Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality.
• Claim 1, line 1, “the method” should read as “the computer-implemented method”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Does the claimed invention fall inside one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter)? Yes for claims 1-20.
Claims 1-7 are drawn to a computer-implemented method for generating an interactive display (i.e., a process). Claims 8-14 are drawn to a system for generating an interactive display (i.e., a manufacture). Claims 15-20 are drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable medium for generating an interactive display (i.e., a manufacture).
Step 2A - Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon)? Yes, for claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 15, and 17-19.
Claim 1 recites:
A … method comprising: receiving … a plurality of real-time event data comprising a plurality of real-time event actions of a player; (Mental Process: evaluation)
updating … one or more event actions associated with a unique identifier of the player with the plurality of real-time event actions; (Mental Process: evaluation)
generating … a unique index based on a plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions associated with the unique identifier, wherein the unique index is generated in real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received; (Mental Process: evaluation)
generating … the one or more event actions associated with the unique identifier, … the plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions, and the unique index, … the plurality of real-time event data is received; (Mental Process: evaluation).
Claim 3 recites:
wherein the ordering rules comprise a first ordering rule … the first unique index including a higher numerical value relative to the second unique index. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 4 recites:
wherein the plurality of real-time event actions of the player include at least one of a scored goal, a completed pass, an interception, a goal conceded, or no action. (Mental Process: evaluation; Applicant of claimed invention discloses “Assessing a player's performance (e.g., for that of a soccer player) generally includes analyzing the player's statistics from one or more games.” [0003].)
Claim 5 recites:
wherein the unique index is … an input. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 6 recites:
wherein the plurality of weights are applied to the one or more event actions according to a set of rules. (Mental Process: evaluation)
But for the generic recitation of a computer environment, the identified steps are practically capable of being performed by human analog, including mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activity. These identified steps amount to a form of mental process and organizing human activity (i.e., an abstract idea) because humans can receive real-time event data, update event actions linked to unique identifiers, and generate a unique index.
Independent claims 8 and 15 describe parallel steps as claim 1 (and therefore recite limitations that fall within this subject matter of grouping abstract ideas), and these claims are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis. Dependent claims 3-6 are directed towards mini-tasks (creating ordering rules and a unique index, collecting and analyzing event action data, and updating weights, etc.) for a computer-implemented method for generating an interactive display. Dependent claims 10-13 and 17-19 cite mini-tasks that are parallel to the mini-tasks of dependent claims 3-6. Each claim amounts to a form of collecting, generating, and analyzing information, and therefore falls within the scope of a method for organizing human activity, (i.e., an abstract idea). As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 3-6, 10-13, and 17-19 recite an abstract idea.
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) discusses certain methods of organizing human activity. The Supreme Court has identified a number of concepts falling within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping as abstract ideas. Sub-groupings of organizing human activity encompass both activity of a single person and activity that involves multiple people. These sub-groupings fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity”.
Step 2A – Prong Two: Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception? No
Examiner interprets the following limitations as additional elements.
computer-implemented method for generating an interactive display
by a computing system
an interactive display including at least a graphical representation
artificial intelligence predictive model
memory
processor
user interface
non-transitory computer-readable medium
In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using a computer, memory, a processor, a non-transitory computer-readable medium, a user interface, artificial intelligence model, and an interactive display is recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than instructions to apply the exception (independent claims 1, 8, and 15 and dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20) and thus is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea.
