Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14 and 17 of copending Application No. 19/040,723.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
As set forth below, the chart identifies which claims from the current application corresponds to the conflicting Co-Pending application.
Current Application
Co-Pending Application 19/010,723
1
14
2
17
As disclosed in the chart above, the copending application claim 14 and 17 substantially recite the same limitations recited in claims 1 and 2 of the current application as listed above. However, the following differences between the copending application and the current application claims are present as set forth below:
The copending application claim 14 has the additional limitation of “a surface facing the acoustic reflector that is flat (a) over an entirety of the active region and (b) beyond the first electrode over the acoustic reflector, the first electrode and the second electrode overlapping and being on opposing sides of the piezoelectric layer in the active region”.
Therefore, claims 14 and 17 of the copending application meets claims 1 and 2 of the present application under an “anticipation” analysis in an obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Claims 19 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 19/040,723 in view of Matsuo et al. (US2020/0083861 A1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 14 of the copending application teaches the details of the bulk acoustic wave device as recited in claims 19 and 20 of the present application. However, claim 14 of the copending application does not teach: in regards to claim 19, an acoustic wave filter for filtering a radio frequency signal, and a plurality of additional acoustic wave resonators, the bulk acoustic wave resonator and the plurality of additional acoustic wave resonators configured to filter the radio frequency signal; and in regards to claim 20, a wireless communication device comprising: a radio frequency front end including a filter that includes the bulk acoustic wave resonator; an antenna coupled to the radio frequency front end; a transceiver in communication with the radio frequency front end; and a baseband system in communication with the transceiver.
Matsuo et al. teaches in Fig. 9 a wireless communication device comprising a radio frequency front end (840, 810, 850 and 860) including a filter/duplexer that includes a plurality of bulk acoustic wave resonators; an antenna (910) coupled to the radio frequency front end; a transceiver (830) in communication with the radio frequency front end; and a baseband system (930) in communication with the transceiver.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the copending application claim 14 and have used the bulk acoustic wave device of claim 14 to form a filter/duplexer in a wireless communication device as taught by Matsuo et al. (see Fig. 9) because such a modification would have been a well-known in the art intended use for an acoustic wave device for the benefit of forming a filter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 11, 14, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuo et al. (US2020/0083861 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Matsuo et al. teaches in Fig. 2 a bulk acoustic wave device having an active region (250), the bulk acoustic wave device comprising: a first electrode (125); a second electrode (120); and a piezoelectric layer (115) having a recess (220) outside of the active region of the bulk acoustic wave device, the first electrode and the second electrode overlapping and being on opposing sides of the piezoelectric layer throughout the active region.
In regards to claim 2, based on Fig. 2, a raised frame structure (260) outside of the active region (250).
In regards to claim 4, based on Fig. 2, the recess (220) is included between the raised frame structure (260) and the active region (250).
In regards to claim 5, based on Fig. 2, the raised frame structure (260) is positioned on a same side of the piezoelectric layer on opposite sides of the active region (250).
In regards to claim 10, based on Fig. 2, an acoustic reflector (135), the recess being over the acoustic reflector.
In regards to claim 11, based on Fig. 2, the acoustic reflector is an air cavity (135).
In regards to claim 14, based on Fig. 2, a support layer (130) over the acoustic reflector (135) and outside of the active region (250).
In regards to claim 15, based on Fig. 2, a raised frame structure (260) outside of the active region and over the acoustic reflector (135).
In regards to claim 19, based on related Fig. 9 and paragraph [0048), the bulk acoustic wave device of Fig. 2, in combination with additional acoustic wave resonators is used to form an acoustic wave filter/duplexer (810) for filtering a radio frequency signal.
In regards to claim 20, based on related Fig. 9 and paragraph [0048], the bulk acoustic wave device of Fig. 2 is used in a wireless communication (900) device comprising: a radio frequency front end (840, 810, 850 and 860) including a filter/duplexer (810) that uses the bulk acoustic wave device to form the filter, an antenna (910) coupled to the radio frequency front end; a transceiver (830) in communication with the radio frequency front end; and a baseband system (930) in communication with the transceiver.
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sui et al. (US2021/0281243 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Sui et al. teaches in Fig. 1 a bulk acoustic wave device having an active region, the bulk acoustic wave device comprising: a first electrode (13); a second electrode (15); and a piezoelectric layer (14) having a recess outside (12b) of the active region of the bulk acoustic wave device, the first electrode and the second electrode overlapping and being on opposing sides of the piezoelectric layer throughout the active region.
In regards to claim 7, based on Fig. 1, the recess is tapered.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kishimoto et al. (US2021/0146402 A1) teaches in Fig. 1 a bulk acoustic wave device comprising a piezoelectric layer (10) comprises a recess (18) located outside an active region of the device.
Wang (US2019/0334503 A1) teaches in Fig. 1 a bulk acoustic wave device comprising a piezoelectric layer (R6C) containing a recess (R9C).
Belsick et al. (USPAT 10,326,425 B2) teaches in Fig. 3C a bulk acoustic wave device comprising a piezoelectric layer (22) containing a recess (60).
Kando (US2014/0167566 A1) teaches in Fig. 1(a) a bulk acoustic wave device comprising a piezoelectric layer (5) containing a recess (5a and 5b) located outside an active region of the device.
/JORGE L SALAZAR JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843