DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 11 and 14-20 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,215,634. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Comparison of claim 13 of 19/040,565 and claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,215,634-underling indicates the shared language. Although differing in a few words (adjust instead of change), verb tenses (redirecting instead of redirect and changing instead of change) and use of the word “determined”, the claims are essentially the same when the option of “both” in the “one or both” of claim 11 of 12, 215,634 is selected. Claims 14-20 depend from claim 13 and correspond to dependent claims 14-20 in 12, 215,634.
Claim 13 of 19/040,565
Claim 11 of 12,215,634
Claim 1: A turbine engine for an aircraft, the turbine engine comprising: a turbo-engine including: a core air flow path for core air to flow therethrough; a combustor located in the core air flow path to receive compressed air and fluidly coupled to a fuel source to receive fuel, the fuel being injected into the combustor to mix with the compressed air to generate a fuel and air mixture, the fuel and air mixture being combusted in a primary combustion zone of the combustor to generate combustion gases; an engine shaft; and a turbine located downstream of the combustor to receive the combustion gases and to cause the turbine to rotate, the turbine coupled to the engine shaft to rotate the engine shaft when the turbine rotates; a fan having a fan shaft coupled to the turbo-engine to rotate the fan shaft; a steam system extracting water from the combustion gases and vaporizing the water to generate steam, the steam system being fluidly coupled to the core air flow path to inject the steam into the core air flow path at a steam injection location to add mass flow to the core air, the steam system including a steam flow control valve operable to control the flow of the steam into the core air flow path; a sensor located on the turbine engine to detect a parameter indicative of a core air water content, the core air water content being a water content of the core air upstream of the steam injection location; and a controller operatively coupled to the steam flow control valve to control a position of the steam flow control valve and an amount of the steam injected into the core air flow path at the steam injection location, wherein the controller is configured to receive an input from the sensor, to determine the core air water content based on the input received from the sensor and to change the position of the steam flow control valve and the amount of the steam injected into the core air flow path at the steam injection location based on the core air water content.
Claim 13: wherein the steam system includes a steam bypass flow path selectively operable to redirect at least a portion of the steam to bypass the core air flow path, the controller being configured to redirect a portion of the steam through the steam bypass flow path based on the core air water content.
Claim: 11 A turbine engine for an aircraft, the turbine engine comprising: a turbo-engine including :a core air flow path for core air to flow therethrough; a combustor located in the core air flow path to receive compressed air and fluidly coupled to a fuel source to receive fuel, the fuel being injected into the combustor to mix with the compressed air to generate a fuel and air mixture, the fuel and air mixture being combusted in a primary combustion zone of the combustor to generate combustion gases; an engine shaft; and a turbine located downstream of the combustor to receive the combustion gases and to cause the turbine to rotate, the turbine coupled to the engine shaft to rotate the engine shaft when the turbine rotates; a fan having a fan shaft coupled to the turbo-engine to rotate the fan shaft; a steam system extracting water from the combustion gases and vaporizing the extracted water to generate steam, the steam system being fluidly coupled to the core air flow path to inject the steam into the core air flow path at a steam injection location to add mass flow to the core air, the steam system including a steam flow control valve operable to control the flow of the steam into the core air flow path and a steam bypass flow path selectively operable to redirect at least a portion of the steam to bypass the core air flow path; a sensor located on the turbine engine located to detect a parameter indicative of a core air water content, the core air water content being a water content of the core air upstream of the steam injection location; and a controller operatively coupled to the steam flow control valve to control a position of the steam flow control valve and an amount of the steam injected into the core air flow path at the steam injection location, wherein the controller is configured to: receive an input from the sensor, to determine the core air water content based on the input received from the sensor; and adjust the amount of the steam injected into the core air flow path at the steam injection location, based on the determined core air water content, by one or both of: changing the position of the steam flow control valve; or redirecting the at least portion of the steam through the steam bypass flow path.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,215,634. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,215,634 appears to anticipate claim 1 of the instant application (see comparison below, which shows common claim material underlined).
Claim 1 of 19/040,565
Claim 1 of 12,215,634
Claim 1: A turbine engine for an aircraft, the turbine engine comprising: a turbo-engine including: a core air flow path for core air to flow therethrough; a combustor located in the core air flow path to receive compressed air and fluidly coupled to a fuel source to receive fuel, the fuel being injected into the combustor to mix with the compressed air to generate a fuel and air mixture, the fuel and air mixture being combusted in a primary combustion zone of the combustor to generate combustion gases; an engine shaft; and a turbine located downstream of the combustor to receive the combustion gases and to cause the turbine to rotate, the turbine coupled to the engine shaft to rotate the engine shaft when the turbine rotates; a fan having a fan shaft coupled to the turbo-engine to rotate the fan shaft; a steam system extracting water from the combustion gases and vaporizing the water to generate steam, the steam system being fluidly coupled to the core air flow path to inject the steam into the core air flow path at a steam injection location to add mass flow to the core air, the steam system including a steam flow control valve operable to control the flow of the steam into the core air flow path; a sensor located on the turbine engine to detect a parameter indicative of a core air water content, the core air water content being a water content of the core air upstream of the steam injection location; and a controller operatively coupled to the steam flow control valve to control a position of the steam flow control valve and an amount of the steam injected into the core air flow path at the steam injection location, wherein the controller is configured to receive an input from the sensor, to determine the core air water content based on the input received from the sensor and to change the position of the steam flow control valve and the amount of the steam injected into the core air flow path at the steam injection location based on the core air water content.
