Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 requires “executing one or more algorithms in a memory of the digital data processor to improve the function of the processor to enable it to perform the steps of: …”
This claim language appears to state that an unspecified one or more algorithms are being executed in a memory of a data processor itself that improves the functioning of the data processor in such a way that the data processor, after execution of the “one or more algorithms,” is enabled to perform the claimed steps.
Examiner requests that Applicant identify, with citations to the specification as originally filed, support for the claimed “one or more algorithms” that are executed in the data processor that “improve the function of the processor.” Examiner has reviewed the specification and can find no language describing any such improvement to the architecture or computational processing ability of a data processor. Examiner can find no discussion whatsoever about how the functioning of a processor is improved over processors without the ”one or more algorithms.”
Claim 9 includes language requiring “a word processing system operating on a first data processor that improves the function of the data processor to enable it to …,” “a metadata generator operating on the first data processor that improves the function of the data processor to enable it to …” and “a metadata analysis system operating on a second processor remote from the first processor that improves the function of the second processor to enable it to…”
Examiner requests that Applicant identify, with citations to the specification as filed, support for the claimed “word processor system,” “metadata generator,” and “metadata analysis system” that “improve the functioning of” the respective data processor in such a way that the “improvement” enables the respective data processor to perform the claimed step. Examiner has reviewed the specification and can find no language describing any such improvement to the architecture or computational processing ability of a data processor. Examiner can find no discussion in the specification as filed describing how a processor is “improved.”
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention
Claim 1 contains the limitation “executing one or more algorithms in a memory of the digital data processor to improve the function of the processor to enable it to perform the steps of: … ”
This limitation includes the element “the processor.” While “a digital data processor” has been previously introduced in the claims, the “digital data processor” is subsequently referred to as “the digital data processor,” it is unclear whether “the processor” is the same as “the digital data processor.”
Claims 1 and 9 contain the pronoun “it.” The use of pronouns in claims renders a claim indefinite because it is not explicitly clear which claimed element the pronoun refers to.
Applicant is reminded to refer to claimed elements consistently and by name throughout the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a mental process without significantly more.
Independent claim 1 recites:
“A method of analyzing text data using a digital data processor operating under algorithmic control, comprising:
Executing one or more algorithms in a memory of the digital data processor to improve the functioning of the processor to enable it to perform the steps of:
detecting a plurality of actions of an author during creation of a plurality of document data files using the digital data processor;
generating an author profile containing a metadata log data of the plurality of actions using the digital data processor;
analyzing a new document data file using the author profile to identify one or more actions that fall outside of an authorized action profile using the digital data processor by performing a statistical closeness analysis to determine whether statistics data for the author profile matches stored statistical data for the author;
generating a report that identifies the one or more actions using the digital data processor.”
This is a mental process because the claims are directed to data observation (detecting actions) and data evaluation (generating a metadata log file, analyzing the metadata log, and generating a report) steps. Data observation and data evaluation steps are able to be performed by a human mind or a human using a generic computer.
The claim recites an additional element beyond data observation and data evaluation steps in the form of “a digital data processor.”
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claimed additional element does not appear to improve the processing of a computer, require the use of a specific machine, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or provide a technological solution to a technological problem.
The “digital data processor” is recited at a high level of generality. It appears to be generic computing hardware elements. The recitation of generic hardware is little more than using a computer to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
It is noted that none of the additional elements appear to improve the processing of a computer, require the use of a specific machine, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or provide a technological solution to a technological problem. As such, none of the additional elements appear to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
None of the additional elements are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, in part or in whole.
The recitation of generic hardware of the “digital data processor” is little more than using a computer to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
None of the additional elements, in part or in whole, appear to improve the processing of a computer, require the use of a particular machine, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or add a specific limitation other than what is well understood, routine, or conventional. As such, none of the additional elements appears to be, in part or in whole, significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 2-8 are similarly rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed towards a mental process. There are no additional elements in the dependent claims. Each is directed to merely additional data definition, data observation, and data analysis steps. It is noted that the claimed data definitions and data analysis and extraction steps do not appear to include additional elements that incorporate the claimed subject matter into a practical application. The dependent claims also do not include additional elements that, in part or in whole, appear to be significantly more than the abstract idea.
