DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on February 25, 2025 has been entered.
In view of the amendment to the claims, claims 1-20 have been canceled. New claims 21-40 have been added.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 21,22, 23, 24, 28, 29, 30, 31, 33, 35, 38, and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 13 and 17 of Patent No. 12,242,672 B1. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: the instant claims are substantially similar to the claims in the conflicting patent, as shown in the following tables.
Claim 21 is rejected for obviousness-type double patenting under claim 1 of Patent No. 12,242,672 B1.
Instant application claim 21
Claim 1 of Patent No. 12,242,672
A method for triggering an action based on a particular motion detected by an artificial reality device, the method comprising:
A method for triggering an action based on a particular motion detected by an artificial reality device, the method comprising:
displaying an artificial reality experience to a user on the artificial reality device;
detecting, by one or more sensors disposed on a headset of the artificial reality device, a physical interaction with the artificial reality device, the one or more sensors generating a movement profile for the detected physical interaction;
detecting, by one or more sensors, including at least an inertial measurement unit (IMU), integral with the artificial reality device, a physical interaction with the artificial reality device comprising one or more hand taps on the artificial reality device, the physical interaction generating a movement profile of the one or more hand taps on the artificial reality device;
identifying the particular motion by applying a machine learning model to the movement profile, the machine learning model being trained on known motions; and
identifying the physical interaction as the particular motion by applying a machine learning model to the movement profile, the machine learning model being trained on existing movement profiles associated with known motions of hand taps on artificial reality devices; and
in response to identifying the particular motion, triggering the action on the artificial reality device.
in response to identifying the physical interaction as the particular motion, triggering the action on the artificial reality device based on a mapping of detected motions to actions which includes a mapping of one or more hand taps to the action.
Claim 22 is rejected for obviousness-type double patenting under claim 1 of Patent No. 12,242,672 B1.
Instant application claim 22
Claim 1 of Patent No. 12,242,672
A method for triggering an action based on a particular motion detected by an artificial reality device, the method comprising:
displaying an artificial reality experience to a user on the artificial reality device;
The method of claim 21, wherein the one or more sensors include at least an inertial measurement unit (IMU), integral with the artificial reality device.
detecting, by one or more sensors, including at least an inertial measurement unit (IMU), integral with the artificial reality device, a physical interaction with the artificial reality device comprising one or more hand taps on the artificial reality device, the physical interaction generating a movement profile of the one or more hand taps on the artificial reality device;
Claim 23 is rejected for obviousness-type double patenting under claim 1 of Patent No. 12,242,672 B1.
Instant application claim 23
Claim 1 of Patent No. 12,242,672
A method for triggering an action based on a particular motion detected by an artificial reality device, the method comprising:
displaying an artificial reality experience to a user on the artificial reality device;
The method of claim 21, wherein the physical interaction with the artificial reality device comprises one or more taps on the artificial reality device.
detecting, by one or more sensors, including at least an inertial measurement unit (IMU), integral with the artificial reality device, a physical interaction with the artificial reality device comprising one or more hand taps on the artificial reality device, the physical interaction generating a movement profile of the one or more hand taps on the artificial reality device;
Claim 24 is rejected for obviousness-type double patenting under claim 2 of Patent No. 12,242,672 B1.
Instant application claim 24
Claim 2 of Patent No. 12,242,672
The method of claim 23,
The method of claim 1,
wherein the one or more taps includes a sequence of taps;
wherein the one or more hand taps includes a sequence of hand taps,
wherein the machine learning model is further trained to recognize each tap of the sequence of taps or multiple taps of the sequence of taps; and
wherein the machine learning model is further trained to recognize each hand tap of the sequence of hand taps, and
wherein the method further comprises: prior to triggering the action on the artificial reality device, determining that the sequence of taps is complete based on a lapse of a threshold period of time after a tap of the sequence of taps;
wherein the method further comprises: prior to triggering the action on the artificial reality device, determining that the sequence of hand taps is complete based on a lapse of a threshold period of time after a hand tap of the sequence of hand taps,
wherein the action is triggered on the artificial reality device further in response to determining that the sequence of taps is complete.
wherein the action is triggered on the artificial reality device further in response to determining that the sequence of hand taps is complete.
Claim 28 is rejected for obviousness-type double patenting under claim 4 of Patent No. 12,242,672 B1.
Instant application claim 28
Claim 4 of Patent No. 12,242,672
The method of claim 21, wherein the action includes activating pass-through of a real-world environment on the artificial reality device.
The method of claim 1, wherein the action includes activating pass-through of a real-world environment on the artificial reality device.
Claim 29 is rejected for obviousness-type double patenting under claim 5 of Patent No. 12,242,672 B1.
Instant application claim 29
Claim 5 of Patent No. 12,242,672
The method of claim 21, wherein the action includes displaying an outline of at least a portion of a real-world environment, as an overlay on an artificial reality environment, on the artificial reality device.
The method of claim 1, wherein the action includes displaying an outline of a real-world environment, as an overlay on an artificial reality environment, on the artificial reality device.
Claim 30 is rejected for obviousness-type double patenting under claim 6 of Patent No. 12,242,672 B1.
