Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7, 9-11 in the reply filed on 7/26/26 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/30/25 and 10/02/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Note to Applicant
Claims 8, 12, 13 were not elected. Therefore, the claims should have been labeled: (Withdrawn).
Appropriate Action is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “an acquisition unit that acquires a type of the deposit source; and --a determination unit that determines a handling date of proceeds to be deposited, according to the type of the deposit source acquired by the acquisition unit. ”, in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claims disclose the abstract idea of -- determining a handling date of proceeds to be deposited, according to the type of the deposit source.”
STEP 1
Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
The claims are all directed to a statutory category (e.g., a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). The answer is YES.
STEP 2A. Prong 1
Exemplary claim 1 recites the following abstract concepts that are found to include “abstract idea”:
“[…] acquires a type of the deposit source; and
--a determination unit that determines a handling date of proceeds to be deposited, according to the type of the deposit source acquired […].”
The remaining limitations are no more than computer elements (i.e., an acquisition unit, a determination unit) to be used as a tool to perform this abstract idea.
The recited limitations cover a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers subject matter viewed as a certain method of organizing human activity with the additional recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the “an acquisition unit, a determination unit” language, “acquires, determines” in the context of this claim encompasses the user looking up a type of deposit source, and determine a handling date of proceeds to be deposited, according to the type of the deposit source acquired
The practice of acquiring and determining data is a commercial or legal interaction long prevalent in our system of commerce. The claims recite the idea of performing various conceptual steps generically resulting in the how to handle the proceeds that are to be deposited. As determined earlier, none of these steps recites specific technological implementation details, but instead get to this result by receiving, selecting and determining data. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea, specifically a certain method of organizing human activity.
STEP 2A, Prong 2
Are there additional elements or a combination of elements in the claim that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception?
The claim recites one additional element: that an acquisition unit, a determination unit are used to perform the “acquires, and determines” steps.
The acquisition unit and determination unit in the steps are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing data (acquire, by a unit, data). These generic limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
STEP 2B
The next issue is whether the claims provide an inventive concept because the additional elements recited in the claims provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception. Taking the claim elements separately, the function performed by the acquisition unit, the determination unit at each step of the process is purely conventional. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using the units to perform both teps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Considered as an ordered combination, the computer components of Applicants' claims add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. The claimed invention does not focus on an improvement in computers as tools, but rather certain independently abstract ideas that use computers as tools. {Elec. Power, 830 F.3d at 1354). (Step 2B: NO).
There is no indication that indication that the units are anything other than a generic, off-the-shelf computer component, and the Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs. Court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Independent claim 9 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
The dependent claims when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea. The claims provide minimal technical structure or components for further consideration either individually or as ordered combinations with the independent claims. As such, additional recited limitations in the dependent claims only refine the identified abstract idea further. Further refinement of an abstract idea does not convert an abstract idea into something concrete.
Accordingly, a conclusion that the collecting step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2.
See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350,1355,112 USPQ2d 1093,1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hoteis.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result-a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added));
iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306,1334,115 USPQ2d 1681,1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363,115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurwitz et al. (US 20060146839 A1), in view of ), in view of ARAI et al. (JP 2014115847 A).
Re-claim 1, Hurwitz et al. teach --A valuable medium handling apparatus for depositing proceeds obtained from sales of commodities or provision of services by a deposit source, comprising:
--an acquisition unit that acquires a type of the deposit source; and
(see e.g. [0097] This invention separately provides methods and systems for electronically processing a bank deposit operation for one or more payment media originating sources. The payment media originating source comprises one of a retail till, retailer back office, coin redemption device and a third party retail concession.
[0102] The at least one bank deposit determining criteria is based on a set of rules established for the one or more payment media originating sources located in a retail store--.
[0103] The set of rules may consider one or more of at least a start fund makeup distribution required for the one or more payment media originating sources, frequency of payment media deposit pickup and transportation activities from the retail store, amount of payment media in a retail store at the time of commencing the bank deposit operation, retailer type, retailer size, retailer location, type of payment media originating source from which the bank deposit is to be made, time of day for bank deposit, calendar date for the bank deposit, calendar date of national or local holidays, calendar date of scheduled festivities or organized events, and a retail store scheduled sales event.
