1)DETAILED ACTION
This office correspondence is in response to the application number 19/041104 filed on January 30, 2025.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending
Authorization for Internet Communications
The examiner encourages Applicant to submit an authorization to communicate with the examiner via the Internet by making the following statement (from MPEP 502.03):
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Please note that the above statement can only be submitted via Central Fax (not Examiner's Fax), Regular postal mail, or EFS Web using PTO/SB/439.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on July 24, 2025 and February 27, 2026 were filed on or after the mailing date of the application on January 30, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
35 USC § 101 Analysis
Claims 1 – 20 are directed to statutory subject matter and are not rejected under 35 USC 101 because of a judicial exception. The claimed subject matter is integrated into a practical application under Prong 2 of the Step 2A analysis described in MPEP 2016.04(d). The claims are directed to non-abstract improvements in computer related technology. A claim is non-statutory when it is directed to a judicial exception (e.g. either one of mathematical concepts, mental processes, or certain methods of organizing human activity) without significantly more. The claimed invention is not directed to a judicial exception. Instead, the claimed invention is directed to a technological improvement for sharing content in online meetings so that selected parts of documents can be shared without showing the unwanted part of the documents. The claimed invention enables a user to select multiple pieces of content from one file or from different files. The system reads those selections, determines what was selected, and saves the content plus formatting details. When the user chooses to share, the system builds a clean graphical view of just the selected material. That view can omit comments, markups and other clutter. The layout can be created automatically by a language model or by using templates. The resulting representation is then shown to the meeting host and other participants. The ordered steps of the claim language impose meaningful limits on the scope of the claims and provides an improvement for sharing content in online meetings by generating a single clean graphical representation of the selected content for presentation at the meeting, therein solving a problem known in the art where online meetings become cumbersome because of switching between documents or windows that interrupt workflow during the document sharing process. Therein the claimed invention is statutory under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 8, 12 – 16, and 19 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lian et al. (U.S. 2015/0256567 A1; herein referred to as Lian) in view of Chan et al. (U.S. 2925/0086591 A1; herein referred to as Chan)
In regard to claim 1, Lian teaches A data processing system (see Fig. 1 ¶ [0011] “ . . . FIG. 1 is a diagram of a teleconferencing system 10 configured to implement selective sharing of data content (e.g., documents, images, etc.) in accordance with examples presented herein . . .”) comprising: a processor (see Fig. 6 ¶ [0047] “ . . . The processors 232 can comprise one or more microprocessors that execute the instructions stored in memory 234. For example, the processors 232 may comprise a microprocessor configured to execute the instructions stored in control process logic 236 to, for example, perform operations in relation to control of the teleconferencing endpoints and their associated hardware (e.g., cameras, displays, microphones, etc.) and/or software. . . . “) ; and
a memory storing executable instructions that, when executed, cause the processor alone or in combination with other processors to perform operations (see Fig. 6 ¶ [0048] “ . . . the memory 234 may comprise one or more tangible (non-transitory) computer readable storage media (e.g., a memory device) encoded with software comprising computer executable instructions and when the software is executed (by the processors 232) it is operable to perform operations associated with the selective data content sharing techniques described herein. . . .”) of:
receiving user selection information, from a first client device (e.g. client device 40) of a first user, indicating a plurality of user selections of content from multiple locations of one or more files (see Fig. 2 ¶¶ [0025-0026]” . . .. Prior to transmitting the request, the computing device 40 may be configured for selective data content sharing by, for example, opening data content windows on the display 45 and connecting the computing device 40 to teleconferencing endpoint 15(1). As noted, a plurality of data content windows (i.e., windows 70(1) and 70(2)) are opened at display 45 of computing device 40. The computing device 40 may also be configured for content sharing by adjusting the resolution of the display 45 to a maximum level. At 90, the image analysis module 30 of content analyzer server 25 identifies a plurality of data content windows displayed at the computing device 40 for selective sharing at separate displays of the local teleconferencing endpoint 15(1) and the remote teleconferencing endpoint 15(2). ;
analyzing the user selection information to extract data and formatting information associated with each selection of the plurality of user selections (see Fig. 3 ¶ [0029] “ . . . the image analysis module 30 analyzes the captured image to determine the presence and configuration (e.g., location, size, shape, type, etc.) of each data content window. A number of different techniques may be executed by the image analysis module 30 to determine the presence and configuration of each of the data content windows. For example, in certain examples the image analysis module 30 may use appearance-based methods to detect the presence and configuration of the data content windows. Appearance-based methods may include, for example, edge matching, Divide-and-Conquer searching, Greyscale matching, Gradient matching, use of Histograms of receptive field responses, etc. In other examples, the image analysis module 30 may use feature-based methods to detect the presence and configuration of the data content windows. Feature-based methods may include, for example, the use of: interpretation trees, hypothesize and testing, Pose consistency, Pose clustering, Invariance, Geometric hashing, a Scale-invariant feature transform (SIFT), Speeded Up Robust Features (SURF), etc. In certain examples, the image analysis module 30 may use three-dimensional (3D) cues, genetic algorithms, biologically inspired object recognition, Artificial neural networks and Deep Learning, explicit and implicit 3D object models, Fast indexing, Gradient histograms, Shading, Template matching, Window-based detection, the Open Source Computer Vision Library, Boundary and Object Detection, etc. to determine the presence and configuration of each of the data content windows . . . “) ;