A turbine engine for an aircraft, the turbine engine comprising: a turbo-engine including: a core air flow path for core air to flow therethrough; a compressor located in the core air flow path to compress the core air to generate compressed air: a combustor located in the core air flow path downstream of the compressor to receive the compressed air from the compressor and fluidly coupled to a fuel source to receive fuel, the fuel being injected into the combustor to mix with the compressed air to generate a fuel and air mixture, the fuel and air mixture being combusted in a primary combustion zone of the combustor to generate combustion gases; an engine shaft coupled to the compressor to rotate the compressor; and a turbine located downstream of the combustor to receive the combustion gases and to cause the turbine to rotate, the turbine coupled to the engine shaft to rotate the engine shaft when the turbine rotates; a fan having a fan shaft coupled to the turbo-engine to rotate the fan shaft; a steam system extracting water from the combustion gases and vaporizing the extracted water to generate steam, the steam system being fluidly coupled to the core air flow path to inject the steam into the core air flow path at a steam injection location to add mass flow to the core air, the steam system including a steam flow control valve operable to control the flow of the steam into the core air flow path; one or more sensors located on the turbine engine to detect a parameter indicative of a core air water content, the core air water content being a water content of the core air upstream of the steam injection location, at least one of the one or more sensors being a compressor discharge sensor located at an outlet of the compressor or downstream thereof to detect, in the compressed air, the parameter indicative of the core air water content; a speed sensor located to detect a rotational speed of the engine shaft; and a controller operatively coupled to the steam flow control valve to control a position of the steam flow control valve and an amount of the steam injected into the core air flow path at the steam injection location, wherein the controller is configured to; receive an input from the one or more sensors and an input from the speed sensor, to determine the core air water content based on the input received from the one or more sensors and the input received from the speed sensor; and change the position of the steam flow control valve and the amount of the steam injected into the core air flow path at the steam injection location based on the core air water content.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 includes a sensor located on the turbine engine to detect a parameter indicative of a core air water content, the core air water content being a water content of the core air upstream of the steam injection location.
Claim 10 includes each sensor of the plurality of sensors located on the turbine engine to detect a parameter indicative of the core air water content.
In Claim 10, the above limitations are followed by “another sensor of the plurality of sensors being a compressor inlet sensor located at an inlet of the compressor or upstream thereof to detect the parameter indicative of the core air water content.”
In claim 10, it is not clear whether the sensor in claim 1 is part of the plurality of sensors and whether each of the sensors is measuring the same or different parameters indicative of the core air water content. For example, a first sensor could measure pressure and a second sensor could measure a temperature. Further, it is not clear what “the another sensor” is measuring. Does “the parameter indicative of the core air water content” of the another sensor refer to the parameter measured by each sensor of the plurality of sensors in claim 10 or the parameter measured by the sensor in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger (US 2023/0374911) in view of Talabisco (5,357,741).
Regarding claim 1, Terwilliger teaches a turbine engine (100, Fig, 2) for an aircraft (¶43), the turbine engine comprising: a turbo-engine (Fig. 2) including: a core air flow path 55 for core air to flow therethrough; a combustor 30 located in the core air flow path to receive compressed air and fluidly coupled to a fuel source to receive fuel, the fuel being injected into the combustor to mix with the compressed air to generate a fuel and air mixture (¶33), the fuel and air mixture being combusted in a primary combustion zone of the combustor to generate combustion gases (¶33); an engine shaft (64, 66, 68, Fig. 1); and a turbine (36, 38) located downstream of the combustor to receive the combustion gases and to cause the turbine to rotate (Fig. 2), the turbine coupled to the engine shaft to rotate the engine shaft when the turbine rotates (¶41, ¶42); a fan 22 having a fan shaft (Fig. 2) coupled to the turbo-engine to rotate the fan shaft (¶33); a steam system (Fig. 2, condenser 80, evaporator 72), extracting water from the combustion gases and vaporizing the water to generate steam (condenser extract water, evaporator vaporizes the water), the steam system being fluidly coupled to the core air flow path to inject the steam into the core air flow path at a steam injection location (burner 30) to add mass flow to the core air (Fig. 2, steam is injected into the core at the burner 30).