Independent claim 9 recites:
“A system for determining original content in a document, comprising:
a word processing system operating on a first data processor that improves the function of the data processor to enable it to generate a document file in response to a user input;
a metadata generator operating on the first data processor that improves the function of the data processor to enable it to generate a log file containing a plurality of metadata at a plurality of points during the generation of the document file; and
a metadata analysis system operating on a second processor remote from the first processor that improves the function of the second processor to enable it to receive the document file and the metadata file and to statistically analyze the document file using the metadata file and an author profile containing data from a plurality of metadata log files of the author to generate an authorship authentication metric that identifies whether the document file was generated by a specific user.”
This is a mental process because the claims are directed to data evaluation (generating a log file, analyzing the document file and metadata log, and generating an authorship authentication metric) steps. Data evaluation steps are able to be performed by a human mind or a human using a generic computer.
The claim recites additional elements in the form of “a word processing system” and a first “data processor” and second “processor.”
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because none of the additional elements appear to improve the processing of a computer, require the use of a specific machine, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or provide a technological solution to a technological problem.
The “data processor” and “processor” are recited at a high level of generality. They may be, at best, generic computing hardware elements. The recitation of generic hardware is little more than using a computer to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). The “word processing system” appears to be a generic word processing application that one may use to generate documents and does not appear to improve the processing of a computer or provide a technological solution to a technological problem.
It is noted that none of the additional elements appear to improve the processing of a computer, require the use of a specific machine, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or provide a technological solution to a technological problem. As such, none of the additional elements appear to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
None of the additional elements are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, in part or in whole.
The recitation of generic hardware of the “data processors” little more than using a computer to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). The “word processing system” is generically recited and defined solely by its output, notably, generating a document in response to a user input. Generic “Word Processor” applications, as of the earliest filing date, were well known, routine, and conventional in the art (see Capps (US Pre-Grant Publication 2002/0111813, paragraph [0005], and Sotomayor (US Patent 5,963,205, 31: 47-67, both of which discuss the existence of conventional word processors). As such, the inclusion of a generic word processing application in the claims is insufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, in part or as a whole.
Dependent claims 10-17 are similarly rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed towards a mental process. There are no additional elements in the dependent claims. Each is directed to merely additional data definition, data observation, and data analysis steps. It is noted that the claimed data definitions and data analysis and extraction steps do not appear to include additional elements that incorporate the claimed subject matter into a practical application. The dependent claims also do not include additional elements that, in part or in whole, appear to be significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6 and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bitton et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2024/0296288) in view of Amigud et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0061254).
As to claim 1, Bitton teaches a method of analyzing text data using a digital data processor operating under algorithmic control, comprising:
Executing one or more algorithms in a memory of the digital processor (see Bitton paragraph [0031]) to improve the function of the processor to enable it to perform the steps of:
detecting a plurality of actions of an author during creation of a plurality of document data files using the digital data processor (see Bitton paragraph [0009], generally. Also see paragraphs [0037]-[0038] and Figure 2, which show actions that are tracked and categorized by action type. These actions are indicative of document creation. Bitton paragraph [0031] describes how the methods of the disclosure of Bitton may be performed on a computer, notably one including a processor and a memory);
generating an author profile containing metadata log file of the plurality of actions using the digital data processor (see Bitton paragraphs [0037]-[0038] and Figure 2. Bitton explicitly creates a metadata log which includes entries tracking different inputs to a computer during a writing session, including the device type of input, output such as a key press or movement action, and timing of input. Bitton paragraph [0031] describes how the methods of the disclosure of Bitton may be performed on a computer, notably one including a processor and a memory);
analyzing a new document data file using the author profile to identify one or more actions that fall outside of an authorized action portfolio using the digital data processor (see Bitton paragraphs [0049]-[0050]. Bitton explicitly discusses how the functionality of Bitton may be used to “determine whether the text was written by a specific person.” This function is described in the context of a “plagiarism checker” (paragraph [0049]) that uses the metadata logs of Bitton as described earlier).
…
generating a report that identifies the one or more actions using the digital data processor (see Bitton Figure 5 and paragraphs [0047]-[0050], wherein a report is generated that provides various statistics regarding the document creation process and a conclusion stating whether the document was produced by a human and how original the document is. Bitton paragraph [0031] describes how the methods of the disclosure of Bitton may be performed on a computer, notably one including a processor and a memory).
Bitton does not explicitly teach:
by performing a statistical closeness analysis to determine whether statistics data for the author profile matches stored statistical data for the author.
