DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 1/30/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “processing resource” in claims 12 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification does not disclose equivalent structures for the term interpreted under 112(f) above. Thus, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The specification does not disclose equivalent structures for the terms interpreted under 112(f) above. Thus, claims are vague and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0275982 A1) in view of Lau et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0121070 A1).
As to claim 1, Hunt teaches a method for firmware update management (See e.g. Figs.1-6 and associated text), comprising:
generating, by a remote computing device (e.g. publishing server) an update package including a cryptographic filter (e.g. Bloom filter) and a firmware update (See e.g. [0030]- the software update data 402 may be embodied as any data indicative of one or more software updates (e.g., source code, object code, patches, etc.), and characteristics of the software updates (e.g., a software version, a node type to which the software update pertains, a sensor type to which the software update pertains, a criticality of the software update such as high criticality for a security update, a medium criticality for an efficiency improvement, or a low criticality for a user interface enhancement). In some embodiments, the software update data 302 may include a Bloom value for each software update, which may be embodied as a probabilistic data structure usable to test whether an element (e.g., a Bloom filter of a mesh node 110) is a member of a set (e.g., a set of mesh nodes 110 to which the software update is applicable), and which is indicative of the characteristics of the corresponding software update and [0032]- The software update sender 430, which may be embodied as hardware, firmware, software, virtualized hardware, emulated architecture, and/or a combination thereof as discussed above, is configured to generate and store the characteristics of a software update in association with the software update in the software update data 402),
receiving, by a computing device (e.g. mesh node), the update package from the remote computing device (See e.g. [0038]- the present mesh node 110 receives a software update (e.g., from the publisher server 140),
retrieving a unique identifier (e.g. fingerprint data) of the computing device (see e.g. [0028]- The update manager 340, which may be embodied as hardware, firmware, software, virtualized hardware, emulated architecture, and/or a combination thereof as discussed above, is configured to obtain fingerprint data of the mesh nodes 110 and [0013]- The fingerprint data may be embodied as any data indicative of characteristics of the corresponding mesh node 110, including an energy status of the mesh node (e.g., whether the mesh node 110 is operating on battery power, a depletion level of the battery, an availability of a power source to charge the battery, etc.) as well as other characteristics such as a software version executed by the mesh node 110, a type of the mesh node 110 (e.g., a motion detection mesh node, a door lock mesh node, etc.), and/or the sensors included in the mesh node 110 (e.g., a motion sensor, a temperature sensor, etc.; the fingerprint data for each mesh node 110 may be encoded in a Bloom filter),
determining whether the computing device is included in a target device list (e.g. set of mesh nodes) using the unique identifier of the computing device (See e.g. [0028]- The update sender 346, in the illustrative embodiment, is configured to determine which mesh nodes 110 are target mesh nodes 110 for a given software update and determine the path through the network 130 to provide the software update to the target mesh nodes 110 as a function of the fingerprint data (e.g., the energy status data) and [0032]- the mesh node selector 432 may select a mesh node 110 that has characteristics that indicate that the software update would be applicable to the mesh node 110 or to another mesh node 110 connected to the mesh node 110, such as by comparing a Bloom filter of the mesh node 110 to a publication Bloom value of the software update to determine whether there is a match), and
causing, by the computing device, firmware of the computing device to be updated via the firmware update in response to the matching a device identifier in the target device list (See e.g. [0046]- the publisher server 140 may provide the software update to a mesh node 110 that has a Bloom filter that matches (e.g., is equal to) the publication Bloom value of the software update).
Hunt does not specifically teach a bootloader of the computing device or wherein the bootloader resides in read-only memory of the computing device.
