DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 2/13/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-7, 11, 13-14, and 16 have been amended. Claim 12 has been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-11 and 13-16 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 11, and 13 being independent.
The objections to Claims 1-7 and 14 have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
The Statutory Double Patenting rejection of Claim 12 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment cancelling Claim 12.
The Nonstatutory Double Patenting rejection of Claims 1-11 and 13-16 has been withdrawn in view of the filing of a Terminal Disclaimer.
The rejections of Claims 11-12, 14, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claims 2-7 have the status identifier “currently amended”, however no changes are marked in any of these claims, and the text of each of these claims appears unchanged from the previous version filed 1/29/2025, except to correct the spacing issues previously noted in the objections to these claims in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 11/13/2025.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 2/13/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 12,241,597 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: There is no period (“.”) at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shum (US 9,420,644).
Regarding claim 1, Shum teaches an LED filament lamp (see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25) comprising an envelope enclosing a chamber sealed with a stem, wherein the stem extends into said chamber (an envelope (4710 in Fig. 47B) encloses a chamber sealed with a stem (feed through 4604), wherein the stem extends into said chamber and supports an LED module 4712; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 40-46, 59-64); an LED filament structure with at least two individually controllable segments (LED module 4712 comprises a plurality of individually controllable segments/filaments 4701, 4702, 4703, 4704; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25); a controller configured to receive a control signal and control each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said control signal (parallel series switching block 4713 is a controller which receives a control signal from a driver 4711, and functions and operates similarly to the parallel/series switch of Fig. 43 which uses transistor switching elements Q6 and Q7 as well as diode D13 to interpret (i.e. decode) the control signal to determine how to control the flow of current to each individual filament segment of the LED filament structure 4712, and additionally includes the current control elements “CR” or 4503 of Fig. 45A which can be microcontrollers (i.e. processors) provided on each individual filament element 4701-4704 of the filament module; see Figs. 43, 45A-45B, 47A-47B; col. 28, lines 60-67; col. 29, lines 1-16; col. 30, lines 40-67; col. 31, lines 1-39, 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25), wherein the LED filament structure and the controller are arranged within the chamber (the LED filament structure 4712, and all of the various controllers 4713 and processors CR/4503 are arranged within the chamber; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25); a driver circuit arranged outside the chamber (driver 4711 is arranged outside the chamber within the lamp base 4605 of the bulb; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 40-50, 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25), wherein the driver circuit comprises two powerlines extending through the stem or the envelope for powering the LED filament structure and the controller (positive and negative power lines extend from the driver circuit 4711 through the stem 4604 into the envelope 4710 to power the LED filament structure 4712, the controllers 4713, the processors CR/4503, and everything else; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 40-50, 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25), wherein the driver circuit is configured to convey said control signal to the controller via one of the powerlines extending through the stem or the envelope (the controllers 4713 and processors CR/4503 are electrically connected to the driver circuit 4711 via positive and negative power lines extending from the driver through the stem 4604 into the envelope 4710, so that the controllers and processors receive predetermined control signals from the driver and selectively control each filament of the LED filament structure 4712,; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25).
However, the teachings of Shum fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments is configured to output a lighting characteristic to enable an LED filament lamp with tunable white or individual color control.
However, Shum teaches an alternate embodiment of an LED filament lamp (see Figs. 33-39; col. 26, lines 2-67; col. 27, lines 1-67; col. 28, lines 1-7) comprising an envelope enclosing a chamber sealed with a stem, wherein the stem extends into said chamber (the dotted circle 3505 in Fig. 35 shows an envelope enclosing a chamber sealed with a glass feedthrough 3509 that partially extends into the chamber and supports an LED package 3307 within the chamber; see Figs. 33, 35; col. 26, lines 16-30; col. 27, lines 46-54); an LED filament structure with at least two individually controllable segments (LED package 3307 comprises two LED strings 3301 and 3302 on the same substrate, which are controlled by controllers 3303, 3305, and 3306, the LED string 3301 having a warmer color temperature than string 3302; see Figs. 33-35, 38; col. 26, lines 16-48; col. 27, lines 13-30, 46-54, 60-67; col. 28, lines 1-7); a processor configured to receive a control signal and control each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said control signal (controllers 3303, 3305, and 3306 are setup in an AC driver format where the controllers are turned on and off as a function of the line voltage, to dim the LED segments 3301 and 3302; see Figs. 33-35; col. 26, lines 16-48; col. 27, lines 1-30); wherein each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments is configured to output a lighting characteristic to enable an LED filament lamp with tunable white or individual color control (each of the segments 3301 and 3302 are coated in different combinations of phosphors 3800, 3810, and/or 3820 to enable the color temperature of each segment to change as the segment is dimmed and thereby control the color temperature output to better resemble the appearance of an incandescent filament; see Figs. 33-35, 37-38; col. 26, lines 16-37; col. 27, lines 13-21, 60-67; col. 28, lines 1-7).