Amigud teaches:
analyzing a new document data file using the author profile to identify one or more actions that fall outside of an authorized action portfolio using the digital data processor by performing a statistical closeness analysis to determine whether statistics data for the author profile matches stored statistical data for the author (see paragraphs [0031], [0076], and [0084]. Amigud describes a “learner” who produces “artifacts.” The “learner” is mapped to the claimed “author.” The “artifact” includes textual content, see Amigud paragraph [0037]. As noted in paragraph [0076], Amigud discusses the creation of a profile for a learner based on the learner’s personally identifiable information and learner-produced content. “Learning activities” are monitored and collected, see paragraphs [0024]-[0025]. A new “artifact” is received during an analysis phase. Features are extracted from the new artifact and compared to the user profile and previous learner artifacts, see [0076]. Based on this comparison, or “statistical closeness analysis,” a report is produced showing a confidence level “that the learner claiming to have produced the artifact is the same learner who actually” produced the artifact, see paragraph [0076]. Paragraph [0084] indicates that feature vectors may be used for such comparison. A comparison of feature vectors is a “statistical closeness analysis”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Bitton by the teachings of Amigud because both references are directed toward an idea of verifying authorship of a creative work. Amigud provides to Bitton additional techniques to automate identity and authorship validation tasks, providing reviewers of authorship better control of academic integrity aspects of a learning process (see Amigud paragraph [0018]).
As to claim 2, Bitton as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of actions comprise at least two of the following:
keystroke timing, keystroke cycling, keystroke errors, keystroke corrections, mouse clicking, mouse movement, touch screen input, accessing external material, copying external material, accessing preexisting audio screen data, accessing preexisting data, playing preexisting audio, playing captured video, playing captured audio data, speaking audio that is configured to be translated into text and speaking audio that can be used to establish speaker identity (see Bitton paragraphs [0037]-[0038] and Figure 2).
As to claim 3, Bitton teaches as modified by Amigud the method of claim 1, wherein the report comprises certificate indicating author originality of the document (see Bitton paragraphs [0046] and [0049] and Figure 5. Alternatively, see Amigud paragraph [0076]).
As to claim 4, Bitton as modified teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising providing a measure of at least one of original data of the author and non-original data of the author (see Bitton paragraph [0049] and Figure 5. The report shown in Figure 5 includes a measure of a percentage of how original a document is).
As to claim 5, Bitton as modified by Amigud teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising providing a measure of data generated directly by the author (see Bitton paragraph [0047] and Figure 5. Alternatively, see Amigud paragraph [0076]).
As to claim 6, Bitton as modified teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising providing a measure of data externally accessed during creation of the document whether such data appears in the analyzed document (see Bitton paragraph [0049] and Figure 5).
As to claim 8, Bitton as modified teaches the method of claim 1, wherein analyzing the metadata log data file comprises weighting at least one of the actions in providing the report (see Bitton paragraph [0042]).
As to claim 9, Bitton teaches a system for determining original content in a document, comprising:
a word processing system operating on a first data processor that improves the function of the data processor to enable it to generate a document file in response to a user input (see Bitton paragraph [0009], [0031], and [0037]-[0038] and Figure 2 and the rejection of claim 1);
a metadata generator operating on the first data processor that improves the function of the data processor to enable it to generate a log file containing a plurality of metadata at a plurality of points during the generation of the document file (see Bitton paragraph [0009] and [0037]-[0038] and Figure 2 and the rejection of claim 1); and
a metadata analysis system … to receive the document file and the metadata file and to statistically analyze the document file using the metadata file and an author profile containing data from a plurality of metadata log data files of the author to generate an authorship authentication metric that identifies whether the document file was generated by a specific user (see Bitton Figure 5 and paragraphs [0038] and [0047]-[0050] and the rejection of claim 1).
Bitton does not explicitly teach:
a metadata analysis system operating on a second processor remote from the first processor that improves the function of the second processor to enable it to receive the document file and the metadata file and to statistically analyze the document file using the metadata file and an author profile containing data from a plurality of metadata log data files of the author to generate an authorship authentication metric that identifies whether the document file was generated by a specific user.
