DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the application filed on 01/30/2025.
Claims 1-25 have been examined and are pending.
Priority
Priority claims to foreign application App #JP2024-018023 (Country: Japan) filed on 02/08/2024 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In dependent claim 5, it isn’t clear if the claim element ‘a data amount’ in limitation “…a calculation unit that calculates a data amount after the compression processing of the contents to be transferred.” is the same as ‘a data amount’ in independent claim 1 or ‘a data amount’ in claim 2. For examination purposes, the scope is assumed to be data amount of all the selected contents to be transferred after compression. The applicant is requested to clarify language/scope of the claim. Dependent claims 6-21 are also objected to for the above reasons.
In dependent claim 7, it appears the claim limitation ‘…the calculation unit calculates a data mount after the compression processing of the main data of the predetermined content’ should read ‘…the calculation unit calculates a data amount after the compression processing of the main data of the predetermined content’. Further, it isn’t clear which data/content the ‘data amount’ corresponds to. The applicant is requested to clarify scope of the claim. Dependent claims 7-18 are also objected to for the above reasons.
In dependent claim 11, the scope of the limitation “in a case where the selection unit does not select the contents to be transferred, the calculation unit does not calculate the data amount after the compression processing of the main data of the predetermined content.” is confusing. Given the first part of the limitation requires that contents are not selected, it is unclear how the latter part of the limitation “after the compression processing of the main data of the predetermined content” can be executed, as independent claim 1 recites that predetermined content is extracted from the contents to be transferred. Further, it isn’t clear which data/content the ‘data amount’ corresponds to. The applicant is requested to clarify scope of the claim. The claim is not examined currently.
In dependent claim 15, the scope of the limitation “…in a case where the contents to be transferred are changed, the calculation unit calculates the data amount after the compression processing of the main data of the predetermined content” is confusing because it isn’t clear which data/content the ‘data amount’ corresponds to (for instance, does it correspond to originally selected contents to be transferred, or the changed contents?). The applicant is requested to clarify scope of the claim. The claim is not examined currently.
In dependent claim 16, the scope of the limitation “…in a case where the contents displayed by the display unit are switched, the calculation unit calculates the data amount after the compression processing of the main data of the predetermined content” is confusing because it isn’t clear which data/content the ‘data amount’ corresponds to (for instance, does it correspond to originally selected contents to be transferred, or the switched contents?). The applicant is requested to clarify scope of the claim. The claim is not examined currently.
In dependent claim 17, the scope of the limitation “…in a case where all contents held by the external apparatus are transferred, the calculation unit calculates, at the time of connection to the external apparatus, the data amount after the compression processing of the main data of the predetermined content.” is confusing because it isn’t clear which data/content the ‘data amount’ corresponds to (for instance, does it correspond to originally selected contents to be transferred, or the transferred contents?). The applicant is requested to clarify scope of the claim. The claim is not examined currently.
In dependent claim 18, the scope of the limitation “…every time the selection unit selects the contents to be transferred, the calculation unit calculates the data amount after the compression processing of the main data of the predetermined content.” is confusing because it isn’t clear which data/content the ‘data amount’ corresponds to (for instance, does it correspond to originally selected contents to be transferred, or the newly selected contents?). The applicant is requested to clarify scope of the claim. The claim is not examined currently.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“transfer unit” in claims 1, 13, 19, 21, and 25
“extraction unit” in claims 1 and 25
“presentation unit” in claims 1 and 25
“acquisition unit” in claims 2-4
“display unit” in claims 2, 12, and 16
“selection unit” in claims 2, 11, and 18
“compression processing unit” in claims 5, 7, 19 and 21
“calculation unit” in claims 5-7, and 10-18
“setting unit” in claims 6, 11, and 14
“reception unit” in claim 20
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function (such as ‘display unit’ in paras31-33 of specification), and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitations “transfer unit” (claims 1, 13, 19, 21, and 25), “extraction unit” (claims 1 and 25), “presentation unit” (claims 1 and 25), “acquisition unit” (claims 2-4), “selection unit” (claims 2, 11, and 18), “compression processing unit” (claims 5, 7, 19 and 21), “calculation unit” (claims 5-7, and 10-18), “setting unit” (claims 6, 11, and 14), and “reception unit” (claim 20) invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
No association between the structure and the function can be found in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-14, and 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sites (US 7,463,775 B1) in view of Jeyakar (US 2021/0142540 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Sites teaches A communication apparatus that is able to communicate with an external apparatus, comprising: … that transfers contents to … destination; *see cols6-8(“...storage size can be estimated in a fast and efficient way for an image set including a large number of images. The image set can include images to be attached to an electronic mail, or images to be stored in a device such as a disk or a digital camera that has limited storage space…” teaches external apparatus, transfers contents to/destination, under broadest reasonable interpretation of claim elements (BRI), “...storage size estimator 100 can be implemented in one or more software applications or as a plug-in…can also be implemented in hardware of electronic devices, such as image capturing or displaying devices. For example, the storage size estimator 100 can be implemented in digital cameras, CCD devices, scanners, or portable devices such as personal digital assistants or mobile phones…” teach communication apparatus, external apparatus, transfer contents/destination, under BRI”), col24(“…image set 1210 can be a user selected image collection such as a slide show that the user wishes to compress for archivation. Or the image set 1210 can include images to be stored on a storage device with limited storage size, or to be transmitted by an electronic mail service that sets limitations on the storage size of transmitted files. In one implementation, the representation generator 1220 is implemented in a digital camera or other image capturing device that has limited storage capacity...”), col34(“…techniques described in this application can be implemented in one or more software applications, as a plug-in to a software application, or in hardware of electronic devices, such as image capturing or displaying devices, for example digital cameras, CCD devices, scanners, or portable devices such as personal digital assistants or mobile phones”)
