DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites wherein elemental boron may be the boron compound. Elemental boron is an element (i.e. is not a compound) and therefore it is unclear if the boron compound is required to be a compound that includes boron or merely requires boron to be present.
Claim 5 recites wherein the oxygen reactant compound comprises silicon dioxide. However, silicon dioxide is chemically stable because silicon and oxygen are present in stoichiometric amounts. In the interest of advancing prosecution, the disputed limitation will refer to a silicon compound that forms silica (i.e. consistent with instant claim 4) because the instant specification does not provide support for a substoichiometric oxide of silicon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holzl et al. (US 5,286,565).
Claim 1: Holzl teaches a carbon body (i.e. a substrate) to which oxidation-resistant coatings are applied (i.e. an oxidation protection system; i.e. being a coating is considered to be disposed on an outer surface of the substrate) (Col. 3, l. 60 to Col. 4, l. 2). The coated carbon body has an outer refractory coating and an intermediate glass forming coating (Col. 3, l. 9-19). A glass forming intermediate coating is deposited on the etch surface of the carbon body (i.e. is disposed over the outer surface) and may contain boron oxide, boron carbide, borides of zirconium (i.e. zirconium boride), etc. (i.e. these are a boron compound) and comprises a primary glass forming species (i.e. a first glass compound) (Col. 4, l. 35-58). The outer refractory coating (i.e. considered to be disposed on the boron layer since the refractory coating is an outer coating) may comprise carbides, borides, or nitrides of silicon (i.e. comprising a silicon compound), zirconium, tantalum, hafnium, niobium, titanium, aluminum boride, or nitride or mixtures thereof, and may also comprise silicon oxynitride (Col. 6, l. 41-45), wherein the silicon may be in excess of stoichiometry (Col. 3, l. 1-8), and the amount of silicon in excess of the stoichiometric amount reacts with any oxygen to form a glass silicon oxide (i.e. a second glass compound) (Col. 2, l. 17-22).
Claim 2: Holzl teaches the intermediate coating (i.e. the boron layer) may contain boron (i.e. elemental boron), boron oxide, boron carbide, borides of zirconium (i.e. zirconium boride), etc. (i.e. these are a boron compound) (Col. 4, l. 35-58). The outer refractory coating (i.e. the silicon layer) may comprise carbides, borides, or nitrides of silicon (i.e. a silicon compound of silicon carbide), etc. (Col. 6, l. 41-45).
Claim 3: Holzl teaches that boron carbide reacts with oxygen to form glass-like boron oxide (Col. , l. 41-52) (i.e. boron carbide in the boron layer is an oxygen reactant compound). Silicon in excess of the stoichiometric amount reacts with any oxygen to form a glassy silicon oxide (Col. 2, l. 3-30) (i.e. silicon in the silicon layer is an oxygen reactant compound).
Claim 4: Holzl teaches that silicon in excess of the stoichiometric amount reacts with any oxygen to form a glassy silicon oxide (i.e. silica) (Col. 2, l. 3-30) (i.e. silicon in the silicon layer is an oxygen reactant compound and is a silica forming component).
Claim 5: Holzl teaches that the intermediate coating (i.e. the boron layer) may contain boron carbide, etc. (i.e. a boron compound) (Col. 4, l. 35-58). The outer refractory coating (i.e. the silicon layer) may comprise carbides, borides, or nitrides of silicon (i.e. a silicon compound of silicon carbide), etc. (Col. 6, l. 41-45). Silicon in excess of the stoichiometric amount reacts with any oxygen to form a glassy silicon oxide (i.e. silica) (Col. 2, l. 3-30) (i.e. silicon in the silicon layer is an oxygen reactant compound and is a silica forming component; see indefiniteness outlined above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holzl et al. (US 5,286,565) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Bentson et al. (US 5,298,311, previously cited).
Claim 6: The teachings of Holzl regarding claim 3 are outlined above. Holzl teaches a carbon body (i.e. a substrate) to which oxidation-resistant coatings are applied (i.e. an oxidation protection system; i.e. being a coating is considered to be disposed on an outer surface of the substrate) (Col. 3, l. 60 to Col. 4, l. 2). The coated carbon body has an outer refractory coating and an intermediate glass forming coating (Col. 3, l. 9-19). The intermediate coating is provided on an etched carbon body (Col. 4, l. 35-45), wherein the etching of the carbon body with gaseous boron oxide forms boron carbide and provides the beneficial results of acting as a reservoir for the intermediate coating thereby increasing the volume of the material available for reaction with oxygen (Col. 3, l. 41-52). However, Holzl does not disclose the instantly claimed pretreatment layer.