receiving a content sharing command from the first client device of the first user to share content with one or more second client devices participating in an online meeting via an online meeting platform (see ¶ [0024] “ . . . Referring first to FIG. 2, an example selective data content sharing method 80 begins at 85 where the content analyzer server 25 receives a request from the computing device 40 to initiate selective data content sharing at the computing device. In accordance with certain examples presented herein, the computing device 40 does not have a direct connection with the content analyzer server 25, but rather only with the endpoint 15(1) as shown by the dashed line in FIG. 1. As such, all communications between the computing device 40 and the server 25 occur through the teleconferencing endpoint 15(1) . . .”); and
in response to receiving the content sharing command (see ¶ [0031] “ . . . At 115, the data content selection module 35 of content analyzer server 25 sends one or more indications of the determined data content windows 70(1) and 70(2) for display to a meeting participant at the user interface device 50. That is, the data content selection module 60 receives data from the data content selection module 35 enabling the display of data representing the determined data content windows. A meeting participant may then use the displayed representations of the determined data content windows to establish the display of the determined data content windows 70(1) and 70(2). . . . “)
Lian fails to explicitly teach,
However Chan teaches
formatting the data extracted into data structures (e.g. structured data containers) representing the data and formatting information (see ¶ [0024] “ . . . the techniques described herein can improve the functioning, efficiency, and overall user experience of the communication platform by generating structured data containers and workflows to organize and manage data. For example, the techniques described herein allow third-party data to be presented efficiently in an integrated and singular view for a user, enabling user to better and more easily access and manipulate third-party data. Moreover, the techniques described herein may improve user experiences via communication platforms by allowing users the ability to effectively import and dynamically interact with third-party data via group-based communication systems. Additionally, these techniques allow users of group-based communication systems to build and customize automatic workflows easily and efficiently. These techniques not only save time and energy associated with analyzing and generating new data, but by integrating such techniques into collaborative documents, allow users the ability to provide contextual information to external data, all while operating in a singular, group-based communication system environment. Further, the techniques discussed herein may solve technical problems associated with the presence of voluminous amounts of data associated with maintaining communication data across a communication platform. The techniques may therefore reduce the amount of hardware and/or software required to accomplish data transmissions, thereby increasing the available memory and/or computational cycles available and reducing power consumption . . .”);
generating a graphical representation of the plurality of user selections based on the data structures representing the data and formatting information (see ¶ [0043] “ . . . the embedded view generation component 120a can manage the generation, modification, updating and/or sharing of structured data containers within the communication platform. It may be noted that while the structured data containers described herein are described as being associated with a collaborative document, such as that described below in FIG. 2D, the structured data container may be located within any aspect or location of the communication platform, such as but not limited to direct messages, channels, user profile(s), etc. Moreover, although discussed in the context of structured data containers, techniques of the disclosure can be applied to structured data, unstructured data, text, graphics, and/or any type of digital content. In some examples, the structured data container may represent a system of record. The system of record may be associated with the group-based communication platform and/or third-party applications, such as a third-party application directed toward bug tracking for project development (e.g., Jira™), a third-party application directed toward administering polls and/or voting (e.g., Polly™), or a third-party application directed toward web interface design (e.g., Figma™), to name a few non-limiting examples. In other words, the structured data container may provide a method of storing, categorizing, managing, and/or altering data. . . .”); and
providing the graphical representation to the first client device and one or more second client devices participating in the online meeting via the online meeting platform (see ¶ [0159] “ . . . a structured data container may be “shared” and/or embedded within other locations of the communication platform. This enables other users associated with different channels, groups, organizations, etc. to view and access the structured data container. In some examples, whether a structured data container can be shared with other users and/or to other virtual spaces (e.g., channels, canvas, etc.) may be based at least in part on permissions (or credentials) associated with a user that configured or generated the structured data container. In some examples, user permissions associated with a user profile that generated a structured data container may be stored in association with the structured data container. In some examples, the permissions data associated with the structured data container may be different than the permissions data associated with the virtual space, channel, collaborative document, etc. the structured data container is embedded in. That is, the collaborative document may be associated with first permissions data and the structured data container embedded within the collaborative document may be associated with second permissions data such that a user may have access to view data within the collaborative document, but not the data (or a portion of the data) presented within the structured data container. In some examples, permissions data may be stored in association with a third-party authorization service (e.g., OAuth 2.0), user profile(s), etc. In some examples, the communication platform may initiate an authentication process before a structured data container is presented via a user interface (e.g., to ensure a client device that is requesting access to view the structured data container is still authenticated). . . .”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to incorporate systems and methods for generating a structured data container configured to receive and present data associated with third-party application, wherein the structured data container may be shared and embedded within multiple surfaces associated with the communication platform, such as collaborative documents, virtual spaces, channels, and used for online communications, as taught by Chan, into systems and methods for selective data content sharing techniques that enable multiple data content windows displayed at a computing device to be incorporated and sent to other devices in an online meeting. Such incorporation enables a means to aggregate content for display at online conferences and meetings.