an extraction unit that extracts a predetermined content having a largest data amount from the contents to be transferred; and *see col4(“… Receiving digital data can include receiving a set of two or more digital images. Predicting a storage size of the output representation can include predicting a total storage size for the set of digital images [contents to be transferred, under BRI]. Determining one or more compression parameter values can include selecting one or more of the images for compression and determining one or more compression parameter values for the selected images...images can be selected based on the target quality and quality parameters of the digital images in the current representation. Selecting one or more of the images for compression can include selecting one or more of the images based on storage sizes of the digital images in the current representation. Selecting images based on storage sizes can include selecting one or more images that have the largest storages sizes among the received images...” teaches extracts predetermined content having largest data, under BRI), cols6-8(“...storage size can be estimated in a fast and efficient way for an image set…image set can include images to be attached to an electronic mail, or images to be stored in a device such as a disk or a digital camera [contents to be transferred]…”), cols23-24(“FIG.11…estimating a storage size of a JPEG..of a digital image...”), cols25-27(“ FIG.13…compressing a set of images...”), cols27-28(“ FIG.14…estimating storage size for compressing an image set including multiple images…system selects one or more images in the image set…images are selected to represent the image set for estimating a storage size for the entire set… In one implementation, all the images in the set have the same type of input representation, and the system selects the images that have the largest input storage sizes in that type of representation [extraction unit]…If the input storage size varies substantially from image to image in the set, the images with the largest storage sizes may dominate the storage size for the entire set. Thus selecting the images with the largest storages sizes is typically advantageous for predicting how the entire set will be compressed…For the selected images, the system estimates storage size of compressed representations based on current compression parameters …includes the storage size estimator 100…predicts the storage sizes for the selected images… alternative implementations, the system generates the compressed representations for one or more of the selected images, and determines the storage size of the generated representations. The system estimates a compressed storage size for the entire image set based on the storage size estimates for the selected images…”), cols28-29(“FIG.15…estimating a storage size based on an output quality level specified for compressing images in an image set. In the image set, the images are represented in input representations, and the output quality level is specified for compressing the images into output representations...method 1500 can be performed by a system that includes the representation generator 1220…In the image set, the system identifies images that have higher quality than specified by the output quality level…system selects one or more of the identified high quality images based on their input storage size (step 1530). In one implementation, the system selects images that have the largest input storage sizes among the identified high quality images…Based on the selected high quality images, the system estimates a storage size for compressing all the high quality images to match the output quality level…” teaches extracts content having largest data)
a presentation unit that presents, before transferring the contents, a data amount after compression processing of the predetermined content. *see col24-25(“FIG. 12…representation generator 1220 to compress or decompress two or more ("M") digital images...in a set 1210...1210 is a collection of images to be compressed based on storage parameter…storage parameters can include a desired storage size or image quality for the entire set 1210…user selected image collection such as a slide show that the user wishes to compress for archivation… images to be stored on a storage device with limited storage size, or to be transmitted by an electronic mail service…1220 is implemented in a digital camera or other image capturing device that has limited storage capacity. In the image set 1210, each image…specified in a compressed representation…each image 1210_i has a corresponding set 1212_i of current compression parameters…1220 includes a data compressor/decompressor 1222, a compression parameter calculator 1224 and a storage size estimator…1222 generates new compressed representations of the images…If a new compressed representation has been generated for an image in the set 1210, the representation generator 1220 can replace the representation of the image in the set 1210 with the new representation…compression parameter calculator 1224 calculates new compression parameters for one or more images in the set 1210 based on storage parameters 1225…storage size estimator 1226 estimates a storage size for the entire image set 1210 based on compression parameters for one or more images in the set 1210. In one implementation, the storage size estimator 1226 includes the storage size estimator 100 (FIG. 1), and can predict a storage size for compressing a particular image…In alternative implementations, the storage size estimator 1226 estimates a storage size for the entire set 1210 based on compressed image representations that are generated by the compressor/decompressor…storage size estimator 1226 can select one or more uncompressed images from the set 1210, and the compressor/decompressor 1222 can generate compressed representations for the selected images. Or the storage size estimator 1226 can generate a sample image that is based on one or more images in the set 1210, and the compressor/decompressor 1222 can generate a compressed representation of the sample image. Based on the storage size of the generated compressed representations, the storage size estimator 1226 can estimate the storage size for the entire set 1210, as discussed…FIG. 14…storage size estimate can be presented to a user who tries to adjust a quality parameter or another storage parameter for the image set 1210 in a user interface. For the user, the presented estimate provides a useful feedback about the storage size for the current storage parameter...” teaches presentation unit…presents data amount after compression of predetermined content before transferring, under BRI of claim elements and in view of other cited paras, incl paras27-29 that teach extracts predetermined content having largest data amount), cols32-34(“FIG. 18A illustrates an exemplary user interface 1800 for specifying compression parameters for output representations of multiple digital images in a set of images…FIG. 18B illustrates the user interface 1800 when the user has moved the cursor 1816 on the slider from the input marker 1812 to a position that is in between the minimum marker 1814 and the input marker 1812…FIG. 19 illustrates exemplary size representations 1910 and 1920 that can be used to indicate storage sizes for multiple images...”)