Use of a computer, processor, memory or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serve to link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, they serve to limit the application of the abstract idea to a computerized environment (e.g., identifying and displaying, etc.) performed by a computing device, processor, and memory, etc. This reasoning was demonstrated in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (Fed. Cir. 2015), where the court determined "an abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer"). These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective independent claim (i.e., they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? i.e., Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea? No
In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an “inventive concept.” An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong Two”, the identified additional elements in independent claims 1, 8, and 15 and dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a computer, and/or link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a computer and/or instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, (e.g., a computer-implemented method for generating an interactive display, receiving and updating by a computing system, providing an index to an artificial intelligence model, etc.) and/or appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception. Applicant of claimed invention discloses ([0050], “Network ... may be of any suitable type”), ([0051], “Network ... may include any type of computer networking arrangement used to exchange data or information”), ([0072], “client device ... may be a mobile device, a tablet, a desktop computer, or any computing system having the capabilities described herein”), ([0086], “It will be understood that a prediction engine and/or related components may be implemented using techniques alternative or in addition to those described herein”), ([0126], “The system may implement ... a graph neural network (GNN) ... it will be understood that any applicable GNN, or other neural network that may utilize graphical interpretations, may be used to perform the techniques discussed herein”), and ([0142], “While several of the examples herein involve certain types of machine learning, it should be understood that techniques according to this disclosure may be adapted to any suitable type of machine learning.”)
The Examiner has determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Therefore, claims 1-20 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 11-12, 14-15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200294677 A1 (“Godinho”) in view of US 11785280 B1 (“Dakss”) and in further view of US 20090325686 A1 (“Davis”).
In regard to claim 1, Godinho discloses
A computer-implemented method for ([0237], “functionality may be implemented in software, hardware or various combinations thereof”) generating an interactive display ([0222], “FIGS. 16-19 refer to generating interactive computer displays”),
updating, by the computing system, one or more event actions associated with a unique identifier of the player with the plurality of real-time event actions ([0110], “identifier field … stores … the unique identifier assigned to the … user”);
generating, by the computing system, a unique index based on ([0078], “the … index … may store associations between user identifiers … system identifiers … and … data source identifiers”) a plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions associated with ([0096], “The … unit … may … assign … predetermined weights) the unique identifier ([0110], “identifier field … stores … the unique identifier”)
generating, by the computing system, an interactive display including ([0222], “FIGS. 16-19 refer to generating interactive computer displays”)
wherein the interactive display is generated in ([0222], “FIGS. 16-19 refer to generating interactive computer displays”)
Godinho does not disclose
the method comprising: receiving, by a computing system, a plurality of real-time event data comprising a plurality of real-time event actions of a player;
wherein the unique index is generated in real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received;
at least a graphical representation of the one or more event actions associated with the unique identifier, a graphical representation of the plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions, and the unique index,
real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received;
and transmitting, to a user interface by the computing system, the interactive display.
However, in an analogous art of real-time events, Dakss discloses
the method comprising: receiving, by a computing system, a plurality of real-time event data comprising (column 15, lines 64-65, “FIG. 4A is a systems diagram of the real-time … event data”) a plurality of real-time event actions of a player (column 24, lines 37-39, “there is … event data … that may include … team data, player data, score data, stats for detailed events that have taken place … during the game”);
wherein the unique index is generated in real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received (column 24, lines 44-45, “there is a … real-time … event data … system”);
real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received (column 26, lines 66-67 and column 27, lines 1-10, “data can include … data about user's … preferences … as received by the user … and … as ingested by the real-time … data … system”);
and transmitting, to a user interface by the computing system, the interactive display (column 23, lines 11-19, “The … event ID … is sent to the interactive services platform … to format and display … interactive graphical elements to the user.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, the method comprising: receiving, by a computing system, a plurality of real-time event data comprising a plurality of real-time event actions of a player; wherein the unique index is generated in real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received; real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received; and transmitting, to a user interface by the computing system, the interactive display, of Dakss into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding real-time event data, an interactive services platform, interactive graphical elements, and users.
Further, Davis is also analogous art because it is in the field of wagering methods and systems. Davis discloses
at least a graphical representation of the one or more event actions associated with the unique identifier, a graphical representation of the plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions, and the unique index ([0306], “the displayed content may include graphical representations”).
Substituting at least a graphical representation of the one or more event actions associated with the unique identifier, a graphical representation of the plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions, and the unique index of Davis into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding graphical representations.
In regard to claim 4, Godinho does not disclose
wherein the plurality of real-time event actions of the player include at least one of a scored goal, a completed pass, an interception, a goal conceded, or no action.
