DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the application filed 1/29/2025.
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites many limitations which lack sufficient antecedent basis, including "the partially vaporized crude oil" in (c), "the plural trays" in (c), "the vapor stream" in (d), and many more. Claims 2-8 depend from claim 1 and are similarly rejected.
Claim 4 recites the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05.
Claim 5 recites the limitations "the liquid crude oil stream" and “the Heat exchanger network -3 (HEN3)”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitations "the stripping section” and “the new separation section". There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the bottom tray of section. It is unclear in the claim to what “section” refers.
Claim 9 recites many limitations which lack sufficient antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagarathinam (WO 2015107539) in view of Kumar (US 2023/0045380), Cabbage (US 3,301,778), and Amale (US 2014/0353138).
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagarathinam (WO 2015107539) in view of Kumar (US 2023/0045380), Cabbage (US 3,301,778), Amale (US 2014/0353138), and Ji (US 7,172,686).
With respect to claims 1 and 9, Nagarathinam (WO 2015107539) teaches (a)-(c) “[c]rude Oil through a conduit 24, having full hydrocarbon range and being at a temperature between 30 - 80 °C, is conveyed through the cold pre-heat train 2 to produce pre-heated crude oil from the conduit 26 having temperature between 140 °C - 160 °C. The pre-heated crude oil from the conduit 26 is desalted in the desalter 4. The desalted crude oil from the conduit 28 is passed through the hot pre heat train 6 to provide a heated crude oil from the conduit 30 having temperature between 160 °C - 190 °C. The heated crude oil from the conduit 30 is received at the pre-flash drum 8. At the pre-flash drum 8, the heated crude oil from the conduit 30 is split into crude hydrocarbon vapours and crude hydrocarbon liquid which are conveyed through the conduits 74 and 54 respectively.” Pg. 9-10. The flash drum is a two phase separation vessel which includes pressure reduction. (d)-(f) The vapors 74 are cooled in a condenser unit and separated in a three phase separator unit to produce a second vapor which is passed to the distillation column in the flash zone. Pg. 10. (g) “The liquid hydrocarbon phase from the conduit 48 is then heated in a heater 16 [and] is fed to the crude distillation column 22.” (h)-(j) “The crude hydrocarbon liquid through the conduit 54 from the operative bottom of the pre-flash drum 8 is conveyed through the hot pre-heat train 18 to obtain pre-heated crude hydrocarbon liquid through the conduit 56 having temperature between 240°C - 260°C. The pre-heated crude hydrocarbon liquid through the conduit 56 is received at the furnace 20 to produce a heated crude hydrocarbon liquid through the conduit 58 having temperature between 370°C - 395°C. This heated crude hydrocarbon liquid through the conduit 58 is fed at the flash zone of the crude distillation column 22.” Pg. 11. The fractionator produces overhead, residue, and distillate fractions. Figure. “The residual crude oil though the conduit 70 is sent to a Vacuum Distillation Unit (not shown in the Figure 2).” Pg. 11. Steam stripping and trays are known for improving separation of crude oil. Before the filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to and it would have been obvious to mix water with the desalted crude oil and/or include steam and trays in the first vapor-liquid separation step to improve separation of the light components from the liquid crude oil. The process is designed to reduce corrosion in the overhead and maintain column reliability.
