DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to application 19/040,943 filed 1/30/2025. Claims 1-13 are pending. This action is non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 recites a method for navigating a vehicle using a satellite-based navigation program to a destination, wherein the journey to the destination comprises a vehicle transport of the vehicle, comprising the steps of: storing vehicle data relating to the vehicle and user data relating to a user of the vehicle in the navigation program, entering the destination into the navigation program by the user, determining a route to the destination with a route section to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle by the navigation program, determining an estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at a starting location of the vehicle transport by the navigation program, and booking a vehicle transport following the estimated arrival time by the navigation program using stored vehicle data and/or user data. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention: a method.
Step 2A – Prong One: The limitations a method for navigating a vehicle ... to a destination, wherein the journey to the destination comprises a vehicle transport of the vehicle, comprising the steps of: storing vehicle data relating to the vehicle and user data relating to a user of the vehicle ... entering the destination ... by the user, determining a route to the destination with a route section to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle ... determining an estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at a starting location of the vehicle transport ... and booking a vehicle transport following the estimated arrival time ... using stored vehicle data and/or user data, as drafted, is a method that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, only covers concepts of “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” (e.g., commercial interactions – business relations). That is, nothing in the claim elements disclose anything outside the groupings of “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” (e.g., commercial interactions – business relations). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of the aforementioned abstract idea using generic computer components. The additional element of claim 1, a satellite-based navigation program, is recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as generic computer tools to perform the aforementioned abstract idea. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computerized system is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, the additional elements of claim 1 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the claims as a whole merely describe the abstract idea generally “applied” to a generic computer environment. The additional elements of claim 1, a satellite-based navigation program (described in spec. para. [0002]), are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as generic computer components upon which the abstract idea is “applied.” The high level of generality in which this additional element is described indicates that the additional element is sufficiently known such that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of the additional element to satisfy the statutory disclosure requirements. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims add significantly more to the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 2-12 have been given the full two-part analysis including analyzing the limitations both individually and in combination. Claims 2-12 when analyzed individually, and in combination, are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. The recited limitations of the dependent claims fail to establish that the claims do not recite an abstract idea because the recited limitations of the dependent claims merely further narrow the abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two: The limitations of the dependent claims fail to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application because the claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” a method of the aforementioned abstract idea. Claims 2-12 do not recite additional elements. The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the aforementioned abstract idea in a generic computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims integrates the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: Performing the further narrowed abstract ideas of the dependent claims on the additional elements of the independent claim, individually or in combination, does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas and amount to merely using a computer, in its ordinary capacity, as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Similarly, the recited limitations of the dependent claims fail to establish that the claims provide an inventive concept because claims that merely use a computer, in its ordinary capacity, as a tool to perform the abstract idea cannot provide an inventive concept. Claims 2-12 do not recite additional elements. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims add significantly more to the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Step 1: Claim 13 recites a method for navigating a vehicle to a destination using a satellite-based navigation program, the journey to the destination comprising a vehicle transport of the vehicle, includes the steps of: storing vehicle data relating to the vehicle and user data relating to a user of the navigation program in the navigation program, entering the destination into the navigation program by the user, determining a plurality of possible routes to the destination by the navigation program, at least one route having a route section to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle, providing the user with a selection option for selecting one of the possible routes by the navigation program, selecting a route by the user and, if the selected route has a route section to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle, determining an estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at a starting location of the vehicle transport for the selected route by the navigation program, determining, based on the estimated arrival time, possible vehicle transports of the vehicle for covering the route section of the selected route, and providing a selection option for the user to select one of the determined possible vehicle transports by the navigation program, selecting one of the determined possible vehicle transports by the user, and booking the selected vehicle transport by the navigation program using stored vehicle data and/or user data. Therefore, claim 13 is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention: a method.