Therefore, in view of the alternate embodiment of Shum, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED filament lamp of Shum’s first embodiment by coating each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments with a phosphor combination, thereby configuring each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments to output a lighting characteristic to enable an LED filament lamp with tunable white or individual color control. One would have been motivated to modify the known LED filament lamp of Shum’s first embodiment by coating each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments with a phosphor combination, thereby configuring each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments to output a lighting characteristic to enable an LED filament lamp with tunable white or individual color control, as taught by the alternate embodiment of Shum, in order to better emulate the decorative look and appearance of an incandescent filament (see Shum, col. 26, lines 5-14, 35-37 for the motivation).
Regarding claim 3, Shum teaches wherein at least one of the two powerlines is configured as the control line (the power lines and control line extending from the driver circuit 4711 to the LED filament structure 4712, the controllers 4713, and the processors CR/4503 are combined; see Figs. 47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25).
Regarding claim 4, Shum teaches wherein the driver circuit is configured to transmit said control signal to the control via Power Line Communication (PLC) (the power lines and control line extending from the driver circuit 4711 to the LED filament structure 4712, the controllers 4713, and the processors CR/4503 are combined; see Figs. 47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25).
Regarding claim 5, Shum teaches wherein the LED filament structure comprises at least two LED filaments, wherein each LED filament of the at least two LED filaments comprises a respective segment of the at least two individually controllable segments (the LED filament structure 4712 comprises four separate filament segments 4701, 4702, 4703, 4704; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25).
Regarding claim 8, Shum teaches wherein the LED filament structure and the controller are mounted on the stem; or wherein the LED filament structure is mounted on the stem and the controller is part of the LED filament structure (the LED filament structure 4712, the controllers 4713, and the processors CR/4503 are mounted on top of the stem 4604, as shown in Fig. 47B).
Regarding claim 10, Shum teaches a luminaire comprising a socket for powering a lighting device and the LED filament lamp according to claim 1, wherein the LED filament lamp is arranged within the socket (the LED filament lamp is designed to be arranged within a standard light bulb socket; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25).
Regarding claim 13, Shum teaches an LED filament lamp (see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25) comprising an envelope enclosing a chamber sealed with a stem, wherein the stem extends into said chamber (an envelope (4710 in Fig. 47B) encloses a chamber sealed with a stem (feed through 4604), wherein the stem extends into said chamber and supports an LED module 4712; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 40-46, 59-64); an LED filament structure with at least two individually controllable segments (LED module 4712 comprises a plurality of individually controllable segments/filaments 4701, 4702, 4703, 4704; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25); a processor configured to receive a control signal and control each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said control signal (each individual filament segment 4701-4704 comprises one of the current control elements “CR” or 4503 of Fig. 45A which can be microcontrollers (i.e. processors) provided on each individual filament element of the LED filament module; see Figs. 45A-45B, 47A-47B; col. 30, lines 40-67; col. 31, lines 1-39, 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25), wherein the LED filament structure and the processor are arranged within the chamber (the LED filament structure 4712 and the processors CR/4503 are all arranged within the chamber; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25); a driver circuit arranged outside the chamber (driver 4711 is arranged outside the chamber within the lamp base 4605 of the bulb; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 40-50, 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25), wherein the driver circuit comprises two powerlines extending through the stem or the envelope for powering the LED filament structure and the processor (positive and negative power lines extend from the driver circuit 4711 through the stem 4604 into the envelope 4710 to power the LED filament structure 4712, the processors CR/4503, and everything else; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 40-50, 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25), wherein the driver circuit is configured to convey said control signal to the processor via one of the powerlines extending through the stem or the envelope (the processors CR/4503 are electrically connected to the driver circuit 4711 via positive and negative power lines extending from the driver through the stem 4604 into the envelope 4710, so that the processors receive predetermined control signals from the driver and selectively control each filament of the LED filament structure 4712,; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25).
However, the teachings of Shum fail to disclose or fairly suggest wherein each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments is configured to output a lighting characteristic to enable an LED filament lamp with tunable white or individual color control.