Instant application claim 30
Claim 6 of Patent No. 12,242,672
The method of claim 21, wherein the action includes activating intrusion detection on the artificial reality device, and
The method of claim 1, wherein the action includes activating intrusion detection on the artificial reality device, and
wherein the method further comprises: in response to activating intrusion detection on the artificial reality device, detecting a movement in a real-world environment by the artificial reality device; and displaying a notification of the detected movement on the artificial reality device.
wherein the method further comprises: in response to activating intrusion detection on the artificial reality device, detecting a movement in a real-world environment by the artificial reality device; and displaying a notification of the detected movement on the artificial reality device.
Claim 31 is rejected for obviousness-type double patenting under claim 7 of Patent No. 12,242,672 B1.
Instant application claim 31
Claim 7 of Patent No. 12,242,672
The method of claim 21, wherein the action includes pausing an artificial reality experience on the artificial reality device.
The method of claim 1, wherein the action includes pausing the artificial reality experience on the artificial reality device.
Claim 33 is rejected for obviousness-type double patenting under claim 8 of Patent No. 12,242,672 B1.
Instant application claim 33
Claim 8 of Patent No. 12,242,672
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, for triggering an action based on a particular motion detected by an artificial reality device, the instructions, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform a process for triggering an action based on a particular motion detected by an artificial reality device, the process comprising:
displaying an artificial reality experience to a user on the artificial reality device;
detect, by one or more sensors disposed on a headset of the artificial reality device, a physical interaction with the artificial reality device, the one or more sensors generating a movement profile for the detected physical interaction;
detecting, by one or more sensors integral with the artificial reality device, a physical interaction with the artificial reality device, the physical interaction generating a movement profile;
identify the particular motion by applying a machine learning model to the movement profile, the machine learning model being trained on known motions; and
identifying the physical interaction as the particular motion by applying a machine learning model to the movement profile, the machine learning model being trained on existing movement profiles associated with known motions; an
in response to identifying the particular motion, trigger the action on the artificial reality device.
in response to identifying the physical interaction as the particular motion, triggering the action on the artificial reality device.
Claim 35 is rejected for obviousness-type double patenting under claim 9 of Patent No. 12,242,672 B1.
Instant application claim 35
Claim 9 of Patent No. 12,242,672
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 33, wherein the physical interaction with the artificial reality device comprises one or more taps on the artificial reality device.
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the particular motion is one or more hand taps on the artificial reality device, and wherein the action is triggered on the artificial reality device based on a mapping of detected motions to actions which includes a mapping of one or more hand taps to the action.
Claim 38 is rejected for obviousness-type double patenting under claim 13 of Patent No. 12,242,672 B1.
Instant application claim 38
Claim 13 of Patent No. 12,242,672
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 33, wherein the action includes activating pass-through of a real-world environment on the artificial reality device or pausing an artificial reality experience on the artificial reality device.
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the action includes activating pass-through of a real-world environment on the artificial reality device.
Claim 40 is rejected for obviousness-type double patenting under claim 17 of Patent No. 12,242,672 B1.
Instant application claim 40
Claim 17 of Patent No. 12,242,672
A computing system for triggering an action based on a particular motion detected by an artificial reality device, the computing system comprising:
A computing system for triggering an action based on a particular motion detected by an artificial reality device, the computing system comprising:
one or more processors; and one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to:
one or more processors; and one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to perform a process comprising:
displaying an artificial reality experience to a user on the artificial reality device;
detect, by one or more sensors disposed on a headset of the artificial reality device, a physical interaction with the artificial reality device, the one or more sensors generating a movement profile for the detected physical interaction;
detecting, by one or more sensors integral with the artificial reality device, a physical interaction with the artificial reality device, the physical interaction generating a movement profile;
identify the particular motion by applying a machine learning model to the movement profile, the machine learning model being trained on known motions; and
identifying the physical interaction as the particular motion by applying a machine learning model to the movement profile, the machine learning model being trained on existing movement profiles associated with known motions; and
in response to identifying the particular motion, trigger the action on the artificial reality device.
in response to identifying the physical interaction as the particular motion, triggering the action on the artificial reality device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 25-27, 32-35, 37 and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0245657 A1) in view of Wells et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0143141 A1).
