DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 16, 17, and 18 recite a port capable of electrical, communication, and fluid transfer functionality. The specification fails to disclose the mechanical and electrical architecture of a connector that can integrate power transfer, communication/data lines, as well as fluid couplings within a single port. A person having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain the structural details for the interface of the port without undue experimentation.
Claims 4 and 6 recite a “removable dividing wall”. The specification discloses an insulated dividing wall between the left sub-compartment and the right sub-compartment, wherein the temperature of both sub-compartments can be set individually. The specification, however, fails to adequately describe the material specifications, thickness, or sealing mechanism of this dividing wall. A person having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to construct a removable dividing wall that would effectively prevent heat transfer between the two sub-compartments without undue experimentation, especially given that each sub-compartment is set two varying temperature zones (refrigerator and oven).
Claim 8 recites a Peltier element for adjusting the temperature in the galley system. The specification discloses oven-grade temperatures (typically 160 - 200°C). The specification lacks disclosure of specialized high-temperature thermoelectric materials required to reach and sustain such high temperature without failure of the solder joints in the Peltier element. A person having ordinary skill in the art would be required to engage in significant experimentation to identify a thermoelectric device that could function reliably at the disclosed thermal requirements for an oven-grade sub-compartment.
Claim 13 recites heating a galley floor using waste heat. While the specification describes routing waste heat from the galley system to a galley floor via a hot line (9), it fails to disclose the necessary structure that would enable one of ordinary skill in the art to implement this galley floor heating system without undue experimentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trumper et al. (US 11,111,021).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Trumper et al. discloses an aircraft galley compartment (104, 106), comprising: at least one port (32) accessible from an inside of the aircraft galley compartment and configured to connect to at least one compartment temperature adjusting unit (200), wherein the at least one port is configured to provide a connection to a temperature adjusting loop in which a heat exchanger fluid flows therethrough.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/VALENTINA XAVIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642