DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Office is hereby sua sponte waiving the express language requirement of 37 CFR 1.63(b)(3), where the oath or declaration was filed prior to 01 June 2008. The express language of 37 CFR 1.63(b)(3) is waived only to the extent necessary such that an oath or declaration containing the “material to examination” or “in accordance with § 1.56(a)” language, or both, will be accepted as acknowledging the applicant’s duty to disclose information “material to patentability” as defined in 37 CFR 1.56. Applicants are advised that, notwithstanding the preceding waiver, an applicant who has not disclosed information that is material to patentability as defined in 37 CFR 1.56, because it was believed that the information was not “material to the examination,” should disclose such information in order to discharge the applicant’s duty of disclosure as required by 37 CFR 1.56, and should file a supplemental oath or declaration acknowledging that duty of disclosure.
The individuals covered by 37 CFR 1.56 cannot assume that the examiner
of a particular application is necessarily aware of other applications which are “material to patentability” of the application in question, but must instead bring such other applications to the attention of the examiner. See Dayco Prod., Inc. v. Total Containment, Inc., 329 F.3d 1358, 1365-69, 66 USPQ2d 1801, 1806-08 (Fed. Cir. 2003). For example, if a particular inventor has different applications pending in which similar subject matter but patentably indistinct claims are present that fact must be disclosed to the examiner of each of the involved applications. Similarly, the prior art references from one application must be made of record in another subsequent application if such prior art references are “material to patentability” of the subsequent application. See Dayco Prod., 329 F.3d at 1369, 66 USPQ2d at 1808. See MPEP 2001.06(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giovannini et al. (US 9,114,912) which in figures 4a-4d discloses the following claimed invention:
In re claim 1: A container tamper detection capsule, comprising: an upper cover member UCM comprising a top through-opening TTO; an axial displacement member ADM comprising an alignment member AM and an insertion member IM; and a lower cover member LCM comprising a bottom through-opening BTO; characterized in that wherein the upper cover member UCM is coupled to the lower cover member LCM, forming an assembly that defines a cavity within; and the axial displacement member ADM is arranged in the cavity of the assembly, the insertion member IM being fitted to the lower cover member LCM and said alignment member AM inserted into the top through-opening TTO of the upper cover member UCM; wherein, in operation, the axial displacement member ADM is axially displaceable relative to the assembly from a first closed position (fig.4a), in which a face F of the alignment member AM is aligned with a top surface TS of the upper cover member UCM, to a second open, fixed and irreversible position (fig.4c), in which the insertion member IM is axially blocked in the lower cover member LCM and said face F of the alignment member AM is recessed with respect to said top surface TS of the upper cover member UCM (see figure 4d above of Giovannini et al.).
In re claim 2: the insertion member IM and the lower cover member LCM comprise clip-type and indentation-type axial retention means ARM (see figure 4d above of Giovannini et al.).
In re claim 4: A container lid CL comprising the capsule of claim 1 and a stopper member SM, wherein the container tamper detection capsule and the stopper member form a container lid (see figure 4d above of Giovannini et al.).
In re claim 5:the stopper member SM is made of a material selected from the group consisting of plastic, wood, cork, aluminum, composites and their combinations thereof (see col.3, ll.8-19 of Giovannini et al.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giovannini et al. (US 9,114,912). Giovannini et al. discloses the claimed invention as discussed above with the exception of specifically disclosing the following claimed limitations:
In re claim 3: the upper cover and lower cover members are made of a material selected from the group consisting of plastic, wood, cork, composites and combinations thereof (see col.3, ll.8-19 of Giovannini et al.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use one of the claimed materials in order to provide the desired material cost or material properties for a reliable closure. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Furthermore, it was notoriously well-known in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use materials such as plastic, wood, cork, composites and combinations thereof in the closure art. For evidence, see the references listed in the attached PTO-892.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-13 appear to define over the available prior art and therefore allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive regarding claim 1. The prior art as applied reads on the claimed invention, the Applicant appears to be interpreting a different embodiment of the prior art that is not being relied on in the current rejection. The Figure as shown above of Giovannini et al. structurally discloses all the claimed limitations. The applied prior art may be different than the applicant’s disclosed invention, however, the applicants claimed invention is disclosed by the prior art. The law of anticipation does not require that the reference teach what the appellant is claiming but only that the claims on appeal “read on” something disclosed in the reference. See Kalman v. Kimberly Clark Corp., 713 F.2d 760, 218 USPQ 781 (Fed. Cir. 1983). Where functional limitations are recited for the structure set forth in the claim, the reference must also include structure which is capable of performing the recited function in order for the reference to be properly anticipatory. See In re Mott, 557 F.2d 266, 194 USPQ 305 (CCPA 1977).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERNESTO A GRANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735