In regard to claim 2, the combination of Lian and Chan teaches wherein to receive the user selection information the memory further includes instructions configured to cause the processor alone or in combination with other processors (see Lian Fig. 2 ¶¶ [0025-0026] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) to perform operations of:
receiving an indication from the first client device to share the graphical representation with the one or more second client devices associated with one or more second users participating in an online meeting with the first user(see Lian¶ [0032] “ . . . The displayed representations of the determined data content windows may be used by the meeting participant to select which of the data content windows 70(1) and 70(2) to share and/or to select the display arrangement of the data content windows 70(1) and 70(2) at the local and/or remote endpoint (i.e., the meeting participant may select which endpoint displays should display the data content windows and/or the size, location, orientation, etc. of the data content windows 70(1) and 70(2) when displayed at an endpoint . . . “) ;
providing the graphical representation to an online meeting platform that is coordinating the online meeting (see Lian ¶ [0033] “ . . . the data received at the user interface device 50 may enable the data content selection module 60 to graphically represent the determined data content windows 70(1) and 70(2) at touchscreen display 55 of the user interface device 50. The meeting participant may then manipulate touch screen display to select which of the displayed determined data content windows 70(1) and 70(2) should be shared. In other examples, data that results in the generation of a list (e.g., text, images, etc.) of the determined data content windows 70(1) and 70(2) at the touchscreen display 55 may be sent to the user interface device 50. . . .”) ; and
instructing the online meeting platform to present the graphical representation in a video stream being sent to the one or more second client devices (see Lian ¶ [0027] “ . . . the data content selection module 35 of the content analyzer server 25 splits a data content stream originating at computing device 40 into a plurality of separate (individual) data content streams based on the data content windows identified for selective sharing. More specifically, each data content window identified for selective sharing has an associated separate data content stream. At 100, the display of each of the individual data content streams at the separate displays of the one or more teleconferencing endpoints is enabled and started. . . .”)
In regard to claim 3, the combination of Lian and Chan teaches wherein to receive the user selection information the memory further includes instructions configured to cause the processor alone or in combination with other processors (see Lian Fig. 2 ¶¶ [0025-0026] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) to perform operations of:
receiving the user selection information as a series of user selection information as each user selection of the plurality of user selections is completed (see Lian Fig. 4 ¶ [0034] “ . . . FIG. 4 is a diagram further illustrating an example of graphical display of data content windows at touchscreen display 55. In the example of FIG. 4, the three displays 20(1), 20(2), and 20(3) are graphically represented at touchscreen display 55. Also graphically represented at touchscreen display 55 are the determined data content windows 70(1) and 70(2). In this specific example, a third data content window 70(3) has also been determined. A meeting participant manipulates touchscreen 55 to select which data content windows 70(1), 70(2), and 70(3) are to be shared by, for example, dragging the data content windows to a graphically represented display 20(1), 20(2), or 20(3). . . . “) ;
receiving an indication from the first client device that the first user has completed selection of the plurality of user selections (see Lian Fig. 4 ¶ [0035] “ . . . In FIG. 4, the meeting participant drags data content window 70(1) to display 20(1). As such, data content window 70(1) is determined to be selected for sharing at display 20(1) of local teleconferencing endpoint 15(1) (and a corresponding display of remote teleconferencing endpoint 15(2)). Additionally, the meeting participant drags data content windows 70(2) and 70(3) to display 20(2). As such, data content windows 70(2) and 70(3) are determined to be selected for sharing at display 20(2) of local teleconferencing endpoint 15(1) (and a corresponding display of remote teleconferencing endpoint 15(2)). . . “.; and
responsive to receiving the indication, analyzing the user selection information to extract the data and formatting information (see Lian ¶ [0042] “ . . . After the content analyzer server 25 receives the data indicating the content windows selected for sharing, at 155 the data content selection module 35 of content analyzer server 25 determines whether the selected data content windows are a result (i.e., based on) a previous image analysis. That is, the content analyzer server 25 determines whether the selected windows are selections in response to a previous image analysis and associated confirmation request or are un-solicited user selections (i.e., not in response to an image analysis and associated confirmation request). If the selected windows were un-solicited user selections, at 160 separate sharing of the selected data content windows is initiated. . . .”)
In regard to claim 4, the combination of Lian and Chan teaches wherein to generate the graphical representation of the plurality of user selections, the memory further includes instructions configured to cause the processor alone or in combination with other processors (see Chan ¶ [0043] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) to perform operations of:
automatically generating one or more proposed layouts of a representation of user selections as a single electronic document based on the data structures representing the data and formatting information (see Chan ¶ [0160] “ . . . a user may change a view of the structured data container. For example, a user may select edit element 408 associated with a structured data container to select a type of view, such as a list view (e.g., items are displayed in a horizontal manner), bullet point view (e.g., items are presented in a bullet point style or numbered list), grid view (e.g., items are displayed in a grid or table format with rows and columns), a tabbed view (e.g., items may be displayed in individual tabs that expand content when selected), a tree view (e.g., items may be displayed in a hierarchical data structure with nodes that expand and collapse to reveal additional information), and or any other type of view . . . “) ;
providing the one or more proposed layouts of the representation of the user selections to the first client device (see Chan Fig. 4B ¶ [0164] “ . . . FIG. 4B illustrates an example interface 400b usable for updating a structured data container 402b in a collaborative document 404b. In some examples, the data associated with the structured data container 402b may be refreshed such that the data associated with the structured data container 402b corresponds to third-party application data. For example, the structure data container 402b may contain a selectable icon (e.g., illustrated in interface 400a as a “Refresh” icon 410) such that based at least in part on receiving an indication of a selection of the selectable icon by a user of the communication platform, the embedded view generation component 120a of the communication platform may fetch any updated data from the third-party application, such that the data associated with the structured data container is accurate and up-to-date. For example, example interface 400b depicts the structured data container as illustrated in interface 400a, with the addition of the new, fifth content item “Issue-5” 414e. . . .”) ;
receiving an indication from the first client device selecting a respective proposed layout from among the one or more proposed layouts (see Chan Fig. 4B ¶ [0166] “ . . . The example interface 400b may present information associated with a collaborative document 404b (titled “Team Turtle Planning,”). The collaborative document 404b may comprise a plurality of structured data containers (e.g., a first structured data container 402b and a second structured data container 414). Though the example interface 400b illustrates two structured data containers, any number of structured data containers may be associated with a collaborative document. In some examples, individual structured data containers may be configured to obtain API credentials (e.g., API keys, access tokens, etc.) that enable communication and interaction between the structured data container and the third-party application. The communication platform may generate and embed additional structured data containers within the collaborative document based in part on receiving a request from a user. For example, the communication platform may receive an indication of selection an “add widget” icon or receive text input from a user via search bar 416. . . .”); and
generating the representation of the plurality of user selections based on the respective proposed layout (see Chan ¶ [0170] “ . . . the communication platform may receive a request to convert the collaborative document into a template. For examples, the communication platform may receive an indication of selection of a “template” icon 420. Users that have access to the template can then create a new collaborative document using the formatting, layout, and contents associated with the template, including, for example, the structure data container(s) embedded within the collaborative document and/or placeholders associated with the collaborative document. That is, user(s) that have access (i.e., the appropriate permissions) to the template can create new collaborative documents (e.g., a canvas) using the formatting, layout and contents of the template. In some examples, the communication platform may receive one or more requests to share the template in another virtual space (e.g., another channel, collaborative document, etc.) and/or another user associated with the communication platform. In some examples, the communication platform may receive a request from the user to favorite the collaborative document. In some examples, the favorited collaborative document may be presented in a sidebar of the user interface for easy access . . . “).