However, Shum teaches an alternate embodiment of an LED filament lamp (see Figs. 33-39; col. 26, lines 2-67; col. 27, lines 1-67; col. 28, lines 1-7) comprising an envelope enclosing a chamber sealed with a stem, wherein the stem extends into said chamber (the dotted circle 3505 in Fig. 35 shows an envelope enclosing a chamber sealed with a glass feedthrough 3509 that partially extends into the chamber and supports an LED package 3307 within the chamber; see Figs. 33, 35; col. 26, lines 16-30; col. 27, lines 46-54); an LED filament structure with at least two individually controllable segments (LED package 3307 comprises two LED strings 3301 and 3302 on the same substrate, which are controlled by controllers 3303, 3305, and 3306, the LED string 3301 having a warmer color temperature than string 3302; see Figs. 33-35, 38; col. 26, lines 16-48; col. 27, lines 13-30, 46-54, 60-67; col. 28, lines 1-7); a processor configured to receive a control signal and control each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said control signal (controllers 3303, 3305, and 3306 are setup in an AC driver format where the controllers are turned on and off as a function of the line voltage, to dim the LED segments 3301 and 3302; see Figs. 33-35; col. 26, lines 16-48; col. 27, lines 1-30); wherein each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments is configured to output a lighting characteristic to enable an LED filament lamp with tunable white or individual color control (each of the segments 3301 and 3302 are coated in different combinations of phosphors 3800, 3810, and/or 3820 to enable the color temperature of each segment to change as the segment is dimmed and thereby control the color temperature output to better resemble the appearance of an incandescent filament; see Figs. 33-35, 37-38; col. 26, lines 16-37; col. 27, lines 13-21, 60-67; col. 28, lines 1-7).
Therefore, in view of the alternate embodiment of Shum, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED filament lamp of Shum’s first embodiment by coating each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments with a phosphor combination, thereby configuring each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments to output a lighting characteristic to enable an LED filament lamp with tunable white or individual color control. One would have been motivated to modify the known LED filament lamp of Shum’s first embodiment by coating each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments with a phosphor combination, thereby configuring each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments to output a lighting characteristic to enable an LED filament lamp with tunable white or individual color control, as taught by the alternate embodiment of Shum, in order to better emulate the decorative look and appearance of an incandescent filament (see Shum, col. 26, lines 5-14, 35-37 for the motivation).
Regarding claim 14, Shum teaches the LED filament lamp according to claim 1, further including a sensor, wherein the controller is configured to receive the sensor signal and control each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said control signal and said sensor signal (in some examples a light sensor associated with or integrated in the lamp may operate to provide feedback of light output modulation associated with asymmetries that may fall within frequency ranges perceptible to humans (i.e. shimmer effects) and communicate this information to the controllers 4713 and the processors CR/4503 to prevent shimmering in the light output by each of the individual filament segments 4701-4704 of the LED filament structure 4712; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25, 43-67; col. 33, lines 1-12).
However, the teachings of Shum fail to specifically disclose the sensor is arranged within the chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lamp of Shum by arranging the sensor within the chamber, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In this case, modifying the known lamp of Shum by arranging the sensor within the chamber would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the particular design requirements of a given application, in order to best position the sensor to monitor the light output by each filament segment during operation of the lamp while ensuring the sensor isn’t exposed to the external environment and potential contaminants.
Regarding claims 15-16, Shum teaches wherein the LED structure includes at least three individually controllable segments that are individually controlled via the one control/power line (the LED filament structure 4712 comprises four separate filament segments 4701, 4702, 4703, 4704; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25).
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergmann et al. (US 2018/0328543, hereinafter “Bergmann”) in view of Shum (US 9,420,644).
Regarding claim 1, Bergmann teaches an LED filament lamp (LED lamp 100; see Fig. 1; par. [0038]) comprising an envelope enclosing a chamber sealed with a stem (optically transmissive enclosure 102 defines an interior space 108 which is sealed by a stem supporting an LED assembly 300; see Figs. 1-2; para. [0038]-[0040], [0047]), wherein the stem extends into said chamber (as shown in Fig. 1); an LED filament structure with at least two individually controllable segments (LED assembly 300 defines an LED filament structure having a plurality of filaments 200 (divided into warmer LED filaments 200w and cooler LED filaments 200c) defining individually controllable segments; see Figs. 1-4, 13-14; para. [0040]-[0044], [0049]-[0053], [0059]-[0066]); a controller configured to receive a control signal and control each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said control signal (a controller 714 is provided to control each individual segment 200; see Figs. 13-14; para. [0051]-[0053], [0061]-[0066]), wherein the LED filament structure is arranged within the chamber (as shown in Fig. 1); a driver circuit arranged outside the chamber (a driver 710 is arranged outside the chamber 108 within the base 104; see Figs. 1, 13-14; para. [0038], [0043], [0047], [0063]), wherein the driver circuit comprises two powerlines extending through the stem or the envelope for powering the LED filament structure and the controller (the driver circuit comprises two power lines (i.e. positive and negative) extending through the stem into the envelope 102 for powering the LED filament structure 300 as well as the controller 714; see Figs. 1, 13-14; para. [0062]-[0063]), wherein each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments is configured to output a lighting characteristic to enable an LED filament lamp with tunable white or individual color control (the LED filament structure 300 comprises warmer LED filaments 200w and cooler LED filaments 200c defining individually controllable segments which emit white light having different color temperatures to control the overall color temperature of the white light output by the LED filament lamp 100; see Figs. 1-4, 13-14; para. [0040]-[0044], [0049]-[0053], [0059]-[0066]), wherein the driver circuit is configured to convey said control signal to the controller (see Figs. 1, 13-14; para. [0038], [0043], [0047], [0063]).