In an analogous art of updating firmware, however, Lau teaches Lau teaches receiving, by a computing device (e.g. client device), an update package from the remote computing device (See e.g. [0032]- an application executing on the server system transmits the encrypted firmware package to the device and [0033]- Upon receiving the encrypted firmware package, logic on the device decrypts the encrypted data to recover the firmware package), retrieving, by a bootloader of the computing device (See e.g. Fig.5, 125 and associated text, e.g. [0043]- the memory 530 includes a device-specific key 120 and a bootloader component 125), a unique identifier of the computing device (see e.g. [0025]- The device-specific key 120 could be written to the device, e.g., at the time the device was manufactured. Additionally, the manufacturer could have transmitted the device-specific key 120 (or, in an embodiment using asymmetric encryption techniques, a corresponding public key), along with a unique identifier for the device, [0028]- the method 200 begins at block 210, where a manufacturer generates a private key and burns the private key onto the device. Here, the private key can be written to protected memory within the device, such that the private key can only be accessed by a bootloader of the device. For instance, such a memory could be a read-only memory (ROM) that is inaccessible by applications executing on the device and only accessible by the bootloader of the device) and [0033]- where the protected memory is only accessible to the bootloader of the device, the bootloader retrieves the private key from the protected memory and decrypts the firmware package using the retrieved key), wherein the bootloader resides in read-only memory of the computing device (See e.g. Fig.5, 125 and associated text, e.g. [0043]- Memory 530 could be one or a combination of memory devices, including Random Access Memory, nonvolatile or backup memory (e.g., programmable or Flash memories, read-only memories, etc.), and causing, by the computing device, firmware of the computing device to be updated via the firmware update (See e.g. [0033]- The logic on the device then installs the firmware package).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lau in order to provide a more efficient method/system of providing authorized secure updates to intended devices.
As to claim 2, Lau further teaches retrieving the unique identifier from the read-only memory of the computing device (see e.g. [0028]- the method 200 begins at block 210, where a manufacturer generates a private key and burns the private key onto the device. Here, the private key can be written to protected memory within the device, such that the private key can only be accessed by a bootloader of the device. For instance, such a memory could be a read-only memory (ROM) that is inaccessible by applications executing on the device and only accessible by the bootloader of the device) and [0033]- where the protected memory is only accessible to the bootloader of the device, the bootloader retrieves the private key from the protected memory and decrypts the firmware package using the retrieved key).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lau in order to provide a more efficient method/system of providing authorized secure updates to intended devices.
As to claim 3, Lau further teaches computing, by the computing device, a hash of the unique identifier of the computing device (See e.g. [0034]- the method 300 begins at block 310, where logic (e.g., a software application, a controller, etc.) for a manufacturer generates a random unique token and embeds the token onto the device. Generally, the token represents any data (e.g., a string of characters) that is preferably unique to the device across all of the devices of a given type. For example, for a particular type of interactive toy device, each toy device could be assigned a token comprising a unique alphanumeric string of characters and having a fixed length).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lau in order to provide a more efficient method/system of providing authorized secure updates to intended devices.
As to claim 6, Hunt also teaches generating, by the remote computing device, the update package by generating the target device list (See e.g. [0024]- the software update data 302 may include a Bloom value for each software update, which may be embodied as a probabilistic data structure usable to test whether an element (e.g., a Bloom filter of a mesh node 110) is a member of a set (e.g., a set of mesh nodes 110 to which the software update is applicable), and which is indicative of the characteristics of the corresponding software update).
As to claim 8, Hunt also teaches generating, by the remote computing device, the target device list to include devices of a particular device type (See e.g. [0024]- software update data 302 which may be embodied as any data indicative of one or more software updates (e.g., source code, object code, patches, etc.), and characteristics of the software updates (e.g., a software version, a node type to which the software update pertains).
As to claim 10, Hunt also teaches wherein the method includes transmitting, by the remote computing device, the update package to a number of computing devices, wherein devices included in the target device list are a subset of the number of computing devices (see e.g. [0028]- The update sender 346, in the illustrative embodiment, is configured to determine which mesh nodes 110 are target mesh nodes 110 for a given software update and determine the path through the network 130 to provide the software update to the target mesh nodes 110 as a function of the fingerprint data (e.g., the energy status data). To do so, in the illustrative embodiment, the update sender 346 includes a mesh node selector 348 that is configured to compare the characteristics of the software update to the characteristics of the mesh nodes 110, as indicated in the fingerprint data, to determine which of the mesh nodes 110 the software update applies to (e.g., which mesh nodes 110 are of a type that the software update applies to and which of the mesh nodes 110 are executing a software version that is older than the version of the software update). In doing so, the mesh node selector 348 may compare a Bloom publication value indicative of the software update characteristics to a Bloom filter of each mesh node 110 to determine whether the software update applies to the corresponding mesh node 110. Additionally, the update sender 346 is configured to send the software update to the next mesh node 110 in the path).
Claims 4, 5, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0275982 A1) in view of Lau et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0121070 A1) and Locketz (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0176048 A1).