The Examiner notes based on the rules, type of payment media originating source from which the bank deposit is to be made must be known.
-- Although Hurwitz et al. anticipate --a determination unit that determines a handling date of proceeds to be deposited, according to the type of the deposit source acquired by the acquisition unit.
[0103] The set of rules may consider one or more of at least a start fund makeup distribution required for the one or more payment media originating sources, frequency of payment media deposit pickup and transportation activities from the retail store, amount of payment media in a retail store at the time of commencing the bank deposit operation, retailer type, retailer size, retailer location, type of payment media originating source from which the bank deposit is to be made, time of day for bank deposit, calendar date for the bank deposit, calendar date of national or local holidays, calendar date of scheduled festivities or organized events, and a retail store scheduled sales event.
ARAI et al. explicitly teach --a determination unit that determines a handling date of proceeds to be deposited, according to the type of the deposit source acquired by the acquisition unit.
More specifically, the management server 10 receives a notification of the collection time for collecting the sales proceeds of the POS terminal 20, and from each POS terminal 20 to the depositing machine 30 for depositing the sales proceeds of the POS terminal according to the collection time. The estimated time for depositing is determined based on the stock amount in each POS terminal 20 and the determined estimated time for depositing is notified to each corresponding POS terminal 20.
(5) Since the POS terminal with a larger stock amount has a longer deposit time, it is possible to maximize the deposit amount of the sales proceeds to the financial institution.
Here, the management server 10 determines and transmits a different time according to the stock amount of each POS terminal 20 as the estimated payment time.
Note that the “collection time” and “reference time” are not limited to “hour and minute”, but may include “year / month / day” or “day of the week” as shown in FIG.
The Examiner notes the POS system with a larger stock amount is a type of deposit source.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hurwitz et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by ARAI et al., to provide a POS system that makes it possible to recover proceeds of POS systems as much as possible without delaying a recovery time when the proceeds are recovered.(see e.g. Abstract).
Re-claim 2, Hurwitz et al. teach --The valuable medium handling apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the acquisition unit acquires a type of a proceeds source as the type of the deposit source.
(see e.g. [0128] It will be appreciated that within this document the term payment media is used in its broadest sense and includes, but is not limited to, cash currency notes, coins, vouchers, checks, scrip, debit cards and credit cards transactions plus their resulting paper receipts and electronic payment media.
[0172] Finally, within many larger retailers and large grocers in particular, there is a variety of different types of payment media originating sources. For example, some payment media originating sources may be used in transactions with shoppers having ten items or less, some payment media originating sources may be cash only payment media originating sources, and some payment media originating sources may be partially or fully automated.)
Re-claim 3, Hurwitz et al. teach --The valuable medium handling apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the acquisition unit acquires a type of a user of the valuable medium handling apparatus as the type of the deposit source.
(see e.g. [0161] In one exemplary embodiment, the rules may include a consideration of one or more of a retailer type, retailer size, retailer location, type of payment media originating source where the proposed payment media management solution is to be provided, the specific payment media originating source for which the proposed payment media management solution distribution is requested.
[0181] --When a user identifies themselves the apparatus will review the criteria and issue the correct fund accordingly. For example the user has identified the payment media originating source, the apparatus knows the time of day, week and year and based on these simple criteria issues the appropriate start fund value and distribution.
[0233] It will be appreciated that payment media originating sources, which also include payment media registers, may refer to an entire payment media register and/or the money tray(s) inside of a payment media register. Payment media originating source deposits or payment media originating source collections may be identified as individual payment media originating sources or collectively, as a group of payment media originating sources, such as, for example, at a single location, e.g. in a single kiosk.)
Re-claim 4, Hurwitz et al. teach --The valuable medium handling apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising an acceptance unit that accepts a depositing operation for storing the proceeds,
(see e.g. [0044] In one exemplary embodiment, the payment media handling apparatus comprises at least one of a payment media counter, a payment media sorter, a payment media dispenser, a payment media acceptor, a payment media recycler, and a payment media deposit assembler. The payment media dispensing device, payment media acceptance device, payment media recycling device and payment media deposit processing device may be included in a single housing.)
wherein the determination unit determines the handling date of proceeds deposited by the depositing operation accepted by the acceptance unit, and when the depositing operation is started during a predetermined period, determines the handling date according to the type of the deposit source acquired by the acquisition unit.
