DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to claims filed 1/29/2025, claims 1-20 have been examined. This office action is Non-Final.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,647. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 is anticipated by Patent No. 12,244,647 claims 1-20. Therefore, patent no. 12,244,647 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application 19/040,744. It has been held that a generic invention is anticipated by “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ 2d 2010 (Fed.Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma (2020/0145432) in view of Peng et al (2013/0121252).
As per claim 1, a system, comprising: a processor configured to:
monitor network traffic on a mobile network at a security platform to identify a new session (Verma: para. 0229, 0234);
enforce a security policy on the new session at the security platform to apply context-based security in the mobile network (Verma: para. 0231, determining a security policy to apply at the security platform to the new session, the security policy can be enforced based on network slice information); and
a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions (Verma: para. 0030).
Verma does not explicitly disclose determine user-IP mapping information associated with the new session stored at the security platform; and push new and updated user-IP mapping information to the security platform from a cloud-based data store.
However, analogous art of Peng discloses determine user-IP mapping information associated with the new session stored at the security platform; and push new and updated user-IP mapping information to the security platform from a cloud-based data store (Peng: para. 0021, 0063, mapping the user identifier with IP address).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include determine user-IP mapping information associated with the new session stored at the security platform; and push new and updated user-IP mapping information to the security platform from a cloud-based data store of Peng with Verma, the motivation is that provides timeliness and reliability of a push message (Peng: para. 0020).
As per claim 2, Verma and Peng disclose the system recited in claim 1, wherein the context-based security includes subscriber-ID is based security (Verma: Step 508, para. 0232).
As per claim 3, Verma and Peng disclose the system recited in claim 1, wherein the context-based security includes equipment-ID based security (Step 508, para. 0232).
As per claim 4, Verma and Peng disclose the system recited in claim 1, wherein the context-based security includes network slice- ID based security (Verma: Step 608, para. 0237).
As per claim 5, Verma and Peng disclose the system recited in claim 1, wherein the security platform is configured with a plurality of security policies to apply subscriber-ID based security, equipment-ID based security, and/or network slice-ID based security in the mobile network (Verma: Step 508, para. 0232, Step 608, para. 0237).
As per claim 6, Verma and Peng disclose the system recited in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: perform level threat identification and prevention in the mobile network (Verma: para. 0134).
As per claim 7, Verma and Peng disclose the system recited in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: perform application identification and control in the mobile network (Verma: para. 0039, 0135).
As per claim 8, Verma and Peng disclose the system recited in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: perform URL filtering in the mobile network (Verma: para. 0060, 0071).
As per claim 9, Verma and Peng disclose the system recited in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: block the new session from accessing a resource based on the security policy (Verma: para. 0033).
As per claim 10, Verma and Peng disclose the system recited in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: allow the new session to access a resource based on the security policy (Verma: para. 0217).
As per claims 11 and 16, rejected under similar basis as claim 1 above.
As per claims 12-14, 17-19, rejected under similar basis as claims 2-4 respectively.
As per claims 15 and 20, rejected under similar basis as claim 9 above.
Conclusion
6/22/2026
/J.E.J/Examiner, Art Unit 2499 /PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499