Step 2A – Prong One: The limitations a method for navigating a vehicle to a destination ... the journey to the destination comprising a vehicle transport of the vehicle, includes the steps of: storing vehicle data relating to the vehicle and user data relating to a user ... entering the destination ... by the user, determining a plurality of possible routes to the destination ... at least one route having a route section to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle, providing the user with a selection option for selecting one of the possible routes ... selecting a route by the user and, if the selected route has a route section to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle, determining an estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at a starting location of the vehicle transport for the selected route ... determining, based on the estimated arrival time, possible vehicle transports of the vehicle for covering the route section of the selected route, and providing a selection option for the user to select one of the determined possible vehicle transports ... selecting one of the determined possible vehicle transports by the user, and booking the selected vehicle transport ... using stored vehicle data and/or user data, as drafted, is a method that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, only covers concepts of “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” (e.g., commercial interactions – business relations). That is, nothing in the claim elements disclose anything outside the groupings of “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” (e.g., commercial interactions – business relations). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of the aforementioned abstract idea using generic computer components. The additional element of claim 13, a satellite-based navigation program, is recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as generic computer tools to perform the aforementioned abstract idea. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computerized system is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, the additional elements of claim 13 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the claims as a whole merely describe the abstract idea generally “applied” to a generic computer environment. The additional elements of claim 13, a satellite-based navigation program (described in spec. para. [0002]), are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as generic computer components upon which the abstract idea is “applied.” The high level of generality in which this additional element is described indicates that the additional element is sufficiently known such that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of the additional element to satisfy the statutory disclosure requirements. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims add significantly more to the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Basso (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0324191).
Regarding claim 1, Basso discloses the following limitations:
A method for navigating a vehicle using a satellite-based navigation program to a destination [See [0003-0004]; [0060-0061]; Basso teaches establishing a route between destinations for a vehicle such as a truck via a satellite based global positioning system and satellite navigation unit.]
wherein the journey to the destination comprises a vehicle transport of the vehicle [See [0003-0004] Basso teaches establishing a route between destinations for a vehicle such as a truck. Basso further teaches that certain routes may include one or more sections where it is necessary or preferable to take a ferry (i.e., a vehicle transport).]
comprising the steps of: storing vehicle data relating to the vehicle and user data relating to a user of the vehicle in the navigation program [See [0007-0011]; [0019]; Basso teaches initiating an order for a service based on host vehicle information (i.e., vehicle data relating to the vehicle) or host vehicle operator information (i.e., user data relating to a user of the vehicle) in order to book a service such as a ferry for a host vehicle ferry ride along at least a part of a route between a starting destination and a target destination. [0062] Basso further teaches that host vehicle information may be stored on infrastructure such as remote servers or databases (i.e., storing vehicle data relating to the vehicle and user data relating to a user of the vehicle in the navigation program).]
entering the destination into the navigation program by the user [See [0048] Basso teaches a user or vehicle operator may select target destination (i.e., entering the destination into the navigation program by the user) by entering alphanumeric information via a user interface (UI), by selecting the target destination on a digital map, by using voice commands or similar.]
determining a route to the destination with a route section to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle by the navigation program [See [0048] Basso teaches a user or vehicle operator may select target destination by entering alphanumeric information via a user interface (UI), by selecting the target destination on a digital map, by using voice commands or similar. Basso [0048] further teaches determining a driving route according to the determined starting destination and target destination (i.e., determining a route to the destination). Basso [0019] further teaches that at least a part of the route may comprise a host vehicle ferry ride as part of the route (i.e., a route section to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle by the navigation program).]
determining an estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at a starting location of the vehicle transport by the navigation program [See [0014] Basso teaches determining estimated arrival time for the host vehicle to the selected service provider (e.g., ferry) (i.e., determining an estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at a starting location of the vehicle transport by the navigation program).]
and booking a vehicle transport following the estimated arrival time by the navigation program using stored vehicle data and/or user data. [See [0014] Basso teaches determining estimated arrival time for the host vehicle to the selected service provider (e.g., ferry). Basso [0019] further teaches booking a ticket for a ferry departure for the host vehicle which fits the estimated time of arrival to the ferry terminal (i.e., booking a vehicle transport following the estimated arrival time by the navigation program using stored vehicle data and/or user data).]