However, in an analogous art of real-time events, Dakss discloses
wherein the plurality of real-time event actions of the player include at least one of a scored goal, a completed pass, an interception, a goal conceded, or no action (column 26, lines 31-36, “A sports/event data service … will provide … information about … their players such as which players have executed the first touchdown plays for games”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the plurality of real-time event actions of the player include at least one of a scored goal, a completed pass, an interception, a goal conceded, or no action, of Dakss into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding an event data service.
In regard to claim 5, Godinho discloses
wherein the unique index is provided to an artificial intelligence predictive model as an input ([0072], “The … system … may include a natural language processing … unit … a machine learning … engine”).
In regard to claim 7, Godinho discloses
wherein the interactive display is configured to be filtered according to ([0222], “FIGS. 16-19 refer to generating interactive computer displays”) one or more of unique index or unique identifier ([0078], “the … index … may store associations between user identifiers … system identifiers … and … data source identifiers”).
In regard to claim 8, Godinho discloses
A system for generating an interactive display, the system comprising ([0222], “FIGS. 16-19 refer to generating interactive computer displays”): a memory storing instructions and a processor operatively connected to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to ([0076], “software … may be stored in … memory … and may be executed by … processors”)
updating, by the computing system, one or more event actions associated with a unique identifier of the player with the plurality of real-time event actions ([0110], “identifier field … stores … the unique identifier assigned to the … user”);
generating, by the computing system, a unique index based on ([0078], “the … index … may store associations between user identifiers … system identifiers … and … data source identifiers”) a plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions associated with ([0096], “The … unit … may … assign … predetermined weights) the unique identifier ([0110], “identifier field … stores … the unique identifier”)
generating, by the computing system, an interactive display including ([0222], “FIGS. 16-19 refer to generating interactive computer displays”)
wherein the interactive display is generated in ([0222], “FIGS. 16-19 refer to generating interactive computer displays”)
Godinho does not disclose
perform operations including: receiving, by a computing system, a plurality of real-time event data comprising a plurality of real-time event actions of a player;
wherein the unique index is generated in real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received;
at least a graphical representation of the one or more event actions associated with the unique identifier, a graphical representation of the plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions, and the unique index,
real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received;
and transmitting, to a user interface by the computing system, the interactive display.
However, in an analogous art of real-time events, Dakss discloses
perform operations including: receiving, by a computing system, a plurality of real-time event data comprising (column 15, lines 64-65, “FIG. 4A is a systems diagram of the real-time … event data”) a plurality of real-time event actions of a player (column 24, lines 37-39, “there is … event data … that may include … team data, player data, score data, stats for detailed events that have taken place … during the game”);
wherein the unique index is generated in real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received (column 24, lines 44-45, “there is a … real-time … event data … system”);
real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received (column 26, lines 66-67 and column 27, lines 1-10, “data can include … data about user's … preferences … as received by the user … and … as ingested by the real-time … data … system”);
and transmitting, to a user interface by the computing system, the interactive display (column 23, lines 11-19, “The … event ID … is sent to the interactive services platform … to format and display … interactive graphical elements to the user.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, perform operations including: receiving, by a computing system, a plurality of real-time event data comprising a plurality of real-time event actions of a player; wherein the unique index is generated in real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received; at least a graphical representation of the one or more event actions associated with the unique identifier, a graphical representation of the plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions, and the unique index, real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received; and transmitting, to a user interface by the computing system, the interactive display, of Dakss into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding real-time event data, an interactive services platform, interactive graphical elements, and users.
Further, Davis is also analogous art because it is in the field of wagering methods and systems. Davis discloses
at least a graphical representation of the one or more event actions associated with the unique identifier, a graphical representation of the plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions, and the unique index ([0306], “the displayed content may include graphical representations”).
Substituting at least a graphical representation of the one or more event actions associated with the unique identifier, a graphical representation of the plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions, and the unique index of Davis into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding graphical representations.