In a related field of endeavor, Bentson teaches carbon/carbon structural composites treated to resist oxidation in high temperature oxidizing environments (Col. 1, l. 5-14). Bentson teaches that borate glasses for protection of carbon/carbon composites have a drawback of B2O3 glasses being degraded by hydrolysis and leaching (Col. 2, l. 28-34). Bentson teaches that the carbon/carbon substrate matrix and paint sealant initially each include boron or a boron oxide precursor and other refractory oxides or refractory oxide precursors so that, in an oxidizing atmosphere, boron and refractory oxide precursors scavenge oxygen to form oxides and together form a glass, wherein these oxides expand to fill the pores within the composite and also to completely cover its inner structural surfaces (Col. 3, l. 45-59). Bentson teaches an inner sealant layer having boron and other metals or metalloids in elemental form and/or as an oxide dispersed throughout a carbonaceous binder so that the oxidizing environment forms oxides within the pores of the inner sealant layer (Col. 4, l. 10-29). The metal or metalloid oxides may be provided in the form of SiO2, etc. (Col. 5, l. 57-60). Bentson teaches an outer sealant layer containing boron, silicon, etc. in a carbonaceous binder (Col. 4, l. 30-59).
As Holzl and Bentson both teach a carbon body (i.e. a carbon/carbon composite is a carbon body) having an oxidation protection multilayer coating, they are analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the oxidation protection system of Holzl to include an inner sealant layer (i.e. a pretreatment layer) with an outer sealant layer (i.e. as a boron layer) as taught by Bentson because the boron and refractory oxide precursors will scavenge oxygen and together form a glass that expand to fill the pores within the composite and completely cover its inner structural surfaces, and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. In other words, the modification provides where the intermediate glass forming layer of Holzl is substituted for the inner sealant layer and outer sealant layer of Bentson, and would still include the outer refractory coating of Holzl.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holzl et al. (US 5,286,565) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Walker et al. (US 7,501,171, previously cited).
Claim 7: The teachings of Holzl regarding claim 4 are outlined above. Holzl teaches that silicon in excess of the stoichiometric amount reacts with any oxygen to form a glassy silicon oxide (i.e. silica) (Col. 2, l. 3-30) (i.e. silicon in the silicon layer is an oxygen reactant compound and is a silica forming component). However, Holzl does not teach an additional sealing layer over the silicon layer.
In a related field of endeavor, Walker teaches a C-C composite component that is coated with an anti-oxidant system (i.e. an oxidation protection system disposed on a substrate; i.e. being a coating is considered where the coating is disposed on an outer surface of the substrate) (Col. 3, l. 7-20). The component is covered by a protective undercoating of phosphorus-containing glass and the undercoating is covered by a protective overcoating (Col. 3, l. 7-20). The undercoating layer is formed from a phosphoric acid-based penetrant salt solution that can contain B2O3 (i.e. a boron compound) and various phosphates (Col. 3, l. 60 to Col. 4, l. 14). The overcoating contains a silicate binder and particulate silicon carbide (i.e. a silicon layer comprising a silicon compound) (Col. 4, l. 16-57). Walker teaches that the overcoat may be coated with a protective coating of phosphorus-containing glass (Col. 5, l. 7-27), which is also known in the art to be applied as a retardant solution to a silicon carbide-coated C-C composite.
As Holzl and Walker both teach a system for protecting a carbon body (i.e. a C-C composite component is a carbon body) from oxidation using layers of glass including a glassy layer that includes boron, they are analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the oxidation-resistant coating of Holzl to include an additional protective coating of phosphorus-containing glass on a layer containing silicon carbide (i.e. on the silicon layer of Holzl) as taught by Walker (i.e. as a simple combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; see MPEP 2143-I-A), and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,319,622. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain the following overlapping subject matter:
Instant claim 1 and claim 1 of the ‘622 patent both recite an oxidation protection system disposed on an outer surface of a substrate, the oxidation protection system, comprising; a boron layer (a boron-glass layer) disposed over the outer surface, the boron layer comprising a boron compound and a first glass compound; and a silicon layer (a silicon-glass layer) disposed on the boron layer, the silicon layer comprising a silicon compound and a second glass compound.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,344,564. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain the following overlapping subject matter:
Instant claim 1 and claim 1 of the ‘564 patent both recite an oxidation protection system disposed on an outer surface of a substrate, the oxidation protection system, comprising; a boron layer (a boron-glass layer) disposed over the outer surface, the boron layer comprising a boron compound and a first glass compound; and a silicon layer (a silicon-glass layer) disposed on the boron layer, the silicon layer comprising a silicon compound and a second glass compound.
Conclusion
/KIM S. HORGER/Examiner, Art Unit 1784