Regarding claim 21, LIANG discloses a method for triggering an action based on a particular motion detected by an artificial reality device, the method comprising:
detecting, by one or more sensors disposed on a headset of the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0241], as illustrated in FIG. 8A, device 802 is a wearable electronic device with a motion sensor ... Device 802 may be incorporated in a wearable electronic device, such as a headset), a physical interaction with the artificial reality device (FIG. 9; paragraph [0257], at block 904, a plurality of sample data sets are obtained from a motion sensor (e.g., the motion sensor incorporated in device 802), representing a user-specific motion data corpus. For example, a user may complete an enrollment process for recognizing voice inputs using motion sensing, where the user is prompted to speak sample voice inputs while the motion sensor detects the user's movements), the one or more sensors generating a movement data for the detected physical interaction (Paragraph [0264], at block 908, first data is received from a motion sensor. The motion sensor may include one or more accelerometers, one or more gyroscopes, one or more magentometers, or a combination thereof (e.g., an inertial measurement unit (IMU)). The motion sensor is used to generate data representing movements of a user);
identifying the particular motion by applying a machine learning model (FIGS. 7A and 7B; paragraph [0225], natural language processing module 732 is implemented using one or more machine learning mechanisms (e.g., neural networks)) to the movement data (Paragraph [0223], natural language processing module 732 receives the candidate text representations (e.g., text string(s) or token sequence(s)) from STT processing module 730, and for each candidate representation, determines what nodes are implicated by the words in the candidate text representation ...; paragraph [0268], at block 910, a determination is made of whether a portion of the first data (e.g., data portion 808) matches reference data for a set of one or more words. That is, method 900 determines whether motion data received from the motion sensor indicates that the user has spoken a particular word or phrase (e.g., “Hey Siri”), based on reference motion data for the particular word or phrase (e.g., reference data 810B)), the machine learning model being trained on known motions (Paragraph [0257], the sample voice inputs may be commonly-used commands (e.g., “Hey Siri,” “Turn on/off,” “Play,” and the like), custom vocabulary (e.g., the user's name, names of the user's contacts, device nicknames, or the like, including vocabulary that may not be included in the baseline language model), or any set of voice inputs useful for training a language model (e.g., voice inputs including a wide variety of phonemes)); and
in response to identifying the particular motion, triggering the action on the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0279], at block 916, in accordance with a determination that the portion of the first data matches the reference data for the set of one or more words, a task associated with the set of one or more words (e.g., the recognized word or phrase) is initiated. For example, the task may include launching a digital assistant session (e.g., in response to recognizing the phrase “Hey Siri, as shown in FIGS. 8A-8B), controlling playback of media (e.g., playing a movie, skipping an episode of a TV show, advancing to the next song in a playlist, and so forth), placing a call or sending a message, or any other task that can be performed by an electronic device (for instance, using traditional methods of voice control)).
However, LIANG does not specifically disclose the one or more sensors generating a movement profile for the detected physical interaction.
In additional, Wells discloses (Paragraph [0135], FIG. 7A is a simplified block diagram of an exemplary intelligent multi-player electronic gaming system 700 ... intelligent multi-player electronic gaming system 700 includes at least one master gaming controller 412, a multi-touch sensor ...; paragraph [0159], the user input identification/origination system may be operatively coupled to one or more cameras (e.g., 493, 462, etc.) and/or other types of sensor devices described herein (such as, for example, microphones 463, sensors 460, multipoint sensing device(s) 496, etc.) for use in identifying a particular user who is responsible for performing one or more of the touches, contacts and/or gestures detected at or near the multi-touch, multi-player interactive display surface) the one or more sensors generating a movement profile for the detected physical interaction (Paragraph [0416], at least one gaming table system described herein may be operable to monitor and record the movements/gestures of a player during game play of one or more games. The recorded information may be processed to generate player profile movement information which may be used for determining and/or verifying the player's identity ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for operating an intelligent automated assistant taught by LIANG incorporate the teachings of Wells, and applying the intelligent multi-player electronic gaming systems taught by Wells to detect the movements/gestures of a user and generate the movement profile based on the detected movements/gestures of the user, and doing so would at least provide the movement profile representing movements of a user into the machine learning model for identifying particular motion. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LIANG according to the relied-upon teachings of Wells to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of LIANG in view of Wells discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), and LIANG further disclose
wherein the one or more sensors include at least an inertial measurement unit (IMU), integral with the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0241], with reference to FIG. 8A, device 802 includes a motion sensor. As illustrated in FIG. 8A, device 802 is a wearable electronic device with a motion sensor located near the temple of user 804 ... The motion sensor may include one or more accelerometers, one or more gyroscopes, one or more magnetometers, or a combination thereof, such as an inertial measurement unit (IMU)).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of LIANG in view of Wells discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21).
However, LIANG does not specifically disclose wherein the physical interaction with the artificial reality device comprises one or more taps on the artificial reality device.
In additional, Wells discloses wherein the physical interaction with the artificial reality device comprises one or more taps (Paragraph [0965], in the example embodiment of FIG. 25A, gesture 2502c may be defined to include at least the following gesture-specific characteristics: double tap, one contact region. In at least one embodiment, gesture 2502c may be referred to as a "single digit" double tap gesture. In at least one embodiment, a "single digit" double tap gesture may be may be interpreted as being characterized by a sequence of two consecutive "tap" gestures on the multi-touch input interface in which continuous contact with the multi-touch input interface is broken in between each tap) on the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0135], FIG. 7A is a simplified block diagram of an exemplary intelligent multi-player electronic gaming system 700 ... intelligent multi-player electronic gaming system 700 includes at least one master gaming controller 412, a multi-touch sensor ...; paragraph [0159], the user input identification/origination system may be operatively coupled to one or more cameras (e.g., 493, 462, etc.) and/or other types of sensor devices described herein (such as, for example, microphones 463, sensors 460, multipoint sensing device(s) 496, etc.) for use in identifying a particular user who is responsible for performing one or more of the touches, contacts and/or gestures detected at or near the multi-touch, multi-player interactive display surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for operating an intelligent automated assistant taught by LIANG incorporate the teachings of Wells, and applying the intelligent multi-player electronic gaming systems taught by Wells to detect one or more taps on the artificial reality device. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LIANG according to the relied-upon teachings of Wells to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of LIANG in view of Wells discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), and LIANG further disclose wherein the physical interaction with the artificial reality device comprises one or more shakes of the artificial reality device (FIG. 9; paragraph [0264], the motion sensor is used to generate data representing movements of a user, specifically, movement caused by the user speaking, such as movement of the facial muscles, vibrations, head nods and shakes, and the like).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of LIANG in view of Wells discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21).
