig above) the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a first gluing member (adhesive member, not shown) disposed between the support piece and the housing.
Regarding claim 8, SON discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig above) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second portion of the frame is connected to the support piece.
Regarding claim 9, SON discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig above) the electronic device of claim1,wherein the second portion is coupled to the housing via a second gluing member (adhesive member, not shown) disposed in the recess.
Regarding claim 11, SON discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig) the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a display driving circuit disposed in the partial area of the extension disposed between the support and the display (fig.3).
Regarding claim 12, SON discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one conductive portion (510) comprised in the side surface area is electrically connected to a wireless communication circuit, and wherein the frame comprises a non-conductive material (polymer).
Regarding claim 13, SON discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a combination of the first portion and the side surface area provides a bezel (including 350 and 323) that at least partially surrounds a display area of the display in a view from above the display.
Regarding claim 14, SON discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the housing is a foldable housing configured to fold the display module.
Regarding claim 15, SON discloses (figs. 1-5 and annotated fig) the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a first housing (110), a second housing (120), and a hinge (165) interconnecting the first housing and the second housing, wherein the display comprises a first area (130a) disposed on the first housing, a second area (130b) disposed on the second housing, and a third area interconnecting the first area and the second area and located to correspond to the hinge, wherein the electronic device further comprises a first printed circuit board (171) disposed in the first housing, a second printed circuit board (172) disposed in the second housing, and a second flexible printed circuit board disposed across the hinge and electrically interconnecting the first printed circuit board and the second printed circuit board, wherein the extension of the display module extends from the second area, and wherein the display is electrically connected to the second printed circuit board via the extension (fig.3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art fails to disclose “wherein the recess comprises a first surface and a second surface facing the first surface and spaced apart from the first surface in a first direction by a second distance W2,wherein the support piece provides a third surface facing the first surface, wherein the third surface is spaced apart from the first surface in the first direction by a first distance smaller than the second distance, wherein a first space between the first surface and the third surface does not overlap a second space between the first surface and the second surface in a view from above a display area of the display, and wherein the second portion is inserted into the first space and the second space.”
Regarding claim 10, the prior art fails to disclose “ wherein the display module further comprises a first flexible printed circuit board electrically connected to the extension, wherein a partial area of the first flexible printed circuit board is disposed between the support and the display and coupled to the support via a third gluing member, and wherein the third gluing member does not overlap the support piece in a view from above a display area of the display.
However, the closet prior arts (Canales et al US 12507353 B2, Ewing et al US 12353246 B2 , FOURNIER et al US 20250060784 A1 and Barrett et al US 12079036 B2) when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al (US 12025870 B2)
Kock et al (US 20240064220 A1)
Lee et al (US 11893911 B2)
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841