As to claim 4, Hunt in view of Lau teaches the hash (see e.g. Lau: [0034]), but does not specifically teach determining whether the hash of the unique identifier is included in the target device list by comparing the hash of the unique identifier of the computing device to a number of hashed device identifiers associated with devices in the target device list intended to receive the firmware update.
In an analogous art of updating devices, however, Locketz teaches determining whether the hash of the unique identifier is included in the target device list by comparing the hash of the unique identifier of the computing device to a number of hashed device identifiers associated with devices in the target device list intended to receive the firmware update (See e.g. Fig.1 and associated text, e.g. [0053]- the bloom filter data structure can include an array of hash values corresponding to the computing devices that are included in the campaign and [0063]- The network edge 102 can query 136 the filter data structure (e.g., on the filter device 114) to determine whether or not the requesting device 106 belongs to a campaign. In some embodiments, querying 136 the filter data structure can include generating a hash value using a hash function applied to the device identifier, (i.e., the identifying information), from the device 106. The device identifier or identifying information can be or include a MAC address, IP address, serial number, and the like. In various implementations, a hash value for the identifying information of the device 106 matching a hash value stored in the filter data structure can indicate that the device 106 may belong or probably belongs to a campaign, where the hash values stored in the filter data structure were generated from the list of device identifiers included in the campaign initiation request) and [0064]- upon looking up, comparing, or otherwise identifying a match, the filter device 114 can indicate 140 to the device management server 104 that the device 106 is a member of a campaign).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt in view of Lau to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Locketz in order to provide a more efficient method/system of securely providing device updates.
As to claim 5, Locketz further teaches causing, in response to the hash of the unique identifier of the computing device matching a hashed device identifier of the number of hashed device identifiers, the firmware of the computing device to be updated (see e.g. Fig.4 and associated text, e.g. [0092]- At block 412, the network edge can receive, retrieve or otherwise obtain the device update associated with the requesting computerized device from the campaign management service, in the case where the campaign management service has verified, confirmed, or determined that the computerized device is indeed a member of the campaign; the data can include a list of identifying information for computerized devices that can retrieve device updates as part of the campaign, (i.e., a list of identifiers corresponding to the computerized devices that are included in the campaign); and the campaign management service may determine that the requesting device is on the list and [0093]- At block 414, the network edge can update, revise, provision or modify the computerized device by transmitting the device update, which came from the campaign management service, to the computerized device; the device update can modify software, firmware, and the like, stored within the computerized device; The network edge can transmit or otherwise supply the device update to the computerized device, and the computerized device may automatically install the device update when it is received) and preventing, in response to the hash of the unique identifier of the computing device not matching a hashed device identifier of the number of hashed device identifiers, the firmware of the computing device from being updated (See e.g. Fig.5 and associated text, e.g. [0104]- If, at block 512, the campaign management service does not confirm, verify, or otherwise determine that the computerized device is a member of the campaign, then the campaign management service does not perform the operation of block 514. In various implementations, the campaign management service may determine that the computerized device is not a member of the campaign because the computerized device (e.g., the identifying information of the computerized device) is not listed, identified, or otherwise represented in the campaign data) and [0105]- if, at block 512, the campaign management service does not confirm, verify, or otherwise determine that the computerized device is a member of the campaign, then the campaign management service, at block 516, transmits or otherwise provides or indicates to the network edge a message or the like indicating that the requesting device is not part of the campaign and/or that there are no updates for the requesting device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt in view of Lau to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Locketz in order to provide a more efficient method/system of securely providing device updates.
As to claim 11, Hunt in view of Lau teaches generating the update package by the remote computing device (See Hunt: [0030], but does not specifically teach selecting a cryptographic filter from a number of cryptographic filters.
In an analogous art of updating devices, however, Locketz teaches selecting a cryptographic filter from a number of cryptographic filters (See e.g. [0052]- the campaign management service 108 initializes 124 a data structure for the campaign prior to processing device update requests for the campaign. The data structure can include a bloom filter data structure, a linked list, a multi-dimensional array, a cuckoo filter data structure, an Xor filter data structure, or any other data structure that may be used to quickly identify devices 106 and/or requests 134 that are included in or correspond to the campaign, (e.g., devices that are in the list or set of device identifiers from the campaign initiation request).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt in view of Lau to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Locketz in order to provide a more efficient method/system of securely providing device updates.