However, Sites does not expressly teach ‘…a transfer unit that transfers contents to a transfer destination;'
Jeyakar teaches …a transfer unit that transfers contents to a transfer destination; *see para18(“…disclosure relates generally to processing of images. In particular, techniques are described for intelligently exporting images. In one embodiment, an image export system [transfer unit] is disclosed that provides an intelligent and improved export functionality for exporting a set of images. The image export system allows a user to select a set of images to be exported [transfers contents] and specify input parameters to be used for the export operation such as (1) the file type or format for the exported images, (2) a destination memory location for storing the exported images [transfer destination], and (3) a size (e.g., small, medium, large) for the exported images...”), FIGS. 2-7, paras31-35, paras62-67
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sites to incorporate the teachings of Jeyakar and expressly enable a transfer unit that transfers contents to a transfer destination, as doing so would enable enhanced export functionality for intelligently exporting images (Jeyakar, paras03-04).
Regarding claim 2,
Sites and Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Jeyakar further teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: an acquisition unit that acquires data obtained by reducing content and supplementary information including a data amount of the content; a display unit that displays the supplementary information; and a selection unit that selects the contents to be transferred from contents displayed by the display unit. *see paras31-35(“FIG. 2…process 200 for exporting a set of images…At 202, processing is initiated when a request is received from a user to export a set of one or more images…user 108 may use UI 110 to select a set of images to be exported and then send a request to image editing application 104 to request the selected images to be exported...user may select the set of images to be exported from the images loaded by image editing application… user may have imported or loaded multiple images in image editing application 104 for purposes of editing or organizing the images. The user may then select the images to be exported from among these loaded images…user may select a set of images and then select an “Export” option (e.g., a menu item, button) to initiate the processing depicted in FIG. 2 [selection unit selects contents to be transferred from…display/ unit]…upon receiving the initial request in 202 to export a set of images, image editing application 104 may cause an export dialog window 112 to be displayed to the user for the user to input the information received in 203…in response to the user selecting the “Export” option in 202, dialog window 112 may be displayed to the user for entering the image format, destination location, and image size information [acquisition unit acquires supplementary information including data amount of content]. The user may then provide values for the export image format, destination location and image file size parameters via the dialog window 112. In certain examples, additional parameters may be specified in the export dialog window. These parameters may include, without limitation, color, space, an output sharpening medium, embedded thumbnails [acquisition unit acquires data obtained by reducing content, under BRI], specialized image formats for high quality images…”; image editing application/export dialog window teaches display unit/displays supplementary information, under BRI)
Regarding claim 3,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Sites and Jeyakar further teach The communication apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the content is content held by the external apparatus, and the acquisition unit acquires the supplementary information from the external apparatus. *see Sites:cols6-8(“…image set can include images to be attached to an electronic mail, or images to be stored in a device such as a disk or a digital camera that has limited storage space…storage size estimator 100 can be implemented in digital cameras, CCD devices, scanners, or portable devices such as personal digital assistants or mobile phones. For portable devices, the storage size estimator 100 or portions of it can be implemented on a remote server…” teaches content may be held by external apparatus, under BRI), col24(“… image set 1210 can include images to be stored on a storage device with limited storage size, or to be transmitted by an electronic mail service that sets limitations on the storage size of transmitted files…representation generator 1220 is implemented in a digital camera or other image capturing device that has limited storage capacity”); Jeyakar:paras31-35(“...user may identify a set of files corresponding to the images to be exported and their storage location…in FIG. 1, the images to be exported (also referred to as source images 124) are stored in source image location 122. The user 108 may, via the UI 110, provide information to the image editing application 104 identifying the source image location 122 and also identifying a set of source images 124 to be exported…user may use a file or document explorer application to select the images to be exported. The image editing application 104 can then retrieve the set of images from the source image location 122 for performing the export operation. The source image location 122 may be on a camera memory, a memory device or card, a cloud storage location, a flash drive [content held by external apparatus, under BRI]…At 203, information is received from the user identifying a set of values for parameters to be used for the export operation. The information received in 203 may include, for example, (1) information identifying the image or file format for the exported images, (2) information identifying a destination memory location where the exported images are to be stored, and (3) an image size to be used for the exported images. There are various different types of formats that the user can specify for the exported images, such as, without restriction, various Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPEG or JPG) formats, Portable Network Graphics (PNG) format, Graphics Interchange Format (GIF) format, Tagged Image File (TIFF) format, Original format, and the like. The image size information identifies the dimensions (size) to be used for the exported images. Common options include “small,” “medium,” and “large.” In certain examples, the user may specify a custom value of the image size. Each of these options translates to a particular image size. For example, the “small” image size option may translate to an image size that has 2046 pixels along the image's long edge…” teaches acquires supplementary info/options from external apparatus, under BRI)
