DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 11-12, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUO et al. (US 2010/0128228 A1; MATSUO).
As of claim 1, MATSUO teaches a projection system [fig 23] comprising: a projector 710 [fig 23] [0249]; and a projector cart 760 [fig 23] configured to house the projector 710 [fig 23], wherein the projector 710 [fig 23] includes an enclosure 750 (housing) [fig 22] [0249], a light source 221 [fig 9] housed in the enclosure 210 [fig 9], a light modulator 238 r, g, b [fig 9] [0159] housed in the enclosure 210 [fig 9] and configured to modulate light emitted from the light source 221 [fig 9], a projection lens unit 240 a, b [fig 9] [0148] configured to emit the light modulated by the light modulator to an outside of the enclosure 280 (screen) [fig 9], and a power supply substrate housed in the enclosure and configured to supply power to the light source (first projector 900A can be connected to a commercial power supply to supply power) [0299], and in a state in which the projector is in use (projecting partial images RPa, RPb [fig 22], the projector cart 760 [fig 23] includes a housing which is configured to house the projector 710 [fig 23] and is configured to emit the light emitted from the projection lens unit 740 a, b [fig 22] to an outside of the projector cart [fig 22], wheels 650 [fig 22] disposed vertically below the housing [fig 22], and a first operator 130 (user interface) [fig 3] which is located vertically above the housing [fig 27] and is configured to change an electrical state of the power supply substrate (first projector 900A can be connected to a commercial power supply to supply power) [0299].
MATSUO teaches all the claimed limitations through prior art knowledge of through a variety of disclosed embodiments. It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill that the various embodiments and known prior art could be combined without yielding unpredictable results. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12).
As of claim 6, MATSUO teaches a projector cart 760 [fig 23] configured to house a projector 710 [fig 23] [0249] and move (using handle 630) [fig 23], the projector cart comprising: a housing (housing) [fig 22] [0249] configured to house the projector 710 [fig 23]; wheels 650 [fig 23] provided to the housing [fig 23]; and a first operator 130 (user interface) [fig 3] configured to change an electrical state of the projector (first projector 900A can be connected to a commercial power supply to supply power) [0299], wherein the first operator 130 [fig 3] is located above the housing in a vertical direction in a use state [fig 27].
MATSUO teaches all the claimed limitations through prior art knowledge of through a variety of disclosed embodiments. It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill that the various embodiments and known prior art could be combined without yielding unpredictable results. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12).
As of claim 11, MATSUO teaches the first operator 791 [fig 27] includes a button or an icon configured to turn ON or OFF power of the projector (user interface 791 of the projector 710 receives instruction input from a user of the projector 710. In this example, the user interface 791 includes, in addition to plural buttons for receiving pressing input from the user, an infrared interface that receives infrared input from a remote controller) [0267].
As of claim 12, MATSUO teaches the first operator 130 [fig 3] includes a button or an icon (the user interface 130 includes, in addition to plural buttons for receiving pressing input from the user, an infrared interface that receives infrared input from a remote controller) [0120] configured to make the projector execute a keystone correction of an image projected by the projector [0127].
As of claim 18, MATSUO teaches a method for installing a projection system projection system [fig 23] including a projector 710 [fig 23] [0249], a housing 750 (housing) [fig 22] [0249] configured to house the projector 710 [fig 23], wheels provided to the housing 750 (housing) [fig 22] [0249], a gripper 630 (handle) [fig 23] [0250] provided to the housing 750 [fig 22], and an operator 130 (user interface) [fig 3] provided to the gripper 630 [fig 23] and configured to change an electrical state of the projector (first projector 900A can be connected to a commercial power supply to supply power) [0299], the method comprising: grasping the gripper 630 [fig 23] to move the wheels 650 [fig 23].
MATSUO teaches all the claimed limitations through prior art knowledge of through a variety of disclosed embodiments. It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill that the various embodiments and known prior art could be combined without yielding unpredictable results. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12).