In regard to claim 11, Godinho does not disclose
wherein the plurality of real-time event actions of the player include at least one of a scored goal, a completed pass, an interception, a goal conceded, or no action.
However, in an analogous art of real-time events, Dakss discloses
wherein the plurality of real-time event actions of the player include at least one of a scored goal, a completed pass, an interception, a goal conceded, or no action (column 26, lines 31-36, “A sports/event data service … will provide … information about … their players such as which players have executed the first touchdown plays for games”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the plurality of real-time event actions of the player include at least one of a scored goal, a completed pass, an interception, a goal conceded, or no action, of Dakss into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding an event data service.
In regard to claim 12, Godinho discloses
wherein the unique index is provided to an artificial intelligence predictive model as an input ([0072], “The … system … may include a natural language processing … unit … a machine learning … engine”).
In regard to claim 14, Godinho discloses
wherein the interactive display is configured to be filtered according to ([0222], “FIGS. 16-19 refer to generating interactive computer displays”) one or more of unique index or unique identifier ([0078], “the … index … may store associations between user identifiers … system identifiers … and … data source identifiers”).
In regard to claim 15, Godinho discloses
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that ([0076], “Other computer readable media may … be used to store … instructions, such as … non-transitory computer readable media”), when executed by one or more processors ([0076], “software … may be executed by … processors”),
updating, by the computing system, one or more event actions associated with a unique identifier of the player with the plurality of real-time event actions ([0110], “identifier field … stores … the unique identifier assigned to the … user”);
generating, by the computing system, a unique index based on ([0078], “the … index … may store associations between user identifiers … system identifiers … and … data source identifiers”) a plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions associated with ([0096], “The … unit … may … assign … predetermined weights) the unique identifier ([0110], “identifier field … stores … the unique identifier”)
generating, by the computing system, an interactive display including ([0222], “FIGS. 16-19 refer to generating interactive computer displays”)
wherein the interactive display is generated in ([0222], “FIGS. 16-19 refer to generating interactive computer displays”)
Godinho does not disclose
perform operations including: receiving, by a computing system, a plurality of real-time event data comprising a plurality of real-time event actions of a player;
wherein the unique index is generated in real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received;
at least a graphical representation of the one or more event actions associated with the unique identifier, a graphical representation of the plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions, and the unique index,
real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received;
and transmitting, to a user interface by the computing system, the interactive display.
However, in an analogous art of real-time events, Dakss discloses
perform operations including: receiving, by a computing system, a plurality of real-time event data comprising (column 15, lines 64-65, “FIG. 4A is a systems diagram of the real-time … event data”) a plurality of real-time event actions of a player (column 24, lines 37-39, “there is … event data … that may include … team data, player data, score data, stats for detailed events that have taken place … during the game”);
wherein the unique index is generated in real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received (column 24, lines 44-45, “there is a … real-time … event data … system”);
real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received (column 26, lines 66-67 and column 27, lines 1-10, “data can include … data about user's … preferences … as received by the user … and … as ingested by the real-time … data … system”);
and transmitting, to a user interface by the computing system, the interactive display (column 23, lines 11-19, “The … event ID … is sent to the interactive services platform … to format and display … interactive graphical elements to the user.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, perform operations including: receiving, by a computing system, a plurality of real-time event data comprising a plurality of real-time event actions of a player; wherein the unique index is generated in real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received; at least a graphical representation of the one or more event actions associated with the unique identifier, a graphical representation of the plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions, and the unique index, real-time as the plurality of real-time event data is received; and transmitting, to a user interface by the computing system, the interactive display, of Dakss into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding real-time event data, an interactive services platform, interactive graphical elements, and users.
Further, Davis is also analogous art because it is in the field of wagering methods and systems. Davis discloses
at least a graphical representation of the one or more event actions associated with the unique identifier, a graphical representation of the plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions, and the unique index ([0306], “the displayed content may include graphical representations”).
Substituting at least a graphical representation of the one or more event actions associated with the unique identifier, a graphical representation of the plurality of weights applied to the one or more event actions, and the unique index of Davis into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding graphical representations.