As to claim 12, Hunt teaches a computing device (e.g. mesh node) for firmware update management, comprising: a processing resource; and a memory resource storing non-transitory machine-readable instructions to cause the processing resource to (See e.g. Fig.2 and associated text, e.g. [0014]- mesh node 110 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 202, a main memory 204, an input/output (I/O) subsystem 206, communication circuitry 208, one or more data storage devices 212),
receiving an update package including a cryptographic filter (e.g. Bloom filter) and a firmware update (See e.g. [0030]- the software update data 402 may be embodied as any data indicative of one or more software updates (e.g., source code, object code, patches, etc.), and characteristics of the software updates (e.g., a software version, a node type to which the software update pertains, a sensor type to which the software update pertains, a criticality of the software update such as high criticality for a security update, a medium criticality for an efficiency improvement, or a low criticality for a user interface enhancement). In some embodiments, the software update data 302 may include a Bloom value for each software update, which may be embodied as a probabilistic data structure usable to test whether an element (e.g., a Bloom filter of a mesh node 110) is a member of a set (e.g., a set of mesh nodes 110 to which the software update is applicable), and which is indicative of the characteristics of the corresponding software update and [0032]- The software update sender 430, which may be embodied as hardware, firmware, software, virtualized hardware, emulated architecture, and/or a combination thereof as discussed above, is configured to generate and store the characteristics of a software update in association with the software update in the software update data 402), and [0038]- the present mesh node 110 receives a software update (e.g., from the publisher server 140),
retrieving a unique identifier (e.g. fingerprint data) of the computing device (see e.g. [0028]- The update manager 340, which may be embodied as hardware, firmware, software, virtualized hardware, emulated architecture, and/or a combination thereof as discussed above, is configured to obtain fingerprint data of the mesh nodes 110 and [0013]- The fingerprint data may be embodied as any data indicative of characteristics of the corresponding mesh node 110, including an energy status of the mesh node (e.g., whether the mesh node 110 is operating on battery power, a depletion level of the battery, an availability of a power source to charge the battery, etc.) as well as other characteristics such as a software version executed by the mesh node 110, a type of the mesh node 110 (e.g., a motion detection mesh node, a door lock mesh node, etc.), and/or the sensors included in the mesh node 110 (e.g., a motion sensor, a temperature sensor, etc.; the fingerprint data for each mesh node 110 may be encoded in a Bloom filter),
determining whether the computing device is included in a target device list (e.g. set of mesh nodes) processed by the cryptographic filter using the unique identifier of the computing device (See e.g. [0028]- The update sender 346, in the illustrative embodiment, is configured to determine which mesh nodes 110 are target mesh nodes 110 for a given software update and determine the path through the network 130 to provide the software update to the target mesh nodes 110 as a function of the fingerprint data (e.g., the energy status data) and [0032]- the mesh node selector 432 may select a mesh node 110 that has characteristics that indicate that the software update would be applicable to the mesh node 110 or to another mesh node 110 connected to the mesh node 110, such as by comparing a Bloom filter of the mesh node 110 to a publication Bloom value of the software update to determine whether there is a match), and
causing, by the computing device, firmware of the computing device to be updated via the firmware update in response to the computing device being included in the target device list (See e.g. [0046]- the publisher server 140 may provide the software update to a mesh node 110 that has a Bloom filter that matches (e.g., is equal to) the publication Bloom value of the software update).
Hunt teaches the unique identifier of the computing device (See e.g. [0013] and [0028]), does not specifically teach the retrieving by a bootloader of the computing device from read-only memory of the computing device or compute a hash of the unique identifier.