The motivation to combine Chan with Lian was described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein. Additionally, Chan enables specific layouts to be formatted in a structured data container for display at another device in a conference.
In regard to claim 5, the combination of Lian and Chan traches wherein the plurality of user selections are from different types of content (see Lian ¶¶ [0042-0043] “ . . . After the content analyzer server 25 receives the data indicating the content windows selected for sharing, at 155 the data content selection module 35 of content analyzer server 25 determines whether the selected data content windows are a result (i.e., based on) a previous image analysis. That is, the content analyzer server 25 determines whether the selected windows are selections in response to a previous image analysis and associated confirmation request or are un-solicited user selections (i.e., not in response to an image analysis and associated confirmation request). If the selected windows were un-solicited user selections, at 160 separate sharing of the selected data content windows is initiated. If the selected windows were in response to a previous image analysis, at 165 the image analysis module 30 of content analyzer server 25 initiates and receives a re-captured image of the display screen 45 of the computing device 40. At 170, the image analysis module 30 determines whether the previously identified data content windows have moved. If the data content windows have not moved, then separate sharing of the selected data content windows is initiated at 160. However, if the data content windows have moved, the image analysis module 30 adjusts which regions of the display screen 45 are to be associated with each of the data content windows and then separate sharing of the selected data content windows is initiated at 160. . . .”; see ¶ [0048] “ . . . so as to connect in any suitable manner with teleconferencing endpoints via the network for exchange of video and data content as well as any other types of content associated with teleconference meetings. . . .”).
In regard to claim 8, the combination of Lian and Chan teaches wherein the user selection information includes one or more of a free-form selection of content, a rectangular selection of content, or a click indicating a selection of a particular object (see Chan ¶ [0134] “ . . . collaborative documents may comprise free-form unstructured sections and workflow-related structured sections. In some examples, unstructured sections may include areas of the document in which a user can freely modify the collaborative document without any constraints. For example, a user may be able to freely type text to explain the purpose of the document. In some examples, a user may add a workflow or a structured workflow section by typing the name of (or otherwise mentioning) the workflow. In further examples, typing the “at” sign (@), a previously selected symbol, or a predetermined special character or symbol may provide the user with a list of workflows the user can select to add to the document. For example, a user may indicate that a marketing team member needs to sign off on a proposal by typing “!Marketing Approval” to initiate a workflow that culminates in a member of the marketing team approving the proposal. Placement of an exclamation point prior to the group name of “Marketing Approval” initiates a request for a specification action, in this case routing the proposal for approval. In some examples, structured sections may include text entry, selection menus, tables, checkboxes, tasks, calendar events, or any other document section. In further examples, structured sections may include text entry spaces that are a part of a workflow. For example, a user may enter text into a text entry space detailing a reason for approval, and then select a submit button that will advance the workflow to the next step of the workflow. In some examples, the user may be able to add, edit, or remove structured sections of the document that make up the workflow components. . . .”).
The motivation to combine Chan with Lian is described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein. Additionally, Chan enables a free-form selection of content.
In regard to claim 12, Lian teaches A method implemented in a data processing system for sharing content in an online meeting (see Fig. 1 ¶ [0011] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein), the method comprising:
receiving user selection information, from a first client device (e.g. client device 40) of a first user, indicating a plurality of user selections of content from multiple locations of one or more files (see Fig. 2 ¶¶ [0025-0026] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) ;
analyzing the user selection information to extract data and formatting information associated with each selection of the plurality of user selections (see Fig. 3 ¶ [0029] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein);
receiving a content sharing command from the first client device of the first user to share content with one or more second client devices participating in an online meeting via an online meeting platform (see ¶ [0024] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein); and in response to receiving the content sharing command (see ¶ [0031] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein):
Lian fails to explicitly teach,
However Chan teaches
formatting the data extracted into data structures (e.g. structured data containers) representing the data and formatting information (see Chen ¶ [0024] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein)
generating a graphical representation of the plurality of user selections based on the data structures representing the data and formatting information (see ¶ [0043] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein); and
providing the graphical representation to the first client device and one or more second client devices participating in the online meeting via the online meeting platform (see ¶ [0159] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein).
The motivation to combine Chan with Lian is described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein.