Regarding claim 3, Basso discloses all claim 1 limitations. Basso further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the booking of a vehicle transportation following the estimated time of arrival comprises the following steps: determining possible vehicle transports of the vehicle following the estimated time of arrival for covering the route section and providing a selection option for the user to select one of the determined possible vehicle transports by the navigation program [See [0019] Basso teaches suggesting to book a ticket for a ferry departure which fits the estimated time of arrival to the ferry terminal. Basso [0074] further teaches that a ferry company may be situated along a route, and that a plurality of ferries may be available for the vehicle to ride upon. For example, a different ferry may depart twice every hour, e.g., 10:00, 10:30, 11:00, 11:30, etc. (i.e., determining possible vehicle transports of the vehicle following the estimated time of arrival for covering the route section). Basso [0049] further teaches a vehicle operator manually requesting a ticket for the 11:30 ferry based in part on the estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at the ferry terminal (i.e., providing a selection option for the user to select one of the determined possible vehicle transports by the navigation program).]
and selecting one of the determined possible vehicle transports by the user. [See [0019] Basso teaches suggesting to book a ticket for a ferry departure which fits the estimated time of arrival to the ferry terminal. Basso [0074] further teaches that a ferry company may be situated along a route, and that a plurality of ferries may be available for the vehicle to ride upon. For example, a different ferry may depart twice every hour, e.g., 10:00, 10:30, 11:00, 11:30, etc. Basso [0049] further teaches a vehicle operator manually requesting a ticket for the 11:30 ferry based in part on the estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at the ferry terminal (i.e., selecting one of the determined possible vehicle transports by the user).]
Regarding claim 4, Basso discloses all claim 1 limitations. Basso further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the vehicle is transported by means of a watercraft or a rail vehicle during the vehicle transportation. [See [0019] Basso teaches a host vehicle riding on a ferry (i.e., wherein the vehicle is transported by means of a watercraft or a rail vehicle during the vehicle transportation), the ferry route being part of the host vehicle route between a starting destination and a target destination.]
Regarding claim 5, Basso discloses all claim 1 limitations. Basso further discloses the following limitations:
wherein booking the selected vehicle transportation comprising reservation of the vehicle transportation. [See [0019] Basso teaches a host vehicle riding on a ferry (i.e., wherein the vehicle is transported by means of a watercraft or a rail vehicle during the vehicle transportation), the ferry route being part of the host vehicle route between a starting destination and a target destination. Basso further teaches that riding the ferry requires a ferry booking (i.e., wherein booking the selected vehicle transportation comprising reservation of the vehicle transportation). Basso [0049] further teaches a vehicle operator manually requesting a ticket for the 11:30 ferry based in part on the estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at the ferry terminal (i.e., selecting one of the determined possible vehicle transports by the user).]
Regarding claim 7, Basso discloses all claim 1 limitations. Basso further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the vehicle data comprises a vehicle type, a maximum mass and/or dimensions of the vehicle and/or information about a trailer of the vehicle. [See [0007-0011]; [0019]; Basso teaches initiating an order for a service based on host vehicle information (i.e., vehicle data relating to the vehicle) or host vehicle operator information (i.e., user data relating to a user of the vehicle) in order to book a service such as a ferry for a host vehicle ferry ride along at least a part of a route between a starting destination and a target destination. Basso [0074-0075]; [0078] further teaches that the system may send service requests on behalf of a vehicle. Basso further teaches that service requests may be for a ferry, a hotel, an electric charging station, etc. Basso further teaches that the service requests may be based on the stored type of vehicle (i.e., wherein the vehicle data comprises a vehicle type). For example, a service request may be for an electric charger at a specific timeslot if the system knows that the vehicle is a hybrid electric truck which will need to be charged.]
Regarding claim 9, Basso discloses all claim 1 limitations. Basso further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the navigation program checks whether the estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at the starting location of the vehicle transport is delayed [See [0022-0023] Basso teaches that if the host vehicle is delayed and a new arrival time at a ferry facility is estimated to be after the departure of the ferry, the system automatically updates and reschedules the ferry booking for a later time (i.e., wherein the navigation program checks whether the estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at the starting location of the vehicle transport is delayed). Basso [0025-0026] further teaches the system providing confirmation status of the at least one updated service order to the user interface.]
and, if so, the user is informed by the navigation program with a delay message. [See [0022-0023] Basso teaches that if the host vehicle is delayed and a new arrival time at a ferry facility is estimated to be after the departure of the ferry, the system automatically updates and reschedules the ferry booking for a later time. Basso [0025-0026] further teaches the system providing confirmation status of the at least one updated service order to the user interface (i.e., if so, the user is informed by the navigation program with a delay message).]