MATSUO does not specifically teach turning ON power of the projector by operating the operator after moving the wheel; and adjusting a position of the projection system by grasping the gripper after turning ON the power. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to turn ON power of the projector by operating the operator after moving the wheel; and adjusting a position of the projection system by grasping the gripper after turning ON the power as a design choice (Rearrangement of Parts; MPEP 2144.04 VI C) to turn ON or OFF the projector using the user interface located on the housing.
Claims 2-5, 7, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATSUO et al. (US 2010/0128228 A1; MATSUO) and in view of Meglan et al. (US 2021/0046637 A1; Meglan).
As of claim 2, MATSUO teaches the projector cart 760 [fig 23] includes a gripper 630 [fig 23] provided to the housing 750 [fig 22], the gripper 630 [fig 23] is located above the housing in a vertical direction [fig 23].
MATSUO does not teach the first operator is provided to the gripper.
Meglan teaches a surgical robotic system 1000 [fig 1] having the first operator 34 [fig 1] [0036] is provided to the gripper 38 a, b [fig 1] [0036].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first operator is provided to the gripper as taught by Meglan to the projection system as disclosed by MATSUO to have one or more modular arm carts, radio-based location of each of which in a 3D space is based on a signal communicated by the transmitter and determining a spatial pose of the mobile carts based on the received signal (Meglan; [0004]).
As of claim 3, MATSUO teaches the first operator 791 [fig 27] includes a button or an icon configured to turn ON or OFF power of the projector (user interface 791 of the projector 710 receives instruction input from a user of the projector 710. In this example, the user interface 791 includes, in addition to plural buttons for receiving pressing input from the user, an infrared interface that receives infrared input from a remote controller) [0267].
As of claim 4, MATSUO teaches the first operator 130 [fig 3] includes a button or an icon (the user interface 130 includes, in addition to plural buttons for receiving pressing input from the user, an infrared interface that receives infrared input from a remote controller) [0120] configured to make the projector execute a keystone correction of an image projected by the projector [0127].
As of claim 5, MATSUO teaches in the state in which the projector is in use (ON state), the gripper 630 [fig 23] is placed so that at least a part of the gripper 630 [fig 23] is retracted at a position equivalent to or lower than a surface at a vertically upper side of the housing (projector 710 is in retracted position as shown in fig 27) , and in a state in which the gripper is retracted [fig 27], the first operator 791 [fig 27] faces outside the housing [fig 27].
As of claim 7, MATSUO teaches a gripper 630 [fig 23] provided to the housing 750 [fig 22], wherein in the use state [fig 27], the gripper 630 [fig 23] is located above the housing in a vertical direction [fig 23].
MATSUO does not teach the first operator is provided to the gripper.
Meglan teaches a surgical robotic system 1000 [fig 1] having the first operator 34 [fig 1] [0036] is provided to the gripper 38 a, b [fig 1] [0036].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first operator is provided to the gripper as taught by Meglan to the projection system as disclosed by MATSUO to have one or more modular arm carts, radio-based location of each of which in a 3D space is based on a signal communicated by the transmitter and determining a spatial pose of the mobile carts based on the received signal (Meglan; [0004]).