Additionally, Bergmann teaches the controller 714 can be separated from the driver circuitry 710 (see par. [0063]).
However, the teachings of Bergmann fail to disclose or fairly suggest the controller is arranged within the chamber, and the driver circuit is configured to convey said control signal to the controller via one control line extending through the stem or the envelope.
Shum teaches an LED filament lamp (see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25) comprising an envelope enclosing a chamber sealed with a stem, wherein the stem extends into said chamber (an envelope (4710 in Fig. 47B) encloses a chamber sealed with a stem (feed through 4604), wherein the stem extends into said chamber and supports an LED module 4712; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 40-46, 59-64); an LED filament structure with at least two individually controllable segments (LED module 4712 comprises a plurality of individually controllable segments/filaments 4701, 4702, 4703, 4704; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25); a controller configured to receive a control signal and control each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said control signal (parallel series switching block 4713 is a controller which receives a control signal from a driver 4711, and functions and operates similarly to the parallel/series switch of Fig. 43 which uses transistor switching elements Q6 and Q7 as well as diode D13 to interpret (i.e. decode) the control signal to determine how to control the flow of current to each individual filament segment of the LED filament structure 4712, and additionally includes the current control elements “CR” or 4503 of Fig. 45A which can be microcontrollers (i.e. processors) provided on each individual filament element 4701-4704 of the filament module; see Figs. 43, 45A-45B, 47A-47B; col. 28, lines 60-67; col. 29, lines 1-16; col. 30, lines 40-67; col. 31, lines 1-39, 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25), wherein the LED filament structure and the controller are arranged within the chamber (the LED filament structure 4712, and all of the various controllers 4713 and processors CR/4503 are arranged within the chamber; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25); a driver circuit arranged outside the chamber (driver 4711 is arranged outside the chamber within the lamp base 4605 of the bulb; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 40-50, 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25), wherein the driver circuit comprises two powerlines extending through the stem or the envelope for powering the LED filament structure and the controller (positive and negative power lines extend from the driver circuit 4711 through the stem 4604 into the envelope 4710 to power the LED filament structure 4712, the controllers 4713, the processors CR/4503, and everything else; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 40-50, 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25), wherein the driver circuit is configured to convey said control signal to the controller via one of the powerlines extending through the stem or the envelope (the controllers 4713 and processors CR/4503 are electrically connected to the driver circuit 4711 via positive and negative power lines extending from the driver through the stem 4604 into the envelope 4710, so that the controllers and processors receive predetermined control signals from the driver and selectively control each filament of the LED filament structure 4712,; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25).
Therefore, in view of Shum, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lamp of Bergmann by arranging the controller within the chamber and arranging at least one control line extending through the stem or the envelope for the driver to convey the control signal to the controller. One would have been motivated to modify the known lamp of Bergmann by arranging the controller within the chamber and arranging at least one control line extending through the stem or the envelope for the driver to convey the control signal to the controller, as taught by Shum, in order to reduce the amount of heat generated within the lamp base by moving the control electronics closer to the filaments and leaving just the driver circuit in the base (see Shum, col. 31, lines 53-58 for the motivation).
Regarding claim 2, although the combined teachings of Bergmann modified by Shum fail to specifically disclose the control line is a separate control line extending through the stem, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lamp of Bergmann by separating the control line from the power lines to provide the control line as a separate control line extending through the stem, since it has been held by the courts that making an integral structure separable (e.g. in a plurality of pieces), if so desired, would require only ordinary skill. See In re Dulberg, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). In this case, since the control line can only be provided either combined with at least one of the power lines or separate from the power lines, further modifying the known lamp of Bergmann by providing the control line as a separate control line extending through the stem would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the particular design requirements of a given application, in order to more easily repair the control line if necessary.