Regarding claim 10, Basso discloses all claim 1 and 9 limitations. Basso further discloses the following limitations:
wherein, in the event of a delay of the vehicle at the starting location of the vehicle transport, the navigation program offers a rebooking of the vehicle transport to a later time and, if the user accepts the offer of the rebooking, the rebooking is carried out by the navigation program. [See [0022-0023]; [0075] Basso teaches that if the host vehicle is delayed and a new arrival time at a ferry facility is estimated to be after the departure of the ferry, the system suggests updating the ferry booking by cancelling the original ferry ticket and ordering a new ferry ticket for a ferry leaving after the new estimated time of arrival (i.e., the navigation program offers a rebooking of the vehicle transport to a later time). Basso [0056] further teaches that a user may manually update a new time slot if it is determined or estimated that the estimated arrival time to the service provider is delayed (i.e., wherein, in the event of a delay of the vehicle at the starting location of the vehicle transport ... if the user accepts the offer of the rebooking, the rebooking is carried out by the navigation program).]
Regarding claim 11, Basso discloses all claim 1 limitations. Basso further discloses the following limitations:
wherein, when providing a selection option for the user to select one of the determined possible vehicle transports, the user is also provided with transport information for each determined possible vehicle transport by the navigation program. [See [0074] Basso teaches that a ferry company may be situated along a route, and that a plurality of ferries may be available for the vehicle to ride upon. For example, a different ferry may depart twice every hour, e.g., 10:00, 10:30, 11:00, 11:30, etc. (i.e.¸ when providing a selection option for the user to select one of the determined possible vehicle transports, the user is also provided with transport information for each determined possible vehicle transport by the navigation program). Basso [0049] further teaches a vehicle operator manually requesting a ticket for the 11:30 ferry based in part on the estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at the ferry terminal (i.e., select one of the determined possible vehicle transports).]
Regarding claim 12, Basso discloses all claim 1 and 11 limitations. Basso further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the transport information for a determined possible vehicle transport comprises costs and/or an expected start and/or a duration of the possible vehicle transport. [See [0074] Basso teaches that a ferry company may be situated along a route, and that a plurality of ferries may be available for the vehicle to ride upon. For example, a different ferry may depart twice every hour, e.g., 10:00, 10:30, 11:00, 11:30, etc. (i.e.¸ wherein the transport information for a determined possible vehicle transport comprises ... an expected start ... of the possible vehicle transport). Basso [0049] further teaches a vehicle operator manually requesting a ticket for the 11:30 ferry based in part on the estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at the ferry.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basso (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0324191) in view of Majima (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0132480).
Regarding claim 2, Basso discloses all claim 1 limitations. Basso further discloses the following limitations:
wherein determining the route to the destination comprises the following steps: determining ... (a route) ... to the destination by the navigation program [See [0007-0011]; Basso teaches determining a route for a host vehicle between a starting destination and a target destination.]
wherein at least one route comprises a route section to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle [See [0019] Basso teaches a route comprising a portion which requires the host vehicle to ride on a ferry (i.e., a route section to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle).]
... selecting ... (the route) ... by the navigation program [See [0057] Basso teaches a selected route which leads from a starting destination to a target destination.]
... a route ... which comprises a route section (206) to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle. [See [0019] Basso teaches a route comprising a portion which requires the host vehicle to ride on a ferry (i.e., ... a route ... which comprises a route section (206) to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle).]
Basso does not explicitly, however Majima does, disclose the following limitations:
a plurality of possible routes ... providing a selection option for the user for selecting one of the possible routes ... selecting a route by the user ... [See [0198] Majima teaches a user may select a route candidate from among a plurality of route candidates.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the route selection of Basso with the route selection of Majima. By making this combination, Basso would be able to give a user more flexibility in how they navigate their vehicle. Even if the system of Basso considered one route optimal, a user would be able to select an alternative route that better fit their preferences and needs. For example, a route involving a ferry may be the fastest, but may cost money that the user is not willing to spend for the convenience. In such a case, the combination of Basso in view of Majima would allow the user to select the cheaper alternative route, thereby saving money.