As of claim 14, MATSUO teaches in the state in which the projector is in use (ON state), the gripper 630 [fig 23] is placed so that at least a part of the gripper 630 [fig 23] is retracted at a position equivalent to or lower than a surface at a vertically upper side of the housing (projector 710 is in retracted position as shown in fig 27) , and in a state in which the gripper is retracted [fig 27], the first operator 791 [fig 27] faces outside the housing [fig 27].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10, 13, 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As of claim 8, the closest prior art MATSUO et al. (US 2010/0128228 A1; MATSUO) teaches a projector 10 that projects an image RP on a screen 80. The screen 80 is a plane on which the image RP is displayed. The screen 80 may be a movie screen or may be a wall surface. In this example, the image RP projected by the projector 10 is an image formed by joining two partial images RPa and RPb. In this example, an overlapping area RPw where the two partial images RPa and RPb overlap each other is formed in a seam of the partial image RPa and the partial image RPb. The projector 10 includes light source units 20a and 20b that radiate lights, image generating units 30a and 30b that generate projection lights representing the image RP, and projection optical units 40a and 40b that project the projection lights representing the image RP on the screen 80. The partial image RPa in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20a, the image generating unit 30a, and the projection optical unit 40a. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20a is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40a after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPa by the image generating unit 30a. The partial image RPb in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20b, the imaging optical unit 30b, and the projection optical unit 40b. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20b is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40b after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPb by the image generating unit 30b. Details of the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. The projector 10 includes a main body housing 50 that houses the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. In this example, the main body housing 50 is a hexahedron. Outer surfaces forming the hexahedron include a top surface 51, a bottom surface 52, a front surface 53, a back surface 54, a left side 55, and a right side 56. The top surface 51 of the main body housing 50 is an upper end located in an upper part in the main body housing 50. The bottom surface 52 of the main body housing 50 is a bottom end as a surface opposed to the top surface 51. The front surface 53 of the main body housing 50 is a front end facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The back surface 54 of the main body housing 50 is a surface opposed to the front surface 53 and is a rear end with the back thereof facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The left side 55 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the left side in front of the screen 80. The right side 56 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the right side in front of the screen 80. MATSUO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a fourth surface opposed to the third surface and crossing the first surface and the second surface, a fifth surface crossing the first surface, the second surface, the third surface, and the fourth surface, and a sixth surface opposed to the fifth surface and crossing the first surface, the second surface, the third surface, and the fourth surface, a window configured to emit projection light of the projector to an outside of the housing is provided to at least one of the first surface and the fifth surface, the wheels are placed at the sixth surface, the gripper is placed at the fifth surface, the gripper includes a first support rod coupled to the fifth surface, a second support rod coupled to the fifth surface, and a coupling configured to couple the first support rod and the second support rod to each other, and the first operator is disposed at an opposite side of the first support rod to the coupling.
Claims 13, 15-17 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 8.
As of claim 9, the closest prior art MATSUO et al. (US 2010/0128228 A1; MATSUO) teaches a projector 10 that projects an image RP on a screen 80. The screen 80 is a plane on which the image RP is displayed. The screen 80 may be a movie screen or may be a wall surface. In this example, the image RP projected by the projector 10 is an image formed by joining two partial images RPa and RPb. In this example, an overlapping area RPw where the two partial images RPa and RPb overlap each other is formed in a seam of the partial image RPa and the partial image RPb. The projector 10 includes light source units 20a and 20b that radiate lights, image generating units 30a and 30b that generate projection lights representing the image RP, and projection optical units 40a and 40b that project the projection lights representing the image RP on the screen 80. The partial image RPa in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20a, the image generating unit 30a, and the projection optical unit 40a. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20a is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40a after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPa by the image generating unit 30a. The partial image RPb in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20b, the imaging optical unit 30b, and the projection optical unit 40b. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20b is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40b after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPb by the image generating unit 30b. Details of the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. The projector 10 includes a main body housing 50 that houses the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. In this example, the main body housing 50 is a hexahedron. Outer surfaces forming the hexahedron include a top surface 51, a bottom surface 52, a front surface 53, a back surface 54, a left side 55, and a right side 56. The top surface 51 of the main body housing 50 is an upper end located in an upper part in the main body housing 50. The bottom surface 52 of the main body housing 50 is a bottom end as a surface opposed to the top surface 51. The front surface 53 of the main body housing 50 is a front end facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The back surface 54 of the main body housing 50 is a surface opposed to the front surface 53 and is a rear end with the back thereof facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The left side 55 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the left side in front of the screen 80. The right side 56 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the right side in front of the screen 80. MATSUO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a fourth surface opposed to the third surface and crossing the first surface and the second surface, a fifth surface crossing the first surface, the second surface, the third surface, and the fourth surface, and a sixth surface opposed to the fifth surface and crossing the first surface, the second surface, the third surface, and the fourth surface, a window configured to emit projection light of the projector to an outside of the housing is provided to at least one of the first surface and the fifth surface, the wheels are placed at the sixth surface, the gripper is placed at the fifth surface, the gripper includes a first support rod coupled to the fifth surface, a second support rod coupled to the fifth surface, and a coupling configured to couple the first support rod and the second support rod to each other, and the first operator is provided to the coupling.