In regard to claim 18, Godinho does not disclose
wherein the plurality of real-time event actions of the player include at least one of a scored goal, a completed pass, an interception, a goal conceded, or no action.
However, in an analogous art of real-time events, Dakss discloses
wherein the plurality of real-time event actions of the player include at least one of a scored goal, a completed pass, an interception, a goal conceded, or no action (column 26, lines 31-36, “A sports/event data service … will provide … information about … their players such as which players have executed the first touchdown plays for games”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the plurality of real-time event actions of the player include at least one of a scored goal, a completed pass, an interception, a goal conceded, or no action, of Dakss into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding an event data service.
In regard to claim 20, Godinho discloses
wherein the interactive display is configured to be filtered according to ([0222], “FIGS. 16-19 refer to generating interactive computer displays”) one or more of unique index or unique identifier ([0078], “the … index … may store associations between user identifiers … system identifiers … and … data source identifiers”).
Claims 2-3, 6, 9-10, 13, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable under Godinho in view of Dakss and in further view of Davis , as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15, respectively, and US 20230067404 A1 (“Sagan”).
In regard to claim 2, Godinho discloses
wherein the interactive display is formatted according to ([0222], “FIGS. 16-19 refer to generating interactive computer displays”)
Godinho does not disclose
a set of ordering rules
However, in an analogous art of ordering interfaces, Sagan discloses
a set of ordering rules ([0009], “FIG. 3 is … a method of configuring a set of ordering rule definitions”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, a set of ordering rules, of Sagan into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding ordering rule definitions.
In regard to claim 3, Godinho discloses
displaying a first unique index relative to a second unique index in the interactive display based on the first unique index including a higher numerical value relative to the second unique index ([0077], “the … system … may then provide the user with access to a subject's data maintained by … the interactive computer-generated displays … The … unit … may create an … index for each subject”)
Godinho does not disclose
wherein the ordering rules comprise a first ordering rule, the first ordering rule comprising
However, in an analogous art of ordering interfaces, Sagan discloses
wherein the ordering rules comprise a first ordering rule, the first ordering rule comprising ([0031], “The … interface … includes … a first ordering rule”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the ordering rules comprise a first ordering rule, the first ordering rule comprising, of Sagan into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding a first ordering rule.
In regard to claim 6, Godinho discloses
wherein the plurality of weights are applied to ([0096], “The … unit … may … assign … predetermined weights)
Godinho does not disclose
the one or more event actions according to a set of rules.
However, in an analogous art of real-time events, Dakss discloses
the one or more event actions according to (column 24, lines 37-39, “there is … event data … that may include … team data, player data, score data, stats for detailed events that have taken place … during the game”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, the one or more event actions according to, of Dakss into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding event data.
Further, Sagan is also analogous art because it is in the field of ordering interfaces. Sagan discloses
a set of rules ([0009], “FIG. 3 is … a method of configuring a set of ordering rule definitions”).
Substituting a set of rules of Sagan into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding ordering rule definitions.
In regard to claim 9, Godinho discloses
wherein the interactive display is formatted according to ([0222], “FIGS. 16-19 refer to generating interactive computer displays”)
Godinho does not disclose
a set of ordering rules
However, in an analogous art of ordering interfaces, Sagan discloses
a set of ordering rules ([0009], “FIG. 3 is … a method of configuring a set of ordering rule definitions”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, a set of ordering rules, of Sagan into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding ordering rule definitions.
In regard to claim 10, Godinho discloses
displaying a first unique index relative to a second unique index in the interactive display based on the first unique index including a higher numerical value relative to the second unique index ([0077], “the … system … may then provide the user with access to a subject's data maintained by … the interactive computer-generated displays … The … unit … may create an … index for each subject”)
Godinho does not disclose
wherein the ordering rules comprise a first ordering rule, the first ordering rule comprising
However, in an analogous art of ordering interfaces, Sagan discloses
wherein the ordering rules comprise a first ordering rule, the first ordering rule comprising ([0031], “The … interface … includes … a first ordering rule”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the ordering rules comprise a first ordering rule, the first ordering rule comprising, of Sagan into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding a first ordering rule.