In regard to claim 13, the combination of Lian and Chan teaches wherein receiving the user selection information(see Lian Fig. 2 ¶¶ [0025-0026] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) further comprises:
receiving an indication from the first client device to share the graphical representation with the one or more second client devices associated with one or more second users participating in an online meeting with the first user (see Lian¶ [0032] as described for the rejection of claim 2 and is incorporated herein) ;
providing the graphical representation to an online meeting platform that is coordinating the online meeting (see Lian ¶ [0033] as described for the rejection of claim 2 and is incorporated herein) ; and
instructing the online meeting platform to present the graphical representation in a video stream being sent to the one or more second client devices (see Lian ¶ [0027] as described for the rejection of claim 2 and is incorporated herein)
In regard to claim 14, the combination of Lian and Chan teaches wherein receiving the user selection information(see Lian Fig. 2 ¶¶ [0025-0026] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) further comprises:
receiving the user selection information as a series of user selection information as each user selection of the plurality of user selections is completed (see Lian Fig. 4 ¶ [0034] as described for the rejection of claim 3 and is incorporated herein)];
receiving an indication from the first client device that the first user has completed selection of the plurality of user selections (see Lian Fig. 4 ¶ [0035] as described for the rejection of claim 3 and is incorporated herein) ; and
responsive to receiving the indication, analyzing the user selection information to extract the data and formatting information (see Lian ¶ [0042] as described for the rejection of claim 3 and is incorporated herein)
In regard to claim 15, the combination of Lian and Chan teaches wherein generating the graphical representation of the plurality of user selections (see Chan ¶ [0043] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) further comprises:
automatically generating one or more proposed layouts of a representation of user selections as a single electronic document based on the data structures representing the data and formatting information (see Chan ¶ [0160] as described for the rejection of claim 4 and is incorporated herein) ;
providing the one or more proposed layouts of the representation of the user selections to the first client device (see Chan Fig. 4B ¶ [0164] as described for the rejection of claim 4 and is incorporated herein) ;
receiving an indication from the first client device selecting a respective proposed layout from among the one or more proposed layouts (see Chan Fig. 4B ¶ [0166] as described for the rejection of claim 4 and is incorporated herein) and
generating the representation of the plurality of user selections based on the respective proposed layout (see Chan ¶ [0170] as described for the rejection of claim 4 and is incorporated herein)
The motivation to combine Chan with Lian was described for the rejection of claim 4 and is incorporated herein.
In regard to claim 16, the combination of Lian and Chan teaches wherein the plurality of user selections are from different types of content (see Lian ¶¶ [0042-0043], ¶ [0048] as described for the rejection of claim 5 and is incorporated herein.
In regard to claim 19, the combination of Lian and Chan teaches wherein the user selection information includes one or more of a free-form selection of content, a rectangular selection of content, or a click indicating a selection of a particular object (see Chan ¶ [0134] as described for the rejection of claim 8 and is incorporated herein
In regard to claim 20, Lian teaches A machine-readable medium on which are stored instructions that, when executed, cause a processor of alone or in combination with other processors to perform operations (see ¶ [0048] “ . . . the memory 234 may comprise one or more tangible (non-transitory) computer readable storage media (e.g., a memory device) encoded with software comprising computer executable instructions and when the software is executed (by the processors 232) it is operable to perform operations associated with the selective data content sharing techniques . . .”) of:
receiving user selection information, from a first client device (e.g. client device 40) of a first user, indicating a plurality of user selections of content from multiple locations of one or more files (see Fig. 2 ¶¶ [0025-0026] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein);
analyzing the user selection information to extract data and formatting information associated with each selection of the plurality of user selections (see Fig. 3 ¶ [0029] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein);
receiving a content sharing command from the first client device of the first user to share content with one or more second client devices participating in an online meeting via an online meeting platform (see ¶ [0024] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein); and
in response to receiving the content sharing command(see ¶ [0031] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) :
Lian fails to explicitly teach,
However Chan teaches
formatting the data extracted into data structures (e.g. structured data containers) representing the data and formatting information (see Chen ¶ [0024] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein)
generating a graphical representation of the plurality of user selections based on the data structures representing the data and formatting information (see ¶ [0043] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein); and
providing the graphical representation to the first client device and one or more second client devices participating in the online meeting via the online meeting platform (see ¶ [0159] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein).