In an analogous art of updating firmware, however, Lau teaches receiving, by a computing device (e.g. client device), an update package (See e.g. [0032]- an application executing on the server system transmits the encrypted firmware package to the device and [0033]- Upon receiving the encrypted firmware package, logic on the device decrypts the encrypted data to recover the firmware package), retrieving, by a bootloader of the computing device (See e.g. Fig.5, 125 and associated text, e.g. [0043]- the memory 530 includes a device-specific key 120 and a bootloader component 125), a unique identifier of the computing device from read-only memory of the computing device (see e.g. [0025]- The device-specific key 120 could be written to the device, e.g., at the time the device was manufactured. Additionally, the manufacturer could have transmitted the device-specific key 120 (or, in an embodiment using asymmetric encryption techniques, a corresponding public key), along with a unique identifier for the device, [0028]- the method 200 begins at block 210, where a manufacturer generates a private key and burns the private key onto the device. Here, the private key can be written to protected memory within the device, such that the private key can only be accessed by a bootloader of the device. For instance, such a memory could be a read-only memory (ROM) that is inaccessible by applications executing on the device and only accessible by the bootloader of the device) and [0033]- where the protected memory is only accessible to the bootloader of the device, the bootloader retrieves the private key from the protected memory and decrypts the firmware package using the retrieved key), compute a hash (e.g. token) of the unique identifier (See e.g. [0034]- the method 300 begins at block 310, where logic (e.g., a software application, a controller, etc.) for a manufacturer generates a random unique token and embeds the token onto the device. Generally, the token represents any data (e.g., a string of characters) that is preferably unique to the device across all of the devices of a given type. For example, for a particular type of interactive toy device, each toy device could be assigned a token comprising a unique alphanumeric string of characters and having a fixed length) and causing, by the computing device, firmware of the computing device to be updated via the firmware update (See e.g. [0033]- The logic on the device then installs the firmware package).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lau in order to provide a more efficient method/system of providing authorized secure updates to intended devices.
Hunt in view of Lau teaches the hash (see e.g. Lau: [0034]) and causing, by the computing device, firmware of the computing device to be updated via the firmware update (see e.g. Lau:[0033]), but does not specifically teach comparing the hash to a number of hashed device identifiers in the target device list and cause the firmware of the computing device to be updated via the firmware update in response to the hash matching a hashed device identifier of the number of hashed device identifiers in the target device list.
In an analogous art of updating devices, however, Locketz teaches comparing a hash to a number of hashed device identifiers in the target device list (See e.g. Fig.1 and associated text, e.g. [0053]- the bloom filter data structure can include an array of hash values corresponding to the computing devices that are included in the campaign and [0063]- The network edge 102 can query 136 the filter data structure (e.g., on the filter device 114) to determine whether or not the requesting device 106 belongs to a campaign. In some embodiments, querying 136 the filter data structure can include generating a hash value using a hash function applied to the device identifier, (i.e., the identifying information), from the device 106. The device identifier or identifying information can be or include a MAC address, IP address, serial number, and the like. In various implementations, a hash value for the identifying information of the device 106 matching a hash value stored in the filter data structure can indicate that the device 106 may belong or probably belongs to a campaign, where the hash values stored in the filter data structure were generated from the list of device identifiers included in the campaign initiation request and cause firmware of the computing device to be updated via a firmware update in response to the hash matching a hashed device identifier of the number of hashed device identifiers in the target device list (see e.g. Fig.4 and associated text, e.g. [0092]- At block 412, the network edge can receive, retrieve or otherwise obtain the device update associated with the requesting computerized device from the campaign management service, in the case where the campaign management service has verified, confirmed, or determined that the computerized device is indeed a member of the campaign; the data can include a list of identifying information for computerized devices that can retrieve device updates as part of the campaign, (i.e., a list of identifiers corresponding to the computerized devices that are included in the campaign); and the campaign management service may determine that the requesting device is on the list and [0093]- At block 414, the network edge can update, revise, provision or modify the computerized device by transmitting the device update, which came from the campaign management service, to the computerized device; the device update can modify software, firmware, and the like, stored within the computerized device; The network edge can transmit or otherwise supply the device update to the computerized device, and the computerized device may automatically install the device update when it is received).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt in view of Lau to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Locketz in order to provide a more efficient method/system of securely providing device updates.
As to claim 13, Lau further teaches wherein the bootloader resides in the read-only memory (See e.g. Fig.5, 125 and associated text, e.g. [0043]- Memory 530 could be one or a combination of memory devices, including Random Access Memory, nonvolatile or backup memory (e.g., programmable or Flash memories, read-only memories, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lau in order to provide a more efficient method/system of providing authorized secure updates to intended devices.
As to claim 14, Hunt also teaches wherein the cryptographic filter is a Bloom filter (See e.g. [0024]- the software update data 302 may include a Bloom value for each software update, which may be embodied as a probabilistic data structure usable to test whether an element (e.g., a Bloom filter of a mesh node 110) is a member of a set (e.g., a set of mesh nodes 110 to which the software update is applicable), and which is indicative of the characteristics of the corresponding software update).
As to claim 15, Hunt in view of Lau teaches the cryptographic filter (see e.g. Hunt: [0024]), but does not specifically teach a Cuckoo filter.