Amigud teaches:
a metadata analysis system operating on a second processor remote from the first processor that improves the function of the second processor to enable it to receive the document file and the metadata file and to statistically analyze the document file using the metadata file and an author profile containing data from a plurality of metadata log data files of the author to generate an authorship authentication metric that identifies whether the document file was generated by a specific user (see Amigud paragraphs [0110] and [0103]-[0104] Figure 6. Notably, a user may produce an artifact on computing device 132 and submit the artifact to system 140 of Figure 6. The artifact is then analyzed on system 60 of Figure 6 to determine authorship. As noted in the rejection of claim 1 above, Amigud teaches a statistical analysis in view of metadata and an author profile to authenticate author at paragraphs [0031], [0076] and [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Bitton by the teachings of Amigud because both references are directed toward an idea of verifying authorship of a creative work. Amigud provides to Bitton additional techniques to automate identity and authorship validation tasks, providing reviewers of authorship better control of academic integrity aspects of a learning process (see Amigud paragraph [0018]).
As to claim 10, Bitton as modified by Amigud teaches the system of claim 9 wherein the metadata analysis system further comprises a keystroke analysis system operating on the second processor that configures the second processor to extract keystroke metadata from the metadata file and to perform a statistical analysis of the keystroke metadata and the author profile to determine whether the keystroke metadata exceeds a threshold (see Bitton paragraphs [0038] and [0041] and [0044]. See Amigud paragraphs [0031], [0076], [0084], and [0110] and Figure 6 for performing remote statistical analyses in view of a user’s behavior).
As to claim 11, Bitton as modified teaches the system of claim 9 wherein the metadata analysis system further comprises a mouse analysis system operating on the second processor that configures the second processor to extract mouse metadata from the metadata file and to perform a statistical analysis of the mouse metadata and the author profile to determine whether the mouse metadata exceeds a threshold (see Bitton paragraphs [0038] and [0041] and [0044]. See Amigud paragraphs [0031], [0076], [0084], and [0110] and Figure 6 for performing remote statistical analyses in view of a user’s behavior).
As to claim 12, Bitton as modified teaches the system of claim 9 wherein the metadata analysis system further comprises an editing analysis system operating on the second processor that configures the second processor to extract editing metadata from the metadata file and to perform a statistical analysis of the editing metadata and the author profile to determine whether the editing metadata exceeds a threshold (see Bitton paragraphs [0038]-[0039] and [0044]. See Amigud paragraphs [0031], [0076], and [0084] and Figure 6 for performing remote statistical analyses in view of a user’s behavior).
As to claim 13, Bitton as modified teaches the system of claim 9 wherein the metadata analysis system further comprises a platform monitor system operating on the second processor that configures the second processor to extract platform metadata from the metadata file and to perform a statistical analysis of the platform metadata and the author profile to determine whether the platform metadata exceeds a threshold (see Bitton paragraphs [0041]-[0042] and [0044]. See Amigud paragraphs [0031], [0076], and [0084] and Figure 6 for performing remote statistical analyses in view of a user’s behavior).
As to claim 14, Bitton as modified teaches the system of claim 9 wherein the metadata analysis system further comprises a keystroke analysis system operating on the second processor that configures the second processor to extract keystroke metadata from the metadata file and to perform a statistical analysis of the keystroke metadata and the author profile to determine whether keystroke statistics match stored keystroke statistics (see Bitton paragraphs [0038] and [0041] and [0044]. See Amigud paragraphs [0031], [0076], and [0084] and Figure 6 for performing remote statistical analyses in view of a user’s behavior).
As to claim 15, Bitton as modified teaches the system of claim 9 wherein the metadata analysis system further comprises a mouse analysis system operating on the second processor that configures the second processor to extract mouse metadata from the metadata file and to perform a statistical analysis of the mouse metadata and the author profile to determine whether mouse movement statistics match stored mouse movement statistics (see Bitton paragraphs [0038] and [0041] and [0044]. See Amigud paragraphs [0031], [0076], and [0084] and Figure 6 for performing remote statistical analyses).
As to claim 16, Bitton as modified teaches the system of claim 9 wherein the metadata analysis system further comprises an editing analysis system operating on the second processor that configures the second processor to extract editing metadata from the metadata file and to perform a statistical analysis of the editing metadata and the author profile to determine whether editing statistics match stored editing statistics (see Bitton paragraphs [0038]-[0039] and [0044]. See Amigud paragraphs [0031], [0076], and [0084] and Figure 6 for performing remote statistical analyses in view of a user’s behavior).