Regarding claim 3, Shum further teaches wherein at least one of the two power lines is configured as the control line (the power lines and control line extending from the driver circuit 4711 to the LED filament structure 4712, the controllers 4713, and the processors CR/4503 are combined; see Fig. 47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25).
Regarding claim 4, Shum further teaches wherein the driver circuit is configured to transmit said control signal to the control via Power Line Communication (PLC) (the power lines and control line extending from the driver circuit 4711 to the LED filament structure 4712, the controllers 4713, and the processors CR/4503 are combined; see Figs. 47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25).
Regarding claim 5, Bergmann teaches wherein the LED filament structure comprises at least two LED filaments, wherein each LED filament of the at least two LED filaments comprises a respective segment of the at least two individually controllable segments (a plurality of LED filaments 200 are arranged as warmer LED filaments 200w and cooler LED filaments 200c are provided; see Figs. 1-4, 13-14; para. [0040]-[0044], [0049]-[0053], [0059]-[0066]).
However, regarding claim 6, the teachings of Bergmann’s first embodiment fail to disclose or fairly suggest the LED filament structure comprises a single LED filament comprising the at least two individually controllable segments.
Bergmann teaches another embodiment wherein the LED filament structure comprises a single LED filament comprising the at least two individually controllable segments (another example embodiment shows a warmer LED filament 200w and a cooler LED filament 200c bonded together to form a single filament with at least two individually controllable segments on opposing sides thereof; see Figs. 8-9; par. [0053]).
Therefore, in view of the alternate embodiment of Bergmann, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lamp of Bergmann’s first embodiment by providing in the LED filament structure a single LED filament comprising the at least two individually controllable segments. One would have been motivated to modify the known lamp of Bergmann’s first embodiment by providing in the LED filament structure a single LED filament comprising the at least two individually controllable segments, as taught by the alternate embodiment of Bergmann, in order to prevent light from a segment having a cooler color temperature from blocking light from a segment having a warmer color temperature (see Bergmann, par. [0053] for the motivation).
Regarding claim 7, Bergmann teaches wherein the LED filament structure comprises five individually controllable segments (the LED filament structure 300 comprises at least six individually controllable warmer LED filaments 200w and at least six individually controllable cooler LED filaments 200c; see Figs. 1-2; para. [0040]-[0044], [0049]-[0053], [0059]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 8, Shum further teaches wherein the LED filament structure and the controller are mounted on the stem; or wherein the LED filament structure is mounted on the stem and the controller is part of the LED filament structure (the LED filament structure 4712, the controllers 4713, and the processors CR/4503 are mounted on top of the stem 4604, as shown in Fig. 47B).
Regarding claim 9, Bergmann teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine a monitoring signal indicative of a status of at least one of the at least two controllable segments and to convey said monitoring signal via said control line to the driver circuit (an internal light sensor (not shown) can be provided to provide feedback to the controller 714 and convey this information to the driver 710; see Figs. 13-14; par. [0063]).
Regarding claim 10, Bergmann as modified teaches a luminaire comprising a socket for powering a lighting device and the LED filament lamp according to claim 1, wherein the LED filament lamp is arranged within the socket (the LED lamp 100 includes a standard Edison-type screw connector base 104 for connecting to a standard light bulb socket to power the lamp; see Fig. 1; par. [0038]).
Regarding claim 11, Bergmann implicitly teaches a method of driving an LED filament lamp (LED lamp 100; see Fig. 1; par. [0038]), wherein the LED filament lamp comprises an envelope enclosing a chamber sealed with a stem (optically transmissive enclosure 102 defines an interior space 108 which is sealed by a stem supporting an LED assembly 300; see Figs. 1-2; para. [0038]-[0040], [0047]) and an LED filament structure with at least two individually controllable segments (LED assembly 300 defines an LED filament structure having a plurality of filaments 200 (divided into warmer LED filaments 200w and cooler LED filaments 200c) defining individually controllable segments; see Figs. 1-4, 13-14; para. [0040]-[0044], [0049]-[0053], [0059]-[0066]), wherein the stem extends into said chamber (as shown in Fig. 1), wherein the lamp comprises a controller configured to receive a control signal and control each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said control signal (a controller 714 is provided to control each individual segment 200; see Figs. 13-14; para. [0051]-[0053], [0061]-[0066]), and wherein the LED filament structure is arranged within the chamber (as shown in Fig. 1); wherein the method comprises powering, by a driver circuit arranged outside the chamber, the controller (a driver 710 is arranged outside the chamber 108 within the base 104, the driver comprising two power lines (i.e. positive and negative) extending through the stem into the envelope 102 for powering the LED filament structure 300 as well as the controller 714; see Figs. 1, 13-14; para. [0038], [0043], [0047], [0062]-[0063]); conveying, by the driver circuit, a control signal to the controller (see Figs. 1, 13-14; para. [0038], [0043], [0047], [0063]); receiving, by the controller, said control signal, decoding said control signal, and controlling each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said decoded control signal (see Figs. 1, 13-14; para. [0038], [0043], [0047], [0062]-[0063]).