The motivation to combine Chan with Lian is described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lian et al. (U.S. 2015/0256567 A1; herein referred to as Lian) in view of Chan et al. (U.S. 2925/0086591 A1; herein referred to as Chan) as applied to claims 1 – 5, 8, 12 – 16, and 19 - 20 in further view of Ouyang et al. (U.S. 10,129,313 B2l herein referred to as Ouyang)
In regard to claim 6, the combination of Lian and Chan teachers wherein the memory further includes instructions configured to cause the processor alone or in combination with other processors to perform operations (see Lian Fig. 6 ¶ [0048] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein)
The combination and Lian and Chan fails to explicitly teach,
However Ouyang teaches of:
receiving the user selection information as a series of user selection information as each user selection of the plurality of user selections is completed (Fig. 5 box 510, Col 15: Lines 12 – 42 “ . . . At 510, when a determination is made to share content from a window, the window (e.g., the widow, a rendering of the window, image of the window, or other representation thereof) may be shared with other endpoints that are in the virtual meeting. In the example of FIG. 3B, such a determination may be made based on receiving an input at button 314. In this example scenario, a particular meeting participant (Brian) shares a presentation application on his desktop 204 (FIG. 2) during a virtual meeting. Turning to FIG. 4, FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary window (window 400) that may be displayed on one of the other endpoints (i.e., other than Brian's endpoint, e.g., Francis' endpoint) if Brian shared desktop 204 in the virtual meeting. Brian's endpoint can freely share the desktop such that other meeting participants can observe information that is resident locally on the endpoint. Window 400 includes, among other things, shared content 402, and chat component 404. The chat component 404 allows the endpoint to receive messages from and to transmit messages to other endpoints in the virtual meeting. The shared content 402 shows a graphical representation of desktop 204 (FIG. 2) as received from endpoint 202 (e.g., Brian's endpoint). The shared content 402 may be streamed from the endpoint 202 to the virtual meeting servers (e.g., located in 130 and/or 140). The meeting servers may be streamed the shared content 402 to each of the respective endpoints in the virtual meeting. Note that before the content was streamed to this window 700, the endpoint 202 closed window 226 (i.e., in FIG. 2) to prevent sharing the credit card number (i.e., as identified notification 312 in FIG. 3B) .. .”);
creating a user session in a memory of the data processing system, the user session including a timer that counts from a time that a most recent user selection information is received from the first client device (Col 14: Lines 53-67; Col 15: Lines 1 – 11 “ . . . The content may be prevented from being transmitted for a duration of time and/or until an input is received regarding sharing the content. The duration of time may be a predetermined duration after which an action is taken. The action may be an instruction to share or to not share the content (e.g., based on a default setting). A notification may be displayed to the user (e.g., in a graphical interface component) including a warning that the content is potentially sensitive and/or including a countdown clock. The duration of time may be a constant value regardless of content (e.g., 30 seconds, 10 seconds, etc.) or may vary based on the content (e.g., where longer content corresponds to longer duration of time to allow for review of the content). Turning to FIG. 7, FIG. 7 is a simplified schematic diagram illustrating example user interface graphics associated with a notification. Notification 700 includes indicia 702, 704, 706, 708, and 710, and interface buttons 712 and 714. Indicia 704 and 706 identify restricted content and an application that contains the content. Indicia 708 include a countdown timer that indicates a duration of time when the content will not be shared. Once the duration expires (e.g., reaches zero), the content may be automatically (e.g., without further user input in a notification) shared or not shared. In the example of notification 700, the content is shared when the duration of time expires. Interface buttons 712 and 714 may operate in a manner similar to interface buttons 314 and 316 (FIG. 3B). . . .”) ;
determining that the timer has elapsed (see Fig. 8 Col 17: Lines 10 – 27 “ . . . FIG. 8 is a simplified schematic diagram illustrating example user interface graphics associated with an alternate notification (notification 800). An endpoint may generate notification 800 prior to sharing content in a virtual meeting and may suspend any pending sharing of content while the notification is displayed. In a particular example, endpoint 202 generates notification 800 in place of notification 312. Notification 800 may be generated on an endpoint preceding sharing content. Notification 800 includes indicia 802 and 804, and interface buttons 806 and 808. Indicia 802 indicate, among other things, that restricted content was identified. Indicia 804 identify a remaining duration of time (using a countdown timer) during which the shared data stream is delayed (or paused). The countdown timer is counting from a starting time of 30 seconds down toward zero seconds. The countdown timer is shown in FIG. 8 in a state where the timer has counted down three seconds (from 30) to reach 27 seconds. When the countdown timer reaches zero seconds . . .”); and
responsive to determining that the timer has elapsed, analyzing the user selection information to extract the data and formatting information.(Col 17: Lines 28 -41 “ . . . the content may be automatically (e.g., without any further input from the user and/or the endpoint) shared with other endpoints involved in the virtual meeting. In this example, instead of scanning the text (e.g., using a content manager module), a shared data stream may be delayed (or paused) for a duration of time to allow a user to manually view content in each window. The notification 800 is displayed while the sharing is delayed (e.g., within the duration of time). At the end of the duration of time (as indicated by timer in indicia 804), or when user selects to share the content (button 712), the content may be transmitted to the virtual meeting servers for sharing in the meeting. Interface buttons 806 and 808 may operate in a manner similar to interface buttons 314 and 316 respectively. . . . “).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to incorporate systems and methods for receiving inputs associated with sharing data in a virtual meeting and setting a countdown time for selecting the data to share, as taught by Ouyang, into systems and methods for selective data content sharing techniques that enable multiple data content windows displayed at a computing device to be incorporated and sent to other devices in an online meeting, and using a structured data container configured to receive and present data associated with third-party application, wherein the structured data container may be shared and embedded within multiple surfaces associated with the communication platform, such as collaborative documents, virtual spaces, channels, and used for online communications, as taught by the combination of Lian and Chan. Such incorporation enables a time interval to be set for selecting the content to display.
In regard to claim 17, the combination of Lian, Chan, and Ouyang teaches receiving the user selection information as a series of user selection information as each user selection of the plurality of user selections is completed (see Ouyang Fig. 5 box 510, Col 15: Lines 12 – 42 as described for the rejection of claim 6 and is incorporated herein) ;
creating a user session in a memory of the data processing system, the user session including a timer that counts from a time that a most recent user selection information is received from the first client device (see Ouyang Col 14: Lines 53-67; Col 15: Lines 1 – 11 as described for the rejection of claim 6 and is incorporated herein) ;
determining that the timer has elapsed (see Outang Fig. 8 Col 17: Lines 10 – 27 as described for the rejection of claim 6 and is incorporated herein); and
responsive to determining that the timer has elapsed, analyzing the user selection information to extract the data and formatting information (see Ouyang Col 17: Lines 28 -41 as described for the rejection of claim 6 and is incorporated herein).
The motivation to combine Ouyang with the combination of Lian and Chan is described for the rejection of claim 6 and is incorporated herein.
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lian et al. (U.S. 2015/0256567 A1; herein referred to as Lian) in view of Chan et al. (U.S. 2925/0086591 A1; herein referred to as Chan) as applied to claims 1 – 5, 8, 12 – 16, and 19 - 20 in further view of Qian et al. (U.S. 2026/0079606 A1; herein referred to as Qian).