Regarding claim 4,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Sites and Jeyakar further teach The communication apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the content is content held by the communication apparatus, and the acquisition unit acquires supplementary information of the content held by the communication apparatus. *see Sites: cols6-8(“…image set can include images to be attached to an electronic mail, or images to be stored in a device such as a disk or a digital camera that has limited storage space…storage size estimator 100 can be implemented in digital cameras, CCD devices, scanners, or portable devices such as personal digital assistants or mobile phones. For portable devices, the storage size estimator 100 or portions of it can be implemented on a remote server…” teaches content may be held by communication apparatus, under BRI), col24(“…image set 1210 can include images to be stored on a storage device with limited storage size, or to be transmitted by an electronic mail service that sets limitations on the storage size of transmitted files…representation generator 1220 is implemented in a digital camera or other image capturing device that has limited storage capacity”); Jeyakar:paras31-35(“... For example, the user may identify a set of files corresponding to the images to be exported and their storage location. For example, in FIG. 1, the images to be exported (also referred to as source images 124) are stored in source image location 122. The user 108 may, via the UI 110, provide information to the image editing application 104 identifying the source image location 122 and also identifying a set of source images 124 to be exported…a user may use a file or document explorer application to select the images to be exported. The image editing application 104 can then retrieve the set of images from the source image location 122 for performing the export operation. The source image location 122 may be on a camera memory, a memory device or card, a cloud storage location, a flash drive [content held by communication apparatus, under BRI]…At 203, information is received from the user identifying a set of values for parameters to be used for the export operation. The information received in 203 may include, for example, (1) information identifying the image or file format for the exported images, (2) information identifying a destination memory location where the exported images are to be stored, and (3) an image size to be used for the exported images. There are various different types of formats that the user can specify for the exported images, such as, without restriction, various Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPEG or JPG) formats, Portable Network Graphics (PNG) format, Graphics Interchange Format (GIF) format, Tagged Image File (TIFF) format, Original format, and the like. The image size information identifies the dimensions (size) to be used for the exported images. Common options include “small,” “medium,” and “large.” In certain examples, the user may specify a custom value of the image size. Each of these options translates to a particular image size. For example, the “small” image size option may translate to an image size that has 2046 pixels along the image's long edge…” teaches acquires options/supplementary information of content held by communication apparatus, under BRI)
Regarding claim 5,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Sites and Jeyakar further teach The communication apparatus according to claim 2, further comprising a compression processing unit that performs compression processing of the contents to be transferred; and a calculation unit that calculates a data amount after the compression processing of the contents to be transferred. *see Sites:FIGS.12-15, cols24-29 (“FIG. 12 illustrates a representation generator 1220 to compress…two or more (“M”) digital images 1210_1-1210_M in a set 1210 of digital images…compression parameter calculator 1224 can automatically determine new compression parameters for the images in the set 1210 based on the storage parameters 1225.… new compression parameters can be used by the compressor/decompressor 1222 to generate new compressed representations for the images in the set 1210… storage size estimator 1226 estimates a storage size for the entire set 1210 based on compressed image representations that are generated by the compressor/ decompressor 1222… FIG. 13 illustrates a method 1300 for compressing a set of images…storage size can be determined for one or more images in the set by actually generating the compressed representations according to the current compression parameters, and determining the storage size of the generated representations…If the compression parameters should be modified (“Yes” branch of decision 1350), the system specifies new compression parameters…If the compression parameters should not be modified (“No” branch of decision 1350), the system uses the current compression parameters to generate compressed representations for the images in the image set… FIG. 14 illustrates a method 1400 for estimating storage size for compressing an image set including multiple images... estimate for the entire set is obtained by summing up the estimated storage sizes for all classes representing the set… FIG. 15 illustrates a method 1500 for estimating a storage size based on an output quality level specified for compressing images in an image set…system first estimates a respective storage size for compressing each of the selected images to match the output quality level, and determines a compression ratio relative to the input storage size of the selected images. Next, the system uses the compression ratio to estimate a compressed storage size for all images that are identified to have higher quality than that specified by the output quality parameter…” teaches compression processing of contents to be transferred, and calculates data amount after compression processing…, under BRI of claim elements); Jeyakar:FIGS.2,5 and related paras31-44, 62-67
Regarding claim 6,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Sites and Jeyakar further teach The communication apparatus according to claim 5, further comprising a setting unit that performs setting of the compression processing, wherein the calculation unit calculates the data amount after performing the compression processing by applying the setting of the compression processing. *see Sites:FIG.2(“step230 Estimate Storage Size of Output Representation of Digital Data Based on Bit Width Distributions and Compression Parameters”), cols10-11, FIG.6(“step620 Receive Compression Parameters for Output Representation”), cols17-18, FIG.10(“steps1010-1020 Receive Downsampling Parameters for Output Representation…Estimate Effect of Downsampling to Storage Size”), FIGS.13-14(“steps1330-1340: Specify Current Compression Parameters Based on Storage Parameters for Image Set…Estimate Storage Size Based on Current Compression Parameters…step1420 For Selected Images, Estimate Storage Size of Compressed Representations”), FIG.15(“step1540 Based on Selected High Quality Images, Estimate Storage Size for All Identified Images Compressed to Match Output Quality Level”), FIGS.17-18B(“FIG. 17 illustrates an exemplary user interface 1700 for specifying compression parameters for an output JPEG representation of a digital image…FIG.18A illustrates ...specifying compression parameters for output representations of multiple digital images in a set of images…”), and cols22-32 teach performs setting compression processing, calculates data amount after compression processing…, under BRI of claim elements; Jeyakar:paras44-48, paras55-60, 70-84
