DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cross-shaped valve (claim 25) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haussmann et al. (German Patent Publication DE102020213093A1, “Haussmann”).
Regarding claim 13, Haussmann discloses a thermal management module (40, fig 2) for an electric vehicle (¶0001), wherein the thermal management module is configured to be placed in a cooling circuit (20) in an electric vehicle, and wherein the thermal management module is configured to regulate or control the flow of a coolant in the cooling circuit (¶0030), wherein the thermal management module comprises at least one regulator (42, 30), wherein the at least one regulator is configured to regulate or control the flow of the coolant through at least one heat sink (see ¶0015).
Regarding claim 14, Haussmann further discloses wherein the at least one heat sink is a predetermined component (¶0015).
Regarding claim 15, Haussmann further discloses wherein the at least one regulator (42, 30) is configured to reverse a flow direction of the coolant through at least one part of the cooling circuit (¶0031).
Regarding claim 16, Haussmann further discloses wherein the at least one regulator (42, 30) is a valve (42).
Regarding claim 17, Haussmann, in annotated embodiment (fig 5), further discloses wherein the at least one regulator (30, 46) is a pump (30) with a check valve (46).
Regarding claim 18, Haussmann, in another embodiment (fig 8), further discloses wherein the at least one heat sink (50) is an electric motor (at least for operating the fan).
Regarding claim 19, Haussmann further discloses at least one bypass, wherein the at least one bypass (see annotated fig 2 below) is configured to circumvent at least one predetermined element (see annotated fig 2 below).
Regarding claim 20, Haussmann further discloses a cooling circuit for an electric vehicle (¶0002), comprising at least one thermal management module according to claim 13.
Regarding claim 21, Haussmann discloses a method for cooling a battery for a quick charging process of an electric vehicle (see ¶0012), comprising the following steps:
b) detecting a starting point of a quick charging process (see ¶0012),
d) activating a coolant flow through at least one heat sink (see ¶0015),
e) detecting an end point of the quick charging process (see ¶0026-0027), and
g) deactivating the coolant flow through the at least one heat sink (see ¶0026-0027).
Regarding claim 22, Haussmann further discloses the following steps:
c) a first reversal of a flow direction of the coolant (fig 2, ¶0031), and
f) a second reversal of the flow direction of the coolant, wherein the first reversal of the flow direction of the coolant takes place after step (a) detecting the starting point of the quick charging process and after the second reversal of the flow direction of the coolant takes place after step (e) (see ¶0026-0027).
Regarding claim 23, Haussmann further discloses the following step:
a) detecting at least one starting state parameter (“charging state”) that characterizes a starting state and outputting information characterizing the starting state (see ¶0026-0027).
Regarding claim 24, Haussmann further discloses wherein the at least one starting state parameter, which characterizes a starting state, is a charging state of the battery (see ¶0026-0027)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hausmann as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Kang (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0038568, “Kang”).
Regarding claim 25, Hausmann discloses all previous claim limitations. However, Hausmann does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one regulator is a cross-shaped valve. Kang, however, discloses a regulator for refrigerant (fig 1, ¶0002) which is a cross-shaped valve. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Hausmann to provide the valve of Kang in order to allow for more operation modes (see ¶0078-0081).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hausmann as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Kleinschuster (German Patent Publication DE102020109853A1).
Regarding claim 26, Haussmann further discloses wherein the pump is a centrifugal pump. However, Hausmann does not explicitly disclose wherein the pump is a centrifugal pump. Kleinschuster, however, discloses a thermal management module wherein the pump is a centrifugal pump (¶0006). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Hausmann to provide the pump of Kleinschuster in order to optimize the movement of the fluid.
Conclusion
/HARRY E ARANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763