Terwilliger doesn’t teach the steam system including a steam flow control valve operable to control the flow of the steam into the core air flow path; a sensor located on the turbine engine to detect a parameter indicative of a core air water content, the core air water content being a water content of the core air upstream of the steam injection location; and a controller operatively coupled to the steam flow control valve to control a position of the steam flow control valve and an amount of the steam injected into the core air flow path at the steam injection location, wherein the controller is configured to receive an input from the sensor, to determine the core air water content based on the input received from the sensor and to change the position of the steam flow control valve and the amount of the steam injected into the core air flow path at the steam injection location based on the core air water content.
Talabisco teaches a gas turbine engine with steam injection (Fig. 1). The amount of steam
injected is varied based on fuel flow, inlet air temperature, relative humidity, fuel heating value and turbine load which is a function of the turbine firing temperature (Abstract). In order to maintain a constant level of NOx over the operating range of the gas turbine, the amount of steam injected needs to vary based on fuel flow, inlet ambient air temperature, relative humidity, fuel heating value and turbine load which is a function of the turbine firing temperature (Col. 2:42-47). A calculated steam-to-fuel ratio based on fuel flow, inlet air temperature, relative humidity, fuel heating value and turbine load which is a function of the turbine firing temperature (Col. 3:5-9). An emissions control system that is designed to control NOx emission levels within specified limits for a range of operation of a gas turbine between minimum load and maximum load fuel flows during all ambient conditions including ambient temperature and relative humidity variations. A method and apparatus are provided to modify a steam-to-fuel ratio necessary to maintain constant emission levels for the given operating conditions on the
basis of actual fuel flow into a gas turbine with the system generating a signal that represents the steam metering valve position required to inject the necessary steam into the turbine combustor to obtain the desired steam-to-fuel ratio (Col:3:18-32).
The steam system includes a steam flow control valve 23 operable to control the flow of the steam into the core air flow path (Col. 5:13-18); a sensor (39, temperature, 35, at inlet, relative humidity sensor) located on the turbine engine to detect a parameter indicative of a core air water content, the core air water content being a water content of the core air upstream of the steam injection location (Col. 5:52-6:3); and a controller 25, 27 operatively coupled to the steam flow control valve to control a position of the steam flow control valve and an amount of the steam injected into the core air flow path at the steam injection location (Col. 10:19-23, Fig. 11), wherein the controller is configured to receive an input from the sensor, to determine the core air water content based on the input received from the sensor and to change the position of the steam flow control valve and the amount of the steam injected into the core air flow path at the steam injection location based on the core air water content (Fig. 11, steam is adjusted based upon ambient temperature and relative humidity which are each measures of the core air water content).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the turbine engine of Terwilliger have the steam system including a steam flow control valve operable to control the flow of the steam into the core air flow path; a sensor located on the turbine engine to detect a parameter indicative of a core air water content, the core air water content being a water content of the core air upstream of the steam injection location; and a controller operatively coupled to the steam flow control valve to control a position of the steam flow control valve and an amount of the steam injected into the core air flow path at the steam injection location, wherein the controller is configured to receive an input from the sensor, to determine the core air water content based on the input received from the sensor and to change the position of the steam flow control valve and the amount of the steam injected into the core air flow path at the steam injection location based on the core air water content, as taught by Talabisco, in order to control NOx emission levels within specified limits for a range of operation of a gas turbine between minimum load and maximum load fuel flows during all ambient conditions including ambient temperature and relative humidity variations.
Regarding claim 2 and 3, Terwilliger and Talabisco teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above and Talabisco further teaches the sensor is one of a temperature sensor and the core air flow path includes a core inlet, the sensor being located at the core inlet to detect, in the core inlet, the parameter indicative of the core air water content (Fig. 1, the water content depends on ambient conditions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the turbine engine of Terwilliger and Talabisco have the sensor is one of a temperature sensor and the core air flow path includes a core inlet, the sensor being located at the core inlet to detect, in the core inlet, the parameter indicative of the core air water content, as taught by Talabisco, in order to adjust the steam flow for ambient conditions.
Regarding claim 6 and 7, Terwilliger and Talabisco teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above Terwilliger and Talabisco teaches the steam is injected into a primary combustion zone. Thus, as modified, Terwilliger in view of Talabisco teaches the steam flow control valve is a primary steam flow control valve operable to control the flow of the steam into a primary steam injection zone, the primary steam injection zone being a steam injection zone located in the core air flow path such that the steam injected into the primary steam injection zone flows into the primary combustion zone and the primary steam injection zone is the primary combustion zone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 8, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terwilliger and Talabisco, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Spinnelli (US 2008/0178659).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Terwilliger and Talabisco teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above for claim 1. Terwilliger and Talabisco doesn’t a nacelle circumferentially surrounding the fan, the nacelle defining a fan inlet for a volume of air, the sensor being located at the fan inlet to detect, in the volume of air, the parameter indicative of the core air water content and the sensor is located on the nacelle in the fan inlet.