However, LIANG does not specifically disclose wherein the physical interaction is a swiping motion on the artificial reality device.
In additional, Wells discloses wherein the physical interaction is a swiping motion on the artificial reality device (FIG. 7A; paragraph [0153], user input identification/origination system 499 may be operable to determine and/or identify an appropriate origination entity (e.g., a particular player, dealer, and/or other user at the gaming system) to be associated with each (or selected ones of) the various contacts, movements, and/or gestures detected at or near the multi-touch, multi-player interactive display surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for operating an intelligent automated assistant taught by LIANG incorporate the teachings of Wells, and applying the intelligent multi-player electronic gaming systems taught by Wells to detect the swiping motion on the artificial reality device. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LIANG according to the relied-upon teachings of Wells to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of LIANG in view of Wells discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), and LIANG further disclose wherein triggering the action on the artificial reality device is based on a pre-defined mapping of motions to actions (FIG. 9; paragraph [0279], at block 916, in accordance with a determination that the portion of the first data matches the reference data for the set of one or more words, a task associated with the set of one or more words (e.g., the recognized word or phrase) is initiated. For example, the task may include launching a digital assistant session (e.g., in response to recognizing the phrase “Hey Siri, as shown in FIGS. 8A-8B), controlling playback of media (e.g., playing a movie, skipping an episode of a TV show, advancing to the next song in a playlist, and so forth), placing a call or sending a message, or any other task that can be performed by an electronic device (for instance, using traditional methods of voice control)).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of LIANG in view of Wells discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), and LIANG further disclose wherein triggering the action is further based on a determined location (FIG. 1; paragraph [0030], a user asks the digital assistant a question, such as “Where am I right now?” Based on the user's current location, the digital assistant answers, “You are in Central Park near the west gate.”...), of the physical interaction, on the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0030], in response, the digital assistant can acknowledge the request by saying “Yes, right away,” and then send a suitable calendar invite on behalf of the user to each of the user's friends listed in the user's electronic address book. During performance of a requested task, the digital assistant sometimes interacts with the user in a continuous dialogue involving multiple exchanges of information over an extended period of time ...).
Regarding claim 33, LIANG discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (FIG. 8A; paragraph [0204], system 800 is implemented using a client-server system (e.g., system 100), and the functions of system 800 are divided up in any manner between the server (e.g., DA server 106) and a client device ... a client device (e.g., user device 104); FIG. 1; paragraph [0033], user device 104 is a portable multifunctional device (e.g., device 200, described below with reference to FIG. 2A), a multifunctional device (e.g., device 400, described below with reference to FIG. 4) ...; paragraph [0044], a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of memory 202 is used to store instructions (e.g., for performing aspects of processes described below) for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device, such as a computer-based system, processor-containing system, or other system that can fetch the instructions from the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device and execute the instructions), for triggering an action based on a particular motion detected by an artificial reality device, the instructions, when executed by a computing system (Paragraph [0045], the one or more processors 220 run or execute various software programs and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 202 to perform various functions for device 200 and to process data), cause the computing system to:
detect, by one or more sensors disposed on a headset of the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0241], as illustrated in FIG. 8A, device 802 is a wearable electronic device with a motion sensor ... Device 802 may be incorporated in a wearable electronic device, such as a headset), a physical interaction with the artificial reality device (FIG. 9; paragraph [0257], at block 904, a plurality of sample data sets are obtained from a motion sensor (e.g., the motion sensor incorporated in device 802), representing a user-specific motion data corpus. For example, a user may complete an enrollment process for recognizing voice inputs using motion sensing, where the user is prompted to speak sample voice inputs while the motion sensor detects the user's movements), the one or more sensors generating a movement data for the detected physical interaction (Paragraph [0264], at block 908, first data is received from a motion sensor. The motion sensor may include one or more accelerometers, one or more gyroscopes, one or more magentometers, or a combination thereof (e.g., an inertial measurement unit (IMU)). The motion sensor is used to generate data representing movements of a user);
identify the particular motion by applying a machine learning model (FIGS. 7A and 7B; paragraph [0225], natural language processing module 732 is implemented using one or more machine learning mechanisms (e.g., neural networks)) to the movement data (Paragraph [0223], natural language processing module 732 receives the candidate text representations (e.g., text string(s) or token sequence(s)) from STT processing module 730, and for each candidate representation, determines what nodes are implicated by the words in the candidate text representation ...; paragraph [0268], at block 910, a determination is made of whether a portion of the first data (e.g., data portion 808) matches reference data for a set of one or more words. That is, method 900 determines whether motion data received from the motion sensor indicates that the user has spoken a particular word or phrase (e.g., “Hey Siri”), based on reference motion data for the particular word or phrase (e.g., reference data 810B)), the machine learning model being trained on known motions (Paragraph [0257], the sample voice inputs may be commonly-used commands (e.g., “Hey Siri,” “Turn on/off,” “Play,” and the like), custom vocabulary (e.g., the user's name, names of the user's contacts, device nicknames, or the like, including vocabulary that may not be included in the baseline language model), or any set of voice inputs useful for training a language model (e.g., voice inputs including a wide variety of phonemes)); and
in response to identifying the particular motion, trigger the action on the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0279], at block 916, in accordance with a determination that the portion of the first data matches the reference data for the set of one or more words, a task associated with the set of one or more words (e.g., the recognized word or phrase) is initiated. For example, the task may include launching a digital assistant session (e.g., in response to recognizing the phrase “Hey Siri, as shown in FIGS. 8A-8B), controlling playback of media (e.g., playing a movie, skipping an episode of a TV show, advancing to the next song in a playlist, and so forth), placing a call or sending a message, or any other task that can be performed by an electronic device (for instance, using traditional methods of voice control)).