Regarding claim 13, Basso discloses the following limitations:
A method for navigating a vehicle to a destination using a satellite-based navigation program [See [0003-0004]; [0060-0061]; Basso teaches establishing a route between destinations for a vehicle such as a truck via a satellite based global positioning system and satellite navigation unit.]
the journey to the destination comprising a vehicle transport of the vehicle [See [0003-0004] Basso teaches establishing a route between destinations for a vehicle such as a truck. Basso further teaches that certain routes may include one or more sections where it is necessary or preferable to take a ferry (i.e., a vehicle transport).]
includes the steps of: storing vehicle data relating to the vehicle and user data relating to a user of the navigation program in the navigation program [See [0007-0011]; [0019]; Basso teaches initiating an order for a service based on host vehicle information (i.e., vehicle data relating to the vehicle) or host vehicle operator information (i.e., user data relating to a user of the vehicle) in order to book a service such as a ferry for a host vehicle ferry ride along at least a part of a route between a starting destination and a target destination. [0062] Basso further teaches that host vehicle information may be stored on infrastructure such as remote servers or databases (i.e., storing vehicle data relating to the vehicle and user data relating to a user of the navigation program in the navigation program).]
entering the destination into the navigation program by the user [See [0048] Basso teaches a user or vehicle operator may select target destination (i.e., entering the destination into the navigation program by the user) by entering alphanumeric information via a user interface (UI), by selecting the target destination on a digital map, by using voice commands or similar.]
determining ... (a route) ... to the destination by the navigation program, at least one route having a route section to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle [See [0048] Basso teaches a user or vehicle operator may select target destination by entering alphanumeric information via a user interface (UI), by selecting the target destination on a digital map, by using voice commands or similar. Basso [0048] further teaches determining a driving route according to the determined starting destination and target destination (i.e., determining ... (a route) ... to the destination). Basso [0019] further teaches that at least a part of the route may comprise a host vehicle ferry ride as part of the route (i.e., a route section to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle).]
selecting a route ... [See [0057] Basso teaches a selected route which leads from a starting destination to a target destination.]
if the selected route has a route section to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle [See [0019] Basso teaches a route comprising a portion which requires the host vehicle to ride on a ferry (i.e., ... a route ... which comprises a route section (206) to be covered by a vehicle transport of the vehicle).]
determining an estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at a starting location of the vehicle transport for the selected route by the navigation program [See [0014] Basso teaches determining estimated arrival time for the host vehicle to the selected service provider (e.g., ferry) (i.e., determining an estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at a starting location of the vehicle transport for the selected route by the navigation program).]
determining, based on the estimated arrival time, possible vehicle transports of the vehicle for covering the route section of the selected route, and providing a selection option for the user to select one of the determined possible vehicle transports by the navigation program [See [0019] Basso teaches suggesting to book a ticket for a ferry departure which fits the estimated time of arrival to the ferry terminal. Basso [0074] further teaches that a ferry company may be situated along a route, and that a plurality of ferries may be available for the vehicle to ride upon. For example, a different ferry may depart twice every hour, e.g., 10:00, 10:30, 11:00, 11:30, etc. (i.e., determining, based on the estimated arrival time, possible vehicle transports of the vehicle for covering the route section of the selected route). Basso [0049] further teaches a vehicle operator manually requesting a ticket for the 11:30 ferry based in part on the estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at the ferry terminal (i.e., providing a selection option for the user to select one of the determined possible vehicle transports by the navigation program).]
selecting one of the determined possible vehicle transports by the user [See [0019] Basso teaches suggesting to book a ticket for a ferry departure which fits the estimated time of arrival to the ferry terminal. Basso [0074] further teaches that a ferry company may be situated along a route, and that a plurality of ferries may be available for the vehicle to ride upon. For example, a different ferry may depart twice every hour, e.g., 10:00, 10:30, 11:00, 11:30, etc. Basso [0049] further teaches a vehicle operator manually requesting a ticket for the 11:30 ferry based in part on the estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at the ferry terminal (i.e., selecting one of the determined possible vehicle transports by the user).]
and booking the selected vehicle transport by the navigation program using stored vehicle data and/or user data. [See [0014] Basso teaches determining estimated arrival time for the host vehicle to the selected service provider (e.g., ferry). Basso [0019] further teaches booking a ticket for a ferry departure for the host vehicle which fits the estimated time of arrival to the ferry terminal (i.e., booking a vehicle transport following the estimated arrival time by the navigation program using stored vehicle data and/or user data).]
