DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment to the claims and specification dated 1/29/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-10 were amended and new claims 11-20 were added.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description:
23 as seen in FIG. 3.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In page 11 line 26 the phrase “housing 9” should instead be “housing 7.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 the phrase “Rotary electric machine” should instead be “A rotary electric machine.”
In claims 2-20 the phrase “Rotary electric machine” should instead be “The rotary electric machine.”
In claims 2-20 the word “Claim” should not be capitalized.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 5, 10, 12, 17, and 19 recite a “fastening means” which shall be taken to mean either a fastening screw as seen in page 1 lines 25-26 or a threaded rod as seen in page 4 lines 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over French Patent No. 3078841 to Bouclet et al. (hereinafter Bouclet; provided by Applicant on 1/29/2025) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0359068 to Marukawa et al. (hereinafter Marukawa; cited by Applicant on 1/29/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Bouclet teaches a rotary electric machine (FIG. 1, 10) for a vehicle (Translation Page 7), comprising a housing (FIG. 1, 11), a rotor/stator assembly (FIG. 1; 12, 15) housed in said housing and at least one fastening flange (FIG. 1, 14) integrally formed with the housing and configured to mechanically connect the rotary electric machine to a combustion engine of said vehicle (Translation Pages 1-2), the fastening flange comprising a body (see annotated FIG. 1) provided with a receiving opening (see annotated FIG. 1) for fastening means centered about a fastening axis (see annotated FIG. 1), and at least one tab (see annotated FIG. 1) connecting the body to the housing.
Bouclet does not teach at least one incipient break formed on the tab and configured so that said tab breaks in the event that the vehicle undergoes a violent impact.
However, Marukawa teaches a vehicle component (FIG. 1, 20) mounted on a combustion engine (FIG. 1, 98) via a fastening flange (FIG. 3, 12) with a body provided with a receiving opening for fastening means (FIG. 2, 15) centered about a fastening axis, and at least one tab (FIG. 3, 122) connecting the body (FIG. 3, 124) to the housing (FIG. 3, 10) having an incipient break (FIG. 4, 123) formed on a tab (FIG. 4, 122) and configured so that said tab breaks in the event that the vehicle undergoes a violent impact (Paragraph [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary electric machine of Bouclet with the teachings of Marukawa to provide an incipient break on the tab to protect the critical components of the vehicle in the event of a crash (Paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein Marukawa further teaches the fastening flange comprising a first face and a second face on the opposite side from the first face (FIG. 4, 124), the first face and the second face being perpendicular to the fastening axis, the incipient break being positioned on the first face (FIG. 4, 123; Paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 2, wherein Marukawa further teaches the incipient break being a first incipient break positioned on the first face of the fastening flange (FIG. 4, 123), the fastening flange comprising at least a second incipient break (FIG. 5, 129) positioned on the second face of the fastening flange.
Bouclet in view of Marukawa does not teach the second incipient break being aligned with the first incipient break along a straight line parallel to the fastening axis.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary electric machine of Bouclet in view of Marukawa as a matter of design choice to better orient the direction at which the flange would break in the event of a violent impact (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Regarding claim 4, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein Marukawa further teaches the fastening flange comprising two tabs (FIG. 3, 122) arranged on either side of the body (FIG. 3, 124), the rotary electric machine comprising at least one incipient break (FIG. 4, 123) formed on each tab (Paragraph [0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 5, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein Marukawa further teaches the housing being formed by two half-housings (FIG. 3; 12, 13), each half-housing comprising a fastening flange (FIG. 3; 12, 13) with a receiving opening for fastening means centered about the fastening axis, each fastening flange comprising at least one incipient break (Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 6, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 1.
Bouclet in view of Marukawa does not teach the at least one incipient break having a depth of between 10% and 40% of a thickness of the tab, said thickness being measured between the first face and the second face of the fastening flange.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary electric machine of Bouclet in view of Marukawa to change the dimensions of the depth of the incipient break as a matter of design choice to find the optimal sizing of the break to deform properly (see Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Regarding claim 7, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein Marukawa further teaches the incipient break having a curvature oriented around the body (FIG. 4, 123).
Regarding claim 8, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 1.