However, LIANG does not specifically disclose the one or more sensors generating a movement profile for the detected physical interaction.
In additional, Wells discloses (Paragraph [0135], FIG. 7A is a simplified block diagram of an exemplary intelligent multi-player electronic gaming system 700 ... intelligent multi-player electronic gaming system 700 includes at least one master gaming controller 412, a multi-touch sensor ...; paragraph [0159], the user input identification/origination system may be operatively coupled to one or more cameras (e.g., 493, 462, etc.) and/or other types of sensor devices described herein (such as, for example, microphones 463, sensors 460, multipoint sensing device(s) 496, etc.) for use in identifying a particular user who is responsible for performing one or more of the touches, contacts and/or gestures detected at or near the multi-touch, multi-player interactive display surface) the one or more sensors generating a movement profile for the detected physical interaction (Paragraph [0416], at least one gaming table system described herein may be operable to monitor and record the movements/gestures of a player during game play of one or more games. The recorded information may be processed to generate player profile movement information which may be used for determining and/or verifying the player's identity ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for operating an intelligent automated assistant taught by LIANG incorporate the teachings of Wells, and applying the intelligent multi-player electronic gaming systems taught by Wells to detect the movements/gestures of a user and generate the movement profile based on the detected movements/gestures of the user, and doing so would at least provide the movement profile representing movements of a user into the machine learning model for identifying particular motion. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LIANG according to the relied-upon teachings of Wells to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 34, the combination of LIANG in view of Wells discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 33), and LIANG further disclose
wherein the one or more sensors include at least an inertial measurement unit (IMU), integral with the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0241], with reference to FIG. 8A, device 802 includes a motion sensor. As illustrated in FIG. 8A, device 802 is a wearable electronic device with a motion sensor located near the temple of user 804 ... The motion sensor may include one or more accelerometers, one or more gyroscopes, one or more magnetometers, or a combination thereof, such as an inertial measurement unit (IMU)).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of LIANG in view of Wells discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 33).
However, LIANG does not specifically disclose wherein the physical interaction with the artificial reality device comprises one or more taps on the artificial reality device.
In additional, Wells discloses wherein the physical interaction with the artificial reality device comprises one or more taps (Paragraph [0965], in the example embodiment of FIG. 25A, gesture 2502c may be defined to include at least the following gesture-specific characteristics: double tap, one contact region. In at least one embodiment, gesture 2502c may be referred to as a "single digit" double tap gesture. In at least one embodiment, a "single digit" double tap gesture may be may be interpreted as being characterized by a sequence of two consecutive "tap" gestures on the multi-touch input interface in which continuous contact with the multi-touch input interface is broken in between each tap) on the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0135], FIG. 7A is a simplified block diagram of an exemplary intelligent multi-player electronic gaming system 700 ... intelligent multi-player electronic gaming system 700 includes at least one master gaming controller 412, a multi-touch sensor ...; paragraph [0159], the user input identification/origination system may be operatively coupled to one or more cameras (e.g., 493, 462, etc.) and/or other types of sensor devices described herein (such as, for example, microphones 463, sensors 460, multipoint sensing device(s) 496, etc.) for use in identifying a particular user who is responsible for performing one or more of the touches, contacts and/or gestures detected at or near the multi-touch, multi-player interactive display surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for operating an intelligent automated assistant taught by LIANG incorporate the teachings of Wells, and applying the intelligent multi-player electronic gaming systems taught by Wells to detect one or more taps on the artificial reality device. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LIANG according to the relied-upon teachings of Wells to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 37, the combination of LIANG in view of Wells discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 33).
However, LIANG does not specifically disclose wherein the physical interaction is a swiping motion on the artificial reality device.
In additional, Wells discloses wherein the physical interaction is a swiping motion on the artificial reality device (FIG. 7A; paragraph [0153], user input identification/origination system 499 may be operable to determine and/or identify an appropriate origination entity (e.g., a particular player, dealer, and/or other user at the gaming system) to be associated with each (or selected ones of) the various contacts, movements, and/or gestures detected at or near the multi-touch, multi-player interactive display surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for operating an intelligent automated assistant taught by LIANG incorporate the teachings of Wells, and applying the intelligent multi-player electronic gaming systems taught by Wells to detect the swiping motion on the artificial reality device. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LIANG according to the relied-upon teachings of Wells to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 39, the combination of LIANG in view of Wells discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 33), and LIANG further disclose wherein triggering the action is further based on a determined location (FIG. 1; paragraph [0030], a user asks the digital assistant a question, such as “Where am I right now?” Based on the user's current location, the digital assistant answers, “You are in Central Park near the west gate.”...), of the physical interaction, on the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0030], in response, the digital assistant can acknowledge the request by saying “Yes, right away,” and then send a suitable calendar invite on behalf of the user to each of the user's friends listed in the user's electronic address book. During performance of a requested task, the digital assistant sometimes interacts with the user in a continuous dialogue involving multiple exchanges of information over an extended period of time ...).