The art fails to disclose (k) – (n) further treatment of the overhead and side streams. Kumar (US 20230045380), directed to crude distillation, discloses “a method for crude petroleum oil processing in Crude Distillation Unit is provided to eliminate the stripping steam in an Atmospheric Distillation Column.” Abstract. The process includes: (a) “Crude petroleum oil (1) is heated in a HEN1 in the temperature range of 110-140° C and fed to desalter (2), where it comes in contact with water to remove the water-soluble salt;” [0050], [0018]
“b) heating the desalted crude oil in Heat Exchanger Network (HEN2)” [0019] “preferably in the temperature range of 160-250° C;” [0035], also [0050] (c) “and routing the partially vaporized crude oil (3) to two phases separating vessel (4);” [0019], [0050]
(e) “c) superheating hydrocarbon vapour (7) from the vessel (4) to form superheated hydrocarbon vapour (7B) using the hot process steam and external heating sources;” [0020], [0036] (f) “injecting the superheated hydrocarbon vapour (7B) to the stripping section (10) of atmospheric distillation column (8) having the plurality of trays to generate the different distillates, overhead vapour (15) and long residue stream (18),” [0022], “into either the bottom tray of the striping section (10) or a tray between the bottom tray and flash zone (9) of the atmospheric distillation column (8),” [0054];
(h) “heating the liquid crude oil stream (5) obtained from the vessel (4) in the Heat Exchanger Network (HEN3) in the temperature range of 270-330° C and fed to a fired furnace (F1) for its heating in the temperature range of 360-390° C;” [0021] (i) “routing of partially vaporized crude oil (6) to flash zone (9) of atmospheric distillation column (8) having the plurality of trays;” [0022] and (j) fractionating the streams in the ADC to generate distillates, overhead, and long residue; [0050]-[0052]
(k) “cooling the overhead vapour (15) using condenser (E-1) and fed to vessel (V1) to separate vapour (16) and liquid (reflux) which is routed to atmospheric distillation column (8)” and “routing the vapour (16) and water stream (16A) to cooler (E-2) for cooling in the temperature range of 35-50° C and feeding stream (16B) to vessel (V2) to separate unstabilized naphtha (17) and vapour stream (20);” [0023]-[0024] and (l) “routing the vapour (16) and water stream (16A) to cooler (E-2) for cooling in the temperature range of 35-50° C. and feeding stream (16B) to vessel (V2) to separate unstabilized naphtha (17) and vapour stream,” [0024] “compressing the vapour stream (20) using compressor (CP-1) and cooling the compressed vapour in the temperature range of 35-50° C using cooler (E-3),” [0025] and subjecting the cooled stream (20A) to vessel (V3) to separate the liquid as stream (22) and noncondensed vapour as stream (21),” [0026];
(m) “subjecting the unstabilized naphtha (17) from step (g) and liquid stream (22) from step (i) to distillation column (15) to produce the LPG product, Light Naphtha (LN) product and vapour stream (23);” [0027] and (n) “passing the heavy naphtha and kerosene distillates from the different tray of distillation column (8) to the side strippers (11 and 12) respectively to remove lighter hydrocarbon and to obtain heavy naphtha (HN) and kerosene products,” [0029] and “routing the Light and Heavy Gas Oil (LGO and HGO) distillates obtained from the different tray of distillation column (8) to vessel (13A) and vessel (14A) respectively through their respective pressure-reducing valves (FIG. 2.) or routing the LGO and HGO distillates to heaters E- 6 and E-7 respectively prior to their routing to vessel (13A) and vessel (14A) (FIG. Figure-3) or routing the LGO and HGO distillates to respective reboiled strippers (13B) and reboiled strippers (14B) (FIG. Figure-4) to remove dissolved lighter hydrocarbon;” [0030]
(p) “heating the long residue stream (18) along with coil steam in a furnace (F3);” [0032], [0053] and (q) “processing the partially vaporized crude (19) in a Vacuum Distillation Column (VDC) to obtaine the vaccum distillates and residue products.” [0032]
Therefore, before the filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nagarathinam by further treating the overhead and side streams as taught in Kumar because both are directed to atmospheric distillation of crude oil with preflash, Kumar teaches downstream treatment of the overhead and side streams produced in Nagarathinam, and such combination would have combined known elements to merely obtain predictable results.