In regard to claim 7, the combination of Lian and Chan teaches wherein to analyze the user selection information to extract data and formatting information associated with each selection of the plurality of user selections the memory further includes instructions configured to cause the processor alone or in combination with other processors to perform operations (see Lian Fig. 3 ¶ [0029] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein)
The combination of Lian and Chan fails to explicitly teach,
However Qian teaches of:
constructing a prompt to a language model instructing the language model to analyze the user selection information and to output the data and formatting information associated with each selection of the plurality of user selections (see Qian ¶ [0110] “ . . . the data block integration system 102 provides an option to generate an AI prompt data block. For example, in response to a selection of an option to generate an AI prompt data block, the data block integration system 102 provides an option to receive user input of a customized prompt for a large language model to generate customized block content elements. To illustrate, the data block integration system 102 can receive user input of a prompt instructing a large language model to generate a data block of instances of discussions about a certain aspect of a project, such as a data migration process of a larger project. . . .”) ; and
providing the prompt as an input to the language model to cause the language model to output the data and formatting information associated with each selection of the plurality of user selections (see Qian ¶ [0131] “ . . . the series of acts 900 includes generating the block content element further comprises: receiving a prompt instructing the large language model to generate the block content element based on block content specifications corresponding to the block type and extracted data from the first meeting data; and providing the prompt to the large language model to generate the block content element. . . .”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to incorporate systems and methods for generating block content by the prompting of language models, as taught by Qian, into systems and methods for selective data content sharing techniques that enable multiple data content windows displayed at a computing device to be incorporated and sent to other devices in an online meeting, and using a structured data container configured to receive and present data associated with third-party application, wherein the structured data container may be shared and embedded within multiple surfaces associated with the communication platform, such as collaborative documents, virtual spaces, channels, and used for online communications, as taught by the combination of Lian and Chan. Such incorporation enables user content selections to be chosen by a language model.
In regard to claim 18, the combination of Lian and Chan teaches wherein analyzing the user selection information to extract data and formatting information associated with each selection of the plurality of user selections (see Lian Fig. 3 ¶ [0029] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein)
The combination of Lian and Chan fails to explicitly teach,
However Qian teaches further comprises:
constructing a prompt to a language model instructing the language model to analyze the user selection information and to output the data and formatting information associated with each selection of the plurality of user selections (see Qian ¶ [0110] as described for the rejection of claim 7 and is incorporated herein). ; and
providing the prompt as an input to the language model to cause the language model to output the data and formatting information associated with each selection of the plurality of user selections (see Qian ¶ [0131] as described for the rejection of claim 7 and is incorporated herein).
The motivation to combine Qian with the combination of Lian and Chan is described for the rejection of claim 7 and is incorporated herein.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lian et al. (U.S. 2015/0256567 A1; herein referred to as Lian) in view of Chan et al. (U.S. 2925/0086591 A1; herein referred to as Chan) as applied to claims 1 – 5, 8, 12 – 16, and 19 - 20 in further view of Piira et al. (U.S. 2025/0150494 A1; herein referred to as Piira)
In regard to claim 9, the combination of Lian and Chan fails to explicitly teach,
However Piira teaches wherein to generate one or more proposed layouts of a representation of user selections as a single electronic document, the memory further includes instructions configured to cause the processor alone or in combination with other processors to perform operations (see Piira ¶ [0015] “ . . . A system and method for artificial intelligence-based workspace content generation using sources of digital assets in a multi-user search and collaboration environment are disclosed. The method includes sending, from a server node, at least a portion of a spatial event map that locates events in a virtual workspace at a client node in a plurality of client nodes. The spatial event map comprises a specification of a dimensional location of a viewport in the virtual workspace. The method includes sending, from the server node, data to allow the client node to display, in a screen space of a display associated with the client node, a digital asset identified by events in the spatial event map that have locations within a viewport of the client node. The method includes receiving, from the client node, an input for a trained machine learning model and a prompt. The input comprises the identification of the digital asset selected by a user and the prompt is a text-based and/or a voice-based description of desired features in an AI-based digital asset or layout of digital assets. The method includes sending, from the server node, the input received from the client node to the trained machine learning model and receiving, at the server node, the AI-based digital asset or layout of digital assets as output by the trained machine learning model. The method includes sending, from the server node, the AI-based digital asset or layout of digital assets to the plurality of client nodes, allowing the client nodes to display the AI-based digital asset or layout of digital assets in respective digital displays linked to the plurality of client nodes. . . . “) of:
constructing a prompt to a layout generation model to cause the layout generation model to generate the one or more proposed layouts of the representation of the user selections (see Piira ¶ [0033] “ . . . The technology disclosed enables a user to provide a prompt as input to a generative AI service, and the generative AI service then processes the prompt, identifies and collects digital assets related to the prompt, and generates a collaborative dashboard within a shared workspace that presents an arrangement of the collection of digital assets. The user prompt may be text-based, voice-based, or digital-asset based. In a scenario based on the previous hurricane example, a user prompt may be a text or voice-based audio input such as “hurricane helene news and forecasts,” a Doppler radar tracking the hurricane, a news article reporting on the hurricane, and so on. In some implementations, the generative AI model has access to a digital asset management (DAM) system or other form of data repository, digital asset libraries associated with the user's institutional affiliation, and/or Internet search engines. After the generative AI model has generated the Operations Center dashboard layout within a collaborative workspace, populated with the digital assets retrieved in response to the provided prompt, multiple users are able to access the Operations Center dashboard and collaboratively interact with the digital assets within the dashboard. In many implementations, any user with the pre-requisite access permissions can interact with the dashboard to further fine-tune the presented digital assets, even if that user did not personally prompt generation of the dashboard . . .”) ; and