Regarding claim 40, LIANG discloses a computing system for triggering an action based on a particular motion detected by an artificial reality device, the computing system (FIG. 8A; paragraph [0204], system 800 is implemented using a client-server system (e.g., system 100), and the functions of system 800 are divided up in any manner between the server (e.g., DA server 106) and a client device ... a client device (e.g., user device 104); FIG. 1; paragraph [0033], user device 104 is a portable multifunctional device (e.g., device 200, described below with reference to FIG. 2A), a multifunctional device (e.g., device 400, described below with reference to FIG. 4) ...) comprising:
one or more processors (Paragraph [0039], one or more processing units (CPUs) 220); and
one or more memories storing instructions (Paragraph [0044], a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of memory 202 is used to store instructions (e.g., for performing aspects of processes described below) for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, or device, such as a computer-based system, processor-containing system, or other system that can fetch the instructions from the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device and execute the instructions) that, when executed by the one or more processors (Paragraph [0045], the one or more processors 220 run or execute various software programs and/or sets of instructions stored in memory 202 to perform various functions for device 200 and to process data), cause the computing system to:
detect, by one or more sensors disposed on a headset of the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0241], as illustrated in FIG. 8A, device 802 is a wearable electronic device with a motion sensor ... Device 802 may be incorporated in a wearable electronic device, such as a headset), a physical interaction with the artificial reality device (FIG. 9; paragraph [0257], at block 904, a plurality of sample data sets are obtained from a motion sensor (e.g., the motion sensor incorporated in device 802), representing a user-specific motion data corpus. For example, a user may complete an enrollment process for recognizing voice inputs using motion sensing, where the user is prompted to speak sample voice inputs while the motion sensor detects the user's movements), the one or more sensors generating a movement data for the detected physical interaction (Paragraph [0264], at block 908, first data is received from a motion sensor. The motion sensor may include one or more accelerometers, one or more gyroscopes, one or more magentometers, or a combination thereof (e.g., an inertial measurement unit (IMU)). The motion sensor is used to generate data representing movements of a user);
identify the particular motion by applying a machine learning model (FIGS. 7A and 7B; paragraph [0225], natural language processing module 732 is implemented using one or more machine learning mechanisms (e.g., neural networks)) to the movement data (Paragraph [0223], natural language processing module 732 receives the candidate text representations (e.g., text string(s) or token sequence(s)) from STT processing module 730, and for each candidate representation, determines what nodes are implicated by the words in the candidate text representation ...; paragraph [0268], at block 910, a determination is made of whether a portion of the first data (e.g., data portion 808) matches reference data for a set of one or more words. That is, method 900 determines whether motion data received from the motion sensor indicates that the user has spoken a particular word or phrase (e.g., “Hey Siri”), based on reference motion data for the particular word or phrase (e.g., reference data 810B)), the machine learning model being trained on known motions (Paragraph [0257], the sample voice inputs may be commonly-used commands (e.g., “Hey Siri,” “Turn on/off,” “Play,” and the like), custom vocabulary (e.g., the user's name, names of the user's contacts, device nicknames, or the like, including vocabulary that may not be included in the baseline language model), or any set of voice inputs useful for training a language model (e.g., voice inputs including a wide variety of phonemes)); and
in response to identifying the particular motion, trigger the action on the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0279], at block 916, in accordance with a determination that the portion of the first data matches the reference data for the set of one or more words, a task associated with the set of one or more words (e.g., the recognized word or phrase) is initiated. For example, the task may include launching a digital assistant session (e.g., in response to recognizing the phrase “Hey Siri, as shown in FIGS. 8A-8B), controlling playback of media (e.g., playing a movie, skipping an episode of a TV show, advancing to the next song in a playlist, and so forth), placing a call or sending a message, or any other task that can be performed by an electronic device (for instance, using traditional methods of voice control)).
However, LIANG does not specifically disclose the one or more sensors generating a movement profile for the detected physical interaction.
In additional, Wells discloses (Paragraph [0135], FIG. 7A is a simplified block diagram of an exemplary intelligent multi-player electronic gaming system 700 ... intelligent multi-player electronic gaming system 700 includes at least one master gaming controller 412, a multi-touch sensor ...; paragraph [0159], the user input identification/origination system may be operatively coupled to one or more cameras (e.g., 493, 462, etc.) and/or other types of sensor devices described herein (such as, for example, microphones 463, sensors 460, multipoint sensing device(s) 496, etc.) for use in identifying a particular user who is responsible for performing one or more of the touches, contacts and/or gestures detected at or near the multi-touch, multi-player interactive display surface) the one or more sensors generating a movement profile for the detected physical interaction (Paragraph [0416], at least one gaming table system described herein may be operable to monitor and record the movements/gestures of a player during game play of one or more games. The recorded information may be processed to generate player profile movement information which may be used for determining and/or verifying the player's identity ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for operating an intelligent automated assistant taught by LIANG incorporate the teachings of Wells, and applying the intelligent multi-player electronic gaming systems taught by Wells to detect the movements/gestures of a user and generate the movement profile based on the detected movements/gestures of the user, and doing so would at least provide the movement profile representing movements of a user into the machine learning model for identifying particular motion. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LIANG according to the relied-upon teachings of Wells to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Claims 28, 31 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0245657 A1) in view of Wells et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0143141 A1) in view of KAWAMOTO (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0186236 A1).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of LIANG in view of Wells discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21).