In an analogous art of updating devices, however, Locketz teaches wherein a cryptographic filter is a Cuckoo filter (See e.g. [0069]-the campaign management service 108 generates 206 a data structure for the campaign prior to processing device update requests for the campaign; The data structure can include a filter data structure, a linked list, a multi-dimensional array, a cuckoo filter data structure, an Xor filter data structure).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt in view of Lau to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Locketz in order to provide a more efficient method/system of securely providing device updates.
As to claim 16, Lau further teaches wherein the processing resource is configured to retrieve the unique identifier of the computing device in response to the computing device performing a boot procedure (See e.g. [0033]- where the protected memory is only accessible to the bootloader of the device, the bootloader retrieves the private key from the protected memory and decrypts the firmware package using the retrieved key).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lau in order to provide a more efficient method/system of providing authorized secure updates to intended devices.
As to claim 17, the limitations of the claims are substantially similar to the limitations of claim 12, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 18, Lau further teaches wherein the update package includes a digital signature (See e.g. [0019]- embodiments can use a device-specific token or key to verify a source of a firmware package; this device-specific piece of information can be transmitted, along with a unique identifier for the device (e.g., an identification number or code unique to the device); When the server system subsequently sends a firmware package for installation on the device, the server system could embed the device-specific information within the firmware package and [0023]- one embodiment provides a firmware package embedded with a token).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lau in order to provide a more efficient method/system of providing authorized secure updates to intended devices.
As to claim 19, Lau further teaches instructions to cause the processing resource to verify the package signature using a public key (See e.g. [0028]- a method for verifying firmware on a device using a key and [0029]- the manufacturer generates a public key corresponding to the private key, and transmits the public key along with a unique device identifier (ID) for the device to a server system).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lau in order to provide a more efficient method/system of providing authorized secure updates to intended devices.
As to claim 20, Lau further teaches instructions to cause the processing resource to retrieve the unique identifier in response to the package signature being verified (See e.g. [0028]- a manufacturer generates a private key and burns the private key onto the device. Here, the private key can be written to protected memory within the device, such that the private key can only be accessed by a bootloader of the device and [0031]- the server system uses the device ID to retrieve key corresponding to the device from the device registry (block 230), and also retrieves a latest version of a firmware package for the device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lau in order to provide a more efficient method/system of providing authorized secure updates to intended devices.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0275982 A1) in view of Lau et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0121070 A1), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Krishna (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0068587 A1).
As to claim 7, Hunt in view of Lau teaches generating, by the remote computing device, the target device list (see e.g. Hunt: [0030]), but does not specifically teach to include devices having a particular licensure status.
In an analogous art of upgrading software, however, Krishna teaches generating a target device list to include devices having a particular licensure status (See e.g. [0040]- Replication module 104 can also determine an identifier that indicates whether to download the software to communication device 101; The identifier can be based on a list of communication devices, [0051]- communication device 101A compares the version of upgrade software to version of software for communication device 101B. If the versions do not match in step 506 (i.e., the version of upgrade software is newer), communication device 101A determines 508 if communication device 101B is licensed to download the version of upgrade software and [0052]- if communication device 101B is licensed to download the version of upgrade software in step 508, communication device 101A downloads 512 the version of software upgrade and any necessary patches).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lau in order to provide a more efficient method/system of providing software updates in a more timely manner.
As to claim 9, Hunt in view of Lau teaches generating, by the remote computing device, the target device list (see e.g. Hunt: [0030]), but does not specifically teach to include devices in a particular geographic location.
In an analogous art of upgrading software, however, Krishna teaches generating a target device list to include devices in a particular geographic location (See e.g. [0040]- Replication module 104 can also determine an identifier that indicates whether to download the software to communication device 101; The identifier can be based on a network address, a physical distance from communication device 101, a wireless radio range of communication device 101, a digital certificate, an address range, a list of communication devices; communication device 101A will only download communication devices 101 that are within a specific set of GPS coordinates ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hunt to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lau in order to provide a more efficient method/system of providing software updates in a more timely manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Smith et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0357496 A1) discloses technologies for secure software update include an update server and one or more client computing devices that include generating a Merkle signature scheme authentication tree based on the key pairs and signing each node of the integrity hash tree.
/CHENECA SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2192
/S. Sough/SPE, Art Unit 2192