Basso does not, however Majima does, explicitly disclose the following limitations:
providing the user with a selection option for selecting one of the possible routes by the navigation program ... selecting a route by the user ... [See [0198] Majima teaches a user may select a route candidate from among a plurality of route candidates.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the route selection of Basso with the route selection of Majima. By making this combination, Basso would be able to give a user more flexibility in how they navigate their vehicle. Even if the system of Basso considered one route optimal, a user would be able to select an alternative route that better fit their preferences and needs. For example, a route involving a ferry may be the fastest, but may cost money that the user is not willing to spend for the convenience. In such a case, the combination of Basso in view of Majima would allow the user to select the cheaper alternative route, thereby saving money.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basso (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0324191) in view of Schlank (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0380426).
Regarding claim 6, Basso discloses all claim 1 limitations. Basso further discloses the following limitations:
... booking of the selected vehicle transportation ... [See [0019] Basso teaches a host vehicle riding on a ferry (i.e., wherein the vehicle is transported by means of a watercraft or a rail vehicle during the vehicle transportation), the ferry route being part of the host vehicle route between a starting destination and a target destination. Basso further teaches that riding the ferry requires a ferry booking. Basso [0049] further teaches a vehicle operator manually requesting a ticket for the 11:30 ferry based in part on the estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at the ferry terminal (i.e., ... booking of the selected vehicle transportation ...).]
Basso [0013] teaches payments being made for services but does not explicitly teach purchasing ferry tickets using stored payment data. Therefore, Basso does not, however Schlank does, explicitly disclose the following limitations:
wherein the booking of the selected vehicle transportation comprises payment of the vehicle transportation and the user data comprises payment data of the user [See [0068] Schlank teaches that a user’s traveler profile may include stored identity information, stored travel preferences, and stored payment information (i.e., the user data comprises payment data of the user). Schlank [0063]; [0033]; further teaches that payment information may allow for purchasing travel services such as a flight or car rental (i.e., wherein the booking of the selected vehicle transportation comprises payment of the vehicle transportation).]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the travel bookings of Basso with the travel bookings of Schlank. By making this combination, the system of Basso would be able to store a user’s payment information and automatically use that information to pay for travel services such as ferries. This would improve the convenience of the system of Basso by reducing the amount of user input required to book required ferry tickets.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basso (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0324191) in view of Yang (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0090083).
Regarding claim 8, Basso discloses all claim 1 limitations. Basso further discloses the following limitations:
wherein the navigation program determining as possible vehicle transports only transports ... defined in the navigation program, to the expected arrival time of the vehicle at the starting location of the vehicle transport. [See [0074] Basso teaches that a ferry company may be situated along a route, and that a plurality of ferries may be available for the vehicle to ride upon. For example, a different ferry may depart twice every hour, e.g., 10:00, 10:30, 11:00, 11:30, etc. (i.e.¸ wherein the transport information for a determined possible vehicle transport comprises ... an expected start ... of the possible vehicle transport). Basso [0049] further teaches a vehicle operator manually requesting a ticket for the 11:30 ferry based in part on the estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at the ferry (i.e., wherein the navigation program determining as possible vehicle transports only transports ... defined in the navigation program, to the expected arrival time of the vehicle at the starting location of the vehicle transport).]
Basso does not, however Yang does, disclose the following limitations:
... start at least after a buffer period ... to the expected arrival time ... [See [0072] Yang teaches adding a buffer time (i.e., a buffer period) after an estimated time of arrival to estimate a departure at a pickup location.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the pick-up time based on ETA of Basso with the pick-up time based on ETA of Yang. By making this combination, the system of Basso would be able to account for the amount of time it takes for a host vehicle to go from arriving at a ferry facility to actually boarding the ferry. By adding this buffer time, the system of Basso would be able to avoid assuming a host vehicle will be able to board a ferry the moment it arrives at a ferry facility, and thereby avoid reserving ferries which cannot actually be feasibly boarded.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER GOMEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3628