Regarding claim 7,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Sites and Jeyakar further teach The communication apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the compression processing unit performs compression processing of main data of the predetermined content, and the calculation unit calculates a data mount after the compression processing of the main data of the predetermined content. *see cols6-8, cols23-26(“FIG. 11… estimating a storage size of a JPEG representation of a digital image...FIG.12… representation generator 1220 to compress or decompress two or more ("M") digital images…storage size estimator 1226 estimates a storage size for the entire image set 1210 based on compression parameters for one or more images in the set…In alternative implementations, the storage size estimator 1226 estimates a storage size for the entire set 1210 based on compressed image representations that are generated by the compressor…1226 can select one or more uncompressed images from the set 1210, and…1222 can generate compressed representations for the selected images. Or…1226 can generate a sample image that is based on one or more images in the set 1210, and…1222 can generate a compressed representation of the sample image. Based on the storage size of the generated compressed representations, the storage size estimator 1226 can estimate the storage size for the entire set 1210, as discussed [calculates data mount after compression processing of predetermined content, under BRI]…FIG.13… compressing a set of images...”), cols27-28(“FIG. 14…estimating storage size for compressing an image set including multiple images…selects one or more images in the image set …images are selected to represent the image set for estimating a storage size for the entire set…In one implementation, all the images in the set have the same type of input representation, and the system selects the images that have the largest input storage sizes in that type of representation…If the input storage size varies substantially from image to image in the set, the images with the largest storage sizes may dominate the storage size for the entire set. Thus selecting the images with the largest storages sizes is typically advantageous for predicting how the entire set will be compressed…For the selected images, the system estimates storage size of compressed representations based on current compression parameters…generates the compressed representations for one or more of the selected images, and determines the storage size of the generated representations. The system estimates a compressed storage size for the entire image set based on the storage size estimates for the selected images…” teaches compression of predetermined content …calculates data mount after compression of content, under BRI), cols28-29(“FIG. 15…estimating a storage size based on an output quality level specified for compressing images in an image set…system selects one or more of the identified high quality images based on their input storage size (step 1530). In one implementation, the system selects images that have the largest input storage sizes among the identified high quality images…Based on the selected high quality images, the system estimates a storage size for compressing all the high quality images to match the output quality level…”),
Regarding claim 8,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Sites and Jeyakar further teach The communication apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the predetermined content is content received from the external apparatus. *see Sites:cols6-8(“…image set can include images to be attached to an electronic mail, or images to be stored in a device such as a disk or a digital camera that has limited storage space…storage size estimator 100 can be implemented in digital cameras, CCD devices, scanners, or portable devices such as personal digital assistants or mobile phones. For portable devices, the storage size estimator 100 or portions of it can be implemented on a remote server …” teaches content including predetermined content may be received from external apparatus, under BRI), col24(“…image set 1210 can include images to be stored on a storage device with limited storage size, or to be transmitted by an electronic mail service that sets limitations on the storage size of transmitted files… representation generator 1220 is implemented in a digital camera or other image capturing device that has limited storage capacity [content incl predetermined content may be received from external apparatus, under BRI]…); Jeyakar:paras31-35(“...user may identify a set of files corresponding to the images to be exported and their storage location…in FIG. 1, the images to be exported (also referred to as source images 124) are stored in source image location 122. The user 108 may, via the UI 110, provide information to the image editing application 104 identifying the source image location 122 and also identifying a set of source images 124 to be exported…user may use a file or document explorer application to select the images to be exported. The image editing application 104 can then retrieve the set of images from the source image location 122 for performing the export operation. The source image location 122 may be on a camera memory, a memory device or card, a cloud storage location, a flash drive [content including predetermined content received from external apparatus, under BRI]…At 203, information is received from the user identifying a set of values for parameters to be used for the export operation. The information received in 203 may include, for example, (1) information identifying the image or file format for the exported images, (2) information identifying a destination memory location where the exported images are to be stored, and (3) an image size to be used for the exported images…”)
Regarding claim 9,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Sites and Jeyakar further teach The communication apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the predetermined content is content held by the communication apparatus. *see Sites: cols6-8(“…image set can include images to be attached to an electronic mail, or images to be stored in a device such as a disk or a digital camera that has limited storage space…storage size estimator 100 can be implemented in digital cameras, CCD devices, scanners, or portable devices such as personal digital assistants or mobile phones. For portable devices, the storage size estimator 100 or portions of it can be implemented on a remote server …” teaches content incl predetermined content may be held by communication apparatus, under BRI), col24(“…image set 1210 can include images to be stored on a storage device with limited storage size, or to be transmitted by an electronic mail service that sets limitations on the storage size of transmitted files…representation generator 1220 is implemented in a digital camera or other image capturing device that has limited storage capacity [content incl predetermined content may be held by communication apparatus, under BRI]…”); Jeyakar:paras31-35(“...For example, the user may identify a set of files corresponding to the images to be exported and their storage location. For example, in FIG. 1, the images to be exported (also referred to as source images 124) are stored in source image location 122. The user 108 may, via the UI 110, provide information to the image editing application 104 identifying the source image location 122 and also identifying a set of source images 124 to be exported…a user may use a file or document explorer application to select the images to be exported. The image editing application 104 can then retrieve the set of images from the source image location 122 for performing the export operation. The source image location 122 may be on a camera memory, a memory device or card, a cloud storage location, a flash drive [content incl predetermined content may be held by communication apparatus, under BRI]…At 203, information is received from the user identifying a set of values for parameters to be used for the export operation. The information received in 203 may include, for example, (1) information identifying the image or file format for the exported images, (2) information identifying a destination memory location where the exported images are to be stored, and (3) an image size to be used for the exported images…”)