(see e.g. [0234] Moreover, the bank deposit information can be specified in terms of sales date.
[0103] The set of rules may consider one or more of at least a start fund makeup distribution required for the one or more payment media originating sources, frequency of payment media deposit pickup and transportation activities from the retail store, amount of payment media in a retail store at the time of commencing the bank deposit operation, retailer type, retailer size, retailer location, type of payment media originating source from which the bank deposit is to be made, time of day for bank deposit, calendar date for the bank deposit, calendar date of national or local holidays, calendar date of scheduled festivities or organized events, and a retail store scheduled sales event.)
[0181] The rule based criteria approach is the most simplistic and would rely on predefining a series of criteria. The type of criteria used would include those highlighted above such as size and location of retailer, type of payment media originating source and time of day, week, and year. Other criteria could also be used as appropriate. When a user identifies themselves the apparatus will review the criteria and issue the correct fund accordingly. For example the user has identified the payment media originating source, the apparatus knows the time of day, week and year and based on these simple criteria issues the appropriate start fund value and distribution.)
Claim 9 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same art and rationale.
Re-claim 10, Hurwitz et al. teach -- The valuable medium handling apparatus according to The valuable medium handling apparatus according to wherein the type of the proceeds source includes at least a register and an automatic vending machine.
[0292] The systems and methods according to this invention also include preparation and saving of desirable payment media management information, such as, for example, lists of legal payment media originating sources or payment media registers, and/or active and inactive registers, for one or more retail operations
claim 6. The method of claim 4, wherein the payment media activity information comprises electronic point of sale (EPOS) data, payment media refund amount information, frequency and size of payment media refunds processed within a predetermined period of time, payment media information from an automatic teller machine located in a retail store.
[0188] The inventors have also recognized that an increasing number of retailers restock Automatic Teller Machines (ATMs) that are present on their premises. The exemplary embodiment includes the management of such ATM facilities as well. In doing so, the retailer can further limit the amount payment media that needs to be transported and counted off site thus reducing cost.)
Re-claim 11, Hurwitz et al. teach --The valuable medium handling apparatus according to The valuable medium handling apparatus according to wherein the type of the proceeds source includes at least a device installed in a tenant store and a device installed in a company-operated store.
(see e.g. [0158] FIG. 4 is a flowchart outlining one exemplary embodiment of a method of electronically managing payment media in a retail store. In this context, the retail store may be defined to include a single retail store, multiple stores electronically coupled to the payment media management system 200 (shown in FIG. 2), one or more third party concession stands located within a single store, two or more stores located within a mall, and the like. Generally, the retail store defined above includes one or more payment media originating sources.)
Claims 5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurwitz et al. (US 20060146839 A1), ), in view of ARAI et al. (JP 2014115847 A), in view of HITOTSUBASHI et al.(JP 2008117307 A).
Re-claims 5, 7, Hurwitz et al. do not teach the limitations as claimed.
However, HITOTSUBASHI et al. teach -- The valuable medium handling apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the determination unit determines that the handling date is the previous day if the type of the deposit source is a predetermined first type, and determines that the handling date is the current day if the type of the deposit source is a second type different from the first type.
(see e.g. page 9--At this time, when the ID card is set and the cash register 1 is specified, it is confirmed whether the cash register 1 is a directly managed store or a tenant store.
page 11-Thereafter, at time t2 when a predetermined time T or more has elapsed since the closing time of the retail store, the cashier in charge at the cash register 1 of the tenant store does not carry the bankbook, and the sales of cash register 1 at the money deposit machine 2, 2a. Deposit money. Also at this time, the sales deposit machine 2 confirms that the sales proceeds from the cash register 1 of the tenant store are deposited. Then, in the databases 5 and 5a for managing the information of the cash register 1, when the sales amount received through the system management servers 3 and 3a is confirmed and added to the receipt data of the day, the receipt data is converted into the sales amount of the day. Remember as.