Additionally, Bergmann teaches the controller 714 can be separated from the driver circuitry 710 (see par. [0063]).
However, the teachings of Bergmann fail to disclose or fairly suggest the controller is arranged within the chamber, and the driver is configured to convey said control signal to the controller via one control line extending through the stem or the envelope.
Shum implicitly teaches a method of driving an LED filament lamp (see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25), wherein the LED filament lamp comprises an envelope enclosing a chamber sealed with a stem (an envelope (4710 in Fig. 47B) encloses a chamber sealed with a stem (feed through 4604), wherein the stem extends into said chamber and supports an LED module 4712; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 40-46, 59-64) and an LED filament structure with at least two individually controllable segments (LED module 4712 comprises a plurality of individually controllable segments/filaments 4701, 4702, 4703, 4704; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25), wherein the stem extends into said chamber (the stem 4604 extends into the chamber within the envelope 4710; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 40-46, 59-64), wherein the lamp comprises a controller configured to receive a control signal and control each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said control signal (parallel series switching block 4713 is a controller which receives a control signal from a driver 4711, and functions and operates similarly to the parallel/series switch of Fig. 43 which uses transistor switching elements Q6 and Q7 as well as diode D13 to interpret (i.e. decode) the control signal to determine how to control the flow of current to each individual filament segment of the LED filament structure 4712, and additionally includes the current control elements “CR” or 4503 of Fig. 45A which can be microcontrollers (i.e. processors) provided on each individual filament element 4701-4704 of the filament module; see Figs. 43, 45A-45B, 47A-47B; col. 28, lines 60-67; col. 29, lines 1-16; col. 30, lines 40-67; col. 31, lines 1-39, 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25), and wherein the LED filament structure and the controller are arranged within the chamber (the LED filament structure 4712, and all of the various controllers 4713 and processors CR/4503 are arranged within the chamber; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25); wherein the method comprises powering, by a driver circuit arranged outside the chamber, the controller (driver 4711 is arranged outside the chamber within the lamp base 4605 of the bulb, the driver comprising positive and negative power lines extending from the driver through the stem 4604 into the envelope 4710 to provide power to the LED filament structure 4712, the controllers 4713, the processors CR/4503, and everything else; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 40-50, 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25); conveying, by the driver circuit, a control signal to the controller via one control line extending through the stem or the envelope (positive and negative power lines extend from the driver circuit 4711 through the stem 4604 into the envelope 4710 to power the LED filament structure 4712, the controllers 4713, the processors CR/4503, and everything else and simultaneously deliver control signals to the various controllers and processors; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 40-50, 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25); and receiving, by the controller, said control signal, decoding said control signal, and controlling each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said decoded control signal (the controllers 4713 and processors CR/4503 are electrically connected to the driver circuit 4711 via positive and negative power lines extending from the driver through the stem 4604 into the envelope 4710, so that the controllers and processors receive predetermined control signals from the driver and selectively control each filament of the LED filament structure 4712,; see Figs. 47A-47B; col. 31, lines 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25).
Therefore, in view of Shum, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bergmann by arranging the controller within the chamber and arranging at least one control line extending through the stem or the envelope for the driver to convey the control signal to the controller. One would have been motivated to modify the known method of Bergmann by arranging the controller within the chamber and arranging at least one control line extending through the stem or the envelope for the driver to convey the control signal to the controller, as taught by Shum, in order to reduce the amount of heat generated within the lamp base by moving the control electronics closer to the filaments and leaving just the driver circuit in the base (see Shum, col. 31, lines 53-58 for the motivation).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument with respect to amended Claim 1 based on Shum (US 9,420,644) that “Shum fails to teach or imply the limitations of “wherein each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments is configured to output a lighting characteristic to enable an LED filament lamp with tunable white or individual color control,” as claimed” because “In contrast, Shum teaches to use the switching block 4713 to switch between a parallel and series LED configuration and the CR, 4503, is a current limiting element” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pgs. 2-3), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that “Shum in figs. 33-39 depicts LED color temperature shifting as a function of dimming. However, as shown in fig. 33 to control each LED segment, e.g. 3301, 3302, three controllers are needed, e.g. 3303, 3305 and 3306, which are arranged outside the chamber, as further shown in figs. 33 and 35-37” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 3). However, the Examiner notes that in the alternate embodiment of Shum depicted in Figs. 33-39, the controllers 3303, 3305, and 3306 are depicted solely in Fig. 33, which does not depict the lamp structure containing the various electronic circuit components illustrated. There is also no discussion in col. 26, lines 38-46 or col. 27, lines 41-45, the only portions of Shum’s Specification that specifically mention the controllers 3303, 3305, and 3306, specifically describing where these controllers are located, only that they are connected to LED package 3307 and thus the LED strings 3301 and 3302.