Regarding claim 10,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Jeyakar further teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the calculation unit calculates the data amount after the compression processing of the main data of the predetermined content for each of file formats of the contents to be transferred. *see paras34-40(“...At 203, information is received from the user identifying a set of values for parameters to be used for the export operation...There are various different types of formats that the user can specify for the exported images, such as, without restriction, various Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPEG or JPG) formats, Portable Network Graphics (PNG) format, Graphics Interchange Format (GIF) format, Tagged Image File (TIFF) format, Original format, and the like…in response to the user selecting the “Export” option in 202, dialog window 112 may be displayed…user may then provide values for the export image format, destination location and image file size parameters via the dialog window…additional parameters may be specified in the export dialog window …color, space, an output sharpening medium, embedded thumbnails, specialized image formats for high quality images (e.g., the Tag Image Bitmap File (TIFF) format for enabling bit-depth...”), paras44-50(“…as part of the processing in 206, the range estimator subsystem 114 may select a particular trained model from the set of trained models 128A-128N based on the export parameter values received in 203. For example, a particular trained model may be selected based upon the image format to be used for the exported images and the size (e.g., image dimension) for the exported images. For instance, if the parameter values received in 203 indicate that “JPEG” format is the format and a “small” size/dimension is selected for the exported images, the range estimator subsystem 114 may choose a particular trained model 128A corresponding to those two parameters. The range estimator subsystem 114 may then use the particular selected trained model to determine the minimum total export size representative of the memory size needed for storing the exported images exported at 0% image quality for the set of selected images…” teaches calculates data amount after compression of predetermined content for each file format…, under BRI), para57, paras86-89(“...each training model 128A-128N may be trained using different training datasets 137 stored in a training subsystem 134 accessible to the data storage subsystem 126. Each training dataset may comprise images of a particular image format and a particular image size dimension. For instance, a first training model 128A may be trained using a training dataset comprising “JPEG” images of a “small” dimension, a second training model 128B may be trained using a training dataset comprising “JPEG” images of a “medium” dimension, a third training model 128C may be trained using a training dataset comprising “JPEG” images of a “large” dimension and so on. In a similar manner, the models 128A-128N may be may be trained using training datasets comprising images of other image formats (e.g., GIF, TIFF etc.) and of different image size dimensions…” teaches calculates data amount after compression of predetermined content for each file format…, under BRI)
Regarding claim 12,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Sites and Jeyakar further teach The communication apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the display unit displays a state in which the calculation unit is calculating the data amount after the compression processing of the main data of the predetermined content. *see Sites, FIGS.18A-B,19, cols32-34(“...In the example illustrated in FIG. 18A, the cursor 1816 is positioned at the input marker, thus it specifies no compression for the image set …FIG. 18B illustrates the user interface 1800 when the user has moved the cursor 1816 on the slider from the input marker 1812 to a position that is in between the minimum marker 1814 and the input marker 1812. Thus the user indicated that the image set should be compressed to match a reduced quality represented by that position. Based on the reduced quality, the system has estimated the compressed storage size for each image in the set, and presented a modified size representation 1820′ to illustrate the compressed storage sizes...” teaches displays state in which data amount is being calculated after compression of data which includes predetermined content, under BRI of elements); Jeyakar, paras44-60(“The range estimator subsystem 114 may then use the particular selected trained model to determine the minimum total export size representative of the memory size needed for storing the exported images exported at 0% image quality for the set of selected images…selected trained model maps image quality levels to corresponding image compression factors…GUI 112 may be updated to display the range information along with the other export parameters-related information. FIG. 4…graphical user interface (GUI) 402 used to export a set of images including showing range information to the user…402 may be presented to the user…by the image editing application 114 as part of the export operation workflow…In addition to the export parameters 404, GUI 402 also displays range information, where the displayed range information includes information identifying the minimum total export size 410 (90.27 KB) for exporting the selected set of images per parameters 404 and a maximum total export size 411…user-selectable and movable slider 409 is provided that is movable between the minimum total export size and the maximum total export size. The user can adjust the slider to select a particular value for the target total export size, where the user-selected value is in the range from the minimum total export size to the maximum total export size, both end points inclusive…”)