However, LIANG does not specifically disclose wherein the action includes activating pass-through of a real-world environment on the artificial reality device.
In additional, KAWAMOTO discloses (Abstract, there is provided an excellent image display device allowing observation of a surrounding scene by a video see-through method. While an authentication process is being performed, a head-mounted display 100 superimposes, and displays, an authentication screen on a video see-through image captured by an outside camera 312. Accordingly, a user is enabled to observe the surrounding scene by the video see-through image during the authentication process ...; paragraph [0064], FIG. 1 is a diagram showing, from the front, a user wearing on the head a head-mounted display 100) wherein the action (FIG. 7; paragraph [0102], the head-mounted display 100 transitions from a non-mounted state 701 to a mounted state 702 with detection of mounting of the head-mounted display 100 on the user by the state information acquisition unit 304 provided with the mounting sensor or the like as a trigger) includes activating pass-through of a real-world environment on the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0103], in response to the state transition, the display unit 309 transitions from a non-display screen 711 to an initial screen 712. In the initial screen 712, content 714 for authentication processing is superimposed and displayed on a video see-through image 713 captured by the outside camera 312).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for operating an intelligent automated assistant taught by LIANG in view of Wells incorporate the teachings of KAWAMOTO, and applying the video see-through method taught by KAWAMOTO to detect state information of the user wearing the head-mounted display and initial see-through mode on the artificial reality device in order to allow the user to see the surrounding environment of the artificial reality device. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LIANG in view of Wells according to the relied-upon teachings of KAWAMOTO to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 31, the combination of LIANG in view of Wells discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21).
However, LIANG does not specifically disclose wherein the action includes pausing an artificial reality experience on the artificial reality device.
In additional, KAWAMOTO discloses (Abstract, there is provided an excellent image display device allowing observation of a surrounding scene by a video see-through method. While an authentication process is being performed, a head-mounted display 100 superimposes, and displays, an authentication screen on a video see-through image captured by an outside camera 312. Accordingly, a user is enabled to observe the surrounding scene by the video see-through image during the authentication process ...; paragraph [0064], FIG. 1 is a diagram showing, from the front, a user wearing on the head a head-mounted display 100) wherein the action (FIG. 7; paragraph [0102], the head-mounted display 100 transitions from a non-mounted state 701 to a mounted state 702 with detection of mounting of the head-mounted display 100 on the user by the state information acquisition unit 304 provided with the mounting sensor or the like as a trigger) wherein the action includes pausing (Paragraphs [0104]-[0105], when the authentication process ends successfully, the content 714 for authentication processing is erased, and only the video see-through image 713 is remained ... Then, transition to a display screen 721 for commercial contents (such as a film) to be input from outside may take place according to an operation of the user, for example, on the input operation unit 302) an artificial reality experience on the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0103], in response to the state transition, the display unit 309 transitions from a non-display screen 711 to an initial screen 712. In the initial screen 712, content 714 for authentication processing is superimposed and displayed on a video see-through image 713 captured by the outside camera 312).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for operating an intelligent automated assistant taught by LIANG in view of Wells incorporate the teachings of KAWAMOTO, and applying the video see-through method taught by KAWAMOTO to detect state information of the user wearing the head-mounted display and initial see-through mode on the artificial reality device in order to allow the user to see the surrounding environment of the artificial reality device. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LIANG in view of Wells according to the relied-upon teachings of KAWAMOTO to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Regarding claim 38, the combination of LIANG in view of Wells discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 33).
However, LIANG does not specifically disclose wherein the action includes activating pass-through of a real-world environment on the artificial reality device or pausing an artificial reality experience on the artificial reality device.
In additional, KAWAMOTO discloses (Abstract, there is provided an excellent image display device allowing observation of a surrounding scene by a video see-through method. While an authentication process is being performed, a head-mounted display 100 superimposes, and displays, an authentication screen on a video see-through image captured by an outside camera 312. Accordingly, a user is enabled to observe the surrounding scene by the video see-through image during the authentication process ...; paragraph [0064], FIG. 1 is a diagram showing, from the front, a user wearing on the head a head-mounted display 100) wherein the action (FIG. 7; paragraph [0102], the head-mounted display 100 transitions from a non-mounted state 701 to a mounted state 702 with detection of mounting of the head-mounted display 100 on the user by the state information acquisition unit 304 provided with the mounting sensor or the like as a trigger) includes activating pass-through of a real-world environment on the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0103], in response to the state transition, the display unit 309 transitions from a non-display screen 711 to an initial screen 712. In the initial screen 712, content 714 for authentication processing is superimposed and displayed on a video see-through image 713 captured by the outside camera 312) or pausing an artificial reality experience on the artificial reality device (Paragraphs [0104]-[0105], when the authentication process ends successfully, the content 714 for authentication processing is erased, and only the video see-through image 713 is remained ... Then, transition to a display screen 721 for commercial contents (such as a film) to be input from outside may take place according to an operation of the user, for example, on the input operation unit 302).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for operating an intelligent automated assistant taught by LIANG in view of Wells incorporate the teachings of KAWAMOTO, and applying the video see-through method taught by KAWAMOTO to detect state information of the user wearing the head-mounted display and initial see-through mode on the artificial reality device in order to allow the user to see the surrounding environment of the artificial reality device. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LIANG in view of Wells according to the relied-upon teachings of KAWAMOTO to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0245657 A1) in view of Wells et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0143141 A1) in view of Bouazizi et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0335694 A1).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of LIANG in view of Wells discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21).