As to claim 17, Bitton as modified teaches the system of claim 9 wherein the metadata analysis system further comprises a platform monitor system operating on the second processor that configures the second processor to extract platform metadata from the metadata file and to perform a statistical analysis of the platform metadata and the author profile to determine whether platform statistics match stored platform statistics (see Bitton paragraphs [0041]-[0042] and [0044]. See Amigud paragraphs [0031], [0076], and [0084] and Figure 6 for performing remote statistical analyses in view of a user’s behavior).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bitton et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2024/0296288) in view of Amigud et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0061254) in view of Talley et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0020170).
As to claim 7, Bitton teaches the method of claim 1.
Bitton does not teach further comprising providing an option for the author to stipulate use for non-original data in the document.
Talley teaches further comprising providing an option for the author to stipulate use for non-original data in the document (see paragraph [0013]. An author may permit other users to add content to a document via collaboration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified Bitton by the teachings of Talley because Talley provides the benefit of giving an author greater control over content that may be included in a document. This will increase options for a user in generating and including additional content.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
35 USC 101 Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that “In regard to the rejection of claims 1-17 under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a mental process without significantly more, claim 1 has been amended to address the noted informalities. For example, claim 1 includes executing one or more algorithms in a memory of the digital data processor to improve the function of the processor to enable it to perform the claimed steps, which are novel and non-obvious over the prior art and which are therefore not routine or conventional.”
Applicant appears to be arguing that simply because the claimed steps are executed in a generic computing environment, the claims are rendered patent eligible in view of 35 USC 101. This is incorrect.
As noted in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III C, “claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer.
The Supreme Court recognized this in Benson, determining that a mathematical algorithm for converting binary coded decimal to pure binary within a computer’s shift register was an abstract idea. The Court concluded that the algorithm could be performed purely mentally even though the claimed procedures "can be carried out in existing computers long in use, no new machinery being necessary." 409 U.S at 67, 175 USPQ at 675. See also Mortgage Grader, 811 F.3d at 1324, 117 USPQ2d at 1699 (concluding that concept of "anonymous loan shopping" recited in a computer system claim is an abstract idea because it could be "performed by humans without a computer").”
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III C 1-3 further elaborate on the idea that a claim may still be directed towards an abstract idea despite the use of a generic machine. Thus, though the claimed functions are not performed solely in a human mind, the detecting, generating, and analyzing steps may be performed by a human with a generic computer.
The inclusion of the “generating a report” of the analysis step appears to be simply preparing an analysis report. It is noted that this report is never output in any fashion. As such, simply preparing a report is a mental process that a human being may perform using a generic computer.
In response to the conclusion that the claimed steps are “novel and non-obvious over the prior art and which are therefore not routine or conventional,” it is noted that the claims remain obvious in view of the prior art.
Applicant argues that “the claimed inventions provide specific algorithmic processes for detecting plagiarism. As discussed at [0039] of the specification as filed, "the key cadence and duration can be used to determine whether the key cadence or other statistics discussed and disclosed herein match a biometric signature of the claimed author of the document... a suitable statistical analysis technique can be used to determine a statistical distance or other "closeness" metric. . ." Unlike the prior art processes that train a neural network at great cost and which can still miss important indicators of plagiarism, the algorithm implemented by the improved processors can use a local statistical analysis and do not require expensive and power- hungry artificial intelligence systems that have to be specifically trained. The savings in time, processing power and energy required to accomplish the practical application demonstrates that the claims are not directed to a mental process and that they improve the function of a processor. Withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.”
In response to this argument, as noted in the citation to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III C above, simply performing specific algorithmic steps on a generic computer does not in and of itself improve the functioning of the computer in view of 35 USC 101.
Regardless, Examiner requests that Applicant cite to the portion of the specification as filed that describes the “improved processors.” Examiner additionally notes that nothing in the claims describes the nature of these “improvements” over conventional computer processors.
While Applicant appears to argue that the lack of “expensive and power-hungry artificial intelligence systems that have to be specifically trained,” it is noted that nothing in the claims (nor, to the Examiner’s knowledge, the specification) prohibits the use of artificial intelligence systems to perform any of the claimed steps. While the specification appears directed toward the identification of LLM use by an individual, nothing in the specification appears to prohibit the use of any “artificial intelligence system” to perform the claimed steps, as argued. Additionally, the claims do not exclude the use of “artificially intelligence systems.”
Applicant is reminded that unclaimed features from the specification receive no patentable weight until claimed.
Applicant’s remaining arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHARLES D ADAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165