Regarding claim 13,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Sites and Jeyakar further teach The communication apparatus according to claim 7, wherein immediately before the transfer unit performs the transfer processing of the contents, the calculation unit calculates the data amount after the compression processing of the main data of the predetermined content. *see Sites, col24-25(“FIG. 12…representation generator 1220 to compress or decompress two or more ("M") digital images...in a set...1210 is a collection of images to be compressed based on storage parameter…storage parameters can include a desired storage size or image quality for the entire set 1210…user selected image collection such as a slide show that the user wishes to compress for archivation…images to be stored on a storage device with limited storage size, or to be transmitted by an electronic mail service…1220 is implemented in a digital camera or other image capturing device that has limited storage capacity. In the image set 1210, each image…specified in a compressed representation…each image 1210_i has a corresponding set 1212_i of current compression parameters…1220 includes a data compressor/decompressor 1222, a compression parameter calculator 1224 and a storage size estimator…1222 generates new compressed representations of the images…If a new compressed representation has been generated for an image in the set 1210, the representation generator 1220 can replace the representation of the image in the set 1210 with the new representation…compression parameter calculator 1224 calculates new compression parameters for one or more images in the set 1210 based on storage parameters 1225…storage size estimator 1226 estimates a storage size for the entire image set 1210 based on compression parameters for one or more images in the set 1210. In one implementation, the storage size estimator 1226 includes the storage size estimator 100 (FIG. 1), and can predict a storage size for compressing a particular image…In alternative implementations, the storage size estimator 1226 estimates a storage size for the entire set 1210 based on compressed image representations that are generated by the compressor/decompressor…storage size estimator 1226 can select one or more uncompressed images from the set 1210, and the compressor/decompressor 1222 can generate compressed representations for the selected images. Or the storage size estimator 1226 can generate a sample image that is based on one or more images in the set 1210, and the compressor/ decompressor 1222 can generate a compressed representation of the sample image. Based on the storage size of the generated compressed representations, the storage size estimator 1226 can estimate the storage size for the entire set 1210, as discussed…FIG. 14…storage size estimate can be presented to a user who tries to adjust a quality parameter or another storage parameter for the image set 1210 in a user interface. For the user, the presented estimate provides a useful feedback about the storage size for the current storage parameter...” teaches immediately before transfer processing of contents, calculates data amount after compression of predetermined content under BRI of claim elements and in view of other cited paras, including paras26-29 that teach identifying/compressing predetermined content having largest data amount), cols32-34(“FIG. 18A illustrates an exemplary user interface 1800 for specifying compression parameters for output representations of multiple digital images in a set of images…FIG. 18B illustrates the user interface 1800 when the user has moved the cursor 1816 on the slider from the input marker 1812 to a position that is in between the minimum marker 1814 and the input marker 1812…FIG. 19 illustrates exemplary size representations 1910 and 1920 that can be used to indicate storage sizes for multiple images...” teach before transfer processing of the contents, calculates data amount after compression processing of the main data of predetermined content, under BRI)
Regarding claim 14,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Sites and Jeyakar further teach The communication apparatus according to claim 7, wherein in a case where the setting unit changes the compression setting of the compression processing, the calculation unit calculates the data amount after the compression processing of the main data of the predetermined content. *see Sites:FIG.2(“step230 Estimate Storage Size of Output Representation of Digital Data Based on…Compression Parameters”), cols10-11, FIG.6(“step620 Receive Compression Parameters for Output Representation”), cols17-18, FIG.10(“steps1010-1020 Receive Downsampling Parameters for Output Representation…Estimate Effect of Downsampling to Storage Size”), FIGS.13-14(“steps1330-1340: Specify Current Compression Parameters Based on Storage Parameters for Image Set…Estimate Storage Size Based on Current Compression Parameters…step1420 For Selected Images, Estimate Storage Size of Compressed Representations”), FIG.15(“step1540 Based on Selected High Quality Images, Estimate Storage Size for All Identified Images Compressed to Match Output Quality Level”), FIGS.17-18B(“FIG. 17 illustrates an exemplary user interface 1700 for specifying compression parameters for an output JPEG representation of a digital image…FIG.18A illustrates ...specifying compression parameters for output representations of multiple digital images in a set of images…”), FIGS.18-19, and cols22-34 teach setting unit changes compression setting, calculates data amount after compression processing…, under BRI of claim elements; Jeyakar:paras44-48, paras55-60, 70-84
Regarding claim 19,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Sites and Jeyakar further teach The communication apparatus according to claim 5, further comprising the compression processing unit performs the compression processing of main data of the contents to be transferred, which have been received from the external apparatus, and the transfer unit transfers, to the transfer destination, the contents obtained after the compression processing. *see Sites, FIGS.13-16, cols24-31(“...FIG. 12 illustrates a representation generator 1220 to compress or decompress two or more ("M") digital images 1210_1-1210_M in a set 1210 of digital images… FIG. 13 illustrates a method 1300 for compressing a set of images… FIG. 16 illustrates a method 1600 for storing an image set that includes an increasing number of images. he method 1600 can be performed by a system that includes the representation generator 1220. In one implementation, the system includes a storage device or an image capturing device that has a limited storage capacity to store an image set that includes an increasing number of images…” teach storing/ transfers contents obtained after compression processing, under BRI of elements); Jeyakar, FIGS.2-7, paras31-60(“FIG. 2 depicts an example of a process 200 for exporting a set of images... At 210, image quality predictor subsystem 116 is configured to predict an optimal image quality level for exporting the set of images based on the target total export size value received in 204 (or 208)…At 212, the set of images selected in 202 are exported according to the parameters specified in 203 and using the optimal image quality level determined in 210. For example, after selecting the total export size in GUI 402 depicted in FIG. 4, the user may select “Export” button 400 to execute the export operation…Additional details related to processing performed in 210 is described below with reference to the flowchart depicted in FIG. 3 below… At 302, the target total export size specified or selected by the user for exporting the set of images is determined. At block 304, a target compression factor is determined for exporting the set of images based upon the target total export size…” teach storing/ transfers contents obtained after compression processing, under BRI of elements), paras61-84