However, there is no need for Shum to particularly describe the location of the controllers 3303, 3305, and 3306 in the alternate embodiment of Figs. 33-39 since the primary embodiment of Figs. 47A-47B already describes the LED lamp including a parallel series switching block 4713, which is a controller that receives a control signal from a driver 4711 and functions and operates similarly to the parallel/series switch of Fig. 43 that uses transistor switching elements Q6 and Q7 as well as diode D13 to interpret/decode the control signal to determine how to control the flow of current to each individual filament segment of the LED module 4712, and the LED lamp also comprises current control elements “CR” or 4503 (shown in Fig. 45A), which are microcontrollers/processors provided on each individual filament element 4701-4704 of the filament module, all of which are positioned inside the envelope 4710 (see Figs. 43, 45A-45B, 47A-47B, col. 28, lines 60-67; col. 29, lines 1-16; col. 30, lines 40-67; col. 31, lines 1-39, 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25). The only portion of amended Claim 1 not taught by the Figs. 47A-47B embodiment of Shum is the newly added limitation “wherein each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments is configured to output a lighting characteristic to enable an LED filament lamp with tunable white or individual color control”.
In this case, Shum’s alternate embodiment of Figs. 33-39 describes an LED filament lamp including an LED package 3307 having two LED strings 3301 and 3302 on the same substrate, which are controlled by controllers 3303, 3305, and 3306, the LED string 3301 having a warmer color temperature than string 3302 (see Figs. 33-35, 38; col. 26, lines 16-48; col. 27, lines 13-30, 46-54, 60-67; col. 28, lines 1-7). Shum explains that each of the segments 3301 and 3302 are coated in different combinations of phosphors 3800, 3810, and/or 3820 to enable the color temperature of each segment to change as the segment is dimmed by the control electronics, to thereby control the color temperature output to better resemble the appearance of an incandescent filament (see Figs. 33-35, 37-38; col. 26, lines 16-37; col. 27, lines 13-21, 60-67; col. 28, lines 1-7). In other words, Shum teaches that merely coating the LED filaments/strings in phosphor will cause the color temperature output to change as the filament segments are dimmed, regardless of the exact location of the control electronics themselves, and provides a rationale for modifying the LED filament lamp of Shum’s Figs. 47A-47B embodiment without making any changes to the circuitry configuration at all, specifically to better resemble the appearance of incandescent lamps (see col. 26, lines 5-14, 35-37).
Therefore, Shum’s alternate embodiment teaches “wherein each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments is configured to output a lighting characteristic to enable an LED filament lamp with tunable white or individual color control” as recited in amended Claim 1.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument with respect to the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Bergmann (US 2018/0328543) and Shum that “Shum does not teach a controller (inside the envelope of the bulb) to “to receive a control signal and control each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said control signal, wherein each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments is configured to output a lighting characteristic to enable an LED filament lamp with tunable white or individual color control, wherein the LED filament structure and the controller are arranged within the chamber” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 4), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In this case, Bergmann teaches an LED lamp 100 comprising an optically transmissive enclosure or envelope 102 that defines an interior space or chamber 108 which is sealed by a stem supporting an LED assembly 300 inside the chamber of the envelope, the LED assembly defining an LED filament structure having a plurality of filaments 200 (divided into warmer LED filaments 200w and cooler LED filaments 200c) defining individually controllable segments (see Figs. 1-4, 13-14; para. [0038]-[0044], [0047], [0049]-[0053], [0059]-[0066]). Bergmann additionally teaches that a controller 714 is provided to control each individual segment 200 (see Figs. 13-14; para. [0051]-[0053], [0061]-[0066]), the controller is connected to a driver circuit 710 arranged outside the chamber 108 within the lamp base 104 (see Figs. 1, 13-14; para. [0038], [0043], [0047], [0063]), and that the controller can be separated from the driver circuitry if needed (see par. [0063]).