Nagarathinam is silent with respect to (o) – (q) processing the long residue stream in a vessel having a plurality of trays before routing to the furnace and vacuum column and (p) routing the vapor stream from the vessel to the bottom of the atmospheric column. Cabbage (US 3,301,778) discloses “fractional distillation of crude oil by use of live steam in which topped crude in the fractionator is sent to a vacuum unit and before entry into said unit is mixed with steam, the mixture is steam stripped to recover a mixture of gas oil and steam which mixture is returned to the fractionator at or 'below the input of the crude oil to dilute the crude oil and increase the recovery of lighter hydrocarbons from said crude oil, some of which are separated at a point intermediate of the fractionator and passed to a steam side stripper, the overhead of which returns steam and lighter hydrocarbons to the fractionator and the bottom flow of which is controlled by means responsive to temperature in the area from which the feed is taken from the fractionator while the flow of intermediate hydrocarbon from the fractionator to the stripper is controlled by means responsive to the level of liquid in said stripper.” Col. 1, lines 56+. Benefits of stripping the long residue include improved stripping of light components from crude and increased distillate production. Col. 2.
Amale (US 2014/0353138), directed to crude oil distillation, also discloses passing long residue to a flash column prior to vacuum distillation. The long residue is preflashed to recover vapor and liquid, the liquid is passed alone to the furnace and distillation column. [0023] By placing the preflash upstream of the furnace, “the preflashed vapor bypasses the vacuum furnace, the total heat input into the HVU feed is less compared to the conventional line-up without preflash drum” resulting n energy savings. [0014]
Therefore, before the filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nagarathinam by stripping a vapor fraction of the long residue prior to vacuum distillation as taught in Cabbage wherein the stripping occurs prior to heating in the furnace as taught in Amale because all are directed to distillation of crude oil, Cabbage teaches that recovering lighter fraction of hydrocarbons and returning to the atmospheric fractionator provides the benefit of increasing recovery of distillates and of improving stripping and recovery of hydrocarbons from the long residue, Amale teaches that separating prior to heating in the furnace provides the benefit of reduced heat of the VDU furnace and corresponding energy savings, and combining the known elements would require known steps and produce predictable results.
Regarding the second separator of claim 9, Nagarathinam discloses a second separation vessel which is a three phase vessel. With respect to claim 1, Nagarathinam fails to disclose wherein the second separation vessel is two-phase. However, Nagrathinam also teaches sending the entire stream without further separation (figure 1). Ji (US 7,172,686), directed to increasing distillates yield in crude oil distillation, teaches a series of preflash separation steps wherein the desalted crude oil is passed to first two-phase flash drum and the vapor is passed to a second two-phase flash drum. The stream and liquid are separately passed to the atmospheric distillation column.
Therefore, before the filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a two-phase flash drum as taught in Ji for the three phase separator of Nagarathinam because both are directed to preflash of crude oil prior to distillation, the art teaches sending all of the first vapor (no second separator) or a portion of the first vapor (with separation) to the distillation column, and substitution of two phase for three phase separation would merely apply known elements using known methods to provide an alternative means of supplying the vapor to the distillation column.
With respect to claim 2, Kumar teaches heating the water and oil to a temperature of e.g. 185C. [0084]
With respect to claim 3, Kumar teaches using stripping gas in the vapor liquid separator (4). Figures.
With respect to claim 4, Kumar teaches superheating the vapor stream to a temperature range of 300-380 C using high-pressure steam or furnace. [0036]
With respect to claim 5, Kumar teaches heating the liquid stream in the temperature range of 270-330° C by using a heat exchanger network and in the temperature range of 360-390° C by the fired furnace. [0054]
With respect to claim 6, Kumar teaches the overhead vapor is cooled using a condenser to a temperature from 85 °C to 125 °C. [0055]
With respect to claim 7, Kumar teaches wherein the long residue along with furnace coil steam is heated in a furnace (F3) in the temperature range of 390-430° C. [0053]
With respect to claim 8, Kumar teaches “[b]ottom stripping steam 9 is fed at the bottom of the column to minimize the gas oil range fraction in the residue 17.” [0044]
Conclusion
/BRANDI M DOYLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1771