In regard to claim 13, Godinho discloses
wherein the plurality of weights are applied to ([0096], “The … unit … may … assign … predetermined weights)
Godinho does not disclose
the one or more event actions according to a set of rules.
However, in an analogous art of real-time events, Dakss discloses
the one or more event actions according to (column 24, lines 37-39, “there is … event data … that may include … team data, player data, score data, stats for detailed events that have taken place … during the game”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, the one or more event actions according to, of Dakss into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding event data.
Further, Sagan is also analogous art because it is in the field of ordering interfaces. Sagan discloses
a set of rules ([0009], “FIG. 3 is … a method of configuring a set of ordering rule definitions”).
Substituting a set of rules of Sagan into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding ordering rule definitions.
In regard to claim 16, Godinho discloses
wherein the interactive display is formatted according to ([0222], “FIGS. 16-19 refer to generating interactive computer displays”)
Godinho does not disclose
a set of ordering rules
However, in an analogous art of ordering interfaces, Sagan discloses
a set of ordering rules ([0009], “FIG. 3 is … a method of configuring a set of ordering rule definitions”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, a set of ordering rules, of Sagan into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding ordering rule definitions.
In regard to claim 17, Godinho discloses
displaying a first unique index relative to a second unique index in the interactive display based on the first unique index including a higher numerical value relative to the second unique index ([0077], “the … system … may then provide the user with access to a subject's data maintained by … the interactive computer-generated displays … The … unit … may create an … index for each subject”)
Godinho does not disclose
wherein the ordering rules comprise a first ordering rule, the first ordering rule comprising
However, in an analogous art of ordering interfaces, Sagan discloses
wherein the ordering rules comprise a first ordering rule, the first ordering rule comprising ([0031], “The … interface … includes … a first ordering rule”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the ordering rules comprise a first ordering rule, the first ordering rule comprising, of Sagan into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding a first ordering rule.
In regard to claim 19, Godinho discloses
wherein the plurality of weights are applied to ([0096], “The … unit … may … assign … predetermined weights)
Godinho does not disclose
the one or more event actions according to a set of rules.
However, in an analogous art of real-time events, Dakss discloses
the one or more event actions according to (column 24, lines 37-39, “there is … event data … that may include … team data, player data, score data, stats for detailed events that have taken place … during the game”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, the one or more event actions according to, of Dakss into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding event data.
Further, Sagan is also analogous art because it is in the field of ordering interfaces. Sagan discloses
a set of rules ([0009], “FIG. 3 is … a method of configuring a set of ordering rule definitions”).
Substituting a set of rules of Sagan into systems and methods that apply natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time of Godinho would not change the basic principle operation of Godinho, nor would it render Godinho unsuitable for its intended purpose of applying natural language processing and machine learning to medical, wellness, and/or training/performance data to generate interactive computer-generated displays of a subject's health, wellness, and/or training/performance over time; rather it would enhance Godinho by adding ordering rule definitions.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure. The following references have been cited to further show the
state of the art.
• US 20230188813 A1 (“Long”)
Long discloses a multi-screen interactive display method and apparatus, a computer device, and a computer-readable storage medium.
• US 20220138078 A1 (“Chen”)
Chen discloses techniques for generating graphical visualizations and other displays of event data related to collections of computing resources.
Contact Information
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is
(571) 272-4252 and whose email address is lantoine@uspto.gov. The examiner can be
reached Monday-Thursday, 7:30 am-5:30 pm CT. Examiner interviews are available via
telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based
collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO
Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If
attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Xuan Thai, can be reached on (571) 272-7147. The fax phone number for
the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Publication Information
obtained from the Patent Center. Unpublished application information in the Patent
Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in the
Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about the
Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in
DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC)
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LISA H ANTOINE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/JAMES B HULL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715