However, LIANG does not specifically disclose wherein the action includes displaying an outline of at least a portion of a real-world environment, as an overlay on an artificial reality environment, on the artificial reality device.
In additional, Bouazizi discloses (FIG. 8; paragraph [0117], the MPEG-I Scene Description architecture includes local camera 250, local microphone 252, controller device 254, sensors 256 ... Sensors 256 may include gyroscopes, motion sensors, light sensors, or other types of sensors for detecting user posture) wherein the action (FIG. 10; paragraph [0151], presentation unit 330 may update the presentation according to user movements detected from user interface devices 306, camera 308, and/or sensors 310) includes displaying an outline of at least a portion of a real-world environment (Paragraph [0132], XR runtime systems, such as OpenXR, allow querying of the bounding space for an XR space), as an overlay on an artificial reality environment (Paragraph [0133], in the example of FIG. 9, the anchor XR space is of type “stage,” corresponding to the floor of the viewer's living room; paragraph [0136], TABLE 1 Name Type Default Description xrReferenceSpace enumeration STAGE the reference type may be one of Type VIEW=1, LOCAL=2, STAGE=3, or APPLICATION=4. aligned enumeration NOT_ALIGNED the aligned flag may take one of the following values: NOT_ALIGNED=0, ALIGNED_NOTSCALED=1, ALIGNED_SCALED=2. If ALIGNED_SCALED is set, the scene bounding box is aligned to the bounding box of the XR space), on the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0023], this disclosure describes techniques for streaming immersive media content, e.g., for extended reality (XR) content, such as augmented reality (AR), mixed reality (MR), or virtual reality (VR) content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for operating an intelligent automated assistant taught by LIANG in view of Wells incorporate the teachings of Bouazizi, and applying techniques for streaming and presenting immersive media content taught by Bouazizi to detect user movements and generate the presentation of the physical environment by overlaid an outline of a portion of the physical environment on the artificial reality device. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LIANG in view of Wells according to the relied-upon teachings of Bouazizi to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIANG et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0245657 A1) in view of Wells et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0143141 A1) in view of SPITTLE (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0094211 A1).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of LIANG in view of Wells discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21).
However, LIANG does not specifically disclose wherein the action includes activating intrusion detection on the artificial reality device, and
wherein the method further comprises:
in response to activating intrusion detection on the artificial reality device, detecting a movement in a real-world environment by the artificial reality device; and
displaying a notification of the detected movement on the artificial reality device.
In additional, SPITTLE discloses wherein the action includes activating intrusion detection on the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0012], one or more processing steps performed by an activation function logic ...; paragraph [1160], an extension of the location tracking ear device with augmented reality visual device: Smart glasses can be used with an overlay image of the location of coins on a route so the user can see ahead to where coins are located), and
wherein the method further comprises:
in response to activating intrusion detection on the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0354], the processing cores may be in sleep mode until a time critical task needs to be serviced ... At that time the processing cores are activated ...), detecting a movement in a real-world environment by the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0467], if the motion sensor detects abnormal movement, such as shaking, rapid movement, unnatural lack of movement, falling, etc., then the user may receive a notification); and
displaying a notification of the detected movement on the artificial reality device (Paragraph [0468], notifications may be provided locally, e.g., on a user interface of the device, may be sent and/or displayed at a connected device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system and method for operating an intelligent automated assistant taught by LIANG in view of Wells incorporate the teachings of SPITTLE, and applying an operating system for an audio system taught by SPITTLE to provide the activation function logic and detect the movement in a real-world environment by the artificial reality device; then display a notification of the detected movement on the artificial reality device in response to the activating intrusion detection. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LIANG in view of Wells according to the relied-upon teachings of Bouazizi to obtain the invention as specified in claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 36 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Dependent claim 36 depends upon dependent claim 35 and recites the additional limitations of “wherein the one or more taps includes a sequence of taps; wherein the machine learning model is further trained to recognize each tap of the sequence of taps or multiple taps of the sequence of taps; and wherein the instructions, when executed by the computing system, further cause the computing system to: prior to triggering the action on the artificial reality device, determine that the sequence of taps is complete based on a lapse of a threshold period of time after a tap of the sequence of taps; wherein the action is triggered on the artificial reality device further in response to determining that the sequence of taps is complete” for triggering the action based on tap recognition.
However, the search results failed to disclose the above limitations recited in claim 36, either singly or in an obvious combination.
Examiner’s Comment
Claim 24 has not prior art rejection but rejected under double patenting. A final determination of patentability, after further search, will be mode upon resolution of above double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/XILIN GUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616