Further, on the next day, for example, at the time t3 when the opening time of the next day is past 10:00, the cashier in charge at the cash register 1 of the tenant store carries the passbook, and the system management server 3, 3a or the sales Make a deposit with the deposit machine 2 and make a passbook entry. At this time, when checking the cash register 1 of the tenant store with the system management server 3 or 3a or the sales deposit machine 2, since the deposit contents up to the previous day can be booked, the deposit contents up to the previous day are passed through every day. It is recorded in.
That is, in the first example and the third example of the tenant store operation procedure, when the time t1 is close to the store closing time and all the sales proceeds are received, only the passbook entry can be performed at the times t2 and t4.
The Examiner notes HITOTSUBASHI et al. processes the tenant store differently than the directly managed store.
7. The valuable medium handling apparatus according to claim 5, wherein even if the type of the deposit source is the first type, when the depositing operation is started during a period different from the predetermined period, the determination unit determines that the handling date is the current day.
(see e.g. page 7-That is, when the cash register number is specified from the ID information, the received data is updated by adding the received deposit amount to the sales amount based on the deposit data for the identified cash register number. The system management server 3 also updates today's deposit data for the specified register number in the database 5 even when the ID information and the deposit amount of the register 1 on different floors are received.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hurwitz et al., in view of ARAI et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by HITOTSUBASHI et al., to provide a sales settlement system for integrating and adjusting sales in a retail store where a tenant store of another company other than its directly managed store (see e.g. page 1).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurwitz et al. (US 20060146839 A1), ), in view of ARAI et al. (JP 2014115847 A), in view of HITOTSUBASHI et al. (JP 2008117307 A), in further view of DOI (US 20110308913 A1).
Re-claim 6, Hurwitz et al. teach the type of the deposit source is a third type different from the first type and the second type,
(see e.g. [0097] This invention separately provides methods and systems for electronically processing a bank deposit operation for one or more payment media originating sources. The payment media originating source comprises one of a retail till, retailer back office, coin redemption device and a third party retail concession.)
Hurwitz et al., in view of ARAI et al., in view of HITOTSUBASHI et al., do not teach the limitations as claimed.
However, DOI teaches 6. (Original) The valuable medium handling apparatus according to claim 5, further comprising a display control unit that displays a selection screen as to whether the handling date is the previous day or the current day, the determination unit determines, as the handling date, a date selected through the selection screen from the previous day and the current day.
(see e.g. [0101] A flow of a sequence of operations performed by the teller using the cash recycler 4 for counting the currency is explained with reference to FIGS. 4A to 4I. FIGS. 4A to 4I are examples of contents displayed on the display and operating unit 8 when the teller performs a counting operation.
[0109] When the teller touches the option "Cash Deposit" on the screen to perform a cash deposit operation, the cash recycler 4 displays, on the display and operating unit 8, a prompt "Enter cash register No." with an infographic prompting the teller to enter the identification information of the cash registers 1 to 3, as shown in FIG. 4B.
[0102] A concept of the no-processing day that appears in the subsequent section is explained first before explaining the flow of the sequence of operations performed by the teller when performing the counting of the currency. The term "no-processing day" refers to a day on which no processing has been performed in a predetermined period that is set beforehand.
[0103] More specifically, a no-processing day pertaining to a sales proceeds deposit process refers to the current day or a previous day on which no sales proceeds deposit has taken place yet. A no-processing day is normally either the current day or a past day. However, when an opening process of a cash register (the process of registering the cash register to be operated on a given business day) is not finished, that day is not displayed on a display unit as a candidate for no-processing day..
[0113] If there is a plurality of no-processing days on which no counting has been done but counting of the sales proceeds ought to have been done for those days for the cash register 1, for example, due to the absence of the teller on Saturday, the 17th and Sunday, the 18th, counting of the sales proceeds has to be done for three days, that is from 17th to 19th, all at once on a sales day basis on Monday, the 19th when the teller reports for work. The cash recycler 4 displays on the display and operating unit 8 the infographic prompting the teller to select the processing day from among 17th to 19th, as shown in FIG. 4E.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hurwitz et al., ., in view of ARAI et al., in view of HITOTSUBASHI et al. and include the steps cited above, as taught by DOI et al., in order to reduce the complexity of the task when processing valuable medium, such as the sales proceeds of a plurality of days (see e. g. [0011] ).
Conclusion
/LUNA CHAMPAGNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627 August 5, 2026