Accordingly, each of the warmer LED filaments 200w and cooler LED filaments 200c are individually controllable to emit white light having different color temperatures to control the overall color temperature of the white light output by the lamp 100.
Therefore, Bergmann clearly and explicitly teaches “wherein each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments is configured to output a lighting characteristic to enable an LED filament lamp with tunable white or individual color control” as recited in amended Claim 1.
Bergmann also clearly teaches “a controller configured to receive a control signal and control each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said control signal, wherein the LED filament structure is arranged within the chamber” as recited in amended Claim 1.
However, as previously explained, while Bergmann indicates the controller 714 can be separated from the driver circuitry 710 within the lamp base 104 if needed (par. [0063]), Bergmann does not specifically describe the controller being arranged within the chamber 108.
As previously explained, Shum teaches in the embodiment of Figs. 47A-47B that the LED lamp comprises a parallel series switching block 4713, which is a controller that receives a control signal from a driver 4711 and functions and operates similarly to the parallel/series switch of Fig. 43 that uses transistor switching elements Q6 and Q7 as well as diode D13 to interpret/decode the control signal to determine how to control the flow of current to each individual filament segment of the LED module 4712, and the LED lamp also comprises current control elements “CR” or 4503 (shown in Fig. 45A), which are microcontrollers/processors provided on each individual filament element 4701-4704 of the filament module, all of which are positioned inside the envelope 4710 (see Figs. 43, 45A-45B, 47A-47B, col. 28, lines 60-67; col. 29, lines 1-16; col. 30, lines 40-67; col. 31, lines 1-39, 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25). Accordingly, Shum explicitly describes numerous controllers 4713 and CR/4503 disposed inside the envelope 4710 to control the filament segments of the LED module 4712.
Shum even provides an explanation for why these various controllers 4713 and CR/4503 should be placed inside the envelope 4710, explaining that this reduces the amount of heat generated within the lamp base by moving the control electronics closer to the filaments inside the lamp envelope and leaving just the driver circuitry in the base (see Shum, col. 31, lines 53-58 for the motivation).
Accordingly, Shum clearly and explicitly teaches “a controller configured to receive a control signal and control each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said control signal, wherein the LED filament structure and the controller are arranged within the chamber”, exactly as recited in amended Claim 1, and Shum also provides a clear motivation for why the controller should be placed within the chamber of the envelope. Therefore, the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergmann in view of Shum has been maintained.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that “Similar to Shum in relation to individually controllable segments lighting characteristic a color or color temperature. For example, Bergmann teaches in [0063]” (see Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 4), the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In this case, it is unclear precisely what Applicant was intending to argue here since the argument itself is not presented as a complete sentence. It appears Applicant was intending to compare Bergmann’s par. [0063] to some aspect of Shum, however nothing in particular about Shum is mentioned in the argument, and the contents of Bergmann’s par. [0063] have been copied without any discussion of any particular teaching in this paragraph of Bergmann. Applicant’s argument has therefore been interpreted as best understood.
As discussed above in the response to the previous argument in Section 35 of the instant Office Action, Bergmann teaches “wherein each segment of the at least two individually controllable segments is configured to output a lighting characteristic to enable an LED filament lamp with tunable white or individual color control” as recited in amended Claim 1, and Bergmann also teaches “a controller configured to receive a control signal and control each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said control signal, wherein the LED filament structure is arranged within the chamber” as recited in amended Claim 1, but lacks the explicit teaching of the controller being placed inside the envelope itself.
However, Shum explicitly describes numerous controllers 4713 and CR/4503 disposed inside the envelope 4710 to control the filament segments of the LED module 4712 (see Figs. 43, 45A-45B, 47A-47B, col. 28, lines 60-67; col. 29, lines 1-16; col. 30, lines 40-67; col. 31, lines 1-39, 63-67; col. 32, lines 1-25), and Shum even provides an explanation for why these various controllers 4713 and CR/4503 should be placed inside the envelope 4710, explaining that this reduces the amount of heat generated within the lamp base by moving the control electronics closer to the filaments inside the lamp envelope and leaving just the driver circuitry in the base (see Shum, col. 31, lines 53-58 for the motivation).
Accordingly, since Shum teaches “a controller configured to receive a control signal and control each of the at least two individually controllable segments based on said control signal, wherein the LED filament structure and the controller are arranged within the chamber”, exactly as recited in amended Claim 1, and Shum also provides a clear motivation for why the controller should be placed within the chamber of the envelope, the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergmann in view of Shum has been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM N HARRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875