providing the prompt as an input to the layout generation model to cause the layout generation model to output the one or more proposed layouts of a representation of user selections (see Piira ¶ [0121] “ . . . a user prompts the generative AI model to output a dashboard presenting data and news updates related to an upcoming election. The user's team has been previously collaborating on a slide deck summarizing predictive data by state for the election. In addition to other relevant digital assets responsive to the user prompt, the generative AI model can also access, from memory linked to the collaboration server, a file containing the current version of the slide deck. The generative AI model can retrieve the file and instantiate a programmable window for the slide creation application (e.g., PowerPoint) with the slide deck open within the programmable window. This enables multiple participants within a session to collaboratively work on the slide deck, including full access to the functionality of the slide creation algorithm, as previously described. Moreover, the AI-generated layout includes an autonomously designed arrangement of other digital assets within the same workspace such that relevant data and information is easily accessible to all participants while they collaborate on the slide deck. Other non-limiting example use cases may include defense projects, graphic design teams, product design work, and any projects that involve collaboration between multiple teams respectively working on different various elements of the collaboration. . . .”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to incorporate systems and methods or artificial intelligence-based workspace content generation using sources of digital assets in a multi-user search and collaboration environment, as taught by Piira, into systems and methods for selective data content sharing techniques that enable multiple data content windows displayed at a computing device to be incorporated and sent to other devices in an online meeting, and using a structured data container configured to receive and present data associated with third-party application, wherein the structured data container may be shared and embedded within multiple surfaces associated with the communication platform, such as collaborative documents, virtual spaces, channels, and used for online communications, as taught by the combination of Lian and Chan. Such incorporation enables a layout model to be used for creating content displays.
Claims 10 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lian et al. (U.S. 2015/0256567 A1; herein referred to as Lian) in view of Chan et al. (U.S. 2925/0086591 A1; herein referred to as Chan) as applied to claims 1 – 5, 8, 12 – 16, and 19 - 20 in further view of Ahmed (U.S. 2015/0149565 A1; herein referred to as Ahmed)
In regard to claim 10, the combination of Lian, Chan and Ahmed teaches wherein to format the data extracted into data structures representing the data and formatting information, the memory further includes instructions configured to cause the processor alone or in combination with other processors to perform operations (see Chen ¶ [0024] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) of:
generating a JavaScript Object Notation representation of the data and formatting information (see Ahmed ¶¶ [0060-0061] “ . . . The document sharing tool 342, the desktop sharing tool 344, and the voice/video tool 346 operate within an instant messaging session, or independent of an instant messaging session. These tools provide alternate collaboration mediums between users. The document sharing tool 342 allows users to share documents such as medical diagnostic reports or medical charts, for example. The desktop sharing tool 344 allows an initiating user to share his/her computer desktop with a receiving user, such that any content viewable on the computer desktop of the initiating user is also viewable on the computer desktop of the receiving user. In certain examples, the desktop sharing tool 344 allows an initiating user to pass control of his desktop to a receiving user. The voice/video tool 346 allows users to share audio and/or video therebetween, thereby facilitating teleconferencing or video conferencing capabilities. The payload transformers 348 manage serializing information into a payload type (e.g., eXtensible Markup Language (XML) or JavaScript Object Notation (JSON)) for transmission to the collaboration server (e.g., the collaboration server 102), and de-serializing information received from the collaboration server (e.g., the collaboration server 102). . . .”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to incorporate systems and methods for medical diagnostic collaboration as taught by Ahmed, into systems and methods for selective data content sharing techniques that enable multiple data content windows displayed at a computing device to be incorporated and sent to other devices in an online meeting, and using a structured data container configured to receive and present data associated with third-party application, wherein the structured data container may be shared and embedded within multiple surfaces associated with the communication platform, such as collaborative documents, virtual spaces, channels, and used for online communications, as taught by the combination of Lian and Chan. Such incorporation provides using Javascript Object notation as a formatter for the content.
In regard to claim 11, the combination of Lian, Chan, and Ahmed teaches wherein to format the data extracted into data structures representing the data and formatting information, the memory further includes instructions configured to cause the processor alone or in combination with other processors to perform operations (see Chan ¶ [0024] as described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein) of:
generating a lightweight database representation of the data and formatting information (see Ahmed ¶ [0068] “ . . . each clinician has an associated username and password. In an example, usernames and passwords are established and stored in an enterprise Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP) or database based on an identity store. Upon launching the user interface (e.g., the user interfaces 114, 120), clinicians are prompted to login by inputting their username and password, which is compared to a database to determine if the clinician is certified to access the user interface and the respective collaboration services contained therein. In an example, upon authentication against the principal identity store, a SAML-based access token is created and returned which is then used to grant single sign-on access for the principal to the various collaboration services and underlying infrastructure. In addition, a declarative access control, eXtensible Access Control Markup Language-based (XACML-based) policy implementation can be used to evaluate and authorize access requests. Furthermore, data access service 358 is a handle to the contextually abstracted data model for the respective collaboration services. Identity 360 manages patient identity and ensures that studies and diagnostic reports are associated with the proper patient . . .”).
The motivation to combine Ahmed with the combination of Lian and Chan is described for the rejection of claim 12 and is incorporated herein. Additionally Ahmed enables lightweight database representation of certain content.
Conclusion
There are prior art made of record which are not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. They are listed on the PTO-892 accompanying this action.
/JAMES N FIORILLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444