Spinelli teaches a gas turbine engine for an aircraft with a nacelle (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) and measuring the water content in the air using changes in properties through the compressor (Abstract). Spinnelli teaches a nacelle (Fig. 2) circumferentially surrounding the fan 206, the nacelle defining a fan inlet for a volume of air (Fig. 2), the sensor (T12, PO) being located at the fan inlet to detect, in the volume of air, the parameter indicative of the core air water content and the sensor is located on the nacelle in the fan inlet (The sensor data is used to determine the core air water content, ¶34-¶42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the turbine engine of Terwilliger and Talabisco have a nacelle circumferentially surrounding the fan, the nacelle defining a fan inlet for a volume of air, the sensor being located at the fan inlet to detect, in the volume of air, the parameter indicative of the core air water content and the sensor is located on the nacelle in the fan inlet, as taught by Spinnelli, in order to measure the ambient flow conditions to determine the water content of the air ingested into the engine.
Regarding claims 8, 10, 11 and 12, Terwilliger and Talabisco teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above for claim 1. Terwilliger teaches a compressor located in the core air flow path upstream of the combustor to compress the core air to generate the compressed air (Fig. 2). Terwilliger in view of Talabisco doesn’t teach the sensor being a compressor discharge sensor located at an outlet of the compressor or downstream thereof to detect, in the compressed air, the parameter indicative of the core air water content, the compressor discharge sensor is one sensor of a plurality of sensors, each sensor of the plurality of sensors located on the turbine engine to detect a parameter indicative of the core air water content, another sensor of the plurality of sensors being a compressor inlet sensor located at an inlet of the compressor or upstream thereof to detect the parameter indicative of the core air water content, each of the compressor inlet sensor and the compressor discharge sensor is a temperature sensor, and the controller is configured to determine the core air water content based on a temperature increase from the compressor inlet sensor to the compressor discharge sensor, and each of the compressor inlet sensor and the compressor discharge sensor is a pressure sensor, and the controller is configured to determine the core air water content of using a pressure increase from the compressor inlet sensor to the compressor discharge sensor.
Spinelli teaches the sensor being a compressor discharge sensor (P3, T3,¶21, Fig. 2),located at an outlet of the compressor or downstream thereof to detect (Fig. 2), in the compressed air, the parameter indicative of the core air water content (¶44, used to determine water content), the compressor discharge sensor is one sensor of a plurality of sensors (P3, T3 T12, P0), each sensor of the plurality of sensors located on the turbine engine to detect a parameter indicative of the core air water content (the temperature and pressure are used to determine water content, ¶34-¶42, another sensor of the plurality of sensors being a compressor inlet sensor located at an inlet of the compressor or upstream thereof to detect the parameter indicative of the core air water content (T12, P0), each of the compressor inlet sensor and the compressor discharge sensor is a temperature sensor (T12, T3), and the controller is configured to determine the core air water content based on a temperature increase from the compressor inlet sensor to the compressor discharge sensor (¶35, eq. 2, temperature increases in the compressor, thus, the ratio of temperatures is greater than 1 in eq. 2), and each of the compressor inlet sensor and the compressor discharge sensor is a pressure sensor (P0, P3), and the controller is configured to determine the core air water content of using a pressure increase from the compressor inlet sensor to the compressor discharge sensor (¶35, eq. 2, pressure increases in the compressor, thus, the ratio of pressures is greater than 1 in eq. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the engine of Terwilliger and Talabisco have a the sensor being a compressor discharge sensor located at an outlet of the compressor or downstream thereof to detect, in the compressed air, the parameter indicative of the core air water content, the compressor discharge sensor is one sensor of a plurality of sensors, each sensor of the plurality of sensors located on the turbine engine to detect a parameter indicative of the core air water content, another sensor of the plurality of sensors being a compressor inlet sensor located at an inlet of the compressor or upstream thereof to detect the parameter indicative of the core air water content, each of the compressor inlet sensor and the compressor discharge sensor is a temperature sensor, and the controller is configured to determine the core air water content based on a temperature increase from the compressor inlet sensor to the compressor discharge sensor, and each of the compressor inlet sensor and the compressor discharge sensor is a pressure sensor, and the controller is configured to determine the core air water content of using a pressure increase from the compressor inlet sensor to the compressor discharge sensor, as taught by Spinelli, in order to provide a back-up method for determining the core water content used to determine amount of steam to inject and improve the redundancy of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the filing of a timely terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
/DAVID P. OLYNICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741