Bouclet in view of Marukawa does not teach the incipient break extending along the whole length of the tab in a direction perpendicular to the fastening axis.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary electric machine of Bouclet in view of Marukawa to change the dimensions of the length of the incipient break as a matter of design choice to find the optimal sizing of the break to deform properly (see Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Regarding claim 10, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches an engine assembly of a vehicle, comprising a combustion engine (Bouclet Translation Page 7), a rotary electric machine according to claim 1, and fastening means (Marukawa FIG. 2, 15) connecting the rotary electric machine to the combustion engine, the fastening means being arranged facing a protective part (FIG. 2, 30) of the combustion engine.
Regarding claim 11, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 2, wherein Marukawa further teaches the fastening flange comprising two tabs (FIG. 3, 122) arranged on either side of the body (FIG. 3, 124), the rotary electric machine comprising at least one incipient break (FIG. 4, 123) formed on each tab (Paragraph [0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 12, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 2, wherein Marukawa further teaches the housing being formed by two half-housings (FIG. 3; 12, 13), each half-housing comprising a fastening flange (FIG. 3; 12, 13) with a receiving opening for fastening means centered about the fastening axis, each fastening flange comprising at least one incipient break (Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 13, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 2.
Bouclet in view of Marukawa does not teach the at least one incipient break having a depth of between 10% and 40% of a thickness of the tab, said thickness being measured between the first face and the second face of the fastening flange.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary electric machine of Bouclet in view of Marukawa to change the dimensions of the depth of the incipient break as a matter of design choice to find the optimal sizing of the break to deform properly (see Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Regarding claim 14, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 2, wherein Marukawa further teaches the incipient break having a curvature oriented around the body (FIG. 4, 123).
Regarding claim 15, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 2.
Bouclet in view of Marukawa does not teach the incipient break extending along the whole length of the tab in a direction perpendicular to the fastening axis.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary electric machine of Bouclet in view of Marukawa to change the dimensions of the length of the incipient break as a matter of design choice to find the optimal sizing of the break to deform properly (see Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Regarding claim 17, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches an engine assembly of a vehicle, comprising a combustion engine (Bouclet Translation Page 7), a rotary electric machine according to claim 2, and fastening means (Marukawa FIG. 2, 15) connecting the rotary electric machine to the combustion engine, the fastening means being arranged facing a protective part (FIG. 2, 30) of the combustion engine.
Regarding claim 18, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 3, wherein Marukawa further teaches the fastening flange comprising two tabs (FIG. 3, 122) arranged on either side of the body (FIG. 3, 124), the rotary electric machine comprising at least one incipient break (FIG. 4, 123) formed on each tab (Paragraph [0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 19, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 3, wherein Marukawa further teaches the housing being formed by two half-housings (FIG. 3; 12, 13), each half-housing comprising a fastening flange (FIG. 3; 12, 13) with a receiving opening for fastening means centered about the fastening axis, each fastening flange comprising at least one incipient break (Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 20, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 3.
Bouclet in view of Marukawa does not teach the at least one incipient break having a depth of between 10% and 40% of a thickness of the tab, said thickness being measured between the first face and the second face of the fastening flange.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary electric machine of Bouclet in view of Marukawa to change the dimensions of the depth of the incipient break as a matter of design choice to find the optimal sizing of the break to deform properly (see Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouclet in view of Marukawa and in further view of French Patent No. 3115891 to Riviere et al. (hereinafter Riviere).
Regarding claim 9, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 1.
Bouclet in view of Marukawa does not teach the tab being configured to break at the incipient break when the vehicle undergoes a violent impact with an impact force greater than a threshold value of the order of 4,400 N.
However, Riviere teaches an automobile component fastening means (FIG. 1, 103) configured to break at an incipient break when the vehicle undergoes a violent impact at a predetermined force threshold (Paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary electric machine of Bouclet in view of Marukawa with the teachings of Riviere to having the incipient break configured to break at a threshold force value to more efficiently design the desired interaction of the break at the desired impact threshold.
Regarding claim 16, Bouclet in view of Marukawa teaches the rotary electric machine according to claim 2.
Bouclet in view of Marukawa does not teach the tab being configured to break at the incipient break when the vehicle undergoes a violent impact with an impact force greater than a threshold value of the order of 4,400 N.
However, Riviere teaches an automobile component fastening means (FIG. 1, 103) configured to break at an incipient break when the vehicle undergoes a violent impact at a predetermined force threshold (Paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary electric machine of Bouclet in view of Marukawa with the teachings of Riviere to having the incipient break configured to break at a threshold force value to more efficiently design the desired interaction of the break at the desired impact threshold.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834