As of claim 10, the closest prior art MATSUO et al. (US 2010/0128228 A1; MATSUO) teaches a projector 10 that projects an image RP on a screen 80. The screen 80 is a plane on which the image RP is displayed. The screen 80 may be a movie screen or may be a wall surface. In this example, the image RP projected by the projector 10 is an image formed by joining two partial images RPa and RPb. In this example, an overlapping area RPw where the two partial images RPa and RPb overlap each other is formed in a seam of the partial image RPa and the partial image RPb. The projector 10 includes light source units 20a and 20b that radiate lights, image generating units 30a and 30b that generate projection lights representing the image RP, and projection optical units 40a and 40b that project the projection lights representing the image RP on the screen 80. The partial image RPa in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20a, the image generating unit 30a, and the projection optical unit 40a. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20a is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40a after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPa by the image generating unit 30a. The partial image RPb in the image RP is projected by using the light source unit 20b, the imaging optical unit 30b, and the projection optical unit 40b. Specifically, the light radiated from the light source unit 20b is projected on the screen 80 from the projection optical unit 40b after being modulated into projection light representing the partial image RPb by the image generating unit 30b. Details of the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. The projector 10 includes a main body housing 50 that houses the light source units 20a and 20b, the image generating units 30a and 30b, and the projection optical units 40a and 40b. In this example, the main body housing 50 is a hexahedron. Outer surfaces forming the hexahedron include a top surface 51, a bottom surface 52, a front surface 53, a back surface 54, a left side 55, and a right side 56. The top surface 51 of the main body housing 50 is an upper end located in an upper part in the main body housing 50. The bottom surface 52 of the main body housing 50 is a bottom end as a surface opposed to the top surface 51. The front surface 53 of the main body housing 50 is a front end facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The back surface 54 of the main body housing 50 is a surface opposed to the front surface 53 and is a rear end with the back thereof facing the screen 80 in the main body housing 50. The left side 55 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the left side in front of the screen 80. The right side 56 of the main body housing 50 is a side end located on the right side in front of the screen 80. MATSUO does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a fourth surface opposed to the third surface and crossing the first surface and the second surface, a fifth surface crossing the first surface, the second surface, the third surface, and the fourth surface, and a sixth surface opposed to the fifth surface and crossing the first surface, the second surface, the third surface, and the fourth surface, a window configured to emit projection light of the projector to an outside of the housing is provided to at least one of the first surface and the fifth surface, the wheels are placed at the sixth surface, the gripper is placed at the fifth surface, in the use state, the gripper includes a first support rod extending upward, one end of the first support rod is coupled to the fifth surface, and the first operator is placed in a portion of the first support rod facing a direction from the first surface toward the second surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art Dundee et al. (US 20150083675 A1) teaches a modular projector cage for operably supporting an optical projector and for forming a stacked frame using another identical modular projector cage is disclosed. The modular projector cage has a rectangular hexahedral open frame. A mounting plate is connected to a bottom section of the frame by first and second articulated elevation assemblies connected to respective sides of the mounting plate adjacent the mounting plate front end, and by a yaw assembly rotatably connected to the mounting plate adjacent the back end. The first and second articulated elevation assemblies are independently adjustable to adjust the elevation at each side of the plate so that the pitch and roll of the mounting plate can be adjusted. The yaw assembly adjusts the amount of yaw, which causes articulated movement of the first and second articulated elevation assemblies;
- Prior Art WATANABE (US 20120236265 A1) teaches a projector which modulates a luminous flux emitted from a light source in accordance with image information and projects the modulated light by a projection lens. The projector includes an exterior housing that houses the projection lens and has a projection opening through which the light exiting from the projection lens passes and a lens cover that opens and closes the projection opening, the lens cover has a first cover and a second cover, and the first cover and the second cover are configured so that they open and close the projection opening by being slid and are stacked and housed in an open state in which the projection opening is opened.
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882