Regarding claim 20,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Sites further teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 5, further comprising a reception unit that receives, from the external apparatus, main data of the contents except for the predetermined content among the contents to be transferred. *see cols23-26,27-28(“FIG. 14 illustrates a method 1400 for estimating storage size for compressing an image set including multiple images... In alternative implementations, the system selects a predefined number of images, or requests user input to determine the number of selected images... the user input can indicate a tolerance for the storage size estimate and the system can determine the number of selected images based on the indicated tolerance [teaches receives contents except for predetermined content…, under BRI]… In alternative implementations, the system can classify the images in the set and determine a respective compression ratio for each class. For example, the images can be classified based their input storage sizes [predetermined content] or input compression parameters in the image set. For a particular class, the compression ratio may be estimated based on storage size estimates for selected members of the class...estimate for the entire set is obtained by summing up the estimated storage sizes for all classes representing the set”),cols29-33
Regarding claim 21,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Sites and Jeyakar further teach The communication apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the compression processing unit performs the compression processing of main data of the contents to be transferred among contents held by the communication apparatus, and the transfer unit transfers the contents obtained after the compression processing. *see Sites, FIGS.13-16, cols24-31(“...FIG. 12 illustrates a representation generator 1220 to compress or decompress two or more ("M") digital images 1210_1-1210_M in a set 1210 of digital images… FIG. 13 illustrates a method 1300 for compressing a set of images… FIG. 16 illustrates a method 1600 for storing an image set that includes an increasing number of images. he method 1600 can be performed by a system that includes the representation generator 1220. In one implementation, the system includes a storage device or an image capturing device that has a limited storage capacity to store an image set that includes an increasing number of images…” teach storing/ transfers contents obtained after compression processing, under BRI of elements); Jeyakar, FIGS.2-7, paras31-60(“FIG. 2 depicts an example of a process 200 for exporting a set of images... At 210, image quality predictor subsystem 116 is configured to predict an optimal image quality level for exporting the set of images based on the target total export size value received in 204 (or 208)…At 212, the set of images selected in 202 are exported according to the parameters specified in 203 and using the optimal image quality level determined in 210. For example, after selecting the total export size in GUI 402 depicted in FIG. 4, the user may select “Export” button 400 to execute the export operation…Additional details related to processing performed in 210 is described below with reference to the flowchart depicted in FIG. 3 below… At 302, the target total export size specified or selected by the user for exporting the set of images is determined. At block 304, a target compression factor is determined for exporting the set of images based upon the target total export size…” teach storing/ transfers contents obtained after compression processing, under BRI of elements), paras61-84
Regarding claim 22,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Sites further teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the external apparatus is an image capture apparatus. *see cols6-8(“...storage size can be estimated in a fast and efficient way for an image set including a large number of images. The image set can include images to be attached to an electronic mail, or images to be stored in a device such as a disk or a digital camera that has limited storage space…” teaches external apparatus is image capture apparatus, under BRI, “...storage size estimator 100 can be implemented in one or more software applications or as a plug-in…can also be implemented in hardware of electronic devices, such as image capturing or displaying devices. For example, the storage size estimator 100 can be implemented in digital cameras, CCD devices, scanners, or portable devices such as personal digital assistants or mobile phones…” teaches external apparatus is image capture apparatus, under BRI”), col24(“…image set 1210 can be a user selected image collection such as a slide show that the user wishes to compress for archivation. Or the image set 1210 can include images to be stored on a storage device with limited storage size, or to be transmitted by an electronic mail service that sets limitations on the storage size of transmitted files. In one implementation, the representation generator 1220 is implemented in a digital camera or other image capturing device that has limited storage capacity...”), col34(“…techniques described in this application can be implemented in one or more software applications, as a plug-in to a software application, or in hardware of electronic devices, such as image capturing or displaying devices, for example digital cameras, CCD devices, scanners, or portable devices such as personal digital assistants or mobile phones”)
Regarding claim 23,
Sites as modified by Jeyakar teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Sites further teaches The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the content is an image. *see cols3-5(“...The digital data can be received in the input representation. The representation components can include frequency components of a discrete Fourier transform or a discrete cosine transform. The digital data can include a digital image…Receiving digital data can include receiving a set of two or more digital images. Predicting a storage size of the output representation can include predicting a total storage size for the set of digital images... invention provides methods and apparatus, including computer program products, for processing digital data. One or more digital images are received in a current representation. In a user interface, a graphical representation is presented, where the graphical representation indicates a respective storage size for each digital image…”), col7(“...FIGS. 3A-3E are schematic diagrams illustrating exemplary JPEG representations... FIG.12 is a schematic diagram illustrating a representation generator to compress or decompress multiple images. FIGS. 17-19 are schematic diagrams illustrating exemplary user interfaces for compressing digital images…”)
Regarding claim 24,
Claim 24 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 25,
Claim 25 recites substantially the same claim limitations as claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2165
/ALEKSANDR KERZHNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2165