DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 4: “a mobile computing device configured to selectively enable operation of the program controller”
Claim 5: “an adjustment mechanism configured to enable adjustment of the position of the bearing wheel…”
Claim 7: “a quick release mechanism configured to facilitate selective coupling of the bender shoe to the output shaft”
Claim 9: “an automatic feed mechanism configured to advance the section of conduit relative to the bender shoe from an initial position to a bend position.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oda et al. (hereafter “Oda”)(US 6,026,668) in view of Plummer et al. (hereafter “Plummer”) (US Patent 9,849,494).
With regards to claim 2, Oda discloses a portable conduit bending apparatus comprising:
a driver (motor 1) configured to rotate a driven shaft at a first rotational output;
a reductive gear set (3a-3g) operably coupled to the driven shaft and to an output shaft (4), the reductive gear set configured to reduce the first rotational output to a second rotational output at the output shaft;
a housing (6) defining an interior cavity configured to house the reductive gear set, the housing being configured for transport with a handgrip (handle 7);
a bender shoe (12) couplable to the output shaft, the bender shoe defining an arcuate channel shaped to receive a section of conduit;
a bearing wheel (19) disposed adjacent the bender shoe and configured to support the section of conduit during bending;
Oda discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for a programmable controller in communication with the driver, the programmable controller configured to operate the driver according to a set of defined bend specifications, and further configured to enable configuration, control, sensing, and display of conduit bending operations ;a user interface in communication with the programmable controller and configured to enable a user to define the set of bend specifications; a sensor configured to sense an angular position of the bender shoe relative to the housing; and a display configured to display a digital readout of the angular position the bender shoe. Plummer is relied upon to teach a bending tool (200) a programmable controller (25) in communication with the driver (250), the programmable controller configured to operate the driver according to a set of defined bend specifications, and further configured to enable configuration, control, sensing, and display of conduit bending operations; a user interface in communication with the programmable controller and configured to enable a user to define the set of bend specifications [Column 5, lines 50-60; Column 6, lines 40-60 and Column 30, lines 40-50]; a sensor (320) configured to sense an angular position of the bender shoe relative to the housing; and a display configured to display a digital readout of the angular position the bender shoe [Column 7, lines 15-20]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Oda’s bending tool with programmable controller and remote user interface because combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
The combination of Oda and Plummer discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the driver is battery powered. It is considered to be well-known that handheld bending tool are battery powered. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Oda’s tool to be battery powered, since it would have been obvious to try this technique when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions for powering a hand tool, with a reasonable expectation of success. SR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
With regards to claim 3, Plummer teaches wherein the set of defined bend specifications (1011) includes a desired bend angle for a bend in the section of conduit.
With regards to claim 4, Plummer teaches further comprising a mobile computing device wirelessly coupleable to the programmable controller, the mobile computing device configured to selectively enable operation of the programmable controller [Column 30, lines 40-50].
With regards to claim 5, Oda discloses wherein the bearing wheel includes an adjustment mechanism (27) configured to enable adjustment of the position of the bearing wheel relative to the housing or the bender shoe by manipulating a locking device and manually positioning the bearing wheel.
With regards to claim 6, Oda discloses wherein the housing includes a set of bearing wheel markings (20 and 21) configured to indicate positions of the bearing wheel for different conduit diameters [Column 7, lines 1-25].
With regards to claim 7, Oda discloses a quick release mechanism (10, 11a) configured to facilitate selective coupling of the bender shoe to the output shaft. Oda discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the output shaft includes a polygonal cross-section. It is considered to be well-known that an output shaft can have a polygonal cross-section or cylindrical cross-section. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have Oda’s shaft with a polygonal cross-section, since it would have been obvious to try this technique when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. SR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
With regards to claim 8, Oda discloses wherein the driver is configured to receive actuation input from at least one of a trigger or activation button (9) mounted on the housing.
With regards to claim 9, Plummer teaches further comprising an automatic feed mechanism configured to advance the section of conduit relative to the bender shoe from an initial position to a bend position [Column 21